??!
8 photos
Toyota Prado

Toyota Prado

J120, J150, J90
4.0 from 250 reviews

Reviews

4.0

250 reviews
5
(135)
4
(51)
3
(20)
2
(24)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (29)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (30)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (31)
  • Handling
    4.0 (32)
  • Braking
    4.2 (31)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (32)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (30)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (33)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (32)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (31)
  • Features
    3.7 (32)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (32)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Jarrod

JarrodEyre Peninsula, SA

Extremely reliable!

published

I bought my 2008 turbo diesel prado in 2010 with 75,000kms on it. We now have 256,000 and not had an ounce of trouble. I installed arb after market suspension with lift when I first purchased. I believe this is a must have. This vehicle has been very capable off road and towing our 2.4t caravan.
Highly recommend this model for reliability.

Purchased in September 2010 for A$54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickPerth, WA

Brilliant 4WD

published

I bought my second Prado a diesel in December 2001, it now has 688000 k’s all driven by myself. Oil and filter has been changed every 5000 K’s using basic oil and after market filters and uses not one drop of oil between changes Toyota service about every 100000 K’s. Only thing changed or replaced is the radiator.
My work is on civil engineering projects throughout WA so in lots of tough conditions, carrying loads and towing quite a bit.
Now it needs quite a bit of work doing.
It’s simply a fantastic vehicle.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2001
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jack H.

Jack H.South East Queensland, QLD

The most reliable car ever made

published

Car was purchased at 88000kms, drove till 115000kms, service as required. Went off road on occasions, never disappointed me. Sold the car after 2.5 years, price depreciated 5000 in total. I mean I could sell it for 1500 more but was eager to get my next car, so just agreed to the first offer. Sold within 4 days of posting ads on carsales. If your looking for something reliable with good resale value or good for off road, don't go chasing butterflies after land rovers, get Toyotas and mission accomplished.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brett B.

Brett B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Best Car ever owned

published

Love the build quality. The 5VZFE engine is an awesome design. Going to rebuild my engine at 380xxx. Still going strong just a little piston slap on one cylider. Obviously someone didn't change the oil. I got her in this condition. I'll put 50xxx on it before I bother swapping the engines over haha.

Purchased in February 2018 at Always on Sale for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ash K

Ash KQueensland

  • 3 reviews

Toyota Peeling Paint - Manufacturing Default

published
  • +1
Build Quality
Value for Money
Year2008
steven

stevenSydney, NSW

Crack Piston at 118,000km

published

Purchased in June 2015 for A$70,000.00.

Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
See all answers
Satish kumar

Satish kumarPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

It's like a lemon

published

Bought second hand prado from maddington Toyota Perth. Done only 97k. I thought would be good car. But turns out it's like a lemon. Rear door is loose, even been to Toyota dealership 3 times. Its just rattle they couldn't fix it. Not really happy with Toyota response in it.

Purchased in October 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ross

Ross

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but poorly optioned compared with market

published

Car is largely simple for the sake of reliability BUT GXL, for a $66K car, to not have front parking sensors or apple car play/android auto, surround view cameras, leather trim, etc is actually marketed pretty arrogantly, as you need to buy the top spec model at 90K to get stuff a 20K Korean car has... it's clearly priced with a "they'll buy it anyway" attitude. Also... it's super-gutless, even for a 4wd, ranger, discovery, amarok, navigate, all go better, which is a bit annoying too

Purchased in January 2020 for A$67,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harman

HarmanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s a great car but engine!! Bit too small for its size

published

Bought my 2020 kakadu overall it’s great car but I owned 2009 before which was more powerful engine the new 2.8 litre diesel not enough power !! Apart from that it’s great car!!

Purchased in February 2020 at Airport Toyota Service Centre for A$96,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kunal

KunalPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best comfort, smooth drive, looks brilliant

published
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

First impression..

published

I bought 2019 VX two days back and I know it's too early to review but I'll share what I thought about it.

For the drive I give 5/5.
Comfort is not that good specially second row. It's $73 k worth vehicle and I don't understand why toyota does not make it with bit more comfy. I don't say it's comfortable if you drive long distance like interstate.

Previously I drove 2006 Camry, 2010 Accord and then Audi A4. Comfort wise Accord is the best.
I think Toyota need to think again about comfort in their future designs. Even the Prado top of the range Kakadu doesn't have leather seats and VX same. It's leather accented. Just about an one foot width leather layer in the middle of the seat.

Purchased in December 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$73,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent car

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tan

TanPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Cant fault this car & we've been everywhere in it.

published

We are truly impressed with this 4x4. We've done a circumnaviation around Australian to the most remote rough locations and couldnt fault it. We have a 2003 GXL 4L - it is thirsty but you have the power and grunt to go where you want. Highly recommend!

Purchased in December 2006 at Toyota Dealers for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
SMc

SMcSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love this car

published

In August 2018, I upgraded our 4x4 to a brand new Toyota Prado GXL. BEST decision I ever made. The car is a dream to drive and definitely looks the part too. I keep hearing all this hype about DPF issues, but I cant say that I have experienced any issues so far. The car has just clicked over 16000km and I have owned it for about 2 weeks short of a year. Only thing I don't like about it is the service intervals. Every 6 months - c'mon Toyota. Other than that I love it!!

Purchased in August 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect family adventure vehicle

published

We love our PRADO! We use our car for commuting and 4x4 adventures. We've added 33" BFG K02 AT tires and a 3" lift kit plus ARB bull bar etc. We also had the ECU remapped that gave us 30% more power. WOW! What a car. We've not had one issue with the car. Fuel economy is better after ECU remap - pays for itself. Quality Toyota build is confidence inspiring. Plenty of leg room for teens in the back who are over 6". Plenty of room for luggage too making it the perfect family adventure vehicle.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jimmyt

JimmytHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent All Rounder

published

After test driving around 10 different types of SUV finally settled on a new Prado GXL. Not the fastest but by far the most comfortable in that price range and below. Purchased from Maitland Toyota in 2017. Have been very happy with my purchase and an excellent car for country roads and long range touring. Recently sold and the resale was excellent as well. Highly recommended to test drive if you are considering a new large SUV.

Purchased in June 2017 at Maitland Toyota for A$62,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
D H.

D H.

  • 3 reviews

Extremely reliable and pretty good off road as well.

published

I bought this car to tow a caravan and use it for light to moderate off road work. The Prado really surpassed my expectations for towing, the V6 towed my 16 van really well. Last December I left Nullarbor road house heading west into a strong cross wind, 44 C outside and the aircon on full blast. The temp never got past 94 c, digital readout from the OBD11 Port. Yeah the fuel consumption wasn't great, but the Prado pushed on without a complaint for 2.5 hours.
I use the car for work every day and its comfortable and reliable despite 227000 km.

Purchased in May 2018 for A$19,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Iwantthegoodstuff

IwantthegoodstuffMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Affordable luxury is what you are looking at

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

great car so far

published

this car is not really remarkable in any way shape or form, but is very capable, comfortable, and safe car to drive. servicing so far has been great and fairly reasonable in terms of pricing.

Purchased in May 2018 at nunawading toyota for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nicole

NicoleWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Loving our Prado

published

Purchased a 2018 GLX Prado and absolutely love it.
Had read a few negative reviews - so we were concerned...but we could not be happier with it.
We have done over 15000km - long distance driving - off road driving - water crossings without issue.
Very comfortable / plenty of room / great on fuel / lots of extras!!
Highly recommend the new Prado.

Purchased in October 2018 for A$66,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Dennis monsell

Dennis monsellasked

J150 (2009-2020)

What will make a 3 liter Toyota diesel idle faster than normal

No answers
Ian W.

Ian W.asked

J120 (2002-2009)

Hi i have Prado 2009 3 ltr turbo diesel and it starts up OK but then serge's and runs out of fuel. Has all new genuine filters and no air leaks.

No answers
cdlfiltrations

cdlfiltrationsasked

Prado

My prado 2012 window controllers in the drivers door has flashing green lights in the middle of each button is this normal or is it a warning light

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.