6 photos
Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3
2.0 from 106 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Ceiling Fans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fanaway

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.2 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.9 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (10)
  • Power
    3.8 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jen
Jen South East Queensland, QLD

New model of this fan is great!

published

I had originally installed the much older model and had a Fan blade snap off during use. Blade flew across the lounge room. Rang Beacon lighting customer service / warranty and they could not have been more helpful. I have changed my review from a 1 star!
I received credit towards a new fan and an electrician came to install at at time that suited me. Thank you Beacon lighting.. I now have a new improved, quiet functional fan. Thank you

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2015 at Beacon Lighting.

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Thank you Janelle. I will have a team member of our warranty team contact you directly. Regards BL Customer Service

Avoid the EVO range at all costs

published

Terrible. We have had nothing but problems with Fanaway EVO fans. The lights failed to function after one year. Beacon originally honoured their obligations and sent out a technician but we continue to have problems. The lights don't work when you want them to and then turn on randomly in the middle of the night. This is less than ideal when you have sleeping babies in the house! Beacon sent out replacement parts and told us we had to install them ourselves. The replacement parts did not fix the problem and Beacon are now denying any responsibility for the product which is clearly defective. Stay away!

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Liam Thomson
Liam Thomson
Liam Thomson
Liam Thomson

Other Ceiling Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
KerryA
KerryASouth East Queensland, QLD

Recall this product!

published

Do not purchase! Blades snap off whilst in use. 2 fans and 2 near misses. Left a nice slice thru the wall. Lucky it wasn't someone's head! Will now be replacing the other 5 in my home before someone is seriously injured!

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Kerry, I am very sorry to hear about the issue with your fan. Can you please email us your details, ie name and contact number to support@beaconlighting.com.au adn I will get a representative to call you, Debbie - Beacon Lighting Customer Service

Preet
PreetPerth, WA

Fan turns off or lights turn on - multiple times during night.

published

0% satisfaction.
We paid money to install tis fan
And now we will have to pay to uninstall to bin it.
Never going to buy from beacon lights again. K

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julian
JulianMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great looking fans, but run out of steam!

published

We bought a fanaway for our bedroom and loved it so we bought another 2 for our living area. They look great and love the fact the blades hide away. They performed very well in the beginning but around the 3 to 5-year time frame, the fan in the bedroom now is so slows, that you can count the rotations when on high (it spins at a snails pace compared to when new). One of the fans in the living area (3-4 years old) shakes and wobbles when on med/ high. For the price of the fans, the quality and longevity isn't great consider this when looking at this fan. We have had basic standard fans last well over 10 years without fail; so we expected a high end product like fanaway advertises to be, to at least last the same!

Purchased in September 2015 at Beacon Lighting.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Eycc1234
Eycc1234Sydney, NSW

buyers beware

published

Fan power was good, loved it until the blade flew off during operation. Could have easily decapitated someone. Now terrified to turn it on for the ones I bought last year for my kids bedroom. Item should be recalled.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2015 at Beacon Lighting Physical store for $464.00.

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi, I am sorry to hear about the issue with your Fanaway. We do stand by this product and if you could PM us at support@beaconlighting.com.au, we will get a representative to contact you directly on this matter, Debbie - Fanaway Customer Service

Chris Coggan
Chris CogganNorth Queensland, QLD

Dangerous product

published

This product is extremely dangerous.
2 years ago we had a Blade brake off and imbed itself into our bedroom wall. Beacon replaced the unit.
A few weeks ago the same thing happened! This time the blade hit the wall and fell on my sleeping partners head leaving a massive cut. This is not good enough and the product should be recalled.

Purchased at Beacon Lighting.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Lisa
LisaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Blade snapped off while in operation

published

This fan was installed when we built the house in 2009 since then we have replaced the bulb numerous times then the transformer needed replacing and just 1 week ago while on fan speed was on 1 (the fastest) the blade flung off and took a chunk out of the corner of a wall 4 metres away! Why has this product not been recalled yet by beacon!! I would like action taken on this fan before it causes serious injury.

Purchased in November 2009 at Beacon Lighting Physical store.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Other Ceiling Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Superb fan If a little noisy

published

The various fan speeds are excellent and very useful dependant on temperature and it barely wobbles, I did have reason to contact customer services which I must say was very difficult at first however once I made contact the service was second to none, thank you very much for your help.

Purchased in November 2016 at Amazon for $250.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Requesting advice.

published
Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Person33
Person33Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks great and I like it, but a few practicalities I don’t love

published

I bought two fanaway Evora’s last year. They look great and I do like them. What I don’t love is that they are quite noisy when you turn the fan off and the blades shut away with a BANG - this isn’t great in the middle of the night when people are sleeping.
Also the lowest setting is still quite fast - probably because the blades use centrifugal force to open. It’s too strong when you just want some light airflow in the room.

Purchased at Beacon Lighting.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Other Ceiling Fans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Janina
JaninaSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I will not buy another

published

I purchased two of these fans in 2017. Last year the light in my daughter's room started playing up - turning itself off and has now not worked at all for the last 2 months. The fan is fine - but it does not get used very much.
My electrician says it's the transformer, but when he tried to get a replacement has been told that replacement parts are no longer supplied for this product. He was offered another new fan at half price. They must be joking! Why would I purchase another of these?

Purchased in March 2017 at Beacon Lighting Physical store for $499.00.

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway
Ceiling Fans

Find out how Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 compares to other Ceiling Fans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Natasha D.
Natasha D.Darling Downs, QLD

Blades snapped off.

published

At first I loved this fan, we purchased 2 of them they looked and worked wonderful.

Yesterday however the fan blades just snapped off and catapulted through the air near missing my husband and myself.

What is more disappointing is beacons response, 'this is a good fan and that the reviews are not the norm' and hasn't happened often'. Really Beacon, that's your response? Terrible, it shouldn't happen once let alone many many reviews I read of happening all the time, is it going to take a serious injury before this fan is recalled? Will never recommend this fan or business to anyone ever again!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2017 at Beacon Lighting for $500.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Natasha D.
Natasha D.

Response to review, had an immediate call from Brendan, very professional and appoligetic with the response to email. Warranty form promptly responded to and will be covered under warranty.

Alice
AliceSydney
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hazardous product. It should be recalled!

published

This is the second such occurrence, in a separate fan of different room, also a fanaway evo1 prevail.

The blade of the fan snapped off the fan and came flying off at a high speed. It dented and left some marks on our walls. It almost hit my husband who was sitting directly below.

Upon researching online, seems like other consumers have had similar near missed events from the same model.

This fan is extremely dangerous. Please do not get it. It should be recalled.

Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Dangerous Fanaway blade braking off.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Questions & Answers

George Campbell
George Campbellasked
Evo 1 / 2 / 3

My fan led jeep on switching off then after about 30 secs will come then switch off again. I have changed remotes from one of our other 4 fans but still have the same problem

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Thank you for your question. From your description of your issue, it does sound like someone in close vicinity to you also has a remote control and has their remote on the same channel. This would explain the light turning on for 30 seconds and then turning off. This is easy to change. All you need to do is place your controller in your hand, flip it over and remove the batteries. You will see 4 channels or dip switches. All you need to do, is set your remote to say channel 2, then you need to pull down the canopy of your fan (the canopy is the cover that covers the wires and mounting block). From the floor you will be able to see the fan's receiver- they are normally green in colour- all you need to do is set the receiver to the same channel as you have just set your controller. This should solve your problem. If not, it could be that the LED driver in the fan needs to be replaced- and we sell these as a sparepart. For all Spareparts, please visit\contact your local Beacon Lighting Store who have access to our Spareparts division and they will either have this LED driver in stock- or can order them in for you. They will advise you of costing and eta into store. Regards BL Customer Service.

Pat B
Pat Basked
Evo 1 / 2 / 3

My Fanaway Evo 2 blades will not retract when using the remote.
The motor turns but the blades will not come out.
I purchased only a few months ago from Home Depot in Canada
Please help!

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Pat,
Thank you for your message. Can you please email us at support@beaconlighting.com.au your contact details and we will pass this on to our US sales team for their action
Kind regards Amber- BL Customer Service

Charlotte W.
Charlotte W.asked
Evo2 Endure

Hello.. I have had a ridiculously hard time to get my fan to work using the remote it has worked perfectly before. (I think someone ie a little person in my house changed the dip code on the remote control.) I was told to look for the correct code underneath the bracket that houses the fan, unfortunately my husband fell off the ladder whilst trying to get it off, well he was getting down to get the correct screwdriver and fell off. I contacted beacon to see if they could help us with all other information I provided but they wouldn't. So I waited for my nephew to come over and we got the cup off and whaddayou know the same 4 digit number that is a sticker on the back of the remote is the same number inside the bracket we just took off. What I cannot figure out is how a 4digit number can have a 5 in it when 5 is not an option from the lever style switches. And beacon hasn't responded to my emails. Can anyone tell me how to find the 4 digit number because clearly the one I have is not right, this ceiling is quite high so it requires an extending ladder. Thanks anyone

1 answer
Fanaway
Customer S.Fanaway

Hi Charlotte, Thank you for your question. If you could please email a photo of your controller to support@beaconlighting.com.au we can look into this for you and provide the answer to your question. Regards BL Customer Service.

See all Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3 questions

Get an answer from our members and Fanaway representatives

Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3

Details

While the Fanaway Evo series of ceiling fans with clear, retractable blades sounds innovative and chic, reviewers discover it has a dangerous design flaw.

Potential to cause injury

At least six reviewers were in the room when the fan blade snapped off and fell to the ground. Sometimes the hurtling blade hit and damaged furniture or walls along the way. In one case the blade collided with a lamp in a child’s bedroom and then proceeded to hit her in the face, leaving her with marks and bruises.

Other reviewers reported these problems with the Fanaway Evo models:

  • The fan often simply stopped working or slowed down to the point where it became ineffective
  • The noise level was difficult to put up with, even with the fan on a low speed
  • The casing/ underside of the light discoloured over time, becoming yellow
  • Overall this was an expensive fan to maintain, as reviewers racked up bills to replace faulty remotes, receivers, ballasts and bulbs
  • Once the product fell out of warranty, there was often no respite from the main retailer, Beacon Lighting.
Compare all 3 Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3
CategoryCeiling FansCeiling FansCeiling Fans
Price (RRP) $369.00$649.00$499.00
FeaturesLights, Remote Control and TimerLightsLights and Remote Control
Number of Speed Settings333
Power60 W60 W60 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishSilver/WhiteSilver/WhiteWhite/Silver
Construction
Blade MaterialPolymerPolymerPolymer
Number of Blades444
Body MaterialMetal
Blade Diameter1,220 mm1,220 mm1,220 mm
Release dateOct 2009Oct 2009Oct 2009
Compare all 3 Fanaway Evo 1 / 2 / 3
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.