??!
9 photos
Breville Smart Kettle BKE825
2.3 from 138 reviews

Reviews

2.3

138 reviews
5
(19)
4
(13)
3
(11)
2
(39)
1
(56)
  • Build Quality
    1.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mike P

Mike PKambah 2902, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Just don't bother wasting the money

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer for A$139.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Tim S.

Tim S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

expensive and short lived

published

Only had this for about 2 years and now you press the start button it clicks and just beeps a number of times and shuts off. must be a ground fault in the jug. waste of money.

Purchased for A$175.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Florence Cochran

Florence CochranPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Broken twice, fault in design

published

Buyer beware!!

I loved this kettle when I received it as a house warming present - within warranty it stopped working maybe after 18 months. This, considering the price is not good enough.

Under warranty it was replaced - as it should have been - but within 12 months the replacement has the exact same issue. very upsetting as I am a big tea drinker and the concept is great!

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Smart Kettle BKE825 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works fine! Just rotate it on its base to keep the sensor contacts clean

published

We had all the same frustrations expressed here until I listened to my wife and applied my electrical engineering design experience to the problem.
It is well known that metal contacts carrying very low currents will oxidize or build up resistance. I believe this is what is happening to the temperature sensor contacts in the base of the Breville kettle. I cleaned the Base contacts and bingo, no more problems for several months. Repeat, clean & fixed again.
We now habitually rotate the jug on its base every time we use it and have no more problems. NB unplug the base before doing anything to it, some contacts are live at 240v.
PS cleaning water scale off the bottom of the jug reduced the noise level too.

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Jess B

Jess BPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Faulty after 2 months

published

Even though the reviews were bad because our previous smart kettle lasted for years we decided to replace our old one the same product. Something has obviously changed. First the lid would continuously get stuck. Then one night it just starting making this electrical sound and started boiling. Then next morning none of the buttons would work and it’s completely broken. By all the reviews, this product is obviously faulty and needs to be taken off shelves!

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
HonestCitizen

HonestCitizenBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Temperature control

published

The main reason I bought this kettle is due to the temperature control buttons. It gives me the option to boil water at 100 deg or to make green tea with 80 deg water. Perfect for tea drinkers or those who don’t like super hot water every single time they boil water. It has a keep warm function which allows the kettle to keep boiling the water when it senses it’s cooling down. I’ve had this kettle for over 3 yrs now and it’s still working. Occasionally, and only just recently, it will boil continuously and I have to hit cancel to stop it. Must be a fault with the buttons? But given I have gotten so many years from it, it doesn’t bother me. It still works fine. So I won’t replace it until it dies completely.

Purchased in March 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
waynoshaw

waynoshawGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Never Ever Buying another Breville Product Again!

published
Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Patrick

PatrickPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Continues to Boil - Cracked Lid, No reason, not dropped!

published

Same as many others, it just continues to boil and the lid developed a crack for no good reason and the crack is just getting larger! Pretty poor for such an expensive kitchen appliance!

Build Quality
Value for Money
cdr

cdrGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

BKE825 Serious Fire Hazard

published

Of course 1 month out of warranty.
BKE825 kettle just kept boiling.
Smoke started coming out of base controller which in turn set the fire alarm off.
Very lucky alarm went off and I was near by!!
Do not Buy !!

Purchased in August 2018 at Stan Cash Brooklyn for A$89.99.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Smart Kettle BKE825 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

Steve

  • 3 reviews

Rust bucket disguised as a kettle

published

I have had three of these over the last few years, every single one was a warranty return.
By twelve months of use with regular cleaning using documented process in the manual, yes I rtfm, these kettles have without fail rusted between the lid and the rim of the kettle. The soft open lid has just failed this morning as well.
I am done with this product even though my current kettle is still under warranty, I can not be bothered driving to the store to exchange for the same sub standard product.
Another poor quality product off to landfill.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
ADJ

ADJPerth, WA

Doesn't actually boil water!!

published

Purchased in March 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
kgmgim

kgmgim

  • 11 reviews

Variable temperature control

published

We received this kettle as a warranty replacement to a prior Breville temperature select model (BKE720BS).
This model is quieter & heats faster than our previous kettle.
It’s easy to both fill & see the water quantity.
I like how you can select the desired water temperature directly from the five option control panel.
I didn’t read the above reviews & unfortunately don’t hold my breath that this will last beyond x2 years.

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer Retail Stores.

Noise Level
rachel

rachelGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great features but doesn't last

published

After having this kettle for eight months the seal on the lid cracked then the lid fell apart. I love the features and the different temperature settings but the durability is very poor. I did make a warranty claim and that was handled magificently, but it was too late I have purchased what I hope is a more durable kettle. Base on this I am unable to recomend it. I now have a spare kettle.

Purchased in October 2018 at Aussie PC Shop.com for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dartshopper

DartshopperGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Doesn't last - Don't waste your money

published

This kettle has lasted less than 2 years. It either switches off before boiling or boils continuously and doesn't switch off. Disappointing and not worth the money. Would not recommend.

Purchased in July 2017 at Noel Leeming Physical store for A$70.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money

Don't buy

published

Yes purchased this kettle in 2014. One week before replacement warranty it stopped working. Luckily myer replaced it, so that was 2016. Now two months after warranty has finished the replacement has stopped working. Seems they only last two years. Will not buy a breville again. It's a shame most end up in land fill. Lift your game breville. Just not good enough.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
Electric Kettles

Find out how Breville Smart Kettle BKE825 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

Steve

  • 2 reviews

Don’t waste your cash

published

Started playing up after 12 months and now (18months old) won’t work at all. Started failing to heat to desired temperature, now will not heat at all. Turns itself off and on, beeps incessantly and is a complete waste of cash and bench space. Save your cash and just buy a normal kettle!!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Don’t bother buying it.

published

This is the second kettle. The first one I thought was good for ages and then it started to not turn off. Just kept boiling. I bought another about 3/4 months ago and now this is doing the same thing. So annoyed that this is happening. Not buying a breville kettle again.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Monique C

Monique CSouthwest, VIC

  • 16 reviews

If only you could give 0 stars!

published

If there was ever a time to invoke Derryn Hinch, it’s for this kettle- shame!!! This was my second one to replace the previous one which stopped working and after a less than easy return process with Breville (think walking over broken glass), this one has lasted - 6 months:(
This has to be the most overpriced, useless piece of junk I have bought ever! Will not be going back for a third - have chucked it in the bin and will go with another brand...

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Drewster69

Drewster69Hillman

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very expensive kettle that should last longer than 15 months !

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
SharG

SharGMelb

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't buy this kettle

published

Disappointing for such an expensive kettle. Started to play up (turning off, beeping for no reason), just before the 2yr warranty was up. Contacted Breville was advised to take it to it's repair agent, I didn't as had read here that the repair agent will give you a new base and after a short the faults will repeat themselves. I had bought their previous model had no issues, ran for years, really disappointed in this model. What happened Breville?

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

W A R C H I E F

W A R C H I E Fasked

Smart Kettle BKE825

Has anyone figured out how to disable the beeping short of finding the buzzer and snipping it?

No answers
Sidda Lea

Sidda Leaasked

Smart Kettle BKE825

My kettle turns on, as in the red light illuminates the on/off button, but the kettle wont boil on any of the temp settings. Any idea what is wrong and what component i need to replace??
Cheers

2 answers
Breville
BrevilleBreville

At Breville, our aim is to deliver innovative product and a premier consumer experience. This experience should not be occurring and may require additional troubleshooting or service. Please give us the opportunity to correct the situation by contacting our dedicated customer care team at 1300 139 798 (M-F, 8am-5pm) or at askus@breville.com.au

Kevin K.
Kevin K.

I’ve got this same issue but it’s out of warranty. It’s a pity because it was an expensive kettle

Jess85

Jess85asked

Smart Kettle Black Sesame (BKE825BKS)

I just got my kettle today, I switched it on and have run it a couple of times then I moved it to another spot and now when I switch it on the keep warm button and the start/cancel button flash then turn straight off, I don’t know what I can try? Or is it a fault? Thank you.

1 answer
Annabel
Annabel

I would return it and get it replaced under warranty.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.