??!
6 photos
Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3
2.1 from 97 reviews

Reviews

2.1

97 reviews
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(15)
2
(23)
1
(46)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Power
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next

Requesting advice.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Person33

Person33Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Looks great and I like it, but a few practicalities I don’t love

published

I bought two fanaway Evora’s last year. They look great and I do like them. What I don’t love is that they are quite noisy when you turn the fan off and the blades shut away with a BANG - this isn’t great in the middle of the night when people are sleeping.
Also the lowest setting is still quite fast - probably because the blades use centrifugal force to open. It’s too strong when you just want some light airflow in the room.

Purchased at Beacon Lighting.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Janina

JaninaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I will not buy another

published

I purchased two of these fans in 2017. Last year the light in my daughter's room started playing up - turning itself off and has now not worked at all for the last 2 months. The fan is fine - but it does not get used very much.
My electrician says it's the transformer, but when he tried to get a replacement has been told that replacement parts are no longer supplied for this product. He was offered another new fan at half price. They must be joking! Why would I purchase another of these?

Purchased in March 2017 at Beacon Lighting Physical store for A$499.00.

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Natasha D.

Natasha D.Darling Downs, QLD

Blades snapped off.

published

At first I loved this fan, we purchased 2 of them they looked and worked wonderful.

Yesterday however the fan blades just snapped off and catapulted through the air near missing my husband and myself.

What is more disappointing is beacons response, 'this is a good fan and that the reviews are not the norm' and hasn't happened often'. Really Beacon, that's your response? Terrible, it shouldn't happen once let alone many many reviews I read of happening all the time, is it going to take a serious injury before this fan is recalled? Will never recommend this fan or business to anyone ever again!

Purchased in February 2017 at Beacon Lighting for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
1 comment
Natasha D.
Natasha D.

Response to review, had an immediate call from Brendan, very professional and appoligetic with the response to email. Warranty form promptly responded to and will be covered under warranty.

Alice

AliceSydney

  • 9 reviews

Hazardous product. It should be recalled!

published

This is the second such occurrence, in a separate fan of different room, also a fanaway evo1 prevail.

The blade of the fan snapped off the fan and came flying off at a high speed. It dented and left some marks on our walls. It almost hit my husband who was sitting directly below.

Upon researching online, seems like other consumers have had similar near missed events from the same model.

This fan is extremely dangerous. Please do not get it. It should be recalled.

1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Dangerous Fanaway blade braking off.

published

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Craig

CraigGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Avoid buying - defected product - waste of money - too many problems.

published

Purchased in August 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
4 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Craig
Craig
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Disenchanted45

Disenchanted45SYDNEY

  • 7 reviews

Turned yellow!

published

I bought a new tube and it didn't work, . Have to take it back.
Also the shell has turned a yucky yellow colour, it isn't very old and it cost a lot of money.
Will speak to beacon lighting tomorrow. Fan is effective and quiet.

Purchased in October 2016 at Beacon Lighting for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Power
See all answers
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Disenchanted45
Disenchanted45
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Terrible, numerous faults

published

I have 4 fans, they all initially operated wonderfully, but within a short time the fans had started to slow and I had to replace recievers, then ballasts, one has turned yellow. Currently all 4 fans only operate at two speeds, Slow and Very Slow...!, I have persisted for 3-4 years but they are heading to the dump, the prettiest but most unreliable ceiling fan I have ever known or owned. Craig Sparks, Richards Bay, South Africa

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Power
See all answers
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Craig
Craig
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of money

published

Installed 4 Fanaways in October 2014 had one fans blades fly off into a cupboard and dent it, one where you have to physically spin the fan for it to work and another which when the fan was turned on sparked and blew up. I am absolutely applauded with this product and would never have bought them if we knew when purchasing that if something was to go wrong we would have to replace the whole fan as apparently you can’t replace the fan motor in them. For the money you pay for them you would expect them to last longer than 4 years and have replacement parts. Absolutely waste of money

Purchased in October 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Donna

DonnaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Whisper quiet they say?

published

Installed 3 fanaways in Nov 2014 2 evo prevail and 1 endure. 1 prevail was faulty & replaced by Jan 2015. Their whirring noise gets progressively louder over time, speed selection also goes. 4 years & out of warranty only solution/support received is to buy new ones. Why would you?

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Watch out! Hazardous fan

published

Purchased in March 2013.

Sandra

SandraSydney, NSW

Not Happy at all

published

I have had these fans for plus or minus 4 years. They stopped working suddenly this past Dec the blades don't open although the fan is running. I called customer service and they offered to send a technician to assess and possibly replace product. Only to be gutted after being told to pretty much put them in the bin as they are a deleted item and go back to the store to buy new ones and get their technician to come and instal them for a fee. The manager could not spare a minute to speak to me. I don't think it's fair treatment at all. I don't think I will recommend these at all. If anyone can assist me what sould i do . I thank you in advance.

Purchased in January 2016.

Wendy CG

Wendy CGParkwood QLD 4214

Risk of Decapitation!!!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Terrible - Don't buy LED Drivers keep failing

published

Terrible we have 5 or 6 of these fans. On the LED models the LED driver keeps failing. Had to buy three of them at once. Beacon lighting in Sydney does not seem to stock these drivers. These fans ar definitely not cheap, so I do expect a better quality.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Feijoa

FeijoaBanora Point

Blade snapped off

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
2 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Feijoa
Feijoa

Thanks Debbie, already done so & have had a response stating that someone from the Warranty team will be in contact.

Expensive and poorly made product

published

Fan cost around $650 with controller not including installation cost. Hard to believe 3-4 times the cost of the most expensive other ceiling fans on the market.
Light cover went yellow after 1-2 years. Unable to sleep with noisy operation.
Fan speeds not fast enough on setting one to open blades.
Faster on setting 2 than 3.

Thinking of upgrading to a $100 Dc silent fan from Aldi.

Date PurchasedJun 2008
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
dragonfly9454

dragonfly9454Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

safety issues

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
3 comments
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
dragonfly9454
dragonfly9454

Hi Emina, I can be contacted at laurieandfrances@internode.on.net. My husband has his phone number at Beacon Lighting at Lake Haven 2259 NSW, who have tried repeatedly and unsuccessfully to get some action on this. Thank you for your reply

Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi dragonfly9454, thank you for that. I have forwarded this onto our Warranty team for further action. Please let us know via the email above if we can assist further. Regards, Emina - BL CUstomer Service

Henry

HenryBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Diffuser turns yellow!

published

Would not recommend this fan as per other reviews, after a few years the diffuser turns urine yellow in colour but besides that the fan is okay - just disappointed in the colour change for such an expensive product too. I think there's a lack of UV stabiliser in the product which causes it to turn yellow over time. Tried contacting them and their response was to buy a new diffuser, sad that the diffuser won't even last a few years without discolouration for such an expensive product - pretty sure it goes against the ACC's Consumer rights & guarantees. Would highly suggest anyone with similar problems lodge an ACC instead of their solution of "buying a new diffuser". Disappointed!

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
DellR

DellRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best fan ever

published

This is the best fan I have ever owned. Not only does it look great, it is so quiet you only know it's running because of the breeze. I have had it for a couple of years now and never had any problems. I will be buying more of these.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Patrick

Patrickasked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Patrick here...........How do I change the globe in this Evo 1 Fan please?

2 answers
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Patrick, Thank you for your enquiry.
The white plastic diffuser needs to be removed by holding the metal part above the diffuser with one hand and turning the diffuser in an anti-clockwise direction about a 1/4 of a turn. The diffuser should then come back and you just unclick the tube from the wire and take the tube out. Regards Amber - BL Customer Service

Patrick
Patrick

Thank you very much. Kindest regards, Patrick

Brian L.

Brian L.asked

Evo 1 / 2 / 3

I have a brand ne unit with broken glass. How do I get a replacement?

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Brian,
All spare parts requests need to be made through your local/closest Beacon Lighting store. If you do not live near a store, if you call them, they can find out the costing and availability for you
Regards Amber - BL Customer Service

Lyn T

Lyn Tasked

Evo2 Endure

We have 2 evo endure we love them but cleaning has been an issue: we dust the top regularly but have now noticed underneath the blades look dirty. Is there a wat to clean underneath the blades at all.

2 answers
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Lyn, there is a video on YouTube called how to clean your Fanaway fan blades that will help you with the cleaning of the blades, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

Lyn T
Lyn T

Oh great thankyou

Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.