??!
8 photos
Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side

Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side

RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel), RX628DW1 (White)
3.1 from 48 reviews

Reviews

3.1

48 reviews
5
(10)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (8)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Stephen

StephenHunter Region, NSW

Good product but abysmal warrantee service

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
SusanneS

SusanneSSouth East Queensland, QLD

Avoid this model at all costs

published

Having previously always has Fisher and Paykel fridges we thought this would be too. Salespeople in HN recommended it highly two and a half years ago. We had repairman here twice in past six months as it was icing up over motor.- exactly after warranty ended. Yesterday it completely died and we bought a different brand. Door shelves were very shallow and constantly cracked. Both fridge and freezer were colder at bottom half and not even. Have been advised this model is a lemon and would never buy it again.

Purchased in October 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$1,700.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor durability

published

We have had exactly the same freezer fan/controller/cabinet issue with this Haier manufactured, Fisher & Paykel branded 628L thing. Failed twice in just under 4 years. A flimsy fridge door shelf has also cracked badly. "New for old" claim made and granted under HN extended warranty.
More landfill, which really isn't good enough. Just feeding the wasteful "built in obsolescence" industrial machine. Who wants to buy a new fridge every four years? Its an essential household item, not a discretionary purchase.
My simple F&P bar fridge ts 20 years old and fine. Made locally, not in China.
Till receipt not uploaded as it has faded badly. Always ask for a proper receipt!

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sammy b

Sammy bHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst fridge ever. Bad service and customer service.

published

I will never buy this brand again. Fridge has died 4 times in 3 years. brought brand new. Still they won't replace it under warranty. No local services so take long time to get fixed when I have issues. Customer service is very little help.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Anna H.

Anna H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good choice for a new fridge

published

We needed a new fridge ASAP and wanted side by side doors that have independent seals around the door. This is pretty good value for money. Runs quietly and has temp controls on front door. Only snag is one freezer drawer is a bit stiff to close. Only discovered it after delivered and unpacked. Also as it is stainless we've had a few dents from things knocking against it. Otherwise, the actual fridge has lots of room on the doors and shelves and easily height adjustable. Doesn't have a water filter, which we don't need. I like that it doesn't have a wine rack, which take up unnecessary room. 3 good ice block trays in the freezer. I think it offers plenty of space for 2+ people. Wouldn't want any bigger.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
JAD

JADSydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Stainless steel is NOT stainless

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Winning Appliances for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Olivia R.

Olivia R.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Disgusted + lack of responce from Fisher & Paykel, AVOID BRAND

published

I have contacted Fisher & Paykel, with no responce. They are avoiding the issue!
The freezer is not frost free. The fan becomes very loud. I have to constantly defrost. The fridge does not stay cool. Avoid this company!!!!!!!!!
Appliances online also refused assistance. Both know there is a problem they are just disregarding their liability

Purchased in July 2016 at Appliances Online for A$1,490.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Mandy Fraser

Mandy FraserWarner

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Went rusty

published

This fridge looks great and does work very well, it has a holiday setting for when your away to save energy, but! I had to spray the front as I couldn’t get the rusty marks of it, it totally destroyed the look of it. Obviously a low grade stainless steel. I would buy thus fridge again if I were guaranteed a better coating of stainless steel, very disappointed in that.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Genevieve

GenevieveMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very convenient and functional, however the freezer draws are resistant at times.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Margie 20

Margie 20North Western Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very Good, Sturdy

published

This fridge is very is of a good quality. It is easy to clean and each compartment eg. fruit and veg as well as the meat section keeps the food at the right temperature. The doors have good suction and I like having the freezer with shelves for easy access. Power consumption is good as well. Very pleased.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Alpal62

Alpal62

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Fridge with low power consumption

published

We’ve been using this fridge for approximately six months now and are happy with our purchase. Plenty of storage and shelves, seems to keeps things at just the right temperature. Our home is solar and battery powered so the low power consumption of this unit is really good also for minimising power consumption.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Paula

Paula

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

quality that lasts

published

I have had 2 fisher and paykel fridges and they keep the temperature well with a good defrosting system in place.
it is quiet and good having the alarm for when the kids leave the doors open. cleaning the fridge is a breeze as it is all smooth and easy to remove the shelves, or readjust the shelf heights

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Josie

JosiePerth

Good Fridge

published

i Bought a French door fridge , the compartment very nice and easy to clean , working week the temperature in every compartment . The motor working quietly, in meat compartment you can segregate meat , and fish and some food need to freeze . In French door fridge I think you can save energy, want a meat just open othe half of the door ... .

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
san

sanperth

  • 8 reviews

buy the best

published

this fisher and pykel is so quiet you do not even hear it.
the temperature is even within all compartments, i rely on this as i grow my own produce and have chickens. some fridges freeze eggs while keeping the rest cool and i find my produce doesnt spoil as quik esp my in season fruit n veg.
this fridge sounds an alarm if disconnectd from main power.

id highly recommend this fridge to a busy happy household--- in ensures happiness

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Look... Here's a great Fridge with good backup..

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Fisher & Paykel 628L Side by Side compares to other Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon

SimonPerth

  • 4 reviews

Reliable F&P fridge

published

I always wanted to get a french door type of fridge and this product definitely fits the bill. The price is reasonable compared to other brand and F&P is a well-know brand I always dreamt of having. In the beginning, the sleek and stainless steel design definitely caught my eye. The width and depth suits my need and fits nicely into my fridge recess plus it has more than 600L of storage. With this sort of quality and offer, i could not find another brand that has a better offer than F&P. If i were to get another fridge or any other electrical appliances, I would definitely go with F&P again.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Karen t

Karen t

  • 6 reviews

The monster of all fridges

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Stacey

Stacey

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good!

published

I just moved into my new home and we were very limited on the depth of our fridge so looking for something around the 68cm depth was quiet challenging. I found this fridge and fell in love! Haven't found a fault so far! Very quiet and easy to keep clean. I would recommend this fridge.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Toby

TobyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Decent fridge - good freezer space

published

Got this fridge due to the needing a bigger freezer. Its good, does the job well and keeps food cool. Only bad thing would be the star energy rating is pretty low but that seems common on any side by side really. Only the top and bottom mount freezers get a good energy rating. Other than that, keep the buttons on locked, as an accidental push of 'holiday' mode (very easy to do) will switch off the fridge part.... who thought that was a good idea, a one touch push to switch off your fridge without knowing.. lucky we noticed it early enough and switched it off.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Jel

JelDarling Downs, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great so far!

published

A quiet easy-to-clean sleek-looking fridge. No issues with pulling the shelves or drawers out for a clean. Love the extra freezer space. So far so good! Downside is that it is less energy efficient therefore a slight increase in our bill which is expected, unless you're willing to pay more for a more energy-efficient fridge!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

mary53

mary53asked

628L Side by Side

Hi just asking what is the best temperature setting for the freezer.Kind regards

1 answer
mary53
mary53

Hi just asking what is the best temperature setting for the freezer section kind regards.

Julie

Julieasked

628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

I have just purchased this fridge, i am quite concerned now reading all above.
Do you think i should change it for another make and model?

No answers
Zee

Zeeasked

628L Side by Side RX628DX1 (Stainless Steel)

am looking forward to buying this fridge, but i am afraid it still has the freezer problem, should i go for it or should i look for something else? thanks

1 answer
D.L
D.L

If you believe a technician has already gone out and fixed this and the other problems in all of these fridges which have been sitting in boxes in various warehouses....
Or perhaps in the factory the problem has filtered back and Harry Potter has fixed it.
I believe they wait for the client to ring them with the problem. That's why my 3 month old fridge is sitting idle and unplugged. Awaiting my second visit from an under-resourced technician system. Self employed and I don't work from home. $$$ Thanks Fisher Paykel. What a pretty but perfect piece of polished turd this fridge is.

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.