??!
4 photos
Dimplex Eco OFRC15 Range

Dimplex Eco OFRC15 Range

OFRC15TIB, OFRC15TFNB, OFRC15TIW, OFRC15TFNW
4.1 from 15 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(4)
(3)
(0)
(1)

    Heats

    published
    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Carla

    CarlaNSW, 2142

    • 6 reviews

    Good value for money

    published

    I always had oil heaters, but I decided to try this heater as it's oil free and it's supposed to be more energy efficient. I'm not sure if it it, but it definitely doesn't warm up the room as good as my Delonghi oil heater (which is the same size). The good thing about this Dimplex oil free heater is that it doesn't take long to release the heat compared to the oil heater which takes longer to warm up. But after a few hours, the oil heater seems to maintain the heat better

    Date PurchasedApr 2018
    BYKALIV

    BYKALIV

    • 5 reviews

    Perfect for a bedroom

    published

    Pro: Very lightweight. No messy oil so no leaks and it heats up extremely fast, saving power and money. We have two of the model and put in separate bedroom. We couldn't live without dimplex in winter - it kept us warm all winter!
    Con: The thermometer sensor always have a loud click, the click is a bit too loud. You can hear while you are asleep and got woken up from the loud click. Other than the click, it's a very good, heats up rapidly heater!

    Date PurchasedDec 2015
    Electric Heaters

    Find out how Dimplex Eco OFRC15 Range compares to other Electric Heaters

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Janice

    JaniceSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 17 reviews
    • 16 likes

    Cut your power bills in winter

    published

    I couldn't live without my dimplex in winter - it kept me warm all winter and the thermostat meant that when the power bill came i was pleasantly surprised. I could easily move it around to different rooms but the main feature is the thermostat and timer - automatic switch on/off keeps the power usage down. Forget oil filled column radiators and other forms of radiant heat.

    Date PurchasedApr 2016
    Angie

    Angie

    • 5 reviews

    perfect for a bedroom

    published

    Easy to assemble, easy to use, no messy oil so no leaks and it heats up rapidly saving power and money. My son suffers from chest infections in winter and having this heater on in his room at night has reduced the number and severity of winter colds this year.

    Date PurchasedAug 2016
    Jas

    Jas

    • 5 reviews

    Perfect!

    published

    Great size, timer settings available and anti trip feature is good
    Cable is good length and quite as other brand of heaters often had weird sound from the timer
    No complaint energy consumption wise we think it's good and we have a unit in 4 bedrooms and power consumption is acceptable

    Date PurchasedJun 2013
    1 comment
    Dimplex
    Danielle D.Dimplex

    Hi Jas - thank you for your review of our product. We very much appreciate your feedback!!

    Feeling conned and cold

    published

    Bought what I thought was an oil heater so I was disappointed from the begining to find out it contains no energy saving oil. However, I thought I would give it a chance.

    4 hours later set at 35deg in a small bedroom with closed window and door and I am still waering a fleece and feeling cold.

    My old oil heater used to have the room toasty within an hour.

    It also only emits heat fom the top so the cats a particularly disappointed being unable to obtain any warmth from laying next to it.

    Date PurchasedJun 2017
    1 comment
    Dimplex
    Danielle D.Dimplex
    Annie B

    Annie BSydney

    • 4 reviews

    Works well

    published

    I have other older Dimplex heaters, so didn't consider any other brand, but this is the smallest one I've ever purchased. The turbo fan works very well to instantly heat a whole room. Very pleased.Without fan on, though, you need to sit pretty close to it. I'd recommend this. David Jones price matched the Good Guys for me.

    Date PurchasedMay 2017
    Macca

    MaccaAdelaide

    • 4 reviews

    Brilliant heater with thermostat and eco

    published

    power friendly and keeps the babies room at perfect temp everytime. we needed our bubs room to maintain a specific temp for a while and this was a simple, hassle free solution. once the room is to temp you just wind the dial til it clicks off and it will maintain that temp

    Date PurchasedDec 2016
    Electric Heaters

    Find out how Dimplex Eco OFRC15 Range compares to other Electric Heaters

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Jack

    JackHobart

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    I like it

    published

    I bought this at the beginning of June to warm up the main bedroom. It does the job quite nicely and without any smell. It runs silently except for when the thermostat kicks in, but that noise is insignificant. I noticed in other reviews that people mentioned the bright display on the timer. My heater's timer has no light and I find it quite hard to read i.e. I have to use a torch to read it. I'm not sure if the light on my display is broken, but I'd rather not have a bright light, so no complaints from me.

    Pretty good

    published

    Fast heating and the timer function is great! The display is ridiculously bright and lights up the whole of my baby's room which annoys me!!!!

    jgsydney

    jgsydneySydney

    • 3 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Great, compact heater

    published
    sam0412

    sam0412Newcastle

    • 6 reviews

    Good safe option

    published

    Bought for babies room as safe to leave on overnight. Climate control and timer function are great. Bright display light can't be turned off, but acts as good night light for babies room! May be to cover when bubs is older. The instructions are not very easy to understand at all, still trying to work it all out (only had for 2 days)
    Climate control, timer, safety
    Bright light. Bad instructions

    Fast and effective but has insanely bright lights.

    published

    Heater works fine and heats up fast but it has a blue screen which is so bright you could read by it, even when pointed into a wall it lights up the room. Not so good for a babies room.
    Also there is some ambiguity as to how efficient it really is when it comes to prolonged use, It certainly heats up fast but whether it efficiently maintains that temperature is not so clear in the available media.
    Price, speed, well constructed.
    Crazy bright light you can't turn off!

    Great for a small room. For example a small bedroom

    published

    I have only had this heater for two days and it heats up the room within 30mins but it is only used for a small room. If you have a bigger room, you may need to purchase something bigger. I don't feel the winter chills, its great.
    inexpensive and reliable, oil free
    so far nothing wrong

    Electric Heaters

    Find out how Dimplex Eco OFRC15 Range compares to other Electric Heaters

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Questions & Answers

    _mysharona

    _mysharonaasked

    Eco OFRC15TIB

    I have this heater but haven’t used it since last winter. The power light is on. The timer is set to manual, but it won’t heat. I don’t feel safe keeping it on while I’m not here but it has been for the last 48 hours with no change. Does it just need more time plugged in?

    3 answers
    BYKALIV
    BYKALIV

    The power light is on and the timer is Manual On sounds good to go.. Is the red light on top of the On/Off switch is on or not? and have you checked the round rotation on top of the red light is turned to the max.? The round rotation is to adjust the temperature and it can auto stop when the temperature is reached to the adjusted level. Hope this helps!

    Dimplex
    GLEN D.Dimplex

    Hello mysharona. Thank you for your query. If the heater has not been in use for some time, you may find that the cause of the issue, rather than being a faulty unit, may just be a flat resistor. Please charge the resistor/ timer batteries by leaving your product plugged into an active mains power supply for approximately 72 hours prior to turning on the appliance. This will ensure that the resistor is charged to capacity and should enable the unit to produce heat.

    Should you find that even after allowing time to charge the unit is still not functional (assuming that the digital display shows that the unit is set to MANUAL mode), if your product is still within the manufacturer’s warranty period, please return your unit to your place of purchase along with your proof of purchase to receive a replacement of the current equivalent.

    Scotty B
    Scotty B

    hello mysharona,

    did u fix your problem? If not, I must add that I always have problems starting up my dimplex - but there is nothing wrong with it. It is just that you must use the correct combination of controls - I always get it wrong. Check your manual. I have mine going and I am not going to change the controls at all, just unplug it when it is not needed. I wish Dimplex had made the heater conrols easier to operate

    Terri

    Terriasked

    Hello what do the Eco 2400w column heaters use for furl to heat? What is drytech also? Do you know if this heater omits CO? Also how safe are they fire wise etc?
    Thanks

    1 answer
    Annie B
    Annie B

    Hi I have one of these and it's a pyrotanic element, sort of like a stove element inside (you can't see the element). It works well, but makes a sort of rattle noise when it switches on, and the element expands with heat, during the night - a sound you get used to after a while. My black eco one has slots punched in the metal work which are dust catchers, and very tempting for little children who like to post things in holes! I also have several oil filled Dimplex column heaters, of various sizes, which are much better - no noise, extremely safe. We leave ours on, on low heat, all night to keep the bedroom air from becoming too cold. Personally, I prefer the oil-filled column heaters. None of these heaters (eco or oil-filled column) emit fumes. I can't vouch for the safety fire-wise of any other brands. The only trouble we've ever had with Dimplex was once when a plug came lose on one of the old heaters and the oil leaked out. We took it to a Dimplex repairer who refilled the oil. No trouble since, and that was about 20 years ago.

    Karen

    Karenasked

    Hi I just purchased the heater but it's not turning on. Any suggestions?

    4 answers
    Cherie
    Cherie

    Argh really?! Like not turning on at all or the timer isn't working?

    Dimplex
    Candice C.Dimplex

    Hi Karen
    You may find that the cause of the issue, rather than being a faulty unit, is just be a flat resistor.
    Please charge the resistor/ timer batteries by leaving your product plugged into an active mains power supply for approximately 72 hours prior to turning on the appliance. This will ensure that the resistor is charged to capacity and should enable the unit to produce heat.

    Karen
    Karen

    Thanks, will try but it had no power at all, no light no nothing but the timer panel was working that's it, thanks.

    Get an answer from our members and Dimplex representatives

    Download manual

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.