??!
11 photos
Nissan Patrol

Nissan Patrol

Y61, Y60, Y62
3.9 from 121 reviews

Reviews

(66)
(22)
(7)
(12)
(14)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (12)
  • Handling
    4.7 (12)
  • Braking
    4.3 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (12)
  • Features
    3.9 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)


Billabong

BillabongCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Oldie but goodie

published

Bought this vehicle 2nd.hand about 4yrs.ago,GQ 1994 4.2L EFI dual fuel,TI, my 3rd. Patrol 4sp auto with lock up kit as I use it for towing our 21ft.van and it does it with ease.Each time we are out and about with our van we get so many comments as to the great looking rig.At around 380,000 ks.is still going strong.Much loved Patrol & serviced every 10,000 ks.A happy patroller.

Purchased in April 2015.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1994

sheree l.

sheree l.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Love my Patrol

published

This is our family car and work vehicle
We use our car every day. Very economical
The fact that it only needs servicing twice a year is a financial help
Highly recommend

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Quite comfy and that V8 :)

published

Bought new in april and have put 10k kms on it, gets used on road and off road! Love it!
Around town averages 14.5ltrs per 100, out on the open roard averages 12ltrs per 100.
It feels very nimble for a large car, there has been a few rattles and squeaks in interior but nothing to hard to fix..
Offroad its very capable, all the different modes and diff lock is very handy..
Very happy with the buy..

Purchased in April 2019 at Nissan Dealers for $68,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mim

MimMelbourne

  • 24 reviews

Nissan junk

published

Just on 70,000k’s. Leaking coming from timing cover. Will cost $3,000 to fix! Never had a car needing the engine removed for repairs at 70,000k’s. I was told it’s a known problem. Well, Nissan fix for me.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jacko

JackoGoldfields, WA

Build Quality gone missing

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

simon

simonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor Quality Paint and Factory Tyres

published

After owner a land cruiser for last 10 years I made the change and regretting it already after 20,000kms. Going through the forums and from my experience Nissan Patrols paint is not up to Australian conditions unless you don't ever take it of the bitumen. Paint chips everywhere and Nissan can't explain. seems like a common issue. Also factory tyres are shot after 20,000kms and need replacing again. Alignments all in spec but no explanation or acknowledgment from Nissan, There customer service team are useless. Buyers beware!

Purchased in October 2018 for $68,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

john hollingbery

john hollingberySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Just a great 4x4

published

Every 10000 km twice a year and have had a 2001 nissan as well and kept it for 11 years and was going good, that's why i went for another Nissan.

Purchased in April 2013 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

stuartd40

stuartd40Goldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Y62 Patrol V8 Power

published

Have now owned my patrol for over a year now and love it! awesome to drive and tow with. gets better fuel economy than my old zd30. very comfy and now have convinced 3 others to buy one love it

Purchased in May 2018 for $46,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

love our nissan patrol

published

Purchased a new Patrol 6 months ago to pull our 2.8 ton van. Our old tow vehicle, a trusty turbo diesel Landcruiser which had been great but getting a bit long in the tooth. Did extensive research re the new cruiser and the patrol. The cruiser with the same equipment was $30000 more than the patrol. Have now covered 7000ks and unable to fault the patrol. Only down side is the foot operated park brake. Fuel use is better than the cruiser diesel. (Averaging 19.6/100lt towing the van compared with 22 with the cruiser). Great to drive around town. I am a lead foot and love the get up and go at the lights from a 2.8 ton rig.

Purchased in August 2018 for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love this car!!

published

Honestly I wish I could buy two! Best car I’ve ever owned! Love love love it!!! Average fuel consumption is about 13 per 100 which is better than my v6 Colorado :)

Purchased in June 2018 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David

DavidPerth

  • 4 reviews

Oustanding vehicle in every respect

published

I bought this car in preference to a Toyota Sahara which was far over priced and in my opinion inferior in every way to the Y62 Patrol. The engine is unparralled in a 4 wheel drive, is smooth as silk and awesomely powerful. The many standard features leave the Toyota’s for dead. Note that I was formally a Toyota driver but could not justify as extra $40,000 for a Sahara to a Toyota badge, which is the only difference I could see. I love this car and plan to use it to tow a caravan in the future. In my view $iesel is dead as they will not be able to meet the pollution laws in the near future.

BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Drive4WD

MessFactor

MessFactorWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing car i'd buy it again tomorrow.

published
BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

dss

dssWollongong

Avoid this vehicle

published

The 3 litre is known as the ticking time bomb. There might be a fix for this but the one I owned blew an intercooler, overheated on hills, and was generally a pain. The suspension was very hard even when the tyres were let down. Needs adjustable shocks or something. Not buying another Patrol.

BadgeST
BodySUV
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

David

Davidmelbourne

  • 2 reviews

good car but dealer ordinary

published

I love the car but find all car dealers of most brands poor, Nissan were likewise poor and spoilt the experience, best I have had was Ford for a work car, The patrol is really BIG and takes some getting used to but I love the power and the car is a great touring car, Petrol is expensive but not a major concern, I am generally really happy and don't miss the Landcruiser and have lost confidence in late model Toyota diesels, The price of Landcruisers is now crazy and I saved about $28k

BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Zhivan

ZhivanSydney

  • 6 reviews

Stunning car in terms of performance, capabilities and features

published

I was looking at Landcruisers but decided to also test drive the new Patrol. The space and layout was better and the financial decision made sense. At around $15,000 less than a Landcruiser it had everything like tri zone climate control, 8 seats, 7 speed auto, 360 degree birds eye cameras, rear diff lock, HBMC suspension, leather, tyre pressure sensors, GPS navigation and handsfree voice dialling and GPS control. The power is amazing and the fuel economy is significantly improved in the series 4.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Patrol 5.6 V8 Petrol Fabulous for all driving conditions.

published

Bought Patrol 2018. Just drove it to Kakadu and Litchfield from Adelaide towing 3.5 ton 25ft caravan. Wow what can I say. Just pulled the van no probs with fabulous V8 power when passing. Averaged 20 litres/100kms when towing. So quiet on petrol and just so comfortable and roomy.
When 4WD driving drove so smooth over gravel and ruts and through creeks without any difficulty.
Really love having the Patrol and recommend it to anyone thinking of changing to one. You won’t be disappointed I can guarantee that.

BadgeTi
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

DH70

DH70Brisbane

  • 2 reviews

Awesome 4x4

published
BadgeGRX
BodySUV
Engine Size4.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Gavin Harris

Gavin Harris

  • 2 reviews

Best 4x4 on the market hands down!

published

Amazingly comfortable, can fit 7 adults easily.
Power!! Need I say more?
Fuel economy, 10L/100 highway. 20L/100 towing 3.5T
Hands down the best 7 seat true 4x4 on the market. My only regret is not buying one sooner.
Do yourself a favour and test drive one, then tell us what colour u ordered.

BadgeTi
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Oscar

Oscar

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Nissan dealer

published

I got my Nissan patrol brand new at Bunbury Nissan, Australia.

I realised that the USB port was looking a bit strange and when I tried to charge my phone it didn’t fit properly.

I took back there and the guy that sold the car tried to tell me that some how it was my flat...he told me that he was going to fix and probably it would have to change all the radio.

I left there and when I pick up it was all the same.

I tried to get around and get the thing fixed but the guys didn’t help me at all.

I never went back there not even for a service

BadgeST
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2012

Mark

MarkVic

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great, power, comfort and not as thirsty as many make out

published

A beautiful driving machine, quiet and smooth it is effortless to drive. Massive and roomy inside the petrol V8 is a pleasure to drive. Value for money is unbelievable and fuel economy i have been getting is around 12.5L/100kms highway and 14.5L/100kms dotting around town. The omly things i miss are heated seats and auto tailgate, which are TiL spec. Price was a whopping $30k lower than comparible spec 200 VX amd no diesel/injector worries.

BadgeTi
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Mark Williams

Mark Williamsasked

Any issues putting gq 4.2 na in a 1999 gu which had 4.2 in it

No answers

Kevin

Kevinasked

My GQ 1995 nissan patrol 4.2 after market turbo is showing 3000 revs to 100kph but should be 2500revs any one know how to fix it

No answers

Kevin

Kevinasked

I have a 4.2 deisel nissan patrol 1995 GQ
And I have had new dash board in it and now when I am doing 100 kph the rev counter is showing 3000 revs should only be 2500 does any one know where to get it fixed

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.