??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero

Mitsubishi Pajero

NM, NP, NT, NS, etc...
4.3 from 233 reviews
Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

4.3

233 reviews
5
(134)
4
(59)
3
(22)
2
(9)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (33)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (33)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (32)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (33)
  • Handling
    4.4 (33)
  • Braking
    4.4 (33)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (33)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (33)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (31)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (32)
  • Features
    4.1 (31)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (32)
Previous
Next

It grows on me!

published

Purchased in August 2017 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
George P.

George P.South East Queensland, QLD

Perfect 4x4

published

Hi i bought the Pajero in July 2020 for roughly $45k i have grown to love it absolutely perfect 4x4 i traded my 2004 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited it was getting to small for my family so that's why I bought the Pajero

Purchased in July 2020 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mason W.

Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Solid, reliable & capable albeit not the most exciting or intimidating

published

Purchased in December 2013 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$48,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt

MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stacey G.

Stacey G.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic 4WD

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dean B

Dean B

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Service

published

After requesting a 60,000 klm service for my vehicle i have been told by the dealer and MMAL that there is a requirement to have the valve clearance adjusted every 30,000klm at a cost of roughly $1600 for the total service with the adjustment costing roughly $1,000 due to time taken and parts required. If you review their own data online it does not say that this is a requirement at all. It is listed as INSPECTION only. This is either misleading or false advertising as i know of NO other diesel that this is a requirement to ensure the warranty of the vehicle. Poor MMAL Poor.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Graeme Edgar

Graeme EdgarVictoria

Tough, reliable, nice to drive.

published

I have had this car for 5 years, very reliable, pretty good on diesel, regularly tow a 2.5 tonne caravan. Regularly drive off-road in Victorian high country. It does it all with no effort, smooth reliable dependable. Feels powerful and the auto transmisdion dies it all with no effort. Have had no mechanical failures except cracked intercooler from bottoming out off-road, my fault.

Purchased in May 2014 for A$28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Barry

BarryPerth, WA

Experience with a petrol Pajero

published

Purchased in November 2018 at John Hughes Car Sales for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
RDougall

RDougallSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Phenomenal car feels solid!

published

We love our Pajero, drives for hours and hours without skipping a beat and is just so comfortable on long distances. Equally capable off road. Mitsubishis are generally called the poor cousins of the Toyotas but nothing poor about the Pajero and you don't pay unreasonable amounts to own one! I was looking for a Prado when a friend offered to let me check out his car and it was instant love. Fuel efficiency is also not bad for a 3.2 diesel and now that we've had our baby the baby seat is definitely going in this one it's solid and feels really safe!

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marnie Smith

Marnie SmithIllawarra, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car ive ever owned

published

Good family car
Drives amazing
Never had any issues with it
So spacious & good for towing our van
& 4wding
Has built in DVD player, heated seats & all these cool little extras. It's comfortable & I couldn't recommend a Pajero more. When / if I ever upgrade it will be to a newer pajero best car we have ever owned

We have big 4wd wheels on it which are rather noisy & a 2inch lift kit. Need to put a bullbar on before we head around aus

Purchased in June 2019 at Private seller for A$11,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ben Hoskings

Ben HoskingsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Faithful vehicle

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year1997
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brenton Middlemiss

Brenton MiddlemissCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good vehicle

published

Purchased in February 2017 for A$47,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

great touring 4x4

published

i spend alot of time touring in the mountains , i have owned a gq patrol and an 80 series cruiser both of which are great 4x4s but not super comfy on the road , the pajero is the best of both worlds good in the bush great on the road .have travelled 190,000ks in it now trouble free .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harry

HarryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

I would say an amazing car!

published

Our family car growing up was a pajero and I decided when I grow up I'll get one. I'm not 100% happy with my choice but I'm not far from it there are some issues with the car but nothing that will cause trouble on driving the car and to get you to places. Its reliable and pretty.

Purchased in June 2019 at Mitsubishi Dealers for A$41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris8

Chris8South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car, great value

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Motorama Mitsubishi for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jim

JimGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Another example of ignorance in design

published

Mitsubishi pajero is a great car however the seatbelt clips have a sharp edge where the strap slides through. This provides a point of failure causing belts to tear in half

Purchased in November 2016 for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2017
See all answers
Tony

TonyCairns

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Top vehicle

published

Next best thing to a Landrover series 2 discovery and good value for money,Same fuel economy and very quiet'. Only down side is it could have done with a nice V6 diesel engine as an option, also a CD player would have been a good idea.

Alex

AlexGoldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews

Best Car Ive ever had!

published

Commuting every day about 30 k's each way, towing a caravan a couple of times a year, serviced as per the owners manual and just really enjoy driving it around

Purchased in December 2016 at Bunbury Auto Group for A$59,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
jeff

jeffMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car one problem the front seat just don't suit me..

published

Great car in all aspects except the front seats! I have a 2017 model but after some long drives on and off road, I have found the seats to be uncomfortable. It might just be me, I'm not a large man at 177cm tall and 85kg. It seems like sitting up on a chair not in a car seat, if the seat could be lowered it might work.

Purchased for A$32.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ian

ianMid West, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great vehicle,

published

Had vehicle for ages,towing a caravan is good,19lts/100km average consumption,and10/11lts/100km around town.they don't like corrugated roads dash and doors shake and rattle,just did the birdsville track,plenty highway,and the great central road.nothing broken so that's a bonus,was towing a 19ft c van.Had to have a wheel alignment though,when I got home.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

moore Norm M.

moore Norm M.asked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Fuse diagram 2000 NM petrol

No answers
Nick L.

Nick L.asked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Hi guys and girls.
I’ve a 2005 Pajero. My accessories won’t turn off.
Is there an accessories relay anywhere in these vehicles

3 answers
Ross W
Ross W

Has tthis always been the case or has it started since you've owned the vehicle which accessories, ., jus wondering if it has had the accessories bypass the key switch for some reason in the past due to a wiring problem.
I just went to my workshop and checked, On my late model 2005 NP I can hear a very small click under the left of dash
(Australian Right hand drive model) when i put the ignition into accessory position, don't notice anything under hood however.
It would make sense for an accessory relay, its just as to its location.,
Sorry can't help more.
Ross.

Nick L.
Nick L.

Thanks Ross.
No it’s just started doing it. I’ve replaced the electric switch at the back of the ignition barrel. No luck.
An auto sparky suggested on the fly to look for an accessories relay so the quest begins. Thanks buddy. I’ll have a snoop around that area.

Nick L.
Nick L.

It’s the compass and radio as well as every thing else that electrically operates off the accessories. So seems a main relay or similar

Bill

Billasked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Will a 2000 Mitsubishi Pajero bullbar fit a 2001 Mitsubishi Pajero bullbar

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.