5 photos
Ford Explorer

Ford Explorer (2002-2005)

4.4 from 17 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ford

Reviews

4.4
17 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (3)
  • Features
    5.0 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Ford explorer Sport XLT 4WD SUV v8

published

My Ford explorer Sport XLT 4WD V8 2002 automatically in Australia Perth is something I found at scrap yard and bought it for cheap and re-registration and put 4 new struts battery and rebuild automatically gear box .and . I thing it has a lot of good point lovely car to drive smooth .lot of room indercater and wiper all on one stick air conditioning /heating is great in car sound cool with that 4.6ltr single over head cam motor .

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2019 for $8,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CBC
CBCCanberra 2600, ACT

A great family SUV - once you sort out the basics

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $7,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
corey
coreyboyne island
  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

2004 limited

published

Purchased in November 2018 for $2,500.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phredd
PhreddCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 18 reviews
  • 12 likes

I've owned five Mercedes Benz - the Explorer is BETTER

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Ford Explorer compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kidshorsesme
KidshorsesmePerth
  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

They are not called Ford 'EXPLODERS' for NO reason !

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Genghis7777
Genghis7777Christchurch
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great family 7-seater vehicle; about 30% more thirsty than a Falcon

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

my v8 explorer is just great we dont have many here in Australia but i have owned a few so has one o

published

My ford explorer is just great heaps of power very comphy plenty of room great for long distance very good on fuel mine is a v8 ido around 320kms on $20 we have long distance between towns my daughter and son own one and they are both very happy wether they are 5 seater or 7seater ther is heaps of room they handle really well on our roads as here in Australia our roads are not good but the explorer does well i love it

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Gary
GaryGold Coast

8000 kilometers in a rental Explorer

published
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2003 Limited V8

published

I bought this vehicle as an upgrade from the 2000 V6 Exploder! Can't be happier! This unit tows a caravan as well as bush bashing and being used everyday. Tyre wear very good as is reliability. Lots of accessories available from US that keeps it looking modern. Still a head turner at 10+ years old! Not for sale!
Driving comfort for driver and passengers.
No longer produced!

BadgeLimited
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Ford Explorer compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great base to play with on a budget

published
TransmissionManual
BadgeXLT
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Outermost
Outermost
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent

published

We bought our new ford explorer after being happy with the previous 6 cylinder model. Straight away we noticed the difference between the two cars in that the older model explorer was a bit like driving a rocky boat at times and was sloppy in the suspension, but the new explorer seems to hold alot firmer to the road and around corners. I love the traction control and find this car incredibly safe. I am a women driver and this car does not feel too big to drive or park. Love my V8!!!!
The room of a 7 seater. A good car for larger people and larger families. Traction control. Beautiful V8 engine.
Original muffler really was not efficient. We had it changes and not only does it sound excellent now but goes even better!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Ford Explorer compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rickstar62
rickstar62
  • 3 reviews

OK

published

We have the 2002 limited model. Bought it new, currently there is 185km on the clock. Would love to know if it can be converted to LGP have had difering opinions.
the v8 is a pleasure to drive around town. Plenty of room with the third row seats. excellent towing vehicle cant fault it.
Engine is alittle thirsty, some of the parts (waterpump) are expensive, fairly low resale value. Low ground clearance makes it difficult off road.

BadgeLimited
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good

published
BadgeLimited
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Excellent

published
Godwin11
Godwin11

I Want to buy a Ford Explorer 2002, it has 135K millage on the clock. used from Japan. Can some one advice me?

Phredd
Phredd

If it's a V8, yes, if it's a V6, no!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Chris C.
Chris C.asked

my girlfriends Explore has a rather loud rattle in the engine bay at which point her engine oil pressure light came on too, checked there is plenty of oil

the noise is like a really loud tappet noise & only just happened yesterday

No answers
Aaron hook
Aaron hookasked

I have a 2003 ux Explorer it has a 1600kg towbar I need to upgrade it to a 2500kg do I need to get a hole new Towbar or do I just have to get a 2500kg goose neck with a levelling kit

No answers
Terry R.
Terry R.asked

is there a 4 wheel drive explorer

1 answer
Phredd
Phredd

All Ford Explorers are four wheel drive, those manufactured from 2001 to 2005 that were imported by Ford to Australia have high and low ratios and limited slip differentials

See all Ford Explorer (2002-2005) questions

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Release dateJan 2002
Discontinuation dateDec 2005

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.