??!
11 photos
Nissan Patrol

Nissan Patrol

Y61, Y60, Y62
4.0 from 127 reviews

Reviews

4.0

127 reviews
5
(71)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(12)
1
(14)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (19)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (19)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (19)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (19)
  • Handling
    4.7 (19)
  • Braking
    4.4 (19)
  • Suspension
    4.7 (19)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (19)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (19)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (19)
  • Features
    4.1 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Peter

PeterFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Does me just fine

published

Have had mine (2010 3L cab chassis) a while now .190 000km odo. And its been nothing but reliable...rides a lot better then a cruiser...got the GVM upgrade as she's a work ute and I have no complaints...Except maybe a tad Slow overtaking roadtrains ha ha ....defiantly survives all the 4x4ing I put her through.

Purchased in February 2011 at Nissan Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
AMQ

AMQVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Tough Taste from History

published

Purchased in June 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S b khan

S b khanVictoria

Best one mate it’s v8

published

Daily driving my wife she love it and she drives it like she’s in the Mini Cooper. Fule economy is good to 14 L 100 and over taking road train is breez . We pay 69500 new with tow bar . My advice to people test drive one and don’t look at dealers demo car fule economy that will scare you . Because it’s test drive every one floor it in short test drive

Purchased in January 2020 at Waverley Nissan for A$69,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Patrol compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bomurra

BomurraPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for Money, tow vehicle.

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Dealership Direct for A$69,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jase

JaseFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 5 likes

4.2 Turbo Diesel GU Patrol Still going and still the best

published
  • +7

Purchased at Gumtree .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Adam

AdamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Best car in the world

published

You can’t go past the all night one and only nissan patrol, I have the gu 4.2 turbo diesel wagon and there’s almost no places I can’t go in it the allround build is perfect, no other 4x4 compares

Purchased in February 2017 at Private sale for A$15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year1999
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Billabong

BillabongCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Oldie but goodie

published

Bought this vehicle 2nd.hand about 4yrs.ago,GQ 1994 4.2L EFI dual fuel,TI, my 3rd. Patrol 4sp auto with lock up kit as I use it for towing our 21ft.van and it does it with ease.Each time we are out and about with our van we get so many comments as to the great looking rig.At around 380,000 ks.is still going strong.Much loved Patrol & serviced every 10,000 ks.A happy patroller.

Purchased in April 2015.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1994
sheree l.

sheree l.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Patrol

published

This is our family car and work vehicle
We use our car every day. Very economical
The fact that it only needs servicing twice a year is a financial help
Highly recommend

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Quite comfy and that V8 :)

published

Bought new in april and have put 10k kms on it, gets used on road and off road! Love it!
Around town averages 14.5ltrs per 100, out on the open roard averages 12ltrs per 100.
It feels very nimble for a large car, there has been a few rattles and squeaks in interior but nothing to hard to fix..
Offroad its very capable, all the different modes and diff lock is very handy..
Very happy with the buy..

Purchased in April 2019 at Nissan Dealers for A$68,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Patrol compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mim

MimMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 22 likes

Nissan junk

published

Just on 70,000k’s. Leaking coming from timing cover. Will cost $3,000 to fix! Never had a car needing the engine removed for repairs at 70,000k’s. I was told it’s a known problem. Well, Nissan fix for me.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jacko

JackoGoldfields, WA

Build Quality gone missing

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$70,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
simon

simonPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Poor Quality Paint and Factory Tyres

published

After owner a land cruiser for last 10 years I made the change and regretting it already after 20,000kms. Going through the forums and from my experience Nissan Patrols paint is not up to Australian conditions unless you don't ever take it of the bitumen. Paint chips everywhere and Nissan can't explain. seems like a common issue. Also factory tyres are shot after 20,000kms and need replacing again. Alignments all in spec but no explanation or acknowledgment from Nissan, There customer service team are useless. Buyers beware!

Purchased in October 2018 for A$68,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
john hollingbery

john hollingberySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Just a great 4x4

published

Every 10000 km twice a year and have had a 2001 nissan as well and kept it for 11 years and was going good, that's why i went for another Nissan.

Purchased in April 2013 for A$65,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
stuartd40

stuartd40Goldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Y62 Patrol V8 Power

published

Have now owned my patrol for over a year now and love it! awesome to drive and tow with. gets better fuel economy than my old zd30. very comfy and now have convinced 3 others to buy one love it

Purchased in May 2018 for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

Tony kilmuurray aka Kill

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

love our nissan patrol

published

Purchased a new Patrol 6 months ago to pull our 2.8 ton van. Our old tow vehicle, a trusty turbo diesel Landcruiser which had been great but getting a bit long in the tooth. Did extensive research re the new cruiser and the patrol. The cruiser with the same equipment was $30000 more than the patrol. Have now covered 7000ks and unable to fault the patrol. Only down side is the foot operated park brake. Fuel use is better than the cruiser diesel. (Averaging 19.6/100lt towing the van compared with 22 with the cruiser). Great to drive around town. I am a lead foot and love the get up and go at the lights from a 2.8 ton rig.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$76,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Nissan Patrol compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Craig

CraigPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love this car!!

published

Honestly I wish I could buy two! Best car I’ve ever owned! Love love love it!!! Average fuel consumption is about 13 per 100 which is better than my v6 Colorado :)

Purchased in June 2018 for A$54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
David

DavidPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Oustanding vehicle in every respect

published

I bought this car in preference to a Toyota Sahara which was far over priced and in my opinion inferior in every way to the Y62 Patrol. The engine is unparralled in a 4 wheel drive, is smooth as silk and awesomely powerful. The many standard features leave the Toyota’s for dead. Note that I was formally a Toyota driver but could not justify as extra $40,000 for a Sahara to a Toyota badge, which is the only difference I could see. I love this car and plan to use it to tow a caravan in the future. In my view $iesel is dead as they will not be able to meet the pollution laws in the near future.

BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Drive4WD
MessFactor

MessFactorWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing car i'd buy it again tomorrow.

published
BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
dss

dssWollongong

Avoid this vehicle

published

The 3 litre is known as the ticking time bomb. There might be a fix for this but the one I owned blew an intercooler, overheated on hills, and was generally a pain. The suspension was very hard even when the tyres were let down. Needs adjustable shocks or something. Not buying another Patrol.

BadgeST
BodySUV
Engine Size3.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
David

Davidmelbourne

  • 2 reviews

good car but dealer ordinary

published

I love the car but find all car dealers of most brands poor, Nissan were likewise poor and spoilt the experience, best I have had was Ford for a work car, The patrol is really BIG and takes some getting used to but I love the power and the car is a great touring car, Petrol is expensive but not a major concern, I am generally really happy and don't miss the Landcruiser and have lost confidence in late model Toyota diesels, The price of Landcruisers is now crazy and I saved about $28k

BadgeTi-L
BodySUV
Engine Size5.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Christian Magnar J.

Christian Magnar J.asked

Patrol Y61 (1997-2016)

Hello i have a 2000 y61 3l zd.
Was fine but then the turbo vent bad.
Replaced the turbo and now i bearly can get any power out of the engine.
Any tricks to find out whats wrong ?. No Nissan dealer available here.

1 answer
AMQ
AMQ

Three possible reasons, first would be exhaust leak before the turbo or blockage after, after market turbo not adjusted properly, or an issue with the waste date control or adjustment

LoisR

LoisRasked

Patrol Y61 (1997-2016)

Official exhaust emissions 2012 GU 8 automatic CRD 3.0 litre?

1 answer
AMQ
AMQ

I don’t know about the 2012, but I think the same as 2015 and is 313 gram/km CO2

Moorthy S.

Moorthy S.asked

Patrol Y61 (1997-2016)

Why smoke is coming from exhaust and taking so long to start nissan patrol.

2 answers
Jase
Jase

Is it 3lr or 4.2 or 2.8 ?
Does it have turbo?
Does it have a catch can?

Bomurra
Bomurra

Try "Patrol4x4" Forum, they are experts on there. Link here - https://www.patrol4x4.com/forums/

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.