??!
1 photo
Diggers Paint Stripper

Diggers Paint Stripper

1.4 from 63 reviews

Reviews

1.4

63 reviews
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(52)
Previous
Next
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Ripped off!!!

published

Don’t even ask how bad this stuff is... it’s absolutely useless and I mean that with all my heart... I lost two days wage on this Corrupt product... angry as and got a speeding taking the piece of crap back to mitre 10!!!

Purchased in May 2020 at Mitre 10 for A$10.99.

Totally useless

published

I have used a number of paint strippers before but Diggers paint stripper plus would be the most useless. Regardless of whether is is industrial or domestic it should still do what it is suppose to do and that is strip paint and varnish. Well I have painted it on and waited and waited annnnnd waited. 1 hour on and the very thin peeling vanish is partially coming off (the other stripper I used 10 mins and all off) The acrylic paint is still the same no bubbling at all. Waste of money and time.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$34.95.

Daniel Moore

Daniel MooreHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Didn’t work

published

Similar to all the other reviews. Very very little stripping power noted. I have left the stuff on for days and no bubbling. Multiple attempts and no action. I might take it back to bunnings.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$25.00.

Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Find out how Diggers Paint Stripper compares to other Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew C.

Andrew C.Sydney, NSW

Absolute trash

published

Completely useless, stripped nothing but my wallet of cash.
I could bath in this stuff and feel no effect.
How could they not test this stuff? It does literally nothing.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$25.00.

EllaG

EllaGPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Product Confusion - industrial or domestic strength

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Jacob M.

Jacob M.Murray Region, NSW

Pathetic excuse for paint stripper!

published

Beyond disappointed with this product and will think twice before buying anything Diggers again! Failed to strip flakey old paint off a motorcycle frame, despite leaving it on for 48hrs and having to aggressively sand between coats

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$24.99.

Natara

NataraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Useless. :(

published

Gutted I didn't read the reviews before buying this. After an hour left on, absolutely NOTHING. Not a single flake of paint came up. Followed all instructions, shook can, thick layer applied. Might as well have washed the surface with water and expected a result.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

If only there was less than one star

published

This was a waste of my time and money. Suck a d%ck diggers. Should be called paint scammer instead of stripper. If i employed an equivalent human stripper, she'd put clothes on

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$40.00.

Miroku

MirokuADELAIDE

  • 15 reviews

Waste of time and $$$$ using this product

published

Brought a can to remove varnish of a peice of walnut ready to do a oil finish.
Applied as per instructions also wrapped in glad wrap as to help the paint stripper work more effective.
End result the Diggers paint stripper was useless and did not remove the varnish even after several attempts.
Then purchased tin of Poly Stripper and worked ike a charm.
I should read the other reviews before purchase.

Purchased in November 2019.

Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Find out how Diggers Paint Stripper compares to other Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
eddy

eddy

  • 4 reviews

Don't waste your time.

published

May as well have used water. Had a previously good image of diggers products but I cannot see that any testing was done on this product to make sure it worked.

Stephen H.

Stephen H.Perth, WA

Do not buy

published

I strip powder coated frames. Today’s is a rattle can. Easy? Not with this. It’s weak, watery and after 45 mins, I’m going to buy a different paint stripper. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$25.00.

Gabe

GabeNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

Waste of time and money...just awful

published

I wish I had read the reviews here before I tried this stuff. It's a joke. (FYI: I bought the the 'PLUS' version.)
I applied a thick layer to a wooden cabinet that had some old varnish/stain on it. I left it for several hours and it had barely even softened the coating into a thick gunk that didn't scrape off well at all. I think I would have to do it about 3 more times, and wait maybe 6 hours between each attempt to finally finish the job. I will be taking this back to Bunnings to get my money back - something I have rarely had to do. But this stuff is just completely 'unfit for purpose.' Don't make the same mistake I did.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$23.00.

Ally S.

Ally S.North-West & West coast, TAS

  • 3 reviews

Don't waste your resources.

published

Looked for an effective paint stripper to remove stain from timber. Understood that it would require patience and multiple attempts depending on the amount of coats of stain applied.
Have purchased other diggers products so thought it would be the way to go! All I can say is don't waste your time or money. I ended up having to sand over the paint stripper which took just as much time as it would have if I hadn't elected to use a stripper - Find other products.

Purchased in July 2019.

Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This isn't the paint stripper you are looking for.

published

It doesn't really work. Applied it generously and waited a few hours. Still needed a lot of elbow grease: scrapers, steel wool, and finally sanding to get a small patch 1sqm of thinly applied paint off a deck that we couldn't reach with a drum sander.

Eventually gave up and decided it's a shabby chic deck ;)

So yes if you are looking at a shabby chic project this is the stuff for you!! But if looking to strip paint look elsewhere.

Purchased in April 2019.

HG

HGSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Worst Ever

published

I can't believe how ineffectual this stripper is. At best the gel becomes slightly coloured with the paint, that it. Other I have used (in the UK) so not sure what to buy here blistered the paint within seconds. Got it yesterday and will return it to Bunnings today. Total rubbish product.

Purchased in April 2019.

Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Find out how Diggers Paint Stripper compares to other Solvent & Drain Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick

NickSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rubbish for stripping metal!

published

Same experience as Kynan. Used diggers paint stripper to remove peeling paint from metal gate. Left for nearly 45 minutes and hardly anything. barely affected the paint. Went and picked up the septones paint stripper from SCA and viola, blistering within a minute and came off easily. no comparison. if you need to strip paint from metal, this isnt the product for you.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$24.99.

Absolutely useless

published

Totally useless product. Left on for 45 minutes and paint still hadn't bubbled or even looked like paint was going to come off. Took it back and got a refund. Was told "it needs to stay on for 24hrs to work".
Dont waste your time and money purchasing this product. I purchased Septone paint remover and it took paint off within 30 seconds.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$24.20.

There must be a better way

published

Very slow working and needs to be reapplied time and time again. Doesn't penetrate very well and at best softens it a little after the third or fourth time leaving a lot to be sanded off. There must be better products available that actually work.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$30.00.

Charles

CharlesPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Diggers Don't Work

published

this product is slow working if it works at all had to get poly stripper to do the job wasted a day trying to do the job with diggers stripper

Purchased in February 2019 for A$24.00.

Waste of money!

published

Didn’t work at all. Left it for 30 mins, nothing happened, put another coat, left it overnight. Even though it was still vet it didn’t help to soften the paint, couldn’t strip off a small piece.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

peterm

petermasked

what is the difference between paint stripper and paint stripper plus?

No answers
Tammy B

Tammy Basked

How do u remove the bloody lid. Instructions are invisible?

1 answer
Colin H
Colin H

Press on the side of the cap andcrotate the tab past the locking tab or take a scapel and cut off the nloody locking tab !

Get an answer from our members and Diggers representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.