7 photos
Toyota Prado

Toyota Prado

J120, J150, J90
4.0 from 269 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (48)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (48)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (45)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (47)
  • Braking
    4.2 (46)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (46)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (45)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (47)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (48)
  • Handling
    4.0 (47)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (47)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (46)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (47)
  • Features
    3.8 (47)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Crissy
CrissySydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

THE best car

published

I purchased this car new in 2015. I have travelled all over, with absolutely no issues at all. Reliable, comfortable and easy. Birdsville, country, NT.
Servicing is every 5000km
I have contemplated getting a new car (BMW) but scared to get rid of an older faithful.
My only issue now is prado prices have gone up and not much of a change in design. Since 2015 they have gone up $15k!!!! Value for money?!? NO!!!!! Sorry Toyota, love the car but value for money isn’t there this time.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
bearman
bearmanHunter Region, NSW
  • 13 reviews

an oldie but a goodie

published

This has been a great workhorse for everyday commute to going twice around Australia. Loads of interior space and plenty of seats for a big family. The engine has been rebuilt once and has gone 590000 klms.
Great 4x4 performance and towing ability. No rust. I would buy another one!

Purchased in September 1996 at Cardiff Toyota.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Rocky road
Rocky road
  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes

Satisfied with smaller Toyota

published

Purchased from CMI Southside with Aaron Tartoosy who looked after our build by keeping us informed. Was an excellent dealer, I will deal with them again. The presentation of our Kakadu was terrific.

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
ElizaFi
ElizaFiSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews

Love My Prado.

published

We bought the Prado to tow our campertrailer, I was driving a Honda CRV, however the CRV did not have the power we needed to tow. We wanted a car to have the room to take our 3 Labradors away camping too. I use the Prado for work, I am a Community Care Aide, most of my clients are able to access the car comfortably. The Prado is big and comfortable inside, my Mechanic services the Prado twice a year. No major problems.

Purchased in August 2019 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emilio H.
Emilio H.Ngunnawal 2913, ACT

Vibration Centred at 1800rpm (misfire?)

published

Purchased in December 2016 at canberra toyota for $63,000.00.

Noise Level
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Devonstone
Devonstone
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Looks understated, but the changes are much more than skin deep

published

Purchased in May 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Challe
ChalleWheatbelt, WA
  • 2 reviews

Amazing 4wd

published

No problem with prado, used for school drop off/pickup. Gravel road driving
Car used most days
Car serviced every 10,000kms have just tracked across Australia pulling a trailer and no issues. Yay 353500kms so far

Purchased in March 2010 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Faheem
FaheemSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Wow ...What a feel...

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
solfan
solfan
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best Prado yet

published

Purchased in May 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Santhosh
SanthoshSydney, NSW

New Prado VX 2021 WoooW Experience

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
4/5

Bad vibration at 1500rpm. Toyota says it's normal

published

I bought a new 2020 GXL Prado in December 2020. From the first day I picked it up I noticed a vibration/shudder at about 1500-1700rpm. Took it back to the dealer who got Toyota technical people out to look at it. They agreed the car had a vibration/shudder, and I asked for the vehicle to be replaced.
Toyota Australia have said that ALL Prados do it and they consider it is not a fault.
Toyota customer service is terrible. I have owned Toyota vehicles for 40 years and never had a problem, but now that a vehicle has an issue, they run away.
Don't buy a toyota vehicle unless you drive it first.
Toyota do not stand behind their products.

Incentivised Review No
Sarah H
Sarah HCoffs Harbour
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling paint and suspension fail

published

Won't be buying one of these again. Almost every panel has peeling paint and I had to completely replace the air-bag suspension on a ten year old car, and it was the Grande model. Why wont Toyota Australia cover the warranty on the paint, as at present they've got a heap of Toyotas with peeling paint driving around with every other driver looking at it and thinking to themselves "I won't buy a Toyota because I've seen so many with peeling paint." Imagine the good publicity Toyota would have if they honoured the extended warranty.

I've just created a public Facebook page titled "Toyota Australia Peeling Paint." Please join if you are in the same boat.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2014 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bizins
bizinsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Updated 150kw engine completes the appeal

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
David
DavidPerth
  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

Most reliable SUV

published
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Kate
KateWestern Australia

Waste of too much money

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Toyota bunbury for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5

Questions & Answers

Lou0155
Lou0155asked
J150 GXL 4 Cylinder, 2.8 Litre Automatic (2015-2021)

Does anyone have a surging issue around 1400-1600 Rpm light throttle / cruise ? we have this issue that Toyota has nothing about but mentions other owners have it as well ? also putting the vehicle into gear it jumps forward and requires brakes to hold it .
This is a Nov 2020 Prado GXL Auto Diesel only has 5K on it

No answers
Richard M.
Richard M.asked
J120 (2002-2009)

I would like to know the general off road expected performance from a j120 2007 Prado petrol engine?

No answers
Jon A.
Jon A.asked
Prado

Hi all
Will 3rd row seats from a 2020 gxl fit my 2012 altitude?
I have just bought it an previous owners dog has got to the 3rd row seats

No answers
See all Toyota Prado questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Prado

Details

Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $73,990$84,490$59,990$62,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8 L/100km8 L/100km7.9 L/100km8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 150 L150 L150 L150 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L
Max Power130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm420Nm @ 1400-2600rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg2,500 kg2,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.