??!
1 photo
Chromagen Eternity 26

Chromagen Eternity 26

2.4 from 10 reviews

See the Best Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Had it for 10 years

Ive had the unit for 10 years now and installed 2 remotes for convenience still going strong hasn't failed touch wood thou im not sure if this has made a difference to the life span but the unit is under cover and out of the sun and rain

Purchased in September 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level

Intermittent hot water

Have had this until for only 7 years. Started off getting hot water only intermittently. Now very rarely are we able to get hot water. I wish companies would make products to last. I could purchase one of two parts for approx. $160 but I'm not giving this company any more money. I'll replace it with a trusty Rinnai.

Date PurchasedNov 2011

Really bad machine

My house built by Metricon and I moved in for a month. In this month, it is hard to have a good hot water supply in my house. The unit will work when himself is happy. I can't have any hot water when the unit not happy. Chromagen came to check a few time and couldn't find out any problem. They refuse to replace the new unit to me. They always said is the water pressure problem but we had the third party to check and confirm no issue of water pressure. Finally, they replace the new unit to me a month later. After a few days, the new unit has the same problem again.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Reserved Judgement

The builder had this installed 18 months ago, it has been performing faultlessly during that time, the water flow sensor failed (jammed) the service tech arrived within an hour of service call and replaced the sensor. It lit off straight away, during my shower just 20 minutes later the unit flamed out and went cold after just 5 minutes. The unit remains unserviceable for the next few days because no additional parts are at hand.(has to be ordered in) I will review this product again in 3 months to make a determination whether the unit is junk or not.
Edit: It turns out the cause of failure is contamination by very fine sand of the water supply, It is a widespread issue within the estateand will take some days to rectify. Therefore my review of this product is withdrawn.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Stopped Working 6 Months In

Builder supplied T26 has stopped working 6 months after handover from Metricon, in the middle of winter!! The unit does not activate when only one tap is turned on, so we have had to turn on 2 taps on full hot water for the unit to be triggered, and sometimes even that doesn't work. Builders should stop supplying this brand if it is causing so much grief to customers.

Edit: Updated rating because Chromagen rang to say that it is the actual taps that are restricting water flow that is the problem, and not an issue with the water heater unit. Waiting to see if the builder will offer a fix to the blocked/restricted taps.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Have read the negative reviews on the previous model....so far performs as it should

Yes, I have read the negative reviews on the previous model "Eternity T2X". There are plenty of good reviews elsewhere. Current model is Eternity Plus M2X (mine is M26)....so far performs as expected and does a great job. Only time will tell if the unit is well made. I note it is made in China. Old gas storage unit sprang a leak, so I needed a quick replacement - I picked it up from Bunnings while the plumber was on the way and the job was done. Kids had a hot bath that night. I will change here if I don't get a good run from it.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

9 months in and it's been leaking the whole time

Great when it works but a piece of rubbish. Builder put it in, repairman took the cover off and was showered in water......nine months in. Replaced the same day at least. Cheap Israeli made crap. Do yourself a favor and buy a Rinnai, that always worked well for us prior

Date PurchasedJul 2017

2 replacement boards in 5 years and now number 3.

My builder's plumber installed an Eternity 26 in late 2013. Since then the unit has failed twice (it would not deliver water at 55C and 26l/min and the controller constantly displayed a flashing error message) which required replacement of the computer board in the unit. It has now happened a third time and I expect the plumber to advise once again that this problem is not covered by the unit warranty.

Beware Of Chromagen Products

Very disappointed with this system. ETERNITY T20 barely got 2 years out of it. Builders put it in (probably because cheap) Parts only 12 mths warranty, pump 3 yrs and cylinder 5 yrs. Called the company and they were quite good in handling my request. They sent request to outside repair service quite quickly. However, this repairer, without going out to see the unit said they get requests from their products all the time and that it is a really bad unit that's why they don't give much warranty and that i would just be better off getting a whole new unit. They said that the company says they're busy and give out to independent repairers only because they are busy with 'new builds' and not really interested in chasing up repair issues. won't be covered. Best to get a unit with long warranty, this usually means they will last. Called Chromagen back to inform of this and they didn't seem too surprised. Apologised and that's about all the lady could give me. Next step. ACCC

Won't buy again ....hope supplier can fix simply design issue.

The product is using cheap plastic flow sensor. The sensor lasts only about 2 years. Sensor will slow down and as such it may get less hot and will stop working on single tap. It needs about 5L/m to start. Please design better sensor with 2L/min start like Rheem 27. This sensor is making it useless product. Otherwise it is OK product.

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.