2 photos
DOD RC500S

DOD RC500S

2.7 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Dash Cams in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by DOD

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (6)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (5) · No (0)
  • Video Quality
    4.0 (6)
  • Battery Life
    2.3 (3)
  • Audio Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    3.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Ivan
IvanSydney, NSW

- A V O I D -

published

Just stopped working (DOD Champion dashcam). Starting with no video, after that auto reset all of settings every time when cam start to recording and etc. In the begining the quality was exsellent, 2 years later a bit dark and not so sharp. The price of cam was solid, not good deal !

Purchased in May 2018 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Evil
Evil
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

More like DUD

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Dash Cams Australia for $509.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
JBO
JBOFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Avoid Avoid

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Dash Cams Australia for $603.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Dash Cams

Find out how DOD RC500S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter Has
Peter HasPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Easy As

published

Installation was easy.
Setting up the camera to the app was a little cumbersome at first, but once I worked out what was required it was an easy process.
Image is clean and access to save footage easy.

Purchased in December 2019 for $307.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cratinch
CratinchSydney, NSW

Unfit for purpose

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Dashcams australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Reza
RezaPerth, WA
  • Verified

Terrible Quality - Zero star

published

I purchased this DOD RC500S-2CH 18 months ago and I believe this is the time to really give my honest comments on that. since the very first days the camera goes freeze with no reason, stops working and I had to put a paper clip in my car to reset it every often. after some months when I contacted DOD they replaced it with a new one by one of their retailers, however the new one was the same rubbish, stops recording even doing format the memory card every second day as per their recommendation!
I am really regret for my decision to buy this dash cam as it is really wasting of time and money.
I won't recommend this dash cam.

Purchased in March 2018 at Dash Cams Australia for $483.55.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Matt56871354
Matt56871354South East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Sounded great but left me disappointed

published
  • Verified

Over-promised, UNDER-delivered.

published

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
WannabeTradie
WannabeTradie
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Image but extremely unreliable

published

Purchased 2 of these cams about a year ago, installation was easy but immediately had issues with not recording when it should have been. Firmware update helped but still having to clear the memory every week, sometimes using a card reader as the app wont do it at times, other times it will. The video quality is excellent but that means nothing if it wont record when you need it to! Stability issues when trying to connect the rear cam as the connectors are terrible. Tried a new top of the line micro sd in each but no improvement.

Dash Cams

Find out how DOD RC500S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
steven
stevenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 27 reviews
  • 9 likes

I had high expectations

published
Robert
RobertSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

DUD RC500S

published

The phone app and the camera firmware can do with some work but are usable.

published
Dave
DaveHammondville

Maybe oneday they will get it right!

published
DOD
DOD Tech AustraliaDOD
Dave
Dave
DOD
DOD Tech AustraliaDOD
Royal!
Royal!Melbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Quality

published

Hello,

Both my neighbor and I picked up the RC500s. The quality of videos on his camera has been very impressive.

Sadly though, I received a faulty piece which I have now sent back for replacement. Hopefully I get a replacement quite quickly.

I will post a review once I get to test the replacement cameras.

Cheers
Alan

Royal!
Royal!
DOD
DOD Tech AustraliaDOD

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Steve
SteveBrisbane

DOD RC 500S

published

If you want an easy to install (did it myself in about an hour) but very feature rich dashcam - this is the one to get. Truly a set and forget device with great clarity. Unobtrusive in the field of view you will forget it is there and you can turn off the annoying prompts and reminders (You will get tired of them very quickly) but they are there for the real geeks who love the tech. Highly recommended you will not buy better

DOD
DOD Tech AustraliaDOD

Hi Steve, thanks for sharing your feedback and we are thrilled to hear of your experience with DOD. All the best :)

Dash Cams

Find out how DOD RC500S compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Pilot-pete
Pilot-peteasked

What is the latest FW Version?
I have CB170524-1904302 69 A. Is this the latest version?

2 answers
JBO
JBO

Just checked there website and it shows the same number as you mentioned dated 9th May 2019. So I assume that is the latest. I don't use it anymore due to non stop issues like resetting every 3-4 days only to have it hang or do weird stuff. Gave up and looking for a new one. JB.

Pilot-pete
Pilot-pete

Thanks JBO Might have to do the same.

steven
stevenasked

Gday all, many have posted issues with not saving footage including myself. For those who still have one of these I have found it works much better with this card.
SanDisk High Endurance Video Monitoring Card with Adapter 32GB (SDSDQQ-032G-G46A) I have been using this SD card reliably now for at least 6 months. It is ridiculous though that these dash cams are so sensitive to what type of SD card you use. Thanks

2 answers
Evil
Evil

This is hilarious because SanDisk is the brand that DOD advises _against_ using!

steven
steven

The funny thing is, I am still using the same SD card when I posted this. Learned my lesson not to go over 32GB, I tried using the DOD utility so that you can use a 64gb and it ruined a new SD card.

Get an answer from our members and DOD representatives

Details

CategoryDash Cams
Price (RRP) $579.00
Camera Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Channels 2
FeaturesAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), GPS, Motion Detection, No Screen (Camera Only), Smartphone App and Wi-Fi
Memory TypeMicroSD card
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.