??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

MW513 (5.5kg), MW60 (6kg), MW512 (5.5kg), MW511 (5.5kg)
3.9 from 182 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (28)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (27)
Previous
Next
Sydneyman

SydneymanSydney

  • 2 reviews

So noisy on rinse and spin cycles

published

We bought this machine to replace our old F&P 6kg model that served us well for 14 years but had finally packed up. The new one seems to wash the clothes reasonably well but it is so noisy on the rinse and spin cycles. We had a technician come out but he said there is nothing wrong, F&P are now using a different type of pump and that is just the way they are. So, if considering buying one then beware that it will be very loud on rinse and spin.
Also, although it gives its capacity as 6kg, like our old one, it does not seem to be able to take the same amount of clothes, we have to put a smaller load in.

Purchased in January 2021 at Winning Appliances NSW, Crows Nest for $823.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Non stop problems from Day 1!

published

This washing machine has been nothing but a headache since its installation.

Washing machine regularly leaves grease stains on clothes. Repairman have been out 5 times, each time they tell me they can't find any faults and to call next time it is playing up. Customer service is useless.

After countless $ worth of ruined clothing and the wasted time on hold, dealing with customer support, taking time out of my work day to accomodate the repairman I am ready to throw it out and start fresh.

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Very tough and reliable

published

Got 2nd hand this year but came out in 2006 very tough and reliable hope it lasts a long time and not die. ease of use and has eco option.

Purchased in December 2020 for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephen787

Stephen787Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

11 years old and still going well

published

We bought this f&p washer in 2009 and haven’t had any problems with it in eleven years. This is the second f&p washer I’ve had and can highly recommend it.

Purchased in October 2009 at 2nds World Online store for $584.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
lucky4some

lucky4some

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Basic Workhorse

published

A basic machine that does what it says on the box.
Quick cycles, great energy rating - better than any front loader (cold wash)
The machine washes well and the 1000rpm spin cycle leaves the clothes almost dry. I haven’t had any issues with the machine going out of balance or splashing like other reviewers.
Here’s hoping I get the same 15 years of service out of this Thai built machine that I had from the previous Australian one.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
troyshaun

troyshaun

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The gold standared for a workhorse washing machine.

published

Purchased in January 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
F. Louwe

F. LouweSydney, NSW

Useless with large items

published

I purchased the MW60 Quicksmart top loader in April 2018. Right from the beginning it has been useless with any thing larger than a pair of jeans. Try putting a bathrobe or a douna cover in and it turns everything into a huge ball. The machine start walking through the laundry and makes a huge racket until you pause it and re drape all the washing. Machine has been balanced time and time again. Service men have balanced it, but problem continues. I think it is a design fault of the agitator which is too big on the bottom. Rediculous that you have to hang around when you put a load of washing on.

Purchased in April 2018 at Winning Appliances NSW, Brookvale for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Simon5353

Simon5353Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Basic and does the job

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online for $829.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nicole W

Nicole W

  • 3 reviews

Purchased 2006, the thing is still going

published

Originally purchased in 2006. The original motor died over a year ago (2018) where we replaced it with a Chinese copy. That soon died only after 6 months. Purchased a f&p original motor and I would expect it to last another ten years... With current motor, have notice that the pump is significantly loud, especially on spin, sounds as though a plane is taking off.
This top loader has only been run quite heavily as of the last year, household of 3, washing everyday a few loads on heavy duty, hot, high. Still going strong otherwise, no signs of slowing down. Otherwise in its early life was used quite lightly.
This top loader has definitely given us what we paid for considering its still going strong.

Purchased in December 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed

Disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very annoying machine.

published

Washes ok, but goes out of balance a lot. When a machine comes with a level I should have heard warning bells. Worst top loader I've ever had. The site tells you not to be aggressive, but it's hard not to feel annoyed and angry that machine isn't very good.

Purchased in June 2020 for $1,300.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kevin Franklin

Kevin Franklin

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Unbeatable washing machine.

published

We have the 7 kilo model. It is a good looking machine. It is used to do about 8 full loads a week of mild to moderately soiled clothes. The controls are easy to understand and use. The machine is great for delicates too, and the spin cycle is very efficient if a little noisy if it gets a bit off balance. Overall a very good appliance.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Very disappointed with this product

published

The laundry, whether it be a clothing wash, towel wash or sheets, always ends up twisted. Sometimes twisted very tightly. When the wash has finished, I always loosen and untangle the laundry and run it through an extra rinse to ensure all the soap has been rinsed out properly.

Incentivised ReviewNo
katsieb

katsiebPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst white good I have evr owned.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Nise

NiseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great small size machine

published

Machine is quiet and spins really well. This is my second Fisher Paykel slightly larger and this one has an eco feature. First one lasted 20yrs. Really happy with this machine.

Carol Martin

Carol MartinIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

This washing machine is a beauty!

published

This 5.5kg washing machine has a selection of four basic and adequate wash cycles. It never becomes unbalanced while washing large items; it just quietly gets on with the job.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV505
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wsp9145

wsp9145Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Tangles and gets off balance on regular basis

published

Limited internal space due to large agitator. One queen size quilt cover is maximum load and this will tangle EVERY time and the machine will get off balance EVERY time. It also gets off balance if I wash towels. I have played around with load size so as not to overload, but problem remains. I need to stand by the machine EVERY spin cycle to rectify problems. For other loads, anything like a long skirt or trousers, will get tangled in the agitator.
I have had this machine for 2 years and while it is still operating without any mechanical issues, I have just bought a cheap washing machine to replace it. Washing is now considerably easier! Perhaps if you only need to wash single sheets and small towels it would be fine.

Chris G

Chris GSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fisher Paykel MW513 5.5kg top loading washing machine from Appliances Online is a very good buy.

published
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
janie

janieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst purchase ever

published

Bought this machine around 6 months ago after previous f&p washer that was amazing omg sounds like an plane taking off o n spin and not happy with more than 1 towel etc surely this is not right !

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews

Like it a lot, but very big!

published

My house is small and it takes up a lot of space, but that means it does fit a lot, it cleans perfectly and all the settings work great. The time it takes for one load is average but it is still great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Fisher & Paykel are the worst washing machines EVER!

published

Purchased in January 2016 for $620.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

craig m.

craig m.asked

QuickSmart MW511 (5.5kg)

My mw511 makes a noise almost like a bearing noise when on rinse and spin, any ideas please.

1 answer
Sydneyman
Sydneyman

Unless there is something else wrong with it, Craig, it's probably the same issue as with my new MW60 6kg which is the new pumps F&P are using. It is much noisier than the previous pumps they used. The technician who came out to check it under the warranty told us that it is more efficient and powerful than the older pumps but the downside is that it is very noisy, others have complained about it to him, too. I called F&P direct and they confirmed the loudness of the pump. We could not find a better machine in that size so we have decided to keep our new one and just get used to the louder rinse & spin cycles. Apart from that it seems to do an effective washing job. If yours is still under warranty you could request an F&P technician check it it over you - that should be at no cost to you.

Sid

Sidasked

QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)

Fisher Paykel 5.5 changed bearings . Washihg cycle works but wont Spin dry?

No answers
Tumohe R.

Tumohe R.asked

QuickSmart MW60 (6kg)

does it have a lint filter

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $699.00$749.00
Capacity5.5 kg6 kg
Household Size 1-2 people1-2 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing, Auto Dispense and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing, Auto Dispense and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating1.5 star(s)2 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless Steel
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Dimensions 1050 x 560 x 560 mm1060 x 560 x 560 mm
Motor TypeSmartDriveSmartDrive
Max Spin Speed 1,000 rpm1,000 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds33
Number of Wash Cycles44
MechanismAgitatorAgitator
Open Lid Height 1,350 mm1,350 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateNov 2004
Replaced byFisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)
Compare all 4 Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.