2 photos
Brass Monkey 22L Portable Fridge / Freezer GH1624

Brass Monkey 22L Portable Fridge / Freezer GH1624

MPN: GH1624
3.6 from 7 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Brass Monkey 22L Portable Fridge / Freezer GH1624? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.6
7 reviews
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Yoshi
YoshiQueensland
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

CANT COMPLAIN FOR THE PRICE

published

I bought one of these 22L Brass Money Fridges 6 months ago and haven't had a single issue with it off eBay for $260 and free shipping. Its been that good I bought another one for my new van build. To combat the tie down issue I drilled a single hole at each handle end and strapped down that way. It will void your warranty but it fixes the problem. It has a moderate draw of about 1.4amps at ambient temperature and cools the entire way around your goods. The ice cube tray is a bit of a gimmick imo but Ive found you can chuck a few icypoles in there for the kids and at 0 degrees it actually does keep them frozen while still keeping food cold in the fridge part.

Purchased in January 2021 for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AFK
AFKPeel, WA
  • 69 reviews
  • 57 likes

Good little fridge

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Jaycar Electronics for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
world_traveller
world_travellerSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 32 reviews
  • 21 likes
  • Verified

Great small fridge.

published

Purchased this fridge almost 3months ago as my 1st compressor type fridge & it has been running non-stop 24/7 in the boot.
It has never skipped a beat and keeps everything icy cold.

It performs rather well, reasonably efficient & cools rapidly.
Set to an indicated 2degrees it uses approx 1-1.4amp per hour on hot days & 0.7 on cooler days.
On average 15-22ah in 24hrs.

The fridge is hooked up to a 100ah AGM deep cycle battery (also from Jaycar) charged entirely by solar.

All in all, this Brass Monkey 22l fridge has so far exceeded my expectations.
The only thing I find annoying however, is that the fridge has no tie down points.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2020 at Jaycar Electronics Physical Store for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Brass Monkey 22L Portable Fridge / Freezer GH1624 compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jacko
jackoCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great performance

published

I bought on to keek my smoko and drinks cold while at work, was a bit sus on the price at how it would do! The Little fella suprised and bang for buck out preformed my well named branded fridge in the family car. It sits in the back of a ute bouncing around mine sites.. it's had stuff droped on it been wet and most places to our would not put a fridge.. cools down good and the temperature setting is accurate. Power consumption is not to bad in comparison to others, I don't have a insulated cover but if you keep the lid closed to a minimum power usage is good.. baught this fridge from road tec marine and have had no issue at all for the last 6 months of owning it . Would recommend this fridge.. big bang for you$$$$

Purchased in February 2020 at Road Tech Marine.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Hayden
HaydenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Low quality reflects the low price

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Road Tech Marine for $474.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Struggles to drop the temperature below 9 degrees

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Jaycar Electronics for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mr Mike
Mr MikePerth
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

22lt Brass Monkey fridge

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2019 at Jaycar Electronics Physical Store for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Questions & Answers

Helen Duval
Helen Duvalasked

What does F1 mean on the display?

4 answers
Yoshi
Yoshi

F1 is a fault code. Just turn the machine off for 1 minute then on again to reset it

Yoshi
Yoshi

But F1 means that your battery is low if connected directly to your cars 12v battery or to your 12v setup. you either need to charge your battery or change the battery monitor on the fridge unit itself. choice is high, medium or low. At a high setting the F1 code kicks in when a battery is about at 50 percent

world_traveller
world_traveller

As Yoshi stated, it’s a low voltage, battery protection alert. At this point your battery needs charging

BENNT
BENNTasked

Where are Brass Monkey refrigerators made. How is there battery life?

3 answers
world_traveller
world_traveller

The fridges are made in China. I have my 22l Brass Monkey hooked up to a 100ah AGM deep cycle battery & can run the fridge for 2 days @ 2degrees on eco mode (on this setting the fridge generally uses no more than 0.7-1.3amps per hr)((I never use more than 35-40% battery capacity))

BENNT
BENNT

Do not like that it is made in China!

world_traveller
world_traveller

most things are made in China these days. Even the big names like Engel etc, use components made in China, so unfortunately that is unavoidable. That being said, my Brass Monkey is still going strong & if it ever does play up (although I doubt it), I know Jaycar will honor the 3year warranty with no fuss.

Darren b
Darren basked

How do people tie down their brass monkey 15 litre fridge ?

1 answer
world_traveller
world_traveller

As the 15lt is the same shape as my 22lt Brass Monkey, check my review above for pics showing how I tie mine down.
As I have 3-ISOFIX latches in the boot of my car, I attach either end of a ratchet strap to 2 of them, secure the strap around the fridge & tighten until the fridge doesn’t budge.
If you don’t have ISOFIX latches, maybe you could install similar styles latches or eyelets somewhere to tie the fridge down?

See all Brass Monkey 22L Portable Fridge / Freezer GH1624 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $299.00
Type Freezer Only and Fridge Only
Capacity22L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel
Cooling Capacity-20 °C to +20 °C
Weight10 kg
Dimensions 335 x 597 x 320 mm
Construction MaterialPlastic
  • MPN: GH1624

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.