7 photos
Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series

Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series

HC90DCXB3 (90 cm), HC90DCXB1 (90 cm), HC120DCXB1 (120 cm), etc...
2.1 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Range Hoods in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fisher & Paykel

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Kate
KateSouth-East, TAS
  • 4 reviews

Hood filter spring not satisfactory

published

i purchsed and paid for this range hood Febuary 2018 and had to wait for several months for it to arrive and onky installed it May 2018 after two weeks I removed the flters to wash by hand only to have the spring fastening clip break the appliance works ok other than the clips on the filters not being strong enough

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
No.3 Shirley
No.3 ShirleySydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor quality!

published

Installed in a newly built house 4.5 years ago. Used it when light cooking (no frying) inside the house with a open kitchen. Now the motor is failed. Pulled it down and it will be replaced with a new one of another brand.
Note: we would have replaced the motor but the cheapest we found was around $430 plus installation cost made this option too expensive.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2016 for $817.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dzuy N.
Dzuy N.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

dont buy this rangehood

published

Bought this rangehood about 2.5 years ago for our kitchen reno. It decided to stop working last week. Tough time at the moment due to covid 19. No job and not able to go out to buy a replacement. What are we suppose to do? I am loosing faith on modern white good. We paid $1000 for this rangehood we should expect more life out of it.

Purchased in August 2017 at Goodguys for $1,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
Nigel
NigelNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Range hood features OK Flue kit to eaves useless.

published

Pleased with the actual range hood features, fitting to an existing kitchen with architraves is difficult. Flue kit to eaves was expensive, $135 AUD, extendable ducting provided with this kit tended to unravel and most importantly there was no backdraft shutter provided, I will have to source one and go to the extra expense of having it fitted. At the moment the wind blows all the kitchen smells back into the house once the unit is switched off. I wouldn't recomend this product for retro fitting.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,335.00.

Incentivised Review No
Range Hoods

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheriff
SheriffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good

published

Overall happy with every bit of it. No push button switches. All digital touch control panel. Timer for the fan is a bonus. Filters looks very durable. No issues yet.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for $803.00.

Incentivised Review No
Linden
LindenTasmania
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Faulty poor design vents

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Sandipooh
SandipoohSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes

Looks good, performs mediocre, has flaws.

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
mememe
mememegold coast

Do not buy this hood!!!

published

This hood has been dodgy from the start!! From the start the lights come on randomly and then don't go off and then sometimes don't switch on at all.

Currently they are on and we can't get them to switch off. Fisher and Paykel came 4 weeks ago and said it needs a new part. haven't hard anything since so called today to chase up and was told that the part is now in but they can't come and fix for another 3 weeks!! dreading our electricity bill!!

We've had the hood less than a year. Its really noisy too, I wouldn't recommend wasting your money. We are now considering just buying another brand and ditching Fisher and Paykel

Date PurchasedSept 2017

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
PaulD
PaulDBulli
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cook top and range hood required service

published

This company does not know what service is or even how to talk to clients! A small issue of a light in a range hood and it turned into two (2) months to get an appointment and even then it needed two people to put it in? They won’t talk to you , they send their call centre people out to get the frustration!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Range Hoods

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LTC
LTCPrivate

Poor Quality

published

Installed in a new house build and fan motor died within 5 years. It includes an 'easy clean plate' which causes air extraction to be poor. The Fisher & Paykel Rangehood looks great but it's really a lemon, I would not recommend this product. Fisher & Paykel customer service is terrible, they showed no empathy and had no intention to put things right.

Date PurchasedJan 2014

Poor quality, worse customer service

published

I bought this machine 8 months ago to replace an exactly same range hood which we bought on 2012, dead after only 4 and half years.

A week ago, this machine stopped working, simply dead again. Called the customer service, took a week for a "technician" come to check. checking took 5 minutes, and kept asking me what's the problem ,then told me need to wait 10 days to replace control panel, if it is motor, need to get approval before it can be even replaced.

This range hood does do the job when it's working. however, its quality is simply unreliable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Other Range Hoods

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jebz
JebzMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 68 reviews
  • 43 likes

Does not work - 820m3 is not correct

published

Installed in a new house build, been very disappointed in how this range hood works (it doesn't). Extraction is poor, touch controls work when they feel like. The range hood can't extract steam/oil well and is all over the cupboards, I even had the installer come back to check how it's ducted and this thing is dismal. It works the same as a $250 range hood. The extraction is far less and doesn't even open the outdoor louvered vent outside where it's connected to.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Range Hoods

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series compares to other Range Hoods

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Difficulty with lights

published

Initially very happy but have had to change the lights twice in 4 months since installation Seems to be a design fault as vapourised oil gets sucked into the space between the globe and body Very awkward to change globes as have to remove 12 screws and a plate to get at them

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Travis.
Travis.
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent extraction, great lighting, run it on lev 1 power most of the time, so noise quite good

published
maggsie
maggsieWestern Australia
  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Happy with purchase

published

We replaced a 20 year old range hood with the F&P HC90DCXB1 after listening to all the hoods at Harvey Norman. We have found it to be reasonably quiet and easy to clean. After a year I am just now replacing a light bulb which requires you to remove a big plate, which is super annoying. Other than that, I would purchase this unit again and can't fault it really.

Questions & Answers

Sarah B.
Sarah B.asked
Box Wall Series

What is the warranty on this model

1 answer
Sheriff
Sheriff

Standard warranty in Australia 2 years. Can purchase extra warranty. Not really worth paying for it. Nothing will happen. Monthly best to clean the filters in the dishwasher plus easy cleaning. Best to use Steel Kleen spray from Bunnings.

Rolf
Rolfasked
HC90DCXB1 (90 cm)

Purchased the product in 2011. Operated efficiently until recently and then the fan appeared to be labouring on first speed but would pick up on third speed. it has now stopped working on all the fan settings. The lights work. Thoroughly cleaned the fan and checked the circuit board for oil ingress. Used a circuit board cleaner to clean circuit board and all connectors. Not sure if the problem is the condenser or there is a fault in the motor wiring. Can the motor case be split open and internal connections checked for faulty joints?. The control panel on the front works on all settings except fan speed 3. The fan can be spun by hand easily. Any clues or hints. Thanks. Rolf

3 answers
Linden
Linden

Can’t help with a direct answer to your exact question But let’s say I’ve found this product to be The worst I’ve ever used, mine can’t draw up steam efficiently fir example when boiling food in water no matter what speed l set it on. l ll lll or boost, condensation pours out of the vents all over my induction cooktop into my food as well I have to keep mopping up the water as I cook This is the worst product I have ever owned.

Rolf
Rolf

I managed to resolve the issue. 1 replaced the condenser/capacitor A$10. 2 Split open the motor after finding that the circuit was not complete. Identified the thermal fuse as being defective. Replaced the thermal fuse after removing the defective one and replacing with a new one A$3.50. 3 Cleaned the whole of the cabinet with methylated spirits to remove any grease. Lubricated the motor bearings. Cleaned the back of the control panel with methylated spirits. Fiddly and time consuming job but it was worth the effort as a new replacement one, current model, would have cost in the order of A$900. Still running like a dream two weeks after the work was complete. Cheers. Rolf

Mick
Mick

Rolf - would love to know how you did this and where you sourced the parts from - mine has the same issue

John S
John Sasked
HC90DCXB3 (90 cm)

In Harvey Norman today I was told that the HC90DCXB3 was only newly released and yet many of the comments you have here are from 2014 & 2017

Is there a new release of this product?

No answers
See all Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series

Details

Compare all 6 Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series
CategoryRange HoodsRange HoodsRange HoodsRange Hoods
TypeCanopyCanopyCanopyCanopy
Air ExtractionDucted and RecirculatingDucted and RecirculatingDucted and RecirculatingDucted and Recirculating
Air Flow Rate780m³/hr780m³/hr780m³/hr1,200m³/hr
Maximum Noise Level65 db65 db65 db39 db
FeaturesAutomatic On / Off, Dishwasher safe filters and LED LightsAutomatic On / Off, Dishwasher safe filters and LED LightsAutomatic On / Off, Dishwasher safe filters and LED LightsAutomatic On / Off, Dishwasher safe filters and LED Lights
Dimensions 1035 x 898 x 500 mm1035 x 1198 x 500 mm1035 x 598 x 500 mm1035 x 898 x 500 mm
Number of Fan Speeds4444
Control TypeTouch ControlTouch ControlTouch ControlTouch Control
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMay 2010May 2010May 2010May 2010
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 6 Fisher & Paykel Box Wall Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.