??!
7 photos
Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines

Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines

WA1068G1 (10kg), WA8560G1 (8.5kg), WA7060G2 (7kg), etc...
3.7 from 376 reviews

Washing Machines Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of washing machine would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.7

376 reviews
5
(162)
4
(88)
3
(35)
2
(26)
1
(65)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (49)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (50)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (49)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (47)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (50)
Previous
Next
Max D.

Max D.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Amazing performance and quality

published

Got this machine as an upgrade from my MW058 (which still works flawlessly even though it’s 22 years old) two years ago and I was surprised that they haven’t dropped in quality at all it washes everything you put in it with great results I hop to get at least 10 years out of it

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
suhu6

suhu6

  • 2 reviews

5 years old and wings on agitator are breaking. Often doesn`t pump hot water in. Sometimes gets stuck in the cycle.

published

Machine does wash clean. Load size is good. On the Quick Wash I would prefer the wash time to be longer. I only use Regular and Quick Cycles. Hot water only sometimes comes out, when on warm wash. Agitator wings are breaking off, and it is only 5 1/2years old. Sometimes not often, it gets stuck on wash and I have to come along and move it to the next part of the cycle by pressing.

Purchased in January 2015 at The Good Guys for A$910.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeHaier HD80-01
See all answers
Matty C.

Matty C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

2nd Fisher and Paykel Washing Machine in 33 years

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg ED56
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rita

RitaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Regret the buy

published

Regrettably I purchased this machine for the soak cycle and according to description the quietness. Too loud and cannot soak with any chemicals, disposed of water if lid left open

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$898.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
stan

stanPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

never again

published

Purchased in May 2012 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Loz B.

Loz B.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Great washing machine.

published

Washes well. Easy to use. Good settings. We’ve had ours for 4 years now and it hasn’t skipped a beat. Well worth it and from a trusted brand. Would definitely recommend.

Purchased in June 2016 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Corey T.

Corey T.Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Less than washes and it's dead

published

This machine was purchased for our fire brigade to wash uniforms if the staff didn't want to wash them at home, it has been in our brigade for about 3 and half years and wouldn't have even done 10 loads of washing and the thing has error code 105 and won't do anything. This is absolutely appalling and the Attitude from Fisher & Paykel was just as appalling stating that it's out of the manufacturers warranty period so too bad. Would never buy another f&p product again

Purchased at The Good Guys for A$775.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Leah

LeahMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Frustrating

published

My previous Fisher & Paykel machine seemed to do the job so we repurchased another when it stopped working. I have been very disappointed. Whenever you pause machine for any reason it empties which is very frustrating and a complete waste of water. It is now only 2 years old and 4 months (just out of warranty), and it is switching off by itself mid cycle. So I’m having to turn it back on and select wash, rinse or spin for it to resume its cycle.

Purchased in December 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$735.00.

Shannon

ShannonHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Useless after only 4 years of use!

published

We purchased this machine because we thought Fisher & Paykel was a reputable brand that was durable and lasted for ever. We certainly expected their most expensive and top of the line washing machine to last longer than 4 years before having to pay $130-210 just for a technician to look at it, because it can no longer spin out a load without it going off balance despite repeated attempts to balance the load and even checking that the machine is level with a spirit level. I'll never buy a Fisher & Paykel washing machine again, they aren't what they used to be.

Purchased in March 2016.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jan

JanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Not as good as they used to be

published

Bought an F&P in 2000, it was fantastic. Needed a larger machine so bought this. Really annoying. Constantly leaves items dirty and does not leave washing as dry as earlier machine did. Also leaves lint over everything. Smart doesn't seem to be user-friendly - like many modern things it can have a mind of its own.

Purchased in November 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Mara Rajic

Mara Rajic

  • 2 reviews

Love it!

published

This washing machine is amazing to use. We are a family of 5 and constantly need to wash laundry. It is functional and saves me half the time compared to my last washing machine! Fully recommend this product to everyone as it’s useful and stylish.

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$945.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jim

Jim

  • 4 reviews

BUYER BEWARE: Read this before you buy (or you will be very sorry indeed!)

published

Purchased for A$1,099.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Monica6753

Monica6753Pilbara, WA

  • 9 reviews

Very good machine

published

It's very big great for families, very easy to use, I just use fast cycle, or long cycle with hot or cold, wash time isn't to long about a hour or half a hour for quick wash I'm glad I bought it great value for money

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$1,099.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Mad

MadSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very Noisy

published

I had a Fisher and Paykel before and was very happy with build quality and quietness of the machine but my new 8.5 kg (purchased March 2020) is extremely noisy and is driving me mad. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Shiv1

Shiv1Perth, WA

Constant issues

published

I bought it second hand for cheap and I still feel ripped off. Stops every 2 seconds and says out of Bal (out of balance) I’ve moved it 1000 times and tried every possible way and yet the same thing. Want it gone.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Top Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Fisher & Paykel Series 5 Top Loader Washing Machines compares to other Top Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not buy FISHER PAYKEL WL8060P1, they wont cover under warranty....

published

My machine broke after one year usage, however the customer service refuses to repair, she suggest that I should open my machine after running to check if there is an air bubble in the cloth.......

Tomo

TomoMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Monster bowl

published

Can fit ALL the family towels with room to spare. Monster wooden blankets too. Best buy since last size ‘industrial’ washer too small. Everything automatic. Spinner cycle almost dries them too. This machine is not wet behind the ears!

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$1,999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg AD55
See all answers
1 comment
Tomo
Tomo

‘Woollen’ blankets ...

Jaya Mathew

Jaya MathewPerth, WA

Don’t Buy this Machine Please

published

Very unhappy with this machine as the machine claims to be a auto lint disposal ,but not only there is no auto lint disposal , as all the lint is getting attached to the clothes being washed .Now the dirt from washing is getting attached to the white clothes as well .We were using Electrolux front loader for almost 10 years and thought of getting a new one and we thought F& P will be one of the best but we got really disappointed.I tried to contact the company and they told they will look into it but no response at all after that.The sad thing is we are still doing after pay on this machine.i really don’t know what to do.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
ṣ̄ụk

ṣ̄ụkSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

F & P Quality gone downhill in a big way

published

Purchased in January 2015 at The Good Guys for A$1,050.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Two months old and already not working...

published

Purchased new machine Nov 2019 and already stopped. All lights flashing. Key lock keeps beeping (even when power off). Cannot set to any programme. All settings flash like a machine possessed! Have to wait a week for service person to visit. (Customer Service took over an hour to answer even after 7pm). Not impressed that machine couldn't even last two months!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 19

Questions & Answers

Emma F.

Emma F.asked

WashSmart WA1068G1 (10kg)

Is there a lint filter or drain pump we can clean out on this model? Our clothes come out with grey streaks of lint all over tgem

1 answer
Matty C.
Matty C.

No they have an automatic lint disposal system but you can buy a proper lint filter for them. https://www.fisherpaykel.com/nz/laundry/washing-machines/accessories/lint-filter-suits-most-topload-washers.426451P.html

kent

kentasked

WashSmart WA1068G1 (10kg)

Hi, I have this washing machine, it starts to wash at 50 minutes for a few minutes then drops to 29 minutes then does it's thing for a bit then drops to 11 minutes and finishes the cycle

Model: WA 1068 G1
Serial Number: ELG 585781
Product MKT93207-A AA
450W 10KG IPX4

2 answers
Matty C.
Matty C.

Mine does this too, it's perfectly normal, the smartdrive brain is deciding after it scences the load that it doesn't need to wash for 50 minutes to get your clothes clean

kent
kent

Thanks Matty,

Unfortunately not that simple, doesn't rinse the clothes or wash them. Just fuddles about for a few minutes and drops to the next time, as in, 50 minutes for a few minutes, then drops to 29 minutes for a few minutes and then drops to 11 minutes and does the last stretch for the 11 minutes.

I've had the washing machine for four years, this is new and doesn't wash, rinse or clean the clothes. I'm hoping just a sensor somewhere and not the controller board.

Anni

Anniasked

WashSmart WA7060G2 (7kg)

Why does my Fisher and Paykel 7kg washer keep cutting the water off during a fill. Depending on the machine's mood it cuts off the hot water one day, then the next time it's used it'll cut off the cold water. Getting the washer to fill and actually start it's cycle is a real chore. It's nothing like my old 16 year old F&P Excellence 7.5kg washer which gave great service and cleaned the clothes without a constant hassle. It even spun the washing almost dry unlike the new one which leaves most of the load quite wet! Any answers so I can get this washer to fill properly would be appreciated.

2 answers
Matty C.
Matty C.

Do you have the water level set on auto?

Anni
Anni

No. I've never used auto, but the washer behaves like it's on auto. It even stops filling some days and tries to wash with 2 inches of water in the bowl. Thank you for your answer!

Get an answer from our members and Fisher & Paykel representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.