??!
1 photo
Diggers Paint Stripper

Diggers Paint Stripper

1.4 from 55 reviews

See the Best Solvent & Drain Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(2)
(2)
(0)
(6)
(45)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)

Miroku

MirokuADELAIDE

  • 14 reviews

Waste of time and $$$$ using this product

published

Brought a can to remove varnish of a peice of walnut ready to do a oil finish.
Applied as per instructions also wrapped in glad wrap as to help the paint stripper work more effective.
End result the Diggers paint stripper was useless and did not remove the varnish even after several attempts.
Then purchased tin of Poly Stripper and worked ike a charm.
I should read the other reviews before purchase.

Purchased in November 2019.


eddy

eddy

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't waste your time.

published

May as well have used water. Had a previously good image of diggers products but I cannot see that any testing was done on this product to make sure it worked.

Stephen H.

Stephen H.Perth, WA

Do not buy

published

I strip powder coated frames. Today’s is a rattle can. Easy? Not with this. It’s weak, watery and after 45 mins, I’m going to buy a different paint stripper. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $25.00.

Gabe

GabeNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

Waste of time and money...just awful

published

I wish I had read the reviews here before I tried this stuff. It's a joke. (FYI: I bought the the 'PLUS' version.)
I applied a thick layer to a wooden cabinet that had some old varnish/stain on it. I left it for several hours and it had barely even softened the coating into a thick gunk that didn't scrape off well at all. I think I would have to do it about 3 more times, and wait maybe 6 hours between each attempt to finally finish the job. I will be taking this back to Bunnings to get my money back - something I have rarely had to do. But this stuff is just completely 'unfit for purpose.' Don't make the same mistake I did.

Purchased in August 2019 for $23.00.


Ally S.

Ally S.North-West & West coast, TAS

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't waste your resources.

published

Looked for an effective paint stripper to remove stain from timber. Understood that it would require patience and multiple attempts depending on the amount of coats of stain applied.
Have purchased other diggers products so thought it would be the way to go! All I can say is don't waste your time or money. I ended up having to sand over the paint stripper which took just as much time as it would have if I hadn't elected to use a stripper - Find other products.

Purchased in July 2019.


Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This isn't the paint stripper you are looking for.

published

It doesn't really work. Applied it generously and waited a few hours. Still needed a lot of elbow grease: scrapers, steel wool, and finally sanding to get a small patch 1sqm of thinly applied paint off a deck that we couldn't reach with a drum sander.

Eventually gave up and decided it's a shabby chic deck ;)

So yes if you are looking at a shabby chic project this is the stuff for you!! But if looking to strip paint look elsewhere.

Purchased in April 2019.


HG

HGSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Worst Ever

published

I can't believe how ineffectual this stripper is. At best the gel becomes slightly coloured with the paint, that it. Other I have used (in the UK) so not sure what to buy here blistered the paint within seconds. Got it yesterday and will return it to Bunnings today. Total rubbish product.

Purchased in April 2019.


Nick

NickSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rubbish for stripping metal!

published

Same experience as Kynan. Used diggers paint stripper to remove peeling paint from metal gate. Left for nearly 45 minutes and hardly anything. barely affected the paint. Went and picked up the septones paint stripper from SCA and viola, blistering within a minute and came off easily. no comparison. if you need to strip paint from metal, this isnt the product for you.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $24.99.

Absolutely useless

published

Totally useless product. Left on for 45 minutes and paint still hadn't bubbled or even looked like paint was going to come off. Took it back and got a refund. Was told "it needs to stay on for 24hrs to work".
Dont waste your time and money purchasing this product. I purchased Septone paint remover and it took paint off within 30 seconds.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $24.20.

There must be a better way

published

Very slow working and needs to be reapplied time and time again. Doesn't penetrate very well and at best softens it a little after the third or fourth time leaving a lot to be sanded off. There must be better products available that actually work.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $30.00.


Charles

CharlesPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Diggers Don't Work

published

this product is slow working if it works at all had to get poly stripper to do the job wasted a day trying to do the job with diggers stripper

Purchased in February 2019 for $24.00.


Waste of money!

published

Didn’t work at all. Left it for 30 mins, nothing happened, put another coat, left it overnight. Even though it was still vet it didn’t help to soften the paint, couldn’t strip off a small piece.


New Digger’s Plus Stripper an abject failure!

published

I found this product to be totally useless.!!! It barely cut through the first layer. What on earth have you done with it?...0/5


Margaret C

Margaret CWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Useless Product!!!

published

I agree with Ryan R ,I used this for stripping paint off window frames and even left it on over night ,and still did nothing to remove the old paint ,it's true it is odourless and stays wet for 24 hours BUT DOSE NOT WORK!!!!!

Completely agree - useless

published

I appreciate it's "low odour" and "biodegradable" but it doesn't work. I foolishly trusted the product and put it all around three window frames. I spent more time try to clean it off. Still stinks. I know now why there are no time frames and it says "conveniently" wet for 24 hours...

Worked for me

published

I used it to remove paint from old steel mailboxes. Following instructions I applied the stripper with a brush. After about 15 minutes the paint softened and I was able to scrub it down using steel wool. It worked so well that you couldn’t tell the mailboxes were even painted before.


New product is rubbish.

published

I have used Diggers paint stripper before and found it effective. Then I recently bought Diggers Paint Stripper Plus from Bunnings. It stated it was low odour and could be left on for long periods. True,but that’s because I may as well have been brushing on oil for all the good it did. An added bonus is that it doesn’t even burn your skin it’s that useless. Save your money.


John

JohnNarooma

  • Verified purchase

Crap

published

Hopeless product. Poor application instructions and didn't strip discoloured oil based stain off deck despite leaving it on for hours. Another product called Polystripper blistered up the oil in seconds. Leave the Diggers product on the shelf.


It's $hit.

published

$25 down the toilet after buying this crap. Does NOT work in any way, shape or form. It literally stinks, barely attacks the paint it is applied to.
A complete waste of money, effort and time. Never again.


Took it back after seeing review

published

I bought this prior to research as I happened to be at Bunnings when I remembered I needed something to strip paint from metal. Just as well I decided to do a simple research and gut feel was right. I’m in a hardware store and I want something to strip paint from metal which I was thinking to myself, I need to be in Repco or Super Cheap at the minimum.
Convenience of being at Bunnings nearly cost me $22.


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

peterm

petermasked

what is the difference between paint stripper and paint stripper plus?

No answers

Tammy B

Tammy Basked

How do u remove the bloody lid. Instructions are invisible?

1 answer
Colin H
Colin H

Press on the side of the cap andcrotate the tab past the locking tab or take a scapel and cut off the nloody locking tab !


Get an answer from our members and Diggers representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.