7 photos
Toyota Prado

Toyota Prado

J120, J150, J90
4.0 from 262 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (42)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (42)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (39)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (40)
  • Braking
    4.2 (40)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.4 (40)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (39)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (41)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (42)
  • Handling
    3.9 (41)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (41)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (40)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (41)
  • Features
    3.7 (41)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Faheem
FaheemSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Wow ...What a feel...

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
solfan
solfan
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Best Prado yet

published

Purchased in May 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Santhosh
SanthoshSydney, NSW

New Prado VX 2021 WoooW Experience

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bad vibration at 1500rpm. Toyota says it's normal

published

I bought a new 2020 GXL Prado in December 2020. From the first day I picked it up I noticed a vibration/shudder at about 1500-1700rpm. Took it back to the dealer who got Toyota technical people out to look at it. They agreed the car had a vibration/shudder, and I asked for the vehicle to be replaced.
Toyota Australia have said that ALL Prados do it and they consider it is not a fault.
Toyota customer service is terrible. I have owned Toyota vehicles for 40 years and never had a problem, but now that a vehicle has an issue, they run away.
Don't buy a toyota vehicle unless you drive it first.
Toyota do not stand behind their products.

Incentivised Review No
Sarah H
Sarah HCoffs Harbour
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling paint and suspension fail

published

Won't be buying one of these again. Almost every panel has peeling paint and I had to completely replace the air-bag suspension on a ten year old car, and it was the Grande model. Why wont Toyota Australia cover the warranty on the paint, as at present they've got a heap of Toyotas with peeling paint driving around with every other driver looking at it and thinking to themselves "I won't buy a Toyota because I've seen so many with peeling paint." Imagine the good publicity Toyota would have if they honoured the extended warranty.

I've just created a public Facebook page titled "Toyota Australia Peeling Paint." Please join if you are in the same boat.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2014 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
bizins
bizinsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Updated 150kw engine completes the appeal

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David
DavidPerth
  • 14 reviews
  • 20 likes

Most reliable SUV

published
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
Kate
KateWestern Australia

Waste of too much money

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Toyota bunbury for $66,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cammo1971
Cammo1971
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota has lost its way

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shellie C.
Shellie C.Sydney, NSW

Paint Peeling

published

Garaged Prado 2008 every panel of paint is peeling. I have worked from home for over 20 years.

My car is worth nothing now, and every other country has extended the paint warranty to 14 years because Toyota have accepted there was manufactuer fault in the clear coat in the Pear Blizzard.

What I dont understand is why Toyota Australia think they are exempt from this direction passed down from Toyota.

Is anyone else having the same issues?

Please contact me on Facebook Shellie Coan

Incentivised Review No
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Shane G
Shane G
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Peeling Paint

published

Purchased in June 2015 at Toyota Dealers for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Victor
VictorSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great 4WD SUV

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jarrod
JarrodEyre Peninsula, SA

Extremely reliable!

published

I bought my 2008 turbo diesel prado in 2010 with 75,000kms on it. We now have 256,000 and not had an ounce of trouble. I installed arb after market suspension with lift when I first purchased. I believe this is a must have. This vehicle has been very capable off road and towing our 2.4t caravan.
Highly recommend this model for reliability.

Purchased in September 2010 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mick
MickPerth, WA

Brilliant 4WD

published

I bought my second Prado a diesel in December 2001, it now has 688000 k’s all driven by myself. Oil and filter has been changed every 5000 K’s using basic oil and after market filters and uses not one drop of oil between changes Toyota service about every 100000 K’s. Only thing changed or replaced is the radiator.
My work is on civil engineering projects throughout WA so in lots of tough conditions, carrying loads and towing quite a bit.
Now it needs quite a bit of work doing.
It’s simply a fantastic vehicle.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Jack H.
Jack H.South East Queensland, QLD

The most reliable car ever made

published

Car was purchased at 88000kms, drove till 115000kms, service as required. Went off road on occasions, never disappointed me. Sold the car after 2.5 years, price depreciated 5000 in total. I mean I could sell it for 1500 more but was eager to get my next car, so just agreed to the first offer. Sold within 4 days of posting ads on carsales. If your looking for something reliable with good resale value or good for off road, don't go chasing butterflies after land rovers, get Toyotas and mission accomplished.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Prado compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Button Family
Button Familyasked
J90 (1996-2002)

2001 Prado, headlight suddenly stay on when I turn off ignition and open drivers door. Door light works, and interior globe. What else can I check?

No answers
Tyler S.
Tyler S.asked
J90 (1996-2002)

i have a 99 model petrol prado. it runs fine but back fires on idel. ive changed knock sensors, maf, throttle body. fuel filter and it still back fires. any help would be appreciated

No answers
Cassie M.
Cassie M.asked
Prado

Does the 2014 gxl come standard with rear sensors. Built January 2014

No answers
See all Toyota Prado questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Prado

Details

Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $73,990$84,490$59,990$62,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8 L/100km8 L/100km7.9 L/100km8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 150 L150 L150 L150 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L4 Cylinder 2.8L
Max Power130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm130kW @ 3400rpm
Max Torque450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm420Nm @ 1400-2600rpm450Nm @ 1600-2400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg2,500 kg2,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 23 Toyota Prado
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.