4 photos
Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

MW513 (5.5kg), MW60 (6kg), MW512 (5.5kg), MW511 (5.5kg)
3.8 from 184 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Top Loading Washing Machines in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Fisher & Paykel

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (29)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (30)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (28)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (30)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (29)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Amayzingone
AmayzingoneSydney, NSW
  • 74 reviews
  • 48 likes

Very Cheap and nasty washing machine - Not like to Good old ones

published

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
aleisha8
aleisha8AU
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Its ok

published

So I bought this after an LG that I wasn't that happy with, but I think I'd take the LG back now, at least it had a filter. This one leaves fluff on our clothes and sheets mayby I overfill but I expect it to hold more I guess, it goes off balance a lot, I guess many machines are the same these days and mayby they just don't make them like they used too or I need to use longer cycle. I bought it because of the good reviews and mechanically it has been good.

Purchased for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sydneyman
SydneymanSydney
  • 3 reviews

So noisy on rinse and spin cycles

published

We bought this machine to replace our old F&P 6kg model that served us well for 14 years but had finally packed up. The new one seems to wash the clothes reasonably well but it is so noisy on the rinse and spin cycles. We had a technician come out but he said there is nothing wrong, F&P are now using a different type of pump and that is just the way they are. So, if considering buying one then beware that it will be very loud on rinse and spin.
Also, although it gives its capacity as 6kg, like our old one, it does not seem to be able to take the same amount of clothes, we have to put a smaller load in.

Purchased in January 2021 at Winning Appliances NSW, Crows Nest for $823.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Non stop problems from Day 1!

published

This washing machine has been nothing but a headache since its installation.

Washing machine regularly leaves grease stains on clothes. Repairman have been out 5 times, each time they tell me they can't find any faults and to call next time it is playing up. Customer service is useless.

After countless $ worth of ruined clothing and the wasted time on hold, dealing with customer support, taking time out of my work day to accomodate the repairman I am ready to throw it out and start fresh.

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Very tough and reliable

published

Got 2nd hand this year but came out in 2006 very tough and reliable hope it lasts a long time and not die. ease of use and has eco option.

Purchased in December 2020 for $80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Stephen787
Stephen787Sydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

11 years old and still going well

published

We bought this f&p washer in 2009 and haven’t had any problems with it in eleven years. This is the second f&p washer I’ve had and can highly recommend it.

Purchased in October 2009 at 2nds World Online store for $584.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
lucky4some
lucky4some
  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Basic Workhorse

published

A basic machine that does what it says on the box.
Quick cycles, great energy rating - better than any front loader (cold wash)
The machine washes well and the 1000rpm spin cycle leaves the clothes almost dry. I haven’t had any issues with the machine going out of balance or splashing like other reviewers.
Here’s hoping I get the same 15 years of service out of this Thai built machine that I had from the previous Australian one.

Purchased in September 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
troyshaun
troyshaun
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The gold standared for a workhorse washing machine.

published

Purchased in January 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
F. Louwe
F. LouweSydney, NSW

Useless with large items

published

I purchased the MW60 Quicksmart top loader in April 2018. Right from the beginning it has been useless with any thing larger than a pair of jeans. Try putting a bathrobe or a douna cover in and it turns everything into a huge ball. The machine start walking through the laundry and makes a huge racket until you pause it and re drape all the washing. Machine has been balanced time and time again. Service men have balanced it, but problem continues. I think it is a design fault of the agitator which is too big on the bottom. Rediculous that you have to hang around when you put a load of washing on.

Purchased in April 2018 at Winning Appliances NSW, Brookvale for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon5353
Simon5353Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 23 reviews
  • 20 likes

Basic and does the job

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online for $829.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nicole W
Nicole W
  • 3 reviews

Purchased 2006, the thing is still going

published

Originally purchased in 2006. The original motor died over a year ago (2018) where we replaced it with a Chinese copy. That soon died only after 6 months. Purchased a f&p original motor and I would expect it to last another ten years... With current motor, have notice that the pump is significantly loud, especially on spin, sounds as though a plane is taking off.
This top loader has only been run quite heavily as of the last year, household of 3, washing everyday a few loads on heavy duty, hot, high. Still going strong otherwise, no signs of slowing down. Otherwise in its early life was used quite lightly.
This top loader has definitely given us what we paid for considering its still going strong.

Purchased in December 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Disappointed
Disappointed
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very annoying machine.

published

Washes ok, but goes out of balance a lot. When a machine comes with a level I should have heard warning bells. Worst top loader I've ever had. The site tells you not to be aggressive, but it's hard not to feel annoyed and angry that machine isn't very good.

Purchased in June 2020 for $1,300.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Kevin Franklin
Kevin Franklin
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Unbeatable washing machine.

published

We have the 7 kilo model. It is a good looking machine. It is used to do about 8 full loads a week of mild to moderately soiled clothes. The controls are easy to understand and use. The machine is great for delicates too, and the spin cycle is very efficient if a little noisy if it gets a bit off balance. Overall a very good appliance.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Very disappointed with this product

published

The laundry, whether it be a clothing wash, towel wash or sheets, always ends up twisted. Sometimes twisted very tightly. When the wash has finished, I always loosen and untangle the laundry and run it through an extra rinse to ensure all the soap has been rinsed out properly.

Incentivised Review No
katsieb
katsiebPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worst white good I have evr owned.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Philip DSouza
Philip DSouzaasked
QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)

MW512 washing machine stops working when it reaches Rinse.
What is the reason please ?

2 answers
Sydneyman
Sydneyman

Doesn't seem right - time for a technician visit I would say.

Philip DSouza
Philip DSouza

I have noticed that when I start the wash it stops on rinse. I turn it off and turn it on and set it on rinse, it finishes the rinse and stops at spin so I turn it off again and turn it on again and set it on spin it takes a few minutes to start the spin and it finishes the wash and turns off.
Why is it doing that please?

Philip DSouza
Philip DSouzaasked
QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)

MW512 washing machine stops working when it reaches Rinse.
What is the reason please ?

2 answers
Amayzingone
Amayzingone

Im assuming you have selected one of the automatic cycles. Firstly try using a different cycle and see what happens. Could be a main circuit board issue or could be the drain pump. Check to see if the washer is draining. This will give you a clue. The drain pump should be easy to replace but circuit board would be uneconomical. The problem is you wont know until you replace the drain pump or until you get a washing machine repairman out there to diagnose the problem. Try to pick one that gives free quotes.

Philip DSouza
Philip DSouza

Thank you for the information.

Neil T.
Neil T.asked
QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)

How do I remove the agitator

1 answer
Amayzingone
Amayzingone

So easy. Pop the lid off the top of the agitator. If you look inside the agitator, right down the bottom there is a handle. You may need to clear the inside of the agitator to see it. Turn this handle anti-clockwise until it comes out. Then just lift the agitator out. You will find it probably needs a good clean around the bottom so do this periodically.

See all Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines questions

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

Details

Compare all 4 Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines
CategoryTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing MachinesTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $699.00$749.00
Capacity5.5 kg6 kg
Household Size 1-2 people1-2 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing, Auto Dispense and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Auto Balancing, Auto Dispense and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating1.5 star(s)2 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelStainless Steel
Dimensions 1050 x 560 x 560 mm1060 x 560 x 560 mm
Motor TypeSmartDriveSmartDrive
Max Spin Speed 1,000 rpm1,000 rpm
Number of Spin Speeds33
Number of Wash Cycles44
MechanismAgitatorAgitator
Open Lid Height 1,350 mm1,350 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Release dateNov 2004
Replaced byFisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW512 (5.5kg)Fisher & Paykel QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)
Compare all 4 Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.