??!
4 photos
Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

MW513 (5.5kg), MW60 (6kg), MW512 (5.5kg), MW511 (5.5kg)
3.9 from 170 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

170 reviews
5
(80)
4
(46)
3
(14)
2
(6)
1
(24)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (17)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (17)
Previous
Next
katsieb

katsiebPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Worst white good I have evr owned.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Nise

NiseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great small size machine

published

Machine is quiet and spins really well. This is my second Fisher Paykel slightly larger and this one has an eco feature. First one lasted 20yrs. Really happy with this machine.

Carol Martin

Carol MartinIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

This washing machine is a beauty!

published

This 5.5kg washing machine has a selection of four basic and adequate wash cycles. It never becomes unbalanced while washing large items; it just quietly gets on with the job.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV505
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
wsp9145

wsp9145Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Tangles and gets off balance on regular basis

published

Limited internal space due to large agitator. One queen size quilt cover is maximum load and this will tangle EVERY time and the machine will get off balance EVERY time. It also gets off balance if I wash towels. I have played around with load size so as not to overload, but problem remains. I need to stand by the machine EVERY spin cycle to rectify problems. For other loads, anything like a long skirt or trousers, will get tangled in the agitator.
I have had this machine for 2 years and while it is still operating without any mechanical issues, I have just bought a cheap washing machine to replace it. Washing is now considerably easier! Perhaps if you only need to wash single sheets and small towels it would be fine.

Chris G

Chris GSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fisher Paykel MW513 5.5kg top loading washing machine from Appliances Online is a very good buy.

published
janie

janieGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst purchase ever

published

Bought this machine around 6 months ago after previous f&p washer that was amazing omg sounds like an plane taking off o n spin and not happy with more than 1 towel etc surely this is not right !

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews

Like it a lot, but very big!

published

My house is small and it takes up a lot of space, but that means it does fit a lot, it cleans perfectly and all the settings work great. The time it takes for one load is average but it is still great.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kmart for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Fisher & Paykel are the worst washing machines EVER!

published

Purchased in January 2016 for A$620.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Pidgie

Pidgie

  • 29 reviews
  • 1 like

Going....going... after only 21 months

published

This is my second F&P Quicksmart and after 21 months of once-a-day use there is a strong smell of stale water coming from it which indicates that it is not fully emptying after the wash cycle. The previous one only lasted three years before going with a big bang. I am careful as to what goes into the machine and always use those washing bags for small items. Apart from the short life span, the machine is a good reliable work-horse which has not had any other issues. I will be looking at other brands when this one goes.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

15 years of service!

published

We bought this top loader about 15 years ago when they first came out. Outstanding piece of whiteware, pity its replacement is so expensive. It worked continuously till it just didn't last night.

Purchased for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Waz

WazSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews

Initial reaction

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Waz
Waz

May 2020 and this machine is still working very well. Wife is more than happy we bought it. It operates so quitely it's often hard to know if it is actually working - and it washes well.

Babs

BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

My 3rd one!

published

Yes - this is my 3rd F & P washing machine and I have to say I just can't go past it. My previous one lasted 11 years but I will add that it only does washing for one which no doubt added to it's longevity. It's very quiet apart from when it's draining water and you hear a not so quiet pulsating noise but does it's thing quickly and efficiently. I rarely run it on anything but a normal cycle and find it very kind to my clothes. I luv, luv, luv the 1000 rpm spin cycle which helps aid the drying time on the clothes line tremendously. Not the cheapest on the market given it's only a small machine but in so far as a good quality, efficient & durable machine, it's a winner.

Purchased in June 2019 at Domayne QLD, Bundall for A$548.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

best washing machine

published

this is my 2nd fisher and paykel washing machine ive owned, there great super quite very had any problems i wash everything from quilts, pillows, jumpers, delicates totally satisfied, have used other brands in the past.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
speedy gonzales

speedy gonzalesWanganui

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, low maintenance washer.

published

Faultlessly had 3 yrs of trouble free general household washing.
Easy to use features, washing heavy soiled to delicates perfectly.
Washing times are as expected to obtain perfect wash & spin cycles.

Overall: Very satisfactory & recommended..

Purchased in April 2016 at nz. 100% electrical.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Monica B

Monica BGungahlin 2912, ACT

Simple, Ease-of-Use, Neat Lines

published

This machine is excellent value for money. Your clothes come out smelling fresh and spun dry and undamaged. I used this machine for several years with no problems. It is a reliable unit and at the lower price level, perfect for those on a budget. I liked the neat Scandinavian lines of the machine as well.

Purchased in July 2000 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kp

kpSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a seriously good machine

published

Maybe its the thrill of having a new washing machine, or maybe this machine is just awesome.

It really is so simple to use and does an amazing job.

Do you want allergy settings - got it! Delicates - better tick that too. Lid lock -absolutely. 4 different spin speeds - done. It also comes with timing/delayed start.

And most importantly, it washes clothes really, really well. My highest recommendation!

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$665.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Gill B.

Gill B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Moving with the times

published

Still apply the old-fashioned way of sorting clothes into darks and whites.
This machine in particular is good in that the favourite option is automatic. This means that the water fills in such a way that you are not over using water by the amount of water you require. The machine fills just enough to thoroughly wash and rinse the clothes. This then also reduces the cycle times of your wash..
Having mentioned this, you also have the option to use the different cycles. For example choosing the delicate option, it really is a more gentle wash.
I like the size of this machine because it is big enough to wash your bigger items like bedspreads, blankets etc.

.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Scotty

ScottyBlenheim

  • 2 reviews

Had for 6 years and it was 2nd hand! Amazing!

published

Very basic yet has wool and delicate modes which is handy. Not too noisy, and does a great job of cleaning all types of laundry. Reliability wise it’s totally fantastic, we got it over 6 years ago, 2nd hand from a local repair shop. Has never needed any service, averages 5-6 loads per week. Will probably get a larger machine soon but same make and similar model for sure!

Purchased in May 2013 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Macca83

Macca83South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great little machine

published

When our old one of 7years old died, we replaced with the same one straight away. It was actually delivered the next day for free & they took away the old one too. No time having to shop around etc They are a great price & put up with quite a bit.

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

ver good machine

published

very satisfied have had the machine for 12 months now and does the job perfectly.washes all types of clothes and they come out nice and clean smelling real good.Very happy best machine i have had.

Purchased in October 2017 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer Typenone
See all answers
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Heather W

Heather Wasked

Series 3 Top Loader Washing Machines

My F&P Quicksmart washing machine works fine until the final rinse then comes up with out of balance. Sometimes can get it to finish the load other times have to start the wash cycle again. Sometimes it completes the whole wash without any problems. Have checked levels all ok. Had a technician in to look at it and he said the main electronic controller needs to be replaced. Any ideas if this is the problem or not?

No answers
katsieb

katsiebasked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

I have found that every 2nd wash or so i do now is completely covered in lint almost destroying my items as it is then basically impossible to ever really remove it all from items. I tried all troubleshooting suggestions ; running an empty wash on high in hot.
Did the same again including white vinegar to clean the interior. Removed the lid and cleaned all of the inside drum.
Unscrewed the agitator removed it scrubbed down & painstakingly removed all of the trapped lint throughout all the holes all the way down the interior of the agitator (which seems really disgusting to be happening at all.)
Returned the as new agitator & 2 washes later every item is coated in lint again.
Why is there no lint filter on this machine? Had I known this I would NEVER pay for this product.

Any solutions F&P??

1 answer
Carol Martin
Carol Martin

Oh no, Katsieb! What a thorough investigation you’ve done to no avail! I’m sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the machine after I’ve given it such a good review. I’m very very happy with mine and haven’t had any lint problems at all.

malcolm

malcolmasked

QuickSmart MW513 (5.5kg)

seems there are lots of questions for this quicksmart machine but no quick and smart answers when the spin cycle will not intitiate. our machine purchased in january and has failed already because a DB sheet and 2 pillowcases were out of balance. redistributing the load did not work.

2 answers
Nise
Nise

That did happen with sheets but no problem once redistributed. I had no problems with my first FP 5.5kg that's why I purchased a second one. My new 6kg is so far terrific.

malcolm
malcolm

would you believe Nise, my wife came in after two goes of my own and a i said to her, "no Luck, it still doesnt spin out but go ahead and do a load, ill just hang it out all wet." she put on a fairly big load, no bigger than ususal and we kept an eye on it for the whole time. the temperamental thing went right through to the end including the spin cycles for rinse and finish. work that one out. Cheers Malcolm

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.