12 photos
Kia Sorento

Kia Sorento

AWD Diesel, 2WD Petrol, PHEV GT-Line (See All)
4.3 from 55 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kia? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Expert Review

Sorento AWD Diesel GT-Line

The Kia Sorento has received critical acclaim not just in Australia, but around the world. Cameron tests this 7-seater both on and off-road, and finds out what makes this family SUV the class leader in this segment.

Read Now

Sorento AWD PHEV GT-Line

There's a new top-of-the-range model available in the Sorento line-up for 2022. It's the plug-in hybrid version of this popular 7-seater SUV. It's not a conventional hybrid like the Toyota Kluger Hybrid, but it's able to run purely off electric power for just over 60km of range.

Read Now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (17)
  • Braking
    4.0 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (15)
  • Handling
    4.5 (14)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (15)
  • Features
    4.7 (15)
Previous
Next
Angie
Angie Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Extremely bad after care service

published

I’m enjoying my Sorrento it’s the after care service that’s appalling. I was sent a letter today after a warning light came on my dashboard a week ago. It was a recall notice that was to replace a low pressure fuel hose clamp which as the letter states may result in engine fire, risk of accident, injury or death to vehicle occupants and other road users.I got a rude man Nick in service who said it’s not really a matter of urgency. Will do it next week. I rang another Kia dealership who said they can do it in a month. No apologies I just hope my family is safe in this car until they find a repair time!!

Purchased in January 2021 at Kia Dealers for $65,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Luke
LukeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Can't supply parts

published

I purchased my Kia in October 2021 and a stone hit my windscreen in November 2021. I have been waiting on a replacement windscreen since November 2021 and was just called today and said the windscreens they had shipped were defective, and it will be another 4-6 weeks until a windscreen is provided. At this point i will have been waiting 6 months.

Beautiful car but Kia have offered no resolution and no care in the world for plight, they have ignored calls, haven't communicated and do not care. I wouldn't buy this care again if you paid me.

Purchased in October 2021 at Kia Dealers for $58,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamm
JammMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Kia Sorento AWD Diesel

published

Purchased in January 2021 for $32,000.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Not Happy
Not HappyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worth the Expense

published

As I travel in excess of 40th per year looked for a vehicle that was safe and comfortable.
Kia fitted the criteria that I wanted with more. Safety is covered comprehensively
Driver Assistance very comprehensive , Lacking Auto wipers
2000kg towing cap a bit low,
Fuel economy very good ( Mostly freeway driving )
Extra rear sets great for grandchildren a bit tight for adults.

Purchased in July 2019 at Kia Dealers for $51,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Slatts
SlattsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Safest vehicle I have ever driven

published

Long trips talking my grandchildren to sporting events often 400k round trip weekly
Short trips shopping 3 times per week….
Serviced as per manufactures recommendations + intermediate services if travelled on flooded or excessive dusty roads

Purchased in December 2020 for $74,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tom
tomsydney
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

BEST ALLROUND SUV

published

Purchased in August 2017 at AMH MORUYA for $63,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve D.
Steve D.
  • 2 reviews

The Kia Sorento is a top-class family SUV

published

It might be a big AWD SUV, but the Kia Sorento presents polished road manners and a surprising turn of pace. It rides on fully independent suspension and has a 35mm-longer wheelbase than the old model, which is intended to improve comfort levels. The ride is on the firm side, especially for a car in this class. The dampers take the edge off, but you still get the odd jarring impact on poorly surfaced and dirt roads while the more aggressive speed bumps demand to be taken slowly

Purchased in May 2021 at OzCar for $32,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Min
MinSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

best car i have owned

published

I use the car everyday commuting to work, general everyday use.
The servicing is as per the Kia schedule.
Purchased 2020 the Black special addition, very spacious its a 7 seater with 7 years warranty.
Drove to Sunshine Coast xmas 2020 and it was the best drive, did the trip in 1 day on 1 tank of fuel it does not get any better than that.

Purchased in August 2020 at Peter Warren Automotive for $47,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ana
AnaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Most unreliable car and unprofessional service delivery to resolve the problem!!

published

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Boris J.
Boris J.Sydney, NSW

Great car apart from the electrics.

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maria B.
Maria B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car

published

2nd hand 2016 purchased in January 2020. Fantastic car. Spacious for a family of 5. Use daily for work and family trips. Spacious boot, fits a large pram while one seat is down. 2 baby car seats fit with space for 3rd person in back seat.

Purchased in January 2020 at Nissan Dealers for $36,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hemi
HemiSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Everyone loved it in family.

published

Kia is doing great day by day and their new cars are good quality built with so many features and backed by 7 year warrenty. I did alot of search for 7 seaters and Choosed it over new santa fe active as Sorrento sport has leather seats 7 year warranty and 8 inch display and i am getting it for only 1% finance. ( i still liked santa fe more though) but at the end santa fe is costing me $15k more with intrests. Everyone i family loved it and it still feels new after 10 months

Purchased in February 2019 at Pacific Motor Group.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad
BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Wise choice!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for $49,990.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John V
John VSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

An absolutely excellent machine.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
2bearz
2bearzGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

All the bells and whistles and such a delight to drive

published

We have the top of the line GT Line so you would expect everything in it but even the base model comes packed with features. Great to drive and even though it’s diesel you can hardly hear it or notice it. If on really coarse bitumen there can be quite a bit of tyre noise at times and if you want to tow with it I’d do my sums first ( mainly due to the tow ball weight) but they would be the only negatives I can think of. Everything else is brilliant and far outweigh these 2 things that aren’t really an issue. I’d happily buy another one

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

John83
John83asked
Sorento

I have a 2021 Kia Sorento. The car has a tyre pressure monitor device installed as standard. The readings are currently in psi. How do I change to kpa

2 answers
Jamm
Jamm

Have you tried from the setting (through the setting/menu option via steering buttons) usually that is where we can change in our sorento 2016

John83
John83

I have tried that but cant seem to find the right option. Could you give me some more detail on what you did.
Thanks

Vic
Vicasked
Sorento

I have a 2012 Kia Sorento 2.2 litre turbo Diesel and the Diff needs replacing. I have had it seviced regularly at scheduled intervals and feel at 183,000 klms it is a very poor return. I would like to know if anyone else has had problem with the diff on this model.

No answers
Rod P.
Rod P.asked
Sorento

Which tyre brand does anyone recommend for a 2016 Sorento 2.2l GT Line

No answers
See all Kia Sorento questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Sorento

Details

Compare all 14 Kia Sorento
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $67,290.00$55,290.00$52,290.00$56,690.00
Warranty Distance Unlimited kmsUnlimited kmsUnlimited kmsUnlimited kms
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy (Dark Chrome Finish)18" Alloy (Machine Finish)17" Alloy19" Alloy (Machine Finish)
Doors 4444
Seats 5 to 75 to 75 to 75 to 7
Fuel Consumption6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km6.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 67 L67 L67 L67 L
Engine2.2L Diesel SmartStream In-line 4 Cylinder E-VGT CRDi 16 Valve2.2L Diesel SmartStream In-line 4 Cylinder E-VGT CRDi 16 Valve2.2L Diesel SmartStream In-line 4 Cylinder E-VGT CRDi 16 Valve2.2L Diesel SmartStream In-line 4 Cylinder E-VGT CRDi 16 Valve
Max Power148 kW @ 3,800 rpm148 kW @ 3,800 rpm148 kW @ 3,800 rpm148 kW @ 3,800 rpm
Max Torque440 Nm @ 1,750-2,750 rpm440 Nm @ 1,750-2,750 rpm440 Nm @ 1,750-2,750 rpm440 Nm @ 1,750-2,750 rpm
Boot Capacity187 L187 L187 L187 L
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateOct 2016Oct 2017Sept 2020Jan 2021
Compare all 14 Kia Sorento
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.