3 photos
Google Chromecast Ultra

Google Chromecast Ultra

MPN: GA3A00414A09
4.3 from 31 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Networked Media Players in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Google? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.3
31 reviews
Previous
Next
Russell Muller
Russell MullerSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

I wasn't sure this was going to work

published

I looked around at different options to get Internet TV to my small second TV. You cant buy small smart TVs so I wanted to turn my small TV in the bedroom into a smart TV.
I spoke to a woman at JB HiFi who advised the Google Chromecast was what I needed and to buy the one with a remote control. This way I did not need to use my phone to operate it. I bought and easily installed it to a HDMI socket on the TV and it works really well and simply. Just set up the internet connection on the TV using the Chrome cast and I can watch Netflix, ABC Iview and everything else I can on my smart TV. Its a winner!

Purchased in July 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
Geoff
GeoffDarling Downs, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Top quality caster

published

Ultra arrived today, setup took about 5 minutes and the hardest part was getting the hdmi plug into the back of a wall mounted tv. Quality of picture can’t be faulted

Purchased in March 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $79.00.

Incentivised Review No
trompfy
trompfyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 228 reviews
  • 69 likes

The worst streaming product your 4K TV

published

On Friday 29th January 2021 I purchased Google Chromecast Ultra from the Chirnside Park store but it didn't work on my 4K TV since my TV doesn't have any HDMI Ports so on Sunday 8th August 2021 I returned it and they offered me a full refund.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $95.00.

Incentivised Review No
Brad
BradSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Awesome product

published

After messing around with so many different options over the cheers its great to have a product that just works. And its relatively cheap too. Casting from your phone is straightforward (which is how I do it), but you can also do it from any chrome browser on the network if you know how to do it.

It is reliant upon your internet for things like Netflix though, so bare that in mind if your internet provider is rubbish like mine is.

Purchased in July 2020 at Google Store for $59.00.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast Ultra compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James
JamesPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews

This is worth a review

published

I have recently purchased this from JBHIFI and love it. It does what it says no problem at all streams from your phone in full hd 4k. Can't recommend it enough.

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $98.00.

Incentivised Review No
GGG8487
GGG8487Sydney, NSW
  • 39 reviews
  • 40 likes

Ethernet port is awesome

published

Use this almost daily. I one of the best features for me is that having it plugged into the router via ethernet means I can stream things from my PC, which does not have a Wi-Fi connection. For example, I can play a movie through VLC and have it cast to the TV. One it's casting, you can pause or skip through it using your phone like normal.

Purchased in June 2017 at Officeworks Online store for $80.00.

Incentivised Review No
Kristy
KristyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Perfect streamer !

published

Brought the google chrome cast ultra to stream kids shows onto the non smart Tv in 2nd lounge room, works absolutely amazing from my iPhone to tv.
Can stop and pause when necessary for kids !
No issues

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
Casey and Fatty
Casey and FattyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Cant live without it now!

published

Brought my Chromecast 3 days ago and I can't remember what I did beforehand now! So easy to set up and activate on my phone and TV. Love the personal touch of the screen saver too.

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $80.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hayley
HayleySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

Perfect for casting kid shows from your phone to the tv

published

I bought this originally to cast the kids shows from my phone to the tv but oh my god it can do so much more so worth it in my option.

Purchased in November 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $49.00.

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast Ultra compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nigel Ng
Nigel Ng
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Creating Much Convenience

published

Chromecast has created so much convenience for video-streaming and audio-streaming. If you do not have a smartTV, you can easily stream YouTube / Netflix on your TV by having the Chromecast plugged into your TV (through the USB port).

Purchased in December 2018.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jake M.
Jake M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for casting to your TV.

published

I purchased a Google Chromecast originally just for my iPhone. To which i learn it isn't really well suited for it, so I do wish in the future they would be able to cast over many iPhone apps.

But after getting a google nest mini, the chromecast has been brought back to life. It can turn my tv on and off, it will cast anything I tell the google nest mini to. It's honestly the perfect addition to any google smart home.

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $98.00.

Incentivised Review No
Degree4Display
Degree4DisplaySydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent product love it

published

This is a simple solution for watching Netflix or FOXTEL of YouTube! Simply sync with your phone and watch on your tv! Have even taught my 70 year old Father in Law how to use it!
Great value for money buy!!!
Just wish it was compatible with Apple apps

Incentivised Review No
Networked Media Players

Find out how Google Chromecast Ultra compares to other Networked Media Players

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke E.
Luke E.
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works perfectly

published

Bought one to use with my kayo subscription, have not had a single issue for the whole football season, very happy with the product, picture is good and never buffers

Purchased in February 2019 for $99.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sandra
SandraGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great device and well priced

published

We purchased our Chrome cast from Myer, which was recommended as we didn’t have a smart tv. It’s been fantastic we can stream our favourite movies. The device was easy to install as well. Great product and well priced.

Purchased in August 2019 at Myer for $59.00.

Incentivised Review No
Craig
CraigIllawarra, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Easy to setup and use with Iphone

published

I bought this from JB Hi Fi and connected to my new Samsung Smart TV.

This particular TV doesn't really need any more features, but the chromecast works perfectly with apps such as Kayo Sports and Apple TV. This TV without chromecast will not allow me to use Kayo. So Chromecast can still add value to an otherwise new and highly featured TV.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $59.00.

Incentivised Review No

Questions & Answers

Ninja Mega Kithen System
Ninja Mega Kithen Systemasked

I have a polk assist and want to play spotfiy through my denon av receiver how?

No answers
Jeff H
Jeff Hasked

do you have to have a smart tv?

No answers
Douglas
Douglasasked

Will this work in hotels without a router?

1 answer
Renan JL
Renan JL

By itself - No.

You need some form of router, be it another phone with tethering or hotspot or hotel wifi and use it to connect chromecast and your phone. I assume you want to watch or play something on your phone else you will be using your hotspot data to connect to Netflix.

See all Google Chromecast Ultra questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryNetworked Media Players
Price (RRP)$99
ConnectivityWi-Fi
App StoreGoogle Play
Netflix App CompatibleYes
SD Card SlotNo
Depth58.2mm
Height58.2mm
Width13.7mm
Replaced byGoogle Chromecast with Google TV
  • GTIN14: 00811571018390
  • GTIN12: 811571018390
  • MPN: GA3A00414A09

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.