??!
1 photo
Speed Queen AWNE92

Speed Queen AWNE92

4.6 from 14 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.6

14 reviews
5
(12)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Happyhome

HappyhomeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Speed queen is king

published

Replaced my old Kleenmaid ( SpeedQueen) washing machine after more than 20 years of faithful multiple loads per day duty. So it was a no brainer to replace it with a Speed Queen even though they are quite pricey. You get what you pay for. Great delivery service too.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeKleenmaid
See all answers
Johnxxxx

JohnxxxxSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely love my Speed Queen, could not default it in anyway

published

Had a Maytag for 17 years and loved it. No longer available and no spares when we had a minor fault. Bought a very expensive top loader and hated it. Sold it after 6 months and bought the Speed Queen (commercial brand of Maytag)which I should have done in the first place, best machine ever

Purchased in December 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Kazz

KazzMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

A happy and consistent maid for our clothes.

published

Bought 3 years ago
Hasn't skipped a beat
Commercial grade
Sturdy
Long lasting
She's a workhorse and happy slave to our weekly, often daily watching piles.
The touchpad can be finicky at times
Touchpad did stop at one point, but this was repaired quickly and haven't had a problem since.
My sister recently stayed at our home and commented that she missed using our machine, it is that good.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNE92 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Businesses with Integrity

published

Prior to 2 years of constant use, our Speed Queen was an absolute write off. We then contacted the original store that we had purchased from, Harvey Norman Everton Park and spoke to the owner Craig. On our behalf, Craig contacted Mark from Speed Queen. Mark completely replaced our machine at no charge. I would highly recommend any consumers to purchase from these two companies/men (mentioned above). They are men who have shown great integrity, old fashioned service and guarantees their products.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
James S

James SBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Replacement Speedqueen after 20 years, 1 year into it's life.

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Shaz

ShazSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use washing machine

published

This is a great washing machine, easy to use for everyone in the family. It has short and long cycles to suit your needs and cleans clothes professionally. The staff at Speed Queen were very helpful and emailed me specifications to ensure it was exactly what I wanted. Thanks!! We love the machine and are very happy with its capabilities.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Shaz,
We love that you are happy with your new SQ washer and remember if you ever need any information or help in the future just call us on 1300washer.

Review collected in partnership with Speed Queen

Not Happy

published

Do any of the people praising this machine actually check what's going on in their machine. The wash cycle isn't long enough in my view so I have to re start the machine in order to get a longer wash. If you check the rinse water during the rinse cycle (lift the lid and look) there are still suds there, so I have to put it on an extra rinse cycle (towels are the worst sometimes needing 3 rinses). Yes I use 1/4 of recommended wash liquid and yes I have had technicians here thinking that suds in the rinse water is acceptable. All in all this was a dud purchase as it wastes electricity, water and time...Not Happy

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Well built, cleans well, fast washing machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great washer.

published

Very pleased with our new Speed Queen washing machine. Clothes are nice and clean and love the many options available to us. Fast and efficient. These machines are built to last and go the distant. Have been the owners of Kleenmaid and Maytag machines before purchasing our new Speed Queen. Would recommend these machines to everyone. Happy washing

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNE92 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa V

Lisa V

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lint!!!

published

I am so annoyed with myself for being sucked in to buying this lint machine! Nearly $3000 & all of our clothes are covered in fluff. I wish I'd researched better & realised that there is no lint fliter on this. How is this even possible on such an expensive machine?!
It's also very loud, but that's the least of the problems. How hard is it to just get a machine that washes clothes without fuss (and fluff!) & lasts longer that a few years?!
I've also noticed that it sometimes requires me to press the on/off button a couple of times before it turns on.
I wouldn't recommend this machine.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Lisa,
You can see by the reviews left by other Speed Queen users that for the most part they are very happy with their purchases.
Please contact asap on 1300 927 437 and we attend to any issue you may have.

Cleanwash

CleanwashSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid, well built. Get's the job done!

published

Bought a Speed Queen AWNE92 on the advice of an older gentleman who had his (different model)for about 25 years. I'm impressed by how solidly this thing is built. Purchased over phone with a call the SQ office, was quickly processed and despatched and installed next day. It is definitely pricey, hoping to have it last for the next 25 years. Made in USA.

Now to find a solid and well built air con unit that will last 25 years.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Best customer service EVER

published

I bought this unit as it was the "best" on the market. Unfortunately my unit had a couple of issues. With the help of the State Manager all was rectified and a new machine was given to me and the other to be tested. Hoping all will be good now. Can't fault the customer service. If only all companies were as good as Speed Queen. 10/10.

Banshee

BansheeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best top loader!

published

Review collected in partnership with Speed Queen

Lizzy S

Lizzy SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Very Happy

published

Our old Maytag did us for 25 years so we wanted another sturdy washer. The Speed Queen does everything it is meant to do, it is very sturdy and well finished, commercial quality. We generate a lot of washing in our family so quality is important. We bought this one from Harvey Norman, it has touch controls that allow any combination of functions/settings. Expensive initially but will I'm sure it save you $$$ in the long run. Love it!

Questions & Answers

laila

lailaasked

Has a soak programe

3 answers
laila
laila

does it have soak programe

laila
laila

does it have soak programe

Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Laila,
Yes the AWNE92 does have a selectable 30 min soak option that you can add to any wash cycle.
regards Craige

Mike L.

Mike L.asked

We bought our Kleenmaid (which I believe is a Speed Queen) back in in 1991. Regarding the lint. We also noticed the lint issue but as the machine was new and under warrenty at the time, a technician came out and fitted a "Lint Remover" and we had no further issues. As ours is no on its last legs we are looking for a new machine and was wondering why a "Lint Remover" was/is not part of the standard machine.

2 answers
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Mike L,
It is quite possible that the Kleenmaid washer you purchased in 1991 had the commercial style direct drive pump and draining mechanism whereby the machine would spin and drain simultaneously (positive draining) and as such any excess lint in the wash was spun out on to the clothes. This mechanism was totally acceptable in the US where 95% of laundries exclusively dried their clothes in a dryer which removed that excess lint from the clothes.
In Aus where we mainly use clothes line this linting issue frustrated many users of these American designed machines leading to some brands coming up with after-market devises to catch the lint during the wash. Australian made machines of the same era never had the linting issues because they had a separate electric pump that would allow the machine to drain the water from the washer and then spin (neutral draining) this would allow the lint in the wash-load to drain through the pump rather than being spun out on to the clothes.
To solve the linting issue for the Australian home laundry market the US manufacturers adopted the Australian design (neutral draining)of having a separate pump. It is this design that is used in todays Speed Queen home range of top load washers.
The direct drive versions are still available but exclusively for commercial use where linting is not as issue because of the use of dryers. There is no difference in the quality between the home range and the commercial range just a different design that allows a slightly faster wash time which is important in commercial laundries. In short the current home range does not require any lint catching devises.
Regards Speed Queen

Mike L.
Mike L.

Thanks for that, and yes I do note that the machine drains as it spins. I did notice some comments about lint issues though, and as those comments were in recent years would assume the problem has not gone away 100%, or would they have been machines with the American style direct drive pump? I would not have thought so as you say these machines are now commercial use only.
Will proberly buy a SQ AWNA62 in spite of what Choice magazine says. If it lasts half as long as the Kleenmaid it will most likely outlive us. The after sales service was great in 1991 and many have commented here on how good it is now so that will proberly sway us.

Grant

Grantasked

I’m thinking of buying a speed queen washer; I’m not sure whether to go front loader or top loader? Analog controls or digital panel? Any thoughts welcome please!

1 answer
Shaz
Shaz

I would go top load personally, as I have a family of 5 and like to put as much in as possible and I find the top loader allows me to do this. I have a digital control panel and have had no problems with this at all. Good Luck!

Get an answer from our members and Speed Queen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.