?
? !
5 photos
Kia Sorento

Kia Sorento

BL, XM, UM
4.2 from 147 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (18)
  • Braking
    4.1 (18)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (19)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (17)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (17)
  • Handling
    3.9 (18)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (17)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (17)
  • Features
    4.4 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Sam

SamNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent car with 3.5L petrol engine

published

Purchased in November 2015 at Private for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sam
Sam

Does any one know when should I change kia sorento power steering fluid?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

It took 9 years 270000km but I finally broke it.

published

Purchased in October 2012 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Boris J.

Boris J.Sydney, NSW

Great car apart from the electrics.

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Kia Sorrento constant issues with DPF

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Kia bendigo.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The first and last I will buy

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maria B.

Maria B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car

published

2nd hand 2016 purchased in January 2020. Fantastic car. Spacious for a family of 5. Use daily for work and family trips. Spacious boot, fits a large pram while one seat is down. 2 baby car seats fit with space for 3rd person in back seat.

Purchased in January 2020 at Nissan Dealers for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
betterloosenup

betterloosenupGreat Southern, WA

I bought a lemon

published

I bought a 2007 Sorento limited with 200k on the clock. Wasn’t long and it had a lack of power when cold and a lot of smoke on starting. The latest problem being lights coming on the dash apparently an accelerator problem that has been fixed but gone again.
Apart from mechanical I Really love the car it’s really comfortable to drive, great size, big towing capacity, economical diesel.

Purchased in March 2017 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hemi

HemiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Everyone loved it in family.

published

Kia is doing great day by day and their new cars are good quality built with so many features and backed by 7 year warrenty. I did alot of search for 7 seaters and Choosed it over new santa fe active as Sorrento sport has leather seats 7 year warranty and 8 inch display and i am getting it for only 1% finance. ( i still liked santa fe more though) but at the end santa fe is costing me $15k more with intrests. Everyone i family loved it and it still feels new after 10 months

Purchased in February 2019 at Pacific Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad

BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wise choice!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for $49,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John V

John VSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

An absolutely excellent machine.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maz

MazPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

Ongoing limp mode problems

published

Purchased in January 2013 at Kia Dealers.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
2bearz

2bearzGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

All the bells and whistles and such a delight to drive

published

We have the top of the line GT Line so you would expect everything in it but even the base model comes packed with features. Great to drive and even though it’s diesel you can hardly hear it or notice it. If on really coarse bitumen there can be quite a bit of tyre noise at times and if you want to tow with it I’d do my sums first ( mainly due to the tow ball weight) but they would be the only negatives I can think of. Everything else is brilliant and far outweigh these 2 things that aren’t really an issue. I’d happily buy another one

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HomeB

HomeBSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

GPS Failed...

published

I've owned my Sorento My14 for about 5 years and it is now 'out of warranty'.

My GPS no longer works and the clearcoat off the rear spoiler has worn away.

Kia Service were not able to repair the GPS and told me it needed to be replaced at a cost of about $800!

I've asked them to lodge a replace request with Kia under Australian Consumer Law guarantees.

Let's see what happens..

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

Purchased in June 2016 for $48,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
my name is Geoff

my name is GeoffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Front diff and casing. Towing. Window wiper water motor

published

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Retirement vehicle

published

Purchased in July 2008 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris Stephens

Chris StephensBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Last Korean Turbo Diesel, 2.5 CRDI. Top of the range Auto. GOODBYE.

published

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Luke

Luke

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best 7-seater SUV by far

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good vehicle let down by poor spare parts supply

published

Bought car new from Kia dealer, after 4.5 years major problem with brake abs unit, replace by kia, took 8 weeks straight away problem with lock out clutch switch, again replaced under warranty, 4.5 years later clutch hydrolic hose split, once again no spare parts, complained to Kia and got the usual fob off. I asked the question (are you trying to stop me from buying another Kia car) The car is well built and very strong but let down by lack of spare parts. No more Kia's for me.

BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
joep7

joep7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second Sorento I have had and even better than the last one (previous model)

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Mark

Markasked

Sorento XM (2009-2014)

Kia Sorento 2011, do you need to change the timing chain? Or is it life time?

No answers
Teza

Tezaasked

Sorento XM Platinum (2009-2014)

I have a XM Diesel Sorrento Platinum purchased new January 2014 (Build 2013), 87,000 klm without any mechanical issues until now the paint deterioration on back door is another issue, while driving home the gearbox or rear diff made a clunky noise which at first I thought was a pot hole or something on the road, so I slowed down and the noise happened again, I began to pull to side but vehicle felt like it was in neutral, moved gear lever slowly from drive to neutral again, the gearbox seem to engage so I moved transmission lever into manual selection an limped home. Off to dealership tomorrow to get the news. From what I’ve read so far I may not happy with what they are going to tell me. Will check gearbox fluid level in the morning if I have a gearbox dip stick, but I’m thinking not. Positive feedback would be appreciated. I really love the Sorrento I expected to have it for a few more years, the wife is expecting a new this year!

1 answer
Teza
Teza

Problem fixed under warranty by KIA turns out the transfer case and differential had stripped gears, great vehicle glad to have it back home. Thank you Kia Australia and Blactown Kia.

Rod P.

Rod P.asked

Sorento

Which tyre brand does anyone recommend for a 2016 Sorento 2.2l GT Line

No answers
See all Kia Sorento questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Sorento

Details

Compare all 15 Kia Sorento
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $51,546$51,546$60,471$49,446
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption10 L/100km10 L/100km10 L/100km10 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Release dateOct 2015June 2015Oct 2016Oct 2017
Compare all 15 Kia Sorento

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.