??!
6 photos
Dimplex DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW

Dimplex DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW

DC10RC (3kW), DC12RCBW (3.5kW), DC15RCBW (4.4kW)
3.2 from 45 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.2

45 reviews
5
(7)
4
(15)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (9)
  • Room Type
  • Noise Level
    2.2 (9)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.4 (8)
  • Portability
    4.0 (9)
Previous
Next
Tammy burns

Tammy burnsDarling Downs, QLD

Returned once to get a working unit Now the heat dosent work

published

The first unit was faulty got a new unit and aircon was great very cool just turned it around for heat mode very cool air not hot at all. Very disappointed with the whole situation. Never again would I spend this much money on a unit that barely works.

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$859.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex

Hi Tammy burns,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please call our Technical Department on 1300 556 816 to try and trouble shoot with you.

Tank full fault light doesn't go off after emptying.....

published

We have had two units for a year. Over summer last year they worked ok but after winter we brought them out again and turned them on. We followed the instructions for both of them. The issue is one of them has the tank full light on (yes the tank is empty)..... These units are operating in extreme temperatures or humidity conditions and are well looked after.

It's a shame as we're happy with the other unit, albeit it's a bit loud.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
2 comments
Dimplex
Eleonore E.Dimplex
Dazza
Dazza

There's only one rubber plug on both of ours. We will return it to where we purchased it.

Thank for your help

Lana

LanaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Cooling well but a bit loud

published

Have had it for about three years now. Happy to tolerate the noise this machine produces because it does a good job in extreme weather conditions. And it looks good too!

Purchased in January 2018 at Gumtree for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Dimplex DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John K.

John K.Central, SA

  • 8 reviews

Great

published

Bought this unit due to having big aluminium windows . I had to buy a bigger vent kit for the window but I knew the original was too small . Cools 2 double bedrooms quickly , it makes a bit of noise but I have had others noisier, people must remember the compressor etc are all in the room with you , slight price to pay when its 42 and the unit lowers the temp to 23 in an hr or so . Just excellent overall for rooms where a window fitted aircon is not an option

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex

Hi John K,
Thank you for taking the time to review the DC10RC.

Mish K

Mish KMid North Coast, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Really disappointed

published

Purchased in February 2019 at TVSN (TV Shopping Network) for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
4 comments
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hi Mish K,
Thank you for taking the time to review our product.

Mish K
Mish K

So Glen
Are you a robot? This product is simply a waste of money & you have no comment ?

Dimplex
Danielle D.Dimplex
Sam L

Sam L

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Cools and heats a small area OK

published

I do like the small form factor of this Dimplex machine. While a bit noisy, unit worked OK in a limited area. One small but disappointing feature of most Dimplex portable air conditioners is a paper thin exhaust duct that is both flimsy and radiates back into the room a lot of heat/cold - that the machine is trying to remove from the room. Dimplex, this is false economy, try sourcing a more robust and better insulated exhaust duct like the rest of manufacturers do.
If you do not want to be bothered by constant E4 (condensate tank full) codes, the only practical way is to attach a small hose draining condensate into a bucket. Not the prettiest solution but simple and effective.

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello Sam
Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.
Your comment regarding the exhaust hose will be passed onto our research department.

Mark H

Mark HGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes summer heat bearable

published

I live in a summer sweat box, I'm on top of a hill and the western side of the building is completley exposed to the west, one day of temp above 30 and my apartment starts to heat up, if there is a couple of days over 30 it becomes unbearable to the point of insanity, this unit has helped me to get some sleep and remain sane. It's not cheap and it's not going to turn your house into the south pole but it if you have nothing else it's worth it.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello Mark
Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.

Matthew

MatthewSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Reasonable product if used wisely!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Gordon

GordonAuckland

  • 5 reviews

Good for drying clothes

published

Great in dehumidifier mode for drying clothes in the winter.
Heating mode is 10c above ambient room temperature so forget that side of things.
Aircon is only good for just blowing cool air at you.
I made rigs to go in the windows and sliding doors but what I found be a waste of time as this unit struggles to cool down a small room.
I found just having the door open and the exhaust out the door worked best.
Yes it is very noisy.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Thank you Gordon for taking the time to provide feedback.

Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Dimplex DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Justchill

JustchillSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Dimplex

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello Justchill
Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.

jaysblueaus

jaysblueausAU

  • 18 reviews

Would I recommend the answer is no

published

As I live in a rented property, I wanted a portable reverse cycle air conditioner, the product was not that efficient, was not overly good at cooling my one bedroom unit down. later on last year I brought 2 fans from big W that threw a mist of water out of them, that were actually cheaper to run and even more efficient. So mine went to cash converters, I had wished i did not wate my money on it, even the heating part was also absolute hopeless.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello jaysblueaus.
Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.

TCS

TCSAuckland

  • 2 reviews

Excellent options for renters

published

This unit has been extremely handy in both summer and winters. Cools and heats well and doesn’t blow up the power bill either. This is an excellent choice for renters, if the rental has no heat pumps or air cons installed. It does require sliding windows to instal though and it quite noisy and bulky. But overall I’m very satisfied with the unit. Has made both summer and winters much better for us.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello TCS
Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.

WhyNot

WhyNotFrankston

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good But A Bit Underpowered

published

We really hoped for big things over summer from this machine in our overly hot bedroom but it did help but it needed to be colder. The machine looks nice and is well made, it just cant really keep up with 40c plus days. It makes a difference though and its nice to sit right in front of but its a bit noisy so it has both good and bad pints. Would be OK in a study or small space,

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Hello why not. Thanks for posting a review on our product, we really appreciate your feedback.

Goose

GooseMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Its OK Nothing Like Installed Aircon

published

It was a relief to have this in the bedroom but I was hoping for better performance than we got. It makes a difference is a small room but it was near useless in larger spaces unless you sat right in front of it. It needs to be set up near a window to put the widow kit and hot air exhaust pipe out, so that limits the places we could use it. My overall reaction was "meh" its OK not amazing.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Amy

AmySydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good enough for us

published

This was the first portable air con we have ever purchased, so didn’t really know what to expect. At first I was quite disappointed that the quality didn’t match built in units but once I adjusted my expectations to consider that the unit is set up in a sliding door that can never be fully insulated, I felt better about the purchase. With the vent placed directly on the bed it kept us cool through hot and humid summer days. The reverse cycle will soon come in handy. While others have complained about the noise, it never kept us up at night:m. Overall good value for a mid range unit.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Dimplex DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Drewster69

Drewster69Hillman

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Top unit for small rooms

published

We have been using this brand/type of cooling unit for the past ten years or so now and when they eventually wear out, usually after about four years, we always buy another Dimplex for replacement. We have tried many other brands and Dimplex last the longest and cool the best when used properly.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Dimplex
GLEN D.Dimplex

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on our product. We very much appreciated your feedback!

Fitzy

FitzySomersby

Super loud! Sounds broken, radiates a lot of heat on the exit pipe

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Travis

TravisSmithfield plains

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works great indoors but not suitable for caravan

published

We originally purchased for our caravan and was assured by retailer it would cool our van on a 40degree day... NOT TRUE.. it failed to work so weve had to use in our bedroom instead... works well but not suit what we wanted it to do. And when discussed with retailer was toldit wasnt a fault

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Art House

Art HouseMatamata NZ

Falsely specified as portable, but needs to be ducted out a window

published

We required a portable unit able to be shifted between rooms, and ordered this unit.
The box specifies "self evaporative system - no drip tray or hose required", but when we collected the product a sticker had been added "external ducting is required to lower room temperature and dehumidify".
The unit was totally unsuitable for our purpose!! Fortunately the retailer refunded our purchase price.
Full marks to Noel Leeming NZ; but zero marks to Dimplex for false promotion

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Casey

CaseyAuburn

  • 4 reviews

Can't live without it

published

I love my unit not only does the air conditioning component work well but the heating and dehumidifier is amazing as well not to heavy to move around and not bulky that it's takes up heaps of room, love the sleep option so it turns it self off and I don't fall asleep with it on reasonably sound in regards to how load it is, I've owned it for just under a year and i have had no problems with it at all and I constantly use it

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Samsin

Samsinasked

DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW

Hi I have the above 3kW Reverse Cycle Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier and while heating it goes in to "DF" mode which I think means defrost, but I am wondering if it is meant to be doing this while heating?

1 answer
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex

Hi Samsin,
We have contacted the manufacturer with your enquiry and the response was as follows:
"DF mean defrost status. When heating function(It should be used in the winter), environment temperature is lower than the temperature of condenser, there are lots of frost on the condenser, Then the unit will not have efficiary heating air, so the unit will start DF mode to defrost, the compressor will stop and only motor working, when the frost smaller, the heating function will back to work."

Jason G.

Jason G.asked

DC15RCBW (4.4kW)

After reading the manual book, I still don't understand how to use the heater on DC15RCBW.
If I have to attach a drain hose then the hose should have been included.

1 answer
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex

Hi Jason,
HEATING & DEHUMIDIFICATION - When the heating or dehumidification functions are used the upper drain plug must be removed and a drain hose* must be attached. *Drain hose is not supplied. The drain hose needs to be 16mm and can be purchased from a hardware store.

John. D

John. Dasked

DC10RC / DC12RCBW / DC15RCBW

What size drain hose do you need for the heating function. The diameter not the length.

1 answer
Dimplex
Angela C.Dimplex

Hi John D,
16mm is the hose size you require for these models.

Get an answer from our members and Dimplex representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.