??!
7 photos
Toyota Prado

Toyota Prado

J120, J150, J90
4.0 from 257 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.4 (38)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (35)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (36)
  • Braking
    4.2 (37)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (37)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (36)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (38)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (39)
  • Handling
    3.9 (38)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (38)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (37)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (38)
  • Features
    3.7 (38)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
bizins

bizinsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Updated 150kw engine completes the appeal

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
David

DavidPerth

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

Most reliable SUV

published
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kate

KateWestern Australia

Waste of too much money

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Toyota bunbury for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cammo1971

Cammo1971

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota has lost its way

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Shellie C.

Shellie C.Sydney, NSW

Paint Peeling

published

Garaged Prado 2008 every panel of paint is peeling. I have worked from home for over 20 years.

My car is worth nothing now, and every other country has extended the paint warranty to 14 years because Toyota have accepted there was manufactuer fault in the clear coat in the Pear Blizzard.

What I dont understand is why Toyota Australia think they are exempt from this direction passed down from Toyota.

Is anyone else having the same issues?

Please contact me on Facebook Shellie Coan

Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Shane G

Shane G

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling Paint

published

Purchased in June 2015 at Toyota Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Victor

VictorSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great 4WD SUV

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jarrod

JarrodEyre Peninsula, SA

Extremely reliable!

published

I bought my 2008 turbo diesel prado in 2010 with 75,000kms on it. We now have 256,000 and not had an ounce of trouble. I installed arb after market suspension with lift when I first purchased. I believe this is a must have. This vehicle has been very capable off road and towing our 2.4t caravan.
Highly recommend this model for reliability.

Purchased in September 2010 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mick

MickPerth, WA

Brilliant 4WD

published

I bought my second Prado a diesel in December 2001, it now has 688000 k’s all driven by myself. Oil and filter has been changed every 5000 K’s using basic oil and after market filters and uses not one drop of oil between changes Toyota service about every 100000 K’s. Only thing changed or replaced is the radiator.
My work is on civil engineering projects throughout WA so in lots of tough conditions, carrying loads and towing quite a bit.
Now it needs quite a bit of work doing.
It’s simply a fantastic vehicle.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jack H.

Jack H.South East Queensland, QLD

The most reliable car ever made

published

Car was purchased at 88000kms, drove till 115000kms, service as required. Went off road on occasions, never disappointed me. Sold the car after 2.5 years, price depreciated 5000 in total. I mean I could sell it for 1500 more but was eager to get my next car, so just agreed to the first offer. Sold within 4 days of posting ads on carsales. If your looking for something reliable with good resale value or good for off road, don't go chasing butterflies after land rovers, get Toyotas and mission accomplished.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Brett B.

Brett B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Car ever owned

published

Love the build quality. The 5VZFE engine is an awesome design. Going to rebuild my engine at 380xxx. Still going strong just a little piston slap on one cylider. Obviously someone didn't change the oil. I got her in this condition. I'll put 50xxx on it before I bother swapping the engines over haha.

Purchased in February 2018 at Always on Sale for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ash K

Ash KQueensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota Peeling Paint - Manufacturing Default

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
steven

stevenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crack Piston at 118,000km

published

Purchased in June 2015 for $70,000.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Satish kumar

Satish kumarPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

It's like a lemon

published

Bought second hand prado from maddington Toyota Perth. Done only 97k. I thought would be good car. But turns out it's like a lemon. Rear door is loose, even been to Toyota dealership 3 times. Its just rattle they couldn't fix it. Not really happy with Toyota response in it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $46,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ross

Ross

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but poorly optioned compared with market

published

Car is largely simple for the sake of reliability BUT GXL, for a $66K car, to not have front parking sensors or apple car play/android auto, surround view cameras, leather trim, etc is actually marketed pretty arrogantly, as you need to buy the top spec model at 90K to get stuff a 20K Korean car has... it's clearly priced with a "they'll buy it anyway" attitude. Also... it's super-gutless, even for a 4wd, ranger, discovery, amarok, navigate, all go better, which is a bit annoying too

Purchased in January 2020 for $67,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harman

HarmanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s a great car but engine!! Bit too small for its size

published

Bought my 2020 kakadu overall it’s great car but I owned 2009 before which was more powerful engine the new 2.8 litre diesel not enough power !! Apart from that it’s great car!!

Purchased in February 2020 at Airport Toyota Service Centre for $96,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kunal

KunalPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best comfort, smooth drive, looks brilliant

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

First impression..

published

I bought 2019 VX two days back and I know it's too early to review but I'll share what I thought about it.

For the drive I give 5/5.
Comfort is not that good specially second row. It's $73 k worth vehicle and I don't understand why toyota does not make it with bit more comfy. I don't say it's comfortable if you drive long distance like interstate.

Previously I drove 2006 Camry, 2010 Accord and then Audi A4. Comfort wise Accord is the best.
I think Toyota need to think again about comfort in their future designs. Even the Prado top of the range Kakadu doesn't have leather seats and VX same. It's leather accented. Just about an one foot width leather layer in the middle of the seat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $73,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Excellent car

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Tan

TanPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cant fault this car & we've been everywhere in it.

published

We are truly impressed with this 4x4. We've done a circumnaviation around Australian to the most remote rough locations and couldnt fault it. We have a 2003 GXL 4L - it is thirsty but you have the power and grunt to go where you want. Highly recommend!

Purchased in December 2006 at Toyota Dealers for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Josh d.

Josh d.asked

J150 (2009-2021)

Has Anyone dealt With Toyota Australia about a engine replacement due to a blown cylinder, its not under warranty but seems to be a common problem with the 150 prado

No answers
Melvin

Melvinasked

J90 (1996-2002)

I am planning to buy a used 7 or 8 seater SUV to take a he family on vacations and do off-roading as well. I have narrowed down to the land cruiser or land cruiser Prado but very confused which one to go for. If it's a LC series (80, 100 or 200)? if it's a Prado (j90, j120 or j150)?

No answers
Ozie

Ozie asked

J150 VX (2009-2021)

I brought Brand NEW Toyota Prado VX ( today it’s 4 week Old and has done km2,000 )

I have Noticed 2 ISSUE

1) Horrible feeling of Forward jerk / jump each time when you shift gear from Park/Reverse to forward Drive gear . ? Could this be a Gear Box Issue . I took this to dealer they adviced it’s normal but as car enthusiast it’s not .
Issue 1 - Rough Gear Shift / Gear box not fine tuned

2) Hissing noice from Break Boost every time you apply break
Issue 2 - noisy Braking

Rest all is good . For all Prado Owners / buyers check this for yourself which goes unnoticed if you don’t pay attention.

How can I find solution ? . If anyone know please advice .

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $73,990$84,490$59,990$62,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8 L/100km8 L/100km7.9 L/100km8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 150 L150 L150 L150 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L
Max Power130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm420Nm @ 1400-2600rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • USB Port
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg2,500 kg2,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 23 Toyota Prado

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.