??!
9 photos
DeLonghi Dragon 4 TRD4 Series

DeLonghi Dragon 4 TRD4 Series

TRD42400MT, TRD41200MT, TRD41500ET, etc...
3.7 from 39 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
18
3 star
3
2 star
3
1 star
4

Siemen F.

Siemen F.

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Definitely does the job!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Small Bedroom
SmellNo
See all answers

Will

WillPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 13 likes

Compact UNit

published

Compact unit we have had for a month no, heats up very fast and heats our bedroom very fast which is about 20 squrae meters, timer is a greatfeature which we use to assist winter drying of clothes

Purchased in April 2019 at eBay for $202.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Small Bedroom
SmellNo
See all answers
Terry

TerryVictoria

Good but should be better

published

Bought this heater because sales told me it had a timer. Well it does have a time, but you have to set it every time you use it. Set it for the time delay to turn. Then alternatively set a time to turn off. Neither work together.
So, this price unit should have a proper clock timer with daily and weekly programmable settings. Time of day to turn on and time to turn off. I have this feature on a Noirot panel heater. Perfect.
Good heater but lacks the programming feature.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Safety
Room Type Large Bedroom
SmellYes
See all answers
Issac

IssacSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Bad smell at max power !!! Beware & pls test !

published

Pros : nice slim sophisticated design with 7 years warranty. Cons: bad smell at max thermostat setting even after using it beyond the 2 hours period. Used again after turning off still smell even on next day. Who knows if these are toxic for babies ! Please check this !!! Objects and dust can get trapped between the small chimney like tubes. Dangerous!

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Small Bedroom
SmellYes
See all answers

Shaz F

Shaz FGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great heater to warm a small room

published

It’s fairly compact oils heater I use this to warm a small room the size of 3 x 3 m. Being an oil heater with no fan it warms the room through convection. Therefore, it gradually warms the room and eases you into the warmer temperature.
The heater comes with its own manual timer which is great to set and forget. However, don’t see the point of having 2 knobs to control the temperature. One which you set high, med, low and another with numbers from 1 - 7. I just set it to Med and and adjust the temperature with the other.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $151.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Small Bedroom
SmellNo
See all answers

Hilarys_Dad

Hilarys_Dad

  • 28 reviews

Extremely loud noises after thermostat turns on or off

published

This is the most disappointing appliance I have ever bought. I thought I was getting a very high quality product by paying a premium, however the heater makes clicking / popping noises that are so loud, it is impossible to use the unit as I had intended (in a bedroom). The noises - presumably the metal expanding and contracting - are so loud that it is impossible to sleep with this unit in the same room - the noise wakes me just as well as an alarm clock does. The only time this unit does not makes these noises is when set to the lowest power setting - which won't provide sufficient heating in Winter.

Purchased in November 2018 for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Safety
Room Type Small Bedroom
SmellNo
See all answers

Buzzin' Dozen

Buzzin' DozenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews

Powefull, Efficient and no noise or dry air

published

marcn

marcnMark.n.sedhom@gmail.com

  • 7 reviews

Terrible Warranty Service

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Victor Z

Victor ZMarsfield

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

satisfied with this heater

published

Bought this oil heater many years ago with 5 years or 7 years warranty. it's still working fine and save me in every winter. it's not very dry and noisy as air conditioner or fan heater, and also i can setup the time to turn on and off during the night, very happy with it

Date PurchasedMay 2014
Rebecca Hill

Rebecca HillCurtin 2605, ACT

  • 16 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good heater

published

Keeps my cottage study warm in winter and it is especially welcome on a freezing, cold winter night after a winter night shift at my nursing home, Goodwin, Ainslie, Canberra.

It is easy to just turn on the heater switch and turn the temperature nob to the required temperatures, whether low or medium. Personally, I like the heat to be on medium if it is extra cold.

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Aly_S

Aly_SSydney

  • 20 reviews

Quiet and safe heater for our nursery

published

We have bought 2 of these heaters - one for each nursery and they are great. I love the digital temperature which we use in conjunction with our Groegg to make sure the room is the right temperature in winter. Both kids sleep with it set to 19 degrees on eco and a 2.5 tog sleeping bag and sleep well.

Heats up quickly and relatively quiet - it does sometimes does a pop and crackle but it's rare. Also it's not as drying as other heaters and it doesn't burn if the kids accidentally touch it.

It is more expensive than other oil heaters but we are hoping that the eco mode which the sales people sold us on actually means our electricity bill isn't too big!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

my chau

my chauMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

great heater

published

I bought this one after my old heater broken. This one heat quickly and very stable. Even I use 24/7 for my baby room. The control buttons is easily to apply. But the wheels are quite weak and not balance. My husband plan to change my house electrics into this brand.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Magdy N

Magdy NAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Oil Heater

published

It heats really well and really fast. I had one in the kids room which heats really quickly, and in the master bedroom, because it the room size it bit bigger, so it takes around 10 mins to heat up the room. All buttons are digital in this model with temperature display, 3 heating levels, timer and energy saver mode; on the top of that, 7 years warranty. It's really an amazing heater.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

brilliantly done

published

A Strong,solid heat flow directly focused to the immediate forward area,instantly providing a much noticed change in room temperature. Changing temperature and swivel options are also part of the many reasons why you will undoubtedly enjoy all your winter's to come.More than reasonably priced for a high quality sturdy product.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Nice2Know

Nice2KnowAU

  • 30 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great little heater

published

We were looking for a little heater for my partner's son's room and this has been perfect. The timer is great and used a lot to stop the "forgetting" to turn it off.
The heat given out is just right (room is about 3.5-4 m2) and it has not killed our electricity bills this winter.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
V88V

V88VMelbourne

  • 13 reviews

Good heater

published

It was a good heater. Not too electricity consuming.
Kept the room warm and did not take too much time to heat up the room. I used it mostly in the bedroom. Although with closed doors and windows i could smell the gas sometimes. So i moved it to the living room.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Nipun

Nipunsydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Average quality

published

We brought this heater few months back. I will not say it is a bad heater but it is not that great which we expect. I always prefer to go with oil heater but someone this heater is not easy to use. I had to spent few hours to understand all the functions. Heating is fine but found some burning smell when fully heatup.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

ZebraMum

ZebraMumSydney

  • 4 reviews

Not too bad

published

Just bought this heater and cant fault it so far. Its pretty quick to heat up and it does have a simple menu and easy to use. I did have some smell issues like what some other have mentioned. Not sure if its gonna go away but its not too overpowering.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Lu K

Lu KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Still smells after 6 weeks

published

Despite following the instructions by running it on high for 4 hours on my porch it still smelt, so I repeated the process the next day. 6 weeks later, after using it every day, it still gives off a nasty toxic chemical smell. It is ok if I keep it on the low setting and never turn the thermoset dial above half way. However if it is put on a high setting it stinks. The smell is obviously toxic because it causes my sinuses throughout my face to burn and gives me a headache. It is discusting that they can sell such a poor product. I will never buy a De Longhi product again.

Furthermore, it is dangerous becuase if you don't notices the smell and turn it down (have a blocked nose) then you will be poisoning yourself.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Tina

TinaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great Heater

published

I bought this heater recently for my family. my living room is big and cold.

after bought this, I turn on at night and feel very warm.

as to the bill, I didn't get yet. maybe not very high. will show to us after I get it. anyway it worth to buy

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Taylor T.

Taylor T.asked

What is the energy efficiency rating?

No answers

JP

JPasked

Hi
I have just bought this product and as well as having issues with the smell (like others) when I turn the thermostat down - there is no clicking sound to indicate the temperature of the room (as outlined in the instructions). This is even when I run the heater on max temp and power for hours. Does this mean the product is faulty?

1 answer
Issac
Issac

Hi, the smell is a big issue and Delonghi says to it will gradually go. Your thermostat is not kicking off because your room is big / open / ventilated. So in this case the heater will keep running on max power and temp for hours. To narrow down the issue, run the heater in a closed room and test (probably when no one is sleeping inside).


John H.

John H.asked

how many on/off cycles can be set per 24 hours

No answers

Get an answer from our members and DeLonghi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.