??!
4 photos
Chescold RC1180

Chescold RC1180

4.0 from 30 reviews

See the Best Portable Fridges / Freezers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • This 3-way fridge can run on LPG

  • Very efficient on LPG (lasts for about four days on a 4kg bottle)

  • Silent running

Cons

  • Need to buy gas cord and regulator separately

  • Reviewers often mention the need to replace their element

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
3

Gryphus

GryphusSouth East Queensland, QLD

Hard to kill!

published

Purchased in November 2006 at Gold Coast Camping Store for $990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Great fridges

published

I am now on my third fridge and have never had any issues. Definitely agree they are not a touring fridge but great when you set up camp for several days. I will have cold on 240v before the trip then run on 12v in the car (swapped out the Hungarian plug for an Anderson) & then gas when camping. Tough units which have coped with barge trips to Nth Qld islands and rough 4wd'ing. A service after several years keeps them running like new.

Purchased in June 2014 at BCF Physical Store for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
maxwell42

maxwell42

  • 2 reviews

Problems with 12v

published

I have a Chescold RC1180. Works fine on gas and 240v, but not on 12v. It’s in a camper trailer, Anderson plug connection. Power is getting through to our trailer as our 12v powered lights operate well. . A battery charges the separate battery in the trailer. The fridge top seems warm when we open up, but this may be just be the heat travelling through the trailer. The fridge was fully serviced 6 months ago by an expert, with no problems.
Anyone got some advice?
Max

Purchased in April 2002.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Perfect for Off-Grid Camping

published

We have had one and it works perfectly on 240v and gas, less so on 12v. Very frugal on gas - I’ve heard tell of a month on a 9kg bottle! Silent and easy to light and set up. Had to buy an aaptor separately for 12v and it basically is of use only travelling from A to B.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Gary B

Gary BSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

240V replacement element.

published

I recently had the element replaced as cooling on 240V had stopped suddenly. On gas & 12V it was still ok. I live at the Gold Coast & purchased the replacement element from Dometic at Varsity Lakes. I tried to install the new element myself but that was more of a challenge than I expected so I asked an electrician friend of mine to do the work. I now have cooling again on 240V which is great!

The date purchased below is for the element. The fridge must be at least 10 years old & has been many trips including the longer outback trips.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Shane

ShaneGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Good hard wearing reliable fridge / freezer.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Love it...would never go back to dry ice!

published

Have only used it once on a 6 day camping trip but it worked a treat, no issues at all. We run it for a week on 240v prior to camping to make sure all was good And for a couple of hours on gas (side note - you need to buy the gas cord and regulator separately, they don't come with the unit)
We ran it for 6 days and it didn't even use half a 9L gas bottle in temperatures of 30'c +. It kept everything frozen and even froze the milk in the fridge, we just turned it down to low and the food in the fridge stopped freezing but remained icy cold.
Would highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Gary

GaryPerth

Used to work great but now hopeless.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015
I J

I J

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published
Date PurchasedSep 1997
Ralphy

RalphyBendigo

  • 3 reviews

Chescold RC1180

published
Date PurchasedSep 2009

LuckyMiles

LuckyMilesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product

published
Date PurchasedMay 2005

Not working

published

Plugged in to two different working 240v gpo's and tried the 12v and still nothing. I think I got a dud. Camping in two days time. Stressing now due to work times clashing with store times and it was the last one as they were on special. Will try to swap it over but a bad start so far..

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Jewel

JewelAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love It.

published

Works brilliant on gas, ,in cooler months I even turn it off over night to find everything still cold and items in freezer frozen in the morning . Great insulation, last trip I forgot the gas hose, managed for 3 days with the meat and 2 bottles of water i had frozen before leaving home. I have wrapped the outside with foil insulation for the summer months. A bit heavy to lift in and out but purchased a flat top trolley to move it around on. Had 240 volt wired into car for longer trips, run it on electricity at home.


PhilR

PhilRHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Used 4 times in 4 years and now too expensive to repair

published

When it was working it was great for getting large volumes of drinks cold but it stopped working on gas even though it had a good flame. Then the 240 v stopped and it's too expensive to repair. Quoted 780 to $1000 and it's only 4 years old and only used around 4 times.
My advice is don't buy this rubbish.

Michael

MichaelHelensvale

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great camping fridge

published

Great little fridge

published

Have had chessman 3 way bushman for 25 years and everything works just fine, the seal on the lid has come adrift, other than that, for its age, doing just great. Has done many a mile over the years and never let me down. Would highly recommend this brand to anyone wanting to purchase a good fridge.


240V element

published

I've had the green chescold for 15 years,
..Never used the 12V. Blown the 240V element four times. [Always on start-up]. Was told to start and get cold on gas before turning it to 240v which seems to work. Was always careful to not handle it roughly so as less likely to damage element. Runs absolutely fantastic on gas.


no problems

published

Have had the green 3 way chescold now for about 10 years. Travelled around Oz several times. I use 12v when travelling, otherwise on gas when camping. Love it. Have had no problems since new. As others have stated, You cannot use it when camping on 12v a it uses to much power


Chescold 3 way fridge freezer just what we wanted.

published

Great value for money. 240v at home or our solar set in camp gas when there's no sun and 12v on the road and made by somebody as well known as Dometic.


Thomas

ThomasGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 32 reviews
  • 14 likes

Perfect portable 3way

published

I've had the Dometic Chescold RC1180 going on 3 years, I brought the unit new I have found it works just a little better on gas then 240 volt, it does work well on 12 volt providing you run 6mm wiring directly to the fridge. If you don't then don't bother using 12 volt also please remember these fridges pull continuous power 120 watts so if you don't have dual batteries and isolators you will end up with a flat battery. The handle design could have been implemented better but all in all it's been brilliant, my mate purchase the cheaper jackeroo 3way fridge and the RC1180 out does it in every way possible.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Chil

Chilasked

I have a Grey RC1180, bought in Welshpool W.A. back in November 1993, and it has worked fine until now, probably at least once a month for anything from 3 to 15 days at a time. Now I have a problem - it works on gas and 12v, but has stopped working on 240v. Is the part available as a replacement to repair the unit please, and what is the cost? Thank you.

No answers

Jman

Jmanasked

Where to buy online that is delivered?
Are they still making these?
It looks like no places are selling these new.

2 answers
Shane
Shane

G'day, try Seabreeze -Gold Coast . They should have them ( that's where I bought mine , albeit 10 yrs ago). If not Dometic , they could give you a dealer that has them. I haven't checked but you generally see a few on eBay 2nd hand and new. The big thing with these is the gas component. I own both (2 & 3 way) if you are a stay put camper & want to hook it up to a gas bottle these are your fridge. If your a stop / start tourer camper look at 2 way. Any questions feel free to ask. Cheers Shane.

Jman
Jman

Thanks Shane.
The 2nd hand ones look to be pricey, and given the whole gas thing they sound like a bad idea and just asking for problems. I looked at these a year or two back before getting my engel, and from memory there was a good few available online. Now nothing besides bcf and no delivery.
Just looks like they are a bit dead now.


Rob Brisbane

Rob Brisbaneasked

Hi,
Can this fridge be connected to a gas bayonet, part of a gas system in a camper trailer.
the bayonet would be installed external to the fridge box so the only way it can operate off gas would be when the camper is stationery and the fridge box is open.
My gas fitter has asked if it has a thermocouple for safety? i dont know what this is, i guess if the pilot blows out the gas stops?

2 answers
Andrew
Andrew

No, the gas fitting supplied is a 3/8" BSP-LH (Gasmate) fitting. I've got an adaptor for a POL fitting, but I don't think you can get one to a 1/2" bayonet (maybe difference in regulator). Definitely can only use gas when stationary. It has a thermocouple, which is something to do with the gas safety valve I think.

Rob Brisbane
Rob Brisbane

Hi Andrew, Cheers for taking the time to answer mate!
All this gas stuff is overwhelming...
I have tried looking for the product manual and it does not really go into too much specification detail.
I also tried calling them and was on hold for so long the line just went dead.
Maybe i should just go batteries and compressor to save the headache.


Get an answer from our members and Chescold representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.