??!
1 photo
Speed Queen AWNE92

Speed Queen AWNE92

4.7 from 23 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

4.7

23 reviews
4
(0)
3
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (12)
Previous
Next
Brian Benson

Brian Benson

  • 2 reviews

Love our new addition

published

Very impressed with the way the Speed Queen cleans so well in such a short time. I'll love using it in winter when balancing the time between the solar panels producing energy, washing on, done and out, and dry has been a challenge, but not now.

Purchased in December 2020 for $2,865.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Phil N

Phil NSydney Surrounds, NSW

Totally Reliable

published

The Speed Queen AWNE92 Black is just what we were looking for. It's solid, well built and performs perfectly. Our previous other brand machine could not take more than two towels without stopping on spin cycle and requiring us to rearrange the load. Speed Queen doesn't miss a beat.

Purchased in December 2020 at Appliances Online for $2,895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Roz

RozHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

I love my Speed Queen!!

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNE92 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ruth C.

Ruth C.Far North Queensland, QLD

Love it, great machine

published

Easy to use and lots of choices for wash cycles, from general short cycle to long cycle and delay start, washes large loads easily, washes greasy clothes very well, use it every day, great for delicate loads also

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $2,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Peter C

Peter CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Wonderful Washing Machine

published

We love our Speed Queen washing machine. So many wash options with this model. The electronic control panel is brilliant.
The length of each type of cycle is precise and easy to work out the best cycle for many various wash type loads. From the most delicate to very heavy duty and bulky (Quilt covers, ugg boots, sports runners and lace tablecloths).
Our last Speed Queen machine went for over 16 years without a single service call. This machine is worth every cent over the life we expect from it. Highly recommend this machine.
Based on our washing machine experiences with Speed Queen, our daughter bought the same model and loves hers too.

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
nettie

nettieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

expectations realised.

published

This current machine is the second one we have purchased. The Speed Queen is noticeably a good product.
It is very strong and is well finished. It is very easy to use and no problems with washing times etc. Normal household manchester and daily and specialty clothing, all are accommodated. Heavy duty clothing very good as well.

Purchased in July 2020 at Winnings for $2,895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Nettie,
Thanks for great review, we are so glad you are enjoying your SQ washer.

Marty s

Marty sSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best Machine by far

published

Our clothes have come out much cleaner and towels much softer. The clothes are no longer tangled.
A great investment I can’t believe that we wasted money on other machines in the past.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Marty,
Thanks for the great review , we are glad you a loving your SQ.

The wahisngman

The wahisngmanSydney, NSW

A great washing machine

published

I purchased the Speedqueen AWNE92 washing machine in July 2020 (delivered by Michael's Appliances). After many years of using another US-made machine it was time to replace. The Speedqueen definitely fits the bill. Great machine! and great service!

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
spider66

spider66QLD, 4211

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Amazing machine

published

If you are reading washing machine reviews like myself you have most likely tried all the made in China and Korea brands. This machine is built like a tank and everything comes out spotlessly clean. I can honesty say it has zero vibration you could place a crystal glass on the lid and it wouldn’t move. It’s definitely a case of spending a little extra money for quality. Thank you Speed Queen.

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Thanks Spider66 for the great endorsement.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNE92 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Happyhome

HappyhomeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Speed queen is king

published

Replaced my old Kleenmaid ( SpeedQueen) washing machine after more than 20 years of faithful multiple loads per day duty. So it was a no brainer to replace it with a Speed Queen even though they are quite pricey. You get what you pay for. Great delivery service too.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeKleenmaid
See all answers
Johnxxxx

JohnxxxxSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely love my Speed Queen, could not default it in anyway

published

Had a Maytag for 17 years and loved it. No longer available and no spares when we had a minor fault. Bought a very expensive top loader and hated it. Sold it after 6 months and bought the Speed Queen (commercial brand of Maytag)which I should have done in the first place, best machine ever

Purchased in December 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Kazz

KazzMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A happy and consistent maid for our clothes.

published

Bought 3 years ago
Hasn't skipped a beat
Commercial grade
Sturdy
Long lasting
She's a workhorse and happy slave to our weekly, often daily watching piles.
The touchpad can be finicky at times
Touchpad did stop at one point, but this was repaired quickly and haven't had a problem since.
My sister recently stayed at our home and commented that she missed using our machine, it is that good.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Businesses with Integrity

published

Prior to 2 years of constant use, our Speed Queen was an absolute write off. We then contacted the original store that we had purchased from, Harvey Norman Everton Park and spoke to the owner Craig. On our behalf, Craig contacted Mark from Speed Queen. Mark completely replaced our machine at no charge. I would highly recommend any consumers to purchase from these two companies/men (mentioned above). They are men who have shown great integrity, old fashioned service and guarantees their products.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
James S

James SBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Replacement Speedqueen after 20 years, 1 year into it's life.

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Shaz

ShazSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Easy to use washing machine

published

This is a great washing machine, easy to use for everyone in the family. It has short and long cycles to suit your needs and cleans clothes professionally. The staff at Speed Queen were very helpful and emailed me specifications to ensure it was exactly what I wanted. Thanks!! We love the machine and are very happy with its capabilities.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Shaz,
We love that you are happy with your new SQ washer and remember if you ever need any information or help in the future just call us on 1300washer.

Review collected in partnership with Speed Queen

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNE92 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not Happy

published

Do any of the people praising this machine actually check what's going on in their machine. The wash cycle isn't long enough in my view so I have to re start the machine in order to get a longer wash. If you check the rinse water during the rinse cycle (lift the lid and look) there are still suds there, so I have to put it on an extra rinse cycle (towels are the worst sometimes needing 3 rinses). Yes I use 1/4 of recommended wash liquid and yes I have had technicians here thinking that suds in the rinse water is acceptable. All in all this was a dud purchase as it wastes electricity, water and time...Not Happy

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Well built, cleans well, fast washing machine

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great washer.

published

Very pleased with our new Speed Queen washing machine. Clothes are nice and clean and love the many options available to us. Fast and efficient. These machines are built to last and go the distant. Have been the owners of Kleenmaid and Maytag machines before purchasing our new Speed Queen. Would recommend these machines to everyone. Happy washing

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Lisa V

Lisa V

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lint!!!

published

I am so annoyed with myself for being sucked in to buying this lint machine! Nearly $3000 & all of our clothes are covered in fluff. I wish I'd researched better & realised that there is no lint fliter on this. How is this even possible on such an expensive machine?!
It's also very loud, but that's the least of the problems. How hard is it to just get a machine that washes clothes without fuss (and fluff!) & lasts longer that a few years?!
I've also noticed that it sometimes requires me to press the on/off button a couple of times before it turns on.
I wouldn't recommend this machine.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Lisa,
You can see by the reviews left by other Speed Queen users that for the most part they are very happy with their purchases.
Please contact asap on 1300 927 437 and we attend to any issue you may have.

Cleanwash

CleanwashSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid, well built. Get's the job done!

published

Bought a Speed Queen AWNE92 on the advice of an older gentleman who had his (different model)for about 25 years. I'm impressed by how solidly this thing is built. Purchased over phone with a call the SQ office, was quickly processed and despatched and installed next day. It is definitely pricey, hoping to have it last for the next 25 years. Made in USA.

Now to find a solid and well built air con unit that will last 25 years.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Ange

Angeasked

Hi I'm about to purchase another machine had a Kleenmaid Industrial for years loved it . Eventually went water all over my floors so insurance claim and I was in a hurry and purchased a Simpson Ezy 11kg options annoy me only have 1 short cycle 20min but can only have it with a small load. Temperature spin and water levels are preprogrammed and top lid has lock once down hard to add more clothes in, now water leak do not want to replace flooring again just want a refund and put it towards another machine.
Liking the sound of Speed Queen especially after having a Kleenmaid: MY QUESTION IS: Do I do a manual dial or electronic panel advise please, thought about one persons comment that with arthritis dials were hard to turn later in life but are you prone to have more problems with electronics than dial?
Will purchase through Harvey Norman Ange

2 answers
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Ange, We have both dial and touch control model which are equally easy to use. The touch control model has more cycle add options like prewash, soak, extra rinse and delay start which when programmed can be control by pressing one button, There is information on both @ speedqueen.com.au

Roz
Roz

Hi Ange, I was advised that the electronic panel is just as reliable as the manual dial, so I paid the extra and so far so good, love all the extra washing options and the push-button ease.

Jennifer Creecy

Jennifer Creecyasked

Can you leave the lid up while machine fills up with the AWNE92BLACK machine?

1 answer
spider66
spider66

No the lid must be closed it has a sensor that pauses machine when lid is lifted.

Vince S.

Vince S.asked

does the Speed Queen model AWNA62 have a lint remover

1 answer
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

The Speed Queen Home Range of top load washers have a neutral draining system which allows any lint to be drained away when the wash and rinse water is pumped from the machine making a lint filter unnecessary.

Get an answer from our members and Speed Queen representatives

Details

CategoryTop Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) $2,895.00
Capacity8.5 kg
Household Size 3-4 people
FeaturesAuto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating1 star(s)
Water Rating3 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless Steel
Colour / FinishWhite
Dimensions 1092 x 650 x 711 mm
Max Spin Speed 710 rpm
Number of Wash Cycles10
Temperature Settings 4
Weight89 kg
MechanismAgitator
Open Lid Height 1,295 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.