??!
3 photos
Breville Smart Scoop BCI600

Breville Smart Scoop BCI600

MPNs: 35903044 and BCI600
3.4 from 65 reviews

Reviews

3.4

65 reviews
5
(25)
4
(11)
3
(7)
2
(11)
1
(11)
Previous
Next
Ricco

RiccoPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not happy

published

This is my third breville Ice cream maker and the one I have now has only been used 4 times and is now not completing its cycle with the paddle grinding to a halt. Can’t believe I have to go through this process yet again .For the money you pay this is unbelievable.

Purchased in May 2018 at Kitchen Warehouse WA, Malaga for A$327.00.

Ian Clark

Ian ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Buy something else

published

I'm on my 3rd one of these all replaced under warranty. i use it about once a month and it never works, each machine has had some different issue from replacing thermostats to timers and lots of other excuses.

Purchased in January 2018 at Myer.

Steph

StephCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Leave it in the shop!

published

I bought this machine several weeks ago. I have tried to make quite a few batches of ice cream. Let me just firstly say.... I am an excellent cook and have followed the recipes properly. The machine makes a terrible grinding noise and does not make the ice cream any harder than the consistency of yogurt. Don’t waste your money on this machine.

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Online Store for A$365.00.

Ice Cream Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Scoop BCI600 compares to other Ice Cream Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shaun

ShaunMurray Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Clunking noise and machine unable to finish cycle

published

In only its second use after following the recipes strictly with the manual provided we have never been able to finish an ice cream cycle. As the ice cream gets thicker the machine makes a loud clunking/knocking sound. We have to stop the machine. At first I thought it may have been the choc chips we placed in it. But have since used it 3 more times with no choc chips and trying different recipes and the clunking/knocking sounds are still happening towards the end of the cycle. So we really have never had ice cream as it cant reach the flashing squares to complete the cycle in fear of the machine blowing up.
Shaun

Purchased at Amazon Australia.

Rebecca Hearn

Rebecca HearnSouth East Queensland, QLD

Dial no longer working

published

It worked fine initially but now the dial is basically stuck on gelato and won’t dial up or down. And if you move to manual you can’t move back to auto unless you factory reset. Short 1 year warranty is worthless.
Disappointed

Purchased in January 2013.

Aruba Bob

Aruba BobOssian

This ice cream maker is a piece of CRAP!!!!

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Tish

Tish

  • 2 reviews

Freezer bowls work better in Brisbane

published

The machine can't cope with Brisbane summer weather, it just won't cool down enough; other freezer bowl machines work well in same conditions and faster.

The churner isn't well designed for airation; again other machines have better shaped churners making light and fluffy icecream without a buildup on the edge of the bowl.

It is very heavy.

The autodetect and keep chilled after finishing never worked very well, was easier and more reliable to just do manually and keep an eye on it.

Used 5-6 times put in cupboard for 3 months over winter and pulled it out and cooling wasn't working so got a refund.

Wouldn't repurchase as not worth it considering ice bowl machines perform better.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
peter

petersydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Awful.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Marshall

MarshallGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 42 reviews

It works. It’s simple. It can produce all sorts of frozen mixtures and it (seems to be) robust.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Ice Cream Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Scoop BCI600 compares to other Ice Cream Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Honest Kiwi

Honest KiwiWellington

  • 4 reviews

Simply the best with no fuss!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Sultan Kabir

Sultan KabirPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

As simple as 1..2..3.. Ice Cream

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Aemae Delos Santos

Aemae Delos SantosMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Many issues and poor customer service

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Makes great ice cream until the tiny gasket gets misplaced

published

Somehow misplaced the tiny gasket the goes around the driveshaft and now if there is any overflow ice cream gets down into the motor slowly gunking it up. Of course I tried to find a replacement but that was futile. Will be looking at other machines in the future as it seems they don't make or throw in replacement parts that are impossible to find.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Lilys Mummy

Lilys Mummy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

stopped working after the 3rd time of use - great when it actually worked though!

published

I bought this to eliminate excess sugar and dairy in our ice cream due to health and allergy issues. It was so awesome the first two times i used it but the 3rd time it said it was ready about 30secs after i poured the mixture in. I tried a further 2 times thinking i did something wrong but even after a walk through call with Breville it wouldnt work again. Was really disappointed considering the cost. Took it back to The Good Guys for a full refund and found out it was a common issue with this product.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
  • Verified purchase

Worked Once

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Ice Cream Makers

Find out how Breville Smart Scoop BCI600 compares to other Ice Cream Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamMelton

Love it!

published

Purchased last October and used weekly ever since. No problems at all, love the recipes that I can put my own twist on. I don't eat sugar so being able to make my own ice cream with alternatives is fantastic, now taking orders from family members. My only concern was the pre-cool was taking a long time but realised I just needed to be more patient.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
DrQwerty

DrQwertyAdelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews

Solid machine, does the job

published

We decided to invest in one of the smart scoop machines, it is a pretty solid machine. We have used it quite a few times now over the last year and it certainly does work well. It has been good being able to make all sorts of different flavours and mixes. The recipes in the guide are a good basis, and work well. The machine is a bit noisy is prob the only main downside.

Date PurchasedDec 2015

Knocking noise

published

Used the ice cream maker less than 10 times and the last time it made a strange knocking noise. I removed the basket - no change. I selected pre-cool - no noise.
The ice cream maker still works but it does not sound right.
Any suggestions how to address this issue?

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Mmmmmmmm Just The Best

published

Bought the Breville Smart Scoop a couple of days ago and so far have made Lemon Sorbet and Vanilla ice cream. Wow. Just a fantastic machine. So easy to use and clean. Recipes and user manual are simply explained. Wasn't sure what quality we would get but were very surprised at just how good it is. Can't wait to make more using different ingredients. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who loves Ice Cream, Gelato and Sorbet.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Dial not working

published

Only used 4 times now dial not working not happy ..very expensive for breaking already with no real use poor quality for large cost . I was excited to make my own healthy ice cream and frozen youghurt only made 4 ice creams cannot change dial to make youghurt . I see many others have a dial problem to

Date PurchasedDec 2015
4 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville
Lily
Lily

Thank you for your response. I took liberty in emailing already as I saw the email address. I am just hoping gor a response.

Lily
Lily

I have received a reply only 24 hrs after my post by Breville. This is fantastic service.I am not sure of the outcome yet as I have replied with the model numbers as requested.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

poly r.

poly r.asked

hello my machine skips the process in manual and in auto..it proceeds to the finish after 15 sec's and bypass's the process and says remove blade...

1 answer
Ian Clark
Ian Clark

One of mine did the same, I took it back still under warranty and they fixed it, something to do with the thermostat

poly r.

poly r.asked

hello ..my problem is that i start my machine on a ice cream setting and starts to churn then in 15 secs it says remove paddle ready,It looks like it skips the timing process in both manual and auto as indictor line just moves straight up to desired setting of Gelato,ice cream ,frozen yogurt, it seems to by passing the process.

No answers
Ricki

Rickiasked

Help I have obviously spilled mix down the middle some hope and have had my machine in storeage just opened it and it smelled so I checked it and looks like some has gone down into the rotating part please how do I get in there to clean it ? Do I have to take the whole case off ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.