??!
5 photos
Kia Sorento

Kia Sorento

BL, XM, UM
4.2 from 144 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (15)
  • Braking
    3.9 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (16)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (14)
  • Handling
    3.8 (15)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (14)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (14)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (14)
  • Features
    4.3 (14)
Previous
Next

Kia Sorrento constant issues with DPF

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Kia bendigo.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The first and last I will buy

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Maria B.

Maria B.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car

published

2nd hand 2016 purchased in January 2020. Fantastic car. Spacious for a family of 5. Use daily for work and family trips. Spacious boot, fits a large pram while one seat is down. 2 baby car seats fit with space for 3rd person in back seat.

Purchased in January 2020 at Nissan Dealers for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
betterloosenup

betterloosenupGreat Southern, WA

I bought a lemon

published

I bought a 2007 Sorento limited with 200k on the clock. Wasn’t long and it had a lack of power when cold and a lot of smoke on starting. The latest problem being lights coming on the dash apparently an accelerator problem that has been fixed but gone again.
Apart from mechanical I Really love the car it’s really comfortable to drive, great size, big towing capacity, economical diesel.

Purchased in March 2017 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Hemi

HemiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Everyone loved it in family.

published

Kia is doing great day by day and their new cars are good quality built with so many features and backed by 7 year warrenty. I did alot of search for 7 seaters and Choosed it over new santa fe active as Sorrento sport has leather seats 7 year warranty and 8 inch display and i am getting it for only 1% finance. ( i still liked santa fe more though) but at the end santa fe is costing me $15k more with intrests. Everyone i family loved it and it still feels new after 10 months

Purchased in February 2019 at Pacific Motor Group.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Brad

BradGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Wise choice!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Berwick Motor Group for A$49,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
John V

John VSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

An absolutely excellent machine.

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
See all answers
Maz

MazPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ongoing limp mode problems

published

Purchased in January 2013 at Kia Dealers.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
See all answers
2bearz

2bearzGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

All the bells and whistles and such a delight to drive

published

We have the top of the line GT Line so you would expect everything in it but even the base model comes packed with features. Great to drive and even though it’s diesel you can hardly hear it or notice it. If on really coarse bitumen there can be quite a bit of tyre noise at times and if you want to tow with it I’d do my sums first ( mainly due to the tow ball weight) but they would be the only negatives I can think of. Everything else is brilliant and far outweigh these 2 things that aren’t really an issue. I’d happily buy another one

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HomeB

HomeBSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

GPS Failed...

published

I've owned my Sorento My14 for about 5 years and it is now 'out of warranty'.

My GPS no longer works and the clearcoat off the rear spoiler has worn away.

Kia Service were not able to repair the GPS and told me it needed to be replaced at a cost of about $800!

I've asked them to lodge a replace request with Kia under Australian Consumer Law guarantees.

Let's see what happens..

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
See all answers
Clicky

ClickyGippsland, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love it

published

Purchased in June 2016 for A$48,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
my name is Geoff

my name is GeoffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Front diff and casing. Towing. Window wiper water motor

published

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Retirement vehicle

published

Purchased in July 2008 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Chris Stephens

Chris StephensBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Last Korean Turbo Diesel, 2.5 CRDI. Top of the range Auto. GOODBYE.

published

Purchased in April 2009.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Luke

Luke

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best 7-seater SUV by far

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2019
DriveAWD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Kia Sorento compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good vehicle let down by poor spare parts supply

published

Bought car new from Kia dealer, after 4.5 years major problem with brake abs unit, replace by kia, took 8 weeks straight away problem with lock out clutch switch, again replaced under warranty, 4.5 years later clutch hydrolic hose split, once again no spare parts, complained to Kia and got the usual fob off. I asked the question (are you trying to stop me from buying another Kia car) The car is well built and very strong but let down by lack of spare parts. No more Kia's for me.

BadgeEX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2009
joep7

joep7Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Second Sorento I have had and even better than the last one (previous model)

published
BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
DriveAWD
Sam

SamSydney

2007 3.8 sorento auto

published

Use this car for family transport super smooth quiet powerful very nice ride if you dont overinflate the tyres handles well for an high riding vehicle. Looks good (get lots of comments) passengers remark on comfort and qiietness. Smoothest shifting 5sp auto transmission. A bit thirsty. Just dont leadfoot it and drive it gently it has so much torque you need very little throttle input to keep it rolling lastly i do regular servicing with quality oils and parts (all oils changed ) very good value 2nd hand still looks new better than the shitbox merc ml i had before. Note if u want an economical commuter in city traff ic buy a kia rio or similar

BadgeGlobal Circuit
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Not Happy

Not HappyMelbourne

Beautiful Car...until warranty period runs out.

published
BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Sam B

Sam B

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car for the family

published

Bought this car as we now have 3 kids, fits all the babyseats in and has all the space needed. Great car for the price, has a lot of pick up for an SUV and all the features we need. Hasn't missed a beat since we got it. Highly recommend

BadgeSLi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Rod P.

Rod P.asked

Sorento

Which tyre brand does anyone recommend for a 2016 Sorento 2.2l GT Line

No answers
Rahim F.

Rahim F.asked

Sorento BL (2003-2009)

I am looking forward to buy Kia Sorento 2.5 diesel 2008 with 157000 mileage. Is here any suggestion for me? Recommendation or about problems or what should I be careful about when I am checking the car?

2 answers
betterloosenup
betterloosenup

If you start to find lack of power or blows smoke ?
Both these things usually in the morning or first start for the day, then I would sell the car fast.
Apart from that my Sorento 07 was good.
All the best

Jeffrey C.
Jeffrey C.

Was this as a result of the valve stem seals?

CGee

CGeeasked

Sorento

Has any one got a Kia Sorento 2010 petrol? Any reviews would be great.
Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 15 Kia Sorento
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price A$51,546A$51,546A$60,471A$49,446
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats7777
Fuel Consumption10 L/100km10 L/100km10 L/100km10 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 71 L71 L71 L71 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Max Power206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm206kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm336Nm @ 5000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-fix Compatible
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance185 mm185 mm185 mm185 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015Jun 2015Oct 2016Oct 2017
Compare all 15 Kia Sorento

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.