??!
9 photos
Mitsubishi Pajero

Mitsubishi Pajero

NM, NP, NT, NS, etc...
4.3 from 238 reviews · View Statistics
Mitsubishi Pajero In-Depth Review

ProductReview.com.au's selected consumer review.

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (37)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (37)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (36)
  • Braking
    4.4 (36)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (36)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (36)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (36)
  • Handling
    4.5 (36)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (34)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (35)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (36)
  • Features
    4.1 (34)
Previous
Next
Pats

PatsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best 4x4 ever

published

Bought this beautiful 4x4 couple of years ago. Absolutely love it. Diesel 3.2lt is amazing. Very fuel efficient. Very comfortable to drive. Done few long trips and hasn’t missed a beat. Very reliable car. Recommend ...

Purchased in January 2019 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Design
Comfort
See all answers
Ian

IanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Bullerproof 4x4

published

This is my 8th Exeed I have owned. I keep buying them because they are so reliable. I do 25000klm a year towing an offroad hybrid van travelling Outback Australia on some of the counties roughest roads and it handles everything extremely well. I am sorry to see the end of the model I believe mid year

Purchased in August 2018 for $58,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
MORGAN.MOOREOO

MORGAN.MOOREOOSydney, NSW

Happy Happy Happy

published

Bought this GEM recently. My whole family is so happy. The smoothness, flexibility and the new features are excellent. Hoping for a great memorable journey ahead. Happy Happy Happy. Cheers.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mario T.

Mario T.Illawarra, NSW

Best combination between Off-Road/ luxury / reliability

published

I bought my Pajero NS DID VRX in 2019, with 160k on the clock, I did 50k in one year, commuting to work and doing long road trips on the weekend, driving into water crossing, snow, and mud! Spent about AUD2k in servicing, including major service and manifold clean. If you are looking for a great off road vehicle, which is comfortable, and extremely reliable, look no further!

Purchased in November 2019 for $13,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

It grows on me!

published

Purchased in August 2017 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
George P.

George P.South East Queensland, QLD

Perfect 4x4

published

Hi i bought the Pajero in July 2020 for roughly $45k i have grown to love it absolutely perfect 4x4 i traded my 2004 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited it was getting to small for my family so that's why I bought the Pajero

Purchased in July 2020 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Mason W.

Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Solid, reliable & capable albeit not the most exciting or intimidating

published

Purchased in December 2013 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $48,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Matt

MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Stacey G.

Stacey G.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic 4WD

published

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dean B

Dean B

  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

Service

published

After requesting a 60,000 klm service for my vehicle i have been told by the dealer and MMAL that there is a requirement to have the valve clearance adjusted every 30,000klm at a cost of roughly $1600 for the total service with the adjustment costing roughly $1,000 due to time taken and parts required. If you review their own data online it does not say that this is a requirement at all. It is listed as INSPECTION only. This is either misleading or false advertising as i know of NO other diesel that this is a requirement to ensure the warranty of the vehicle. Poor MMAL Poor.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers
Graeme Edgar

Graeme EdgarVictoria

Tough, reliable, nice to drive.

published

I have had this car for 5 years, very reliable, pretty good on diesel, regularly tow a 2.5 tonne caravan. Regularly drive off-road in Victorian high country. It does it all with no effort, smooth reliable dependable. Feels powerful and the auto transmisdion dies it all with no effort. Have had no mechanical failures except cracked intercooler from bottoming out off-road, my fault.

Purchased in May 2014 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Barry

BarryPerth, WA

Experience with a petrol Pajero

published

Purchased in November 2018 at John Hughes Car Sales for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
RDougall

RDougallSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Phenomenal car feels solid!

published

We love our Pajero, drives for hours and hours without skipping a beat and is just so comfortable on long distances. Equally capable off road. Mitsubishis are generally called the poor cousins of the Toyotas but nothing poor about the Pajero and you don't pay unreasonable amounts to own one! I was looking for a Prado when a friend offered to let me check out his car and it was instant love. Fuel efficiency is also not bad for a 3.2 diesel and now that we've had our baby the baby seat is definitely going in this one it's solid and feels really safe!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Marnie Smith

Marnie SmithIllawarra, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car ive ever owned

published

Good family car
Drives amazing
Never had any issues with it
So spacious & good for towing our van
& 4wding
Has built in DVD player, heated seats & all these cool little extras. It's comfortable & I couldn't recommend a Pajero more. When / if I ever upgrade it will be to a newer pajero best car we have ever owned

We have big 4wd wheels on it which are rather noisy & a 2inch lift kit. Need to put a bullbar on before we head around aus

Purchased in June 2019 at Private seller for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Ben Hoskings

Ben HoskingsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Faithful vehicle

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year1997
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Pajero compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brenton Middlemiss

Brenton MiddlemissCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good vehicle

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $47,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

great touring 4x4

published

i spend alot of time touring in the mountains , i have owned a gq patrol and an 80 series cruiser both of which are great 4x4s but not super comfy on the road , the pajero is the best of both worlds good in the bush great on the road .have travelled 190,000ks in it now trouble free .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Harry

HarryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

I would say an amazing car!

published

Our family car growing up was a pajero and I decided when I grow up I'll get one. I'm not 100% happy with my choice but I'm not far from it there are some issues with the car but nothing that will cause trouble on driving the car and to get you to places. Its reliable and pretty.

Purchased in June 2019 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Chris8

Chris8South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car, great value

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Motorama Mitsubishi for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jim

JimGippsland, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Another example of ignorance in design

published

Mitsubishi pajero is a great car however the seatbelt clips have a sharp edge where the strap slides through. This provides a point of failure causing belts to tear in half

Purchased in November 2016 for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2017
See all answers
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Jo S

Jo Sasked

Pajero NS (2006-2008)

I have a dpf fault that can’t be cleared on my 2008 Pajero I do a lot of highway driving could there be some other issue causing this other that blocked cat?

No answers
Tristen B.

Tristen B.asked

Pajero

Hey guys just wondering if anyone knows why my Pajero 2005 3.2 isn’t accelerating instantly on take off but once it’s driving it’s fine
And back wheels locked up while driving for a second and hasn’t done since

1 answer
Ross W
Ross W

Just a thought Tristan, does the engine pickup revs normally when you rev it in Park or Neutral?
If so you may have either a driveline problem, maybe dragging rear brakes, a handbrake not releasing at the rear disc inner drums.
Rear wheel bearings, has a rear bearing started to seize , its difficult to isolate brake heat from bearing heat, but feeling through the wheel spoke's very gingerly to see if one of the disc areas is hotter than the other, a failed or seizing wheel bearing will produce a lot of heat and can lockup.

Alternatively if it is the engine that appears sluggish, it may be
1. - a fuel delivery problem, ie replace fuel filter,
2 In a diesel, the intake manifold can clog up due to oily deposits from the EGR system, quite common with age in many later diesels due to their EGR exhaust gas reticulation systems and often for city stop start driving, removal and cleanout to the manifold and associated valve , sensors. is necessary.
The direct injection engine that yours is as is mine (an NP) has been known with poor maintenance and or dirty fuel cause injector pump problems, an expensive problem.
the NT and later went to a common rail system with less associated problems.
3. - possibly a failing turbo charger not boosting to spec.
4. - the simplest , a blocked or incorrect air filter, the cheapest possibility.
5. - fuel filter, change it out for a new one regardless, not expensive and a possibility if it hasn't been change recently or you have purchased contaminated fuel. water from bottom of old tanks from the smaller sites.
However the locking up of the rear wheel is an odd one and indicates possible drag of some type.
Was it in loose gravel it did this or on solid tarmac.?
Check air and fuel filter first, the less pricey options!
Think, not enough air or fuel will starve the engine, and any mechanical drag will affect progress, brakes, bearings, possibly check for universal joints, have you driveline shudder?
A process of elimination doing the simplest and least expensive is the process, if its a blocked manifold, injector pump or turbo you may need more professional assistance.
Trust you work it out cheaply.
Ross.

Rob

Robasked

Pajero NM, NP (2000-2006)

Hi
I have a 2005 np Pajero diesel auto,
The fan, aircon heater not working. Recently changed fan blower and resistor. Today a burning smell appeared and the fan switch and aircon doesn’t work at all. I checked the resistor and blower and seem ok and doesn’t smell of burn and doesn’t look burnt.. any suggestions please..

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 27 Mitsubishi Pajero
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $56,990$49,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 88 L88 L90 L
Engine4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L4 Cylinder 3.2 L
Max Power141kW @ 3800rpm141kW @ 3800rpm
Max Torque441Nm @ 2000rpm441Nm @ 2000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Headlight Wipers
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance225 mm225 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,000 kg3,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2006Jan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2008Dec 2006
Replaced byMitsubishi Pajero NS
Compare all 27 Mitsubishi Pajero

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.