??!
8 photos
Toyota Prado

Toyota Prado

J120, J150, J90
4.1 from 240 reviews

Reviews

(131)
(49)
(18)
(25)
(17)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (24)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (22)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (23)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (24)
  • Handling
    4.0 (24)
  • Braking
    4.2 (24)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (24)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (23)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (25)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (24)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (23)
  • Features
    3.9 (24)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (24)


Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

First impression..

published

I bought 2019 VX two days back and I know it's too early to review but I'll share what I thought about it.

For the drive I give 5/5.
Comfort is not that good specially second row. It's $73 k worth vehicle and I don't understand why toyota does not make it with bit more comfy. I don't say it's comfortable if you drive long distance like interstate.

Previously I drove 2006 Camry, 2010 Accord and then Audi A4. Comfort wise Accord is the best.
I think Toyota need to think again about comfort in their future designs. Even the Prado top of the range Kakadu doesn't have leather seats and VX same. It's leather accented. Just about an one foot width leather layer in the middle of the seat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $73,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent car

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tan

TanPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 1 like

Cant fault this car & we've been everywhere in it.

published

We are truly impressed with this 4x4. We've done a circumnaviation around Australian to the most remote rough locations and couldnt fault it. We have a 2003 GXL 4L - it is thirsty but you have the power and grunt to go where you want. Highly recommend!

Purchased in December 2006 at Toyota Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
SMc

SMcSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Love this car

published

In August 2018, I upgraded our 4x4 to a brand new Toyota Prado GXL. BEST decision I ever made. The car is a dream to drive and definitely looks the part too. I keep hearing all this hype about DPF issues, but I cant say that I have experienced any issues so far. The car has just clicked over 16000km and I have owned it for about 2 weeks short of a year. Only thing I don't like about it is the service intervals. Every 6 months - c'mon Toyota. Other than that I love it!!

Purchased in August 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family adventure vehicle

published

We love our PRADO! We use our car for commuting and 4x4 adventures. We've added 33" BFG K02 AT tires and a 3" lift kit plus ARB bull bar etc. We also had the ECU remapped that gave us 30% more power. WOW! What a car. We've not had one issue with the car. Fuel economy is better after ECU remap - pays for itself. Quality Toyota build is confidence inspiring. Plenty of leg room for teens in the back who are over 6". Plenty of room for luggage too making it the perfect family adventure vehicle.

Purchased in May 2015 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jimmyt

JimmytHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent All Rounder

published

After test driving around 10 different types of SUV finally settled on a new Prado GXL. Not the fastest but by far the most comfortable in that price range and below. Purchased from Maitland Toyota in 2017. Have been very happy with my purchase and an excellent car for country roads and long range touring. Recently sold and the resale was excellent as well. Highly recommended to test drive if you are considering a new large SUV.

Purchased in June 2017 at Maitland Toyota for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

D H.

D H.

  • 3 reviews

Extremely reliable and pretty good off road as well.

published

I bought this car to tow a caravan and use it for light to moderate off road work. The Prado really surpassed my expectations for towing, the V6 towed my 16 van really well. Last December I left Nullarbor road house heading west into a strong cross wind, 44 C outside and the aircon on full blast. The temp never got past 94 c, digital readout from the OBD11 Port. Yeah the fuel consumption wasn't great, but the Prado pushed on without a complaint for 2.5 hours.
I use the car for work every day and its comfortable and reliable despite 227000 km.

Purchased in May 2018 for $19,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Iwantthegoodstuff

IwantthegoodstuffMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Affordable luxury is what you are looking at

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

great car so far

published

this car is not really remarkable in any way shape or form, but is very capable, comfortable, and safe car to drive. servicing so far has been great and fairly reasonable in terms of pricing.

Purchased in May 2018 at nunawading toyota for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nicole

NicoleWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews

Loving our Prado

published

Purchased a 2018 GLX Prado and absolutely love it.
Had read a few negative reviews - so we were concerned...but we could not be happier with it.
We have done over 15000km - long distance driving - off road driving - water crossings without issue.
Very comfortable / plenty of room / great on fuel / lots of extras!!
Highly recommend the new Prado.

Purchased in October 2018 for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

dryduststorm

dryduststorm

  • 2 reviews

Disappointed with this Prado J150 replacement of our 90 Series Prado

published

We replaced our old 90 Series (1999) Prado with the new J150 Prado just after my first attempt to retire. There is just the 2 of us - wife and hubby.
I like the body and suspension but really dislike the 2.8 litre engine. In my view, it's under powered. Just cruising around town at 80kph the slightest incline will have the eco light go off and start dropping gears. Connect a trailer with weight and it's all over so we will never tow on our travels - that decision is made. I believe a vehicle of this size and type needs a 3.2 to 3.5 litre .
I am not a fan of the auto braking and some of the other 'saftey' features and appreciate that some folks need them to operate but I wish they could be over ridden when required.

Purchased in February 2018 at Lander Toyota for $62,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

BEE V.

BEE V.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

2001 VZJ95R 3.4L AUTO GXL

published

Purchased in September 2001 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Deb

DebSouth East Queensland, QLD

Prado buyers beware. They are not what they used to be.

published

Purchased in May 2016 for $61,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

KME

KMEFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very comfortable, fuel efficient and spacious

published

We have had our prado for a few years now and we cannot fault it. It is very comfy, spacious and is a dream to drive. The downer is that it has the same old standard Toyota stereo so no Bluetooth/AUX/connection.

Purchased in April 2017 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

No power , huge fuel consumption!

published

Was a good car at first but after some time and what I’m told is a failure in the diesel particulate filter system the fuel consumption sky rocketed and it felt like I was driving around with the hand break on !

Purchased in January 2016 for $60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
MarcoJ

MarcoJHunter Region, NSW

The worst in car system in the world?

published

I have just installed my old TomTom and bluetooth hands free kit (blueant) into my 2018 Toyota Prado. The in-car system is just so bad that anything else is better. I drove a Hyundai i30 hire car today with the appleplay system which was brilliant. Why Toyota did not run with this I don't know. The phone system is unusable while driving and when using the voice control system you may drive 2km before the system responds to your command. I honestly don't think Toyota ever tested their system outside of the showroom. I have 1000+ contacts in my phone and it takes 5 mins for the phone to synch each trip.

Purchased in March 2018 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Chris B.

Chris B.Litchfield, NT

  • 6 reviews

Worst transmission of all time.

published

Would not lock into top gear until well over 100km/hr, and then would change down when it saw a hill in the distance. Fitted a scanguage to watch the transmission temperature, and was horrified to see the temperatures while towing, and that was using the gear recommended. The only way to stop it changing and the torque converter from slipping was to tow in 4th gear at about 90km/hr.
Would not tow my small Tvan without great input from right foot, (old 120 series Prado was much better)

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

1GR 4.0 V6 is one of the best Toyota motors ever made

published
BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

747800

747800Sydney, NSW

  • 39 reviews

Sublime first drive experience - very happy with the July 2018 Manual GXL Prado

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Roy

RoyToowoomba

2018 PRADO Very disappointing with my purchase

published

A BRAND NEW LANDCRUISER PRADO 2018 - paid almost 70k - not happy with the new Vehicle I purchased on September 2018.

Just done 2500 KM
Irregularities in gear shifting.
I was hearing unusual sound while starting the engine.
Took it to the dealer and they said the “ENGINE MOUNT” needs to be replaced (Unbelievable).
Very furious and disappointed with Toyota.
For the price and reputation I did not expect this from Toyota.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Dave N.

Dave N.asked

I’ve juste changed the computer the car starts but can not move it even I put it on drive. Any help?

No answers

Abdul M.

Abdul M.asked

Why would no fuel go pass through the fuel pump?

No answers

Free W.

Free W.asked

What is the Fuel capacity?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.