??!

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

4.7

150 reviews
5
(123)
4
(13)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (38)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (36)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (35)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (37)
Previous
Next
Rayan M.

Rayan M.North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

always runs like brand new

published

I absolutely Love this washing machine because its quiet. Your Clothes always come out clean with very little wash cycle time. its build quality is also very high and in 20 years when I upgrade ill be looking at the same brand, the only thing that cane make this a better product is if it wasn't so expensive but then again its definitely worth the asking price.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Rayan,
Thanks for the great review.

Ken P

Ken PLaunceston, TAS

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Costly, but near perfect washing machine.

published

Purchased in July 2020 for A$2,695.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Ken,
Thanks for the endorsement, the home range of SQs are made to same high standard as those used in commercial laundries.

Mary-Ann

Mary-AnnRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Love my washing machine

published

I love my washing machine. I throw lots in and push one button. It couldn't be easier. I just replaced a previous model (Kleenmaid) that I had for 20+ years.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNA62 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Stress-free Washing Days!

published

Very impressed with my new machine! Happy with everything about it, it's easy to use, sturdy, quick cycles, and the clothes come out clean!! Excellent retailer service from Harvey Norman Wagga. Delivery and installation went smoothly, the guys were friendly & helpful. Love my Speedqueen!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Maree,
We are glad you love you new SQ and pleased the guys from Harvey Norman looked after delivery & install so well.
Thanks for the great review.

Irene B.

Irene B.Sydney, NSW

Excellent no fuss washer.

published

Love this washing machine, easy to use and takes hardly no time to finish the wash cycle. Clothes come out clean. The only downside would be the price, but you get what you pay for.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Irene,
Thanks for your great review. It's all in the name Speed Queen it means fast.

Jabean11

Jabean11North Queensland, QLD

Very happy customer :)

published

I'm very happy with my Speed Queen, it’s great! I wash everything - delicate clothing, dirty workwear, towels, doonas and blankets, and anything else you can think of. It's so easy and simple to use, it's nice to have basic operating knobs instead of all the hard to operate digital stuff. It washes extremely well even though the full cycle time is only around 40 minutes and the delicate cycle really is delicate, it's so gentle. I love it!!

Purchased in May 2020 at Bi-Rite Home Appliances for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

A review for the speed queen heavy duty washing machine AWNA62

published

all common clothes eg polyester , t sheets ,flannelette .jumpers, linen sheets,

simple use of knobs and features, similar to our previous machine which was the General electric heavy duty washing machine, USA, which even though old and still working ,just, it had lasted from when bought 1991-2020 (29 years)

all clothes and delicate all seem to be handled well and the cycle times are also ok

thanks

Cos

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeElectrolux EDV705HQWA
See all answers
Tony

TonyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Speed Queen a product knowing its reputation has been associated with quality around the world

published

Great with all types of fabric and Delicates

Quick cycle time

quite and no vibration
Built for Durability and long lasting an assert for any home

quality world class construction simple design

Purchased in March 2020 at Con Souvis Hervey Bay Queensland for A$2,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Tony,
Thanks for the great endorsement, were are glad you are happy.

Kiki33

Kiki33AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Will always be loyal to Speedqueen

published

Finally put the old Kleenmaid (Speedqueen) machine out to pasture after 30 years. We always planned to purchase another Speedqueen and have not been disappointed. We actually were encouraged (by Speedqueen) to repair our old machine and when it didn't work, they refunded us the parts so we bought a new one. They offered great support and service over the phone and the installation of the new machine was very professional. Quiet and effective washing machine that we are confident will last for decades.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNA62 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steph Wallbank

Steph WallbankSydney, NSW

Great value, great cleaning & user friendly to boot.

published

Love these machines - previous one lasted 26 years - hope this one's as good! So far we're loving it - copes with delicates & bulk items like sheets etc beautifully. Easy to operate, even change settings after starting, and fast cycles times.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman Castle Hill.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel
See all answers
Geoff

GeoffIllawarra, NSW

Excellent quality machine

published

We purchased this machine to replace the Maytag which we had for 20 years.
These machines are pretty much bulletproof and easy to use and. We are very pleased with the quick cycle and large capacity.

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$2,695.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Quality machine with a BIG lifespan.

published

I purchased this machine to replace my old Speed Queen which has served our family for over 25 years.
Not a lot has changed, still the same bulletproof machine that is simple and easy to use. Yes, the initial purchase price is higher than other options, but the quality and long lifespan make it an easy decision. Very pleased with its quick cycle time and large capacity.
Here’s to another 25+ years of trouble free laundry.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sandra

SandraSydney, NSW

Amazing

published

All clothes... anything from Jeans to t-shirts including underwear. I cannot believe anyone would buy any other clothes dryer... the speed is amazing... a full load of towels takes the same time to dry as it does to wash... why would anyone buy a cheaper machine and then pay for extra electricity and wear and tear when then can buy a speed queen and have amazing warranty and amazing longevity and speed and quality of wash and dryer.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeSpeed Queen Rear Control ADG3TR
See all answers

speed queen is the perfect foil for a washing addict

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Very fast, very quiet and never out of balance :)

published

If you're sick of out of balance error messages, washing machines that dance their way out of position and across your laundry then this is the washing machine for you! You get what you pay for and this machine proves that I've used it for 3 months and it's streaks ahead of my last three washing machines. Buy it you won't regret it plus the installation process is seamless.

Purchased in February 2020 at Powerland for A$2,695.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Mark,
Thanks for the great review, yes Speed Queen washers are little more Schwarzenegger rather Astaire, no good at dancing but will always get the job done.

Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Speed Queen AWNA62 compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neita Pope

Neita PopeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

best Machine Ever!!

published

I have had many machines over the years, cheap and expensive, but this one is the best by far. good size easy panel not complicated, does not move at all. wash cycles aren't to long, the machine is easy to keep clean and cleans well..

Purchased in January 2020 at Betta Home Living for A$3,300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer Typenone
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Neita,
Thanks for the fantastic review.

Di J

Di JHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Washing Machine Ever !

published

Not a cheap purchase but worth every cent.
So very happy with this washing machine. You can tell it is a high quality product.
Love the fact that it is so simple to use- chose the non electronic model as I have had issues with those in the past.
Washes the clothing beautifully and as mentioned in another review,
the spin cycle is great.
The “normal” cycle is not overly long, and the machine is not too noisy.
I highly recommend this product.

Purchased in February 2020 at Winning Appliances NSW, Newcastle.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Thanks DiJ for this outstanding endorsement.

Just keeps on chugging

published

I am extremely happy with my new Speed Queen. I was very happy with the last one, too. I have found that they don’t last any longer than Simpson or the other reputable brands, but they are very fit-for-purpose. They wash clothes reliably without all the useless bells and whistles. The machine is rather sturdy and there aren’t a lot of functions you never use. The function panel is easy to read and use. The machine never beeps at you or tries to talk to you (my pet hate). The machine never unbalances, which I find extremely annoying in other machines. It cost more, but it was worth it.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Very happy with my purchase

published

This machine is super strong and can handle large loads no problem. It has a simple control panel and looks great in our laundry. The clothes come out relatively free of creases which is an added bonus. The reliability of the Speed Queen is most valued, having had many other washers in the past that would need frequent repair or replacement I am confident this one will be trouble free.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Glenda,
Thanks for the great review and we know you will have many years of trouble free laundering.

Jcmc8

Jcmc8Perth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Simply awesome.

published

I’m just about to sell my Speed Queen top loader, which fills me with regret.
I’ve down sized and it doesn’t fit into my smaller home.
It’s four years old and has never missed a beat.
So reliable.
So sturdy.
It just does one thing really well - and that’s your laundry.
Despite not having a lint filter, I’ve never had any trouble with residue or tangling - everything comes out well washed and well spun.
Loading it is easy as I don’t have to bend over, as is adding more clothing mid cycle. A quick wash is done in 30-45 minutes, and a high efficiency load in 90 minutes. Too easy.
No electronics or plastic.
This machine will be sorely missed.

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg AD55
See all answers
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Riv

Rivasked

AWNA62

Hi, could you please let me know what the difference is between the Speed Queen 8.5kg Top Load Washing Machine
AWNA62-seen above, and the Speed Queen 8.5kg Top Load Washing Machine
AWNA62 Black. Also, what does first generation and second generation mean? Thank you :-)

2 answers
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Riv
The difference between these model is purely cosmetic, slightly different control panel layout and colour.

Riv
Riv

Does this one have the agitator or the new system?

Robyn

Robynasked

AWNA62

My Maytag washing machine is about 25 years and old and still going well. But I've taken it to my holiday home and I've just purchased a new top loader with manual controls. I can't see to find a manual online for it and was wondering what exactly is the high efficiency setting for? Thanks.

2 answers
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Robyn,
The High Efficiency cycle uses less water by having extended soaks during the wash cycle and replacing the deep rinse with 2 extra spray rinses. While HE cycle uses less water it takes an extended period of time at 177 minutes and is recommended for lightly soiled and low lint yielding load. You can download a manual from www.speedqueen.com.au.

Robyn
Robyn

Thank you Craig.

Tyler Miller

Tyler Millerasked

AWNA62 Black (2nd Gen)

Is this machine worth it?

1 answer
Speed Queen
Craige C.Speed Queen

Hi Tyler,
Value is dependant on buyers affordability and the justification on spending $2700 once every 25-30 years or $1000 every 5 - 7 years and being mindful that a SQ washer can always be repaired.

Get an answer from our members and Speed Queen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.