??!
4 photos
Dell XPS 13

Reviews

2.7

35 reviews
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(12)
Previous
Next
Steve M.

Steve M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Poor Quality, Poor Reliability & Terrible Uncompromising Customer Service

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Dell for A$2,600.00.

kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Great little laptop if you have the patience to wait DELL to fix the factory bugs...

published

Bought on sale from Max Mart, Dell US in 2016. Old spec. Luckily with 1 year full on site service warranty. Within 6 weeks the camera and mic were gone. A DELL technician came home and fixed them. In less then 2 months same issue happened again. Again a DELL technician came and this time changed the whole part with brand new. Well, i have to say it has been a great little laptop since - reasonably fast, sturdy, reliable...

Purchased in May 2016 at Dell for A$1,023.00.

horrible, broken cant fix

published

i barely use this laptop, all up it has had maybe 100 hours of use. firstly the motherboard failed just inside warranty. now i cant turn it on a few months later, no support all out of warranty, what a waste of $2500

Purchased in March 2017 at JB Hifi Home for A$2,500.00.

Laptops

Find out how Dell XPS 13 compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Raj Pandya

Raj PandyaPerth, WA

Not Good Enough For Its Price, Bad Quality Build

published

Purchased in December 2016 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$2,500.00.

DELL XPS 13 is Very Disappointing, Don't Buy

published

THis computer has been nothing but trouble since I purchased it from Dell.ca in November 2018. Driver issues and the sound not be activated or becoming deactivated everytime a new software updates was loaded. Now one of the USB ports stopped working. it was not worth he $2500 I paid for this computer just over a year ago.

Purchased in November 2018 at Dell for A$2,500.00.

Brian626

Brian626Melbourne

  • 11 reviews

Expensive piece of junk

published

One of the most expensive laptops out there with the most problems. Screen flickering, coil whine, constant fan running on light load and the weight makes it one of the worst laptops at it's expensive price range.

Purchased in October 2016 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,600.00.

Spot

SpotSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Failed computer; won't honour warranty

published

This unit failed completely after 9 months.
Took 6 weeks to have them agree to a replacement under warranty, but after 8 weeks I am still haven't received a replacement, nor any explanation of how many months I will have to wait.
For the amount of stress, time wasted, and inconvenience I really wish I had bought from a better manufacturer. I'll never buy from Dell again.

Purchased in December 2018 at Dell for A$1,700.00.

1 comment
Spot
Spot

Do not buy!

published

I have had nothing but problems with this computer. Didn't work straight out of the box, sent it to dell to get it fix and it came back to me still not working. Months go by and I still have reoccurring problems such as battery life, trackpad issues, touch screen issues just to name a few. DO NOT BUY.

GrillaBBQ

GrillaBBQBrisbane

  • 26 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dual display via Usbc Daisy Chain

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Dell Australia for A$2,500.00.

Laptops

Find out how Dell XPS 13 compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bulat

BulatSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dell XPS quality control issues

published
Determined2b

Determined2bHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Good computer but broken warranty/ premium extension system

published

I had a 2 year warranty with premium business support. Prior to expiry I was invited through the Dell support assistant to extend my warranty and premium support. I filled out the form. I heard nothing back.

3 days prior to expiry I rang with a technical issue, which was resolved. The consultant said I had to wait for the warranty/support to expire before renewing. So after expiry I filled out another from linked to support assistant. I heard nothing back.

So I rang again, and am still to hear back from Dell

Purchased in February 2017.

Could have been my favorite laptop, but its less reliable than my 2008 Mini cooper s

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Paul P

Paul PMelbourne

Dell XPS 13

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Tim

TimSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Cheap build quality, junking it after a year, not happy

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Olliew

OlliewSydney

Do not buy

published

I've had trouble with my laptop since day one. Incredibly short battery life, randomly shuts down, randomly closes pages without saving them. Now the laptops screen will go black every time I turn it on after the dell logo. The computer is now unusable and dell support is of no use.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Laptops

Find out how Dell XPS 13 compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sciger

ScigerSydney

  • 9 reviews

Shuts down...... occaisonaly

published

This is my 3rd Dell 2 in 1 XPS 13. I bought it from JB HIFI. The first one had a bubble in the bottom right corner of the screen so I took it back and swapped it. On the 2nd one, the letter P would occasionally NOT WORK.... so I swapped it again for the 3rd and final one. This one is fine except.... it occasionally shuts down in the middle of whatever it is i'm doing. This can be very frustrating. Apart from that it works well. It is quick, has great features and came with an awsome stylus/pen which lets you sign documents on the screen - nice!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Kai Nguyen

Kai NguyenMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

The new Coffee Lake processors make this beast even better

published

Bought this around Boxing Day, and have loved it ever since pulling it out of its is packaging. It’s thin, light, and very well constructed. Also, it has a plethora of ports (2 usb 3.0, 1 usb 3.1, full sd card slot, noble lock slot, earphone jack hole), and a battery gauge on the outside.
The battery life is AMAZING! I get around 10 hrs per charge, as the new 8th gen processor along with the FHD screen helps to conserve battery. Also, the keyboard and trackpad are great to use.

Only thing that I don’t like is that it gets kind of hot, and the fan is kind of loud under heavy load

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Vinny

VinnyPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent little Laptop which could have been so much better

published

I bought this laptop to replace my sony touch screen laptop which I hated. I bought it directly from Dell Australia through their Ebay store when they had 20% off sale. Its a cute little laptop which performs like a beast. Its a 13.3 inch screen laptop but with a form factor of 11 inch. The screen is amazing with very thin bezels. Dell calls it infinity screen. Tactile keyboard is great with backlight. Its made from premium materials of magnesium alloy and carbon fibre, so it looks beautiful. Audio could have been better i guess. Apart from that Its excellent. Happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Big L

Big LSydney

Good but speaker issues

published

Dell saved my life by making me mobile. When I purchased it, the review of overheating were a worry. But a bios upgrade resolved this. Only real problem is speaker becomes crackey every few weeks. Suggest its a driver issue but so far no solution. Other than than , battery quite good - generally 4 - 6 hours, screen is crisp and clear - anti glare would have been good though. Would I buy another? Yes - I did - have 2.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

DELL Australia wont honour 9 month old XPS13 warranty

published

This is now my second XPS 13 and both have had screen hinge issues. The current one is 9 months old and their 'escalation team' say the hinge is "damaged". The laptop has never been dropped, no scratches, and never mishandled.

Forced now to try to go through Consumer Affairs to get a remedy.

Don't believe the nonsense that Dell is a reputable multinational company and can be relied on.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.