??!
3 photos
Ford Ranger PX.II (2015-Present)

Ford Ranger PX.II (2015-Present)

3.5 from 127 reviews

It’s not a raptor it’s Trex

Wildtrack with raptor engine and gear box is the way to go
Very comfortable and quiet driving, with great fuel efficiency, very fine finish, clear and nice display, and great safety features, the self park it’s a nice bonus

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Best care ever!!!

Awesome work and towing ute with heaps of space for the family, luggage/tools. Traveled with 5 adults for a 700k round-trip with no complaints.

Recently towed a 2.2 tonne caravan from Canberra to the Gold Coast (return) and average 15l/100k. Typically averages 10l/100k for city and highway driving combined.

Have had no concerns electrically or mechanically. Never misses a beat.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

2017 Automatic gearbox problems

2017 XLS auto, 25k. Auto is sloppy... ok n bitumen, but on dirt tends to drop into a lower gear, or the torque converter slips markedly when you hit a bump. Consequently it's constantly changing and revving unnecessarily under light load over bumpy roads. Apparently it's within specs, (Ford allow 1000 rpm as within specs!) but seriously crap design.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Should have bought a Toyota

Same thump from gearbox on takeoff, listen to a usb one time and the next the radio comes on. Seems i have an issue from the steering column. Doesn't load all my phone contacts from an huawei phone. Maybe i need an i phone for this car. Car brakes come on at 150 mts of car turning. Maybe it should drive itself. Hate it. Too much body roll even when loaded. Told it needs Weight. Don't listen to salesmen. Now smart charging is tuned back on when software is updated. Idles terribly and am told to keep bringing the vehicle back. Like i don't need it to work.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Excellent vehicle both as daily driver & tow vehicle.

Our Ranger is primarily a daily driver to and from work. Mine is an XLT High-Country - special one-off...very nice vehicle. I was in the car & transport industry for around 25 years and I've owned 35 vehicles to date. I'm happy to advise the Ranger is by far the best I've owned. We also have a 3 tonne caravan which we've towed as far up as Port Douglas and we average 2 to 3 trips a year. The Ranger has performed beautifully on every trip regardless of the roads or conditions. I highly recommend the PX2 Ranger as a daily driver & tow vehicle.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Great car and only gets let down alot by the Dunlop Grandtrek AT22 tyres.

I was given this car as a company car and I love it, the first time I drove it in the wet it was frightening! Tyres are horrendous in the wet and are useless offroad. I have had 2 flats in 2 years and I have only had 2 previous flats in 24 previous years of driving. Ford and Mazda know these tyres are not acceptable to most owners and still haven't done anything about it. These Grandtrek AT22 tyres are made in Thailand and that is the problem, the Japanese made tyres are fine.
Onto the positives: brilliant Apple Carplay and infotainment system. Very good active safety systems that always work. Very quiet and comfortable. Well built and finished, paint seems to be thin as it chips alot.
Apart from the worst tyres I have ever had on a car, I love my XLT Ranger.
40,000Kms travelled and I am still happy with it and am very impressed with how new it still feels.
No problems at all and uses 10l/100KMS, mainly city driving.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

DISASTER DISASTER DISASTER

Engine and turbo blew while driving on major highway - car had 50,000 km and under 2 years old - had it towed to Goulburn Ford who are clearly not interested in any level of customer service - don't return calls or emails and are happy to sell their soul for their mother company. Ford deny warranty and at our own cost we have had engine rebuilt to diagnose root cause of engine failure - faulty fuel injector. This car held so many dreams for us and it has turned into a nightmare that has set us back tens of thousands of dollars and virtually crippled us financially. NEVER EVER BUY A FORD!

BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Have 2 Navara’s brought 2015 new. Chassis cracked due to pore welding. 55% undercut and a crater. Ha

Over 120km every day sometimes 300.
Used as mobile welding truck in forestry and around town
Every 10,000km recommended is 15,000 but I carry big loads
I have only done 8,000km
Nissan diff shat it’s self at 80,000km
It has only done its pre delivery inspection and I did not have any defaults

BodyCab Chassis
CabSuper
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

First and last ford I will ever buy

Just reach 2 years owning my wildtrack, have had the same list of issues and continue to get the same excuses from ford. Issues include thump from gearbox on take off, navigation system fault, erratic parking sensors, door misalignment, entertainment system rebooting while driving, poor radio reception and many more minor faults. I've been told many excuses from that just how they all are for the gearbox but we have reported to ford as there is no solution at this time. For all entertainment system issues all I get is we have reset the system and hope for the best, but always expect the worst. As I keep telling the dealer, I wish I bought a Toyota.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

FORD RANGER XLT 2012 MODEL LOSES POWER WHEN TOWING

Has anybody had a problem where their Ranger loses power and goes into Limp Mode whilst towing, especially if the outside temperature is high. Mine is doing this now and I am on "An around Australia" loop up at Karratha. I have had it to Ford at Karratha; no fault codes come up, nor do any dash lights show up when it goes into Limp Mode

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2012

Best vehicle I've owned by far. This 2018 Wildtrak Ranger is my 4th and by far the better.

I replaced my 2016 wildtrak for the 2018 wildtrak. I drive my vehicles long distances often for family and pleasure reasons and I find them very economical and comfortable. I totally reccomend you try one you won't want anything else. These vehicles have so much power and torque they surpass the competition in my opinion

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

A great all round ute

Bought my XLS from a mate. (Sold due to his failing health)Tricked up beautifully, this XLS in my opinion is as good or better than a Wildtrak. I recommend upgrading suspension and adding iDrive. It has a lot of accessories added by Opposite Lock prior to Rego. A great tray system and auxiliary diesel and water tanks in the tray and much more!

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLS
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Very happy with the car

I usually use my car to drive between my family and work. I always use the car for about two hours each day, every day of the week. I get my car serviced once or twice a year. my mechanic has not mentioned any issues with the car and also the fuel lasts very well

BodyUte
CabCrew
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size2.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Ford Ranger XLT 2017

Purchased last years runout in May this year. XLT brand new, paid $10,000 less than the going rate because we sniffed around dealers. Our local dealer couldn’t beat the Melbourne dealers price, so my review of the ranger definitely includes my advice to COMPARE dealers! The vehicle itself isn’t as nice inside as the Nissan Navara we tested but you can’t compete with how powerful and elevated the ranger is. It’s strong, and fierce and hasn’t missed a beat. Takes a bit of diesel but not out of the ordinary for a Ute of its power.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

very happy with this vehicle

for everything, social and work. the car is driven every day, and always serviced on time if not a bit earlier. WE had it checked over by a friend and he indicated that is was in very good condition. We will be taking it on a interstate road trip next month.

BodyCab Chassis
CabCrew
Drive4WD
Badgeunsure of what this is.
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Glow plugs

Performs well 2018 Ranger recall for glow plugs.
Ford agent after trying to remove glow plug snapped off had to remove cylinder head only done 17000 km. If you purchase make sure no recalls on model purchased. Not a good look for Ford using inferior glow plugs. 150 w Inverter behind seat for 240 v charging of smart phone failed.

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Great vehicle, however....

After a lot of research I purchased a new Ford Ranger XLT Supercab with Tech Pack in 2016. In my opinion it was the best equipped ute in its class and (again my opinion) by far the best looking. 2 years on I still love the vehicle. It has been 100% reliable with absolutely no mechanical or electrical issues so far. However I am extremely disappointed with two things in particular. Firstly the paint. I paid extra for premium paint and on close inspection you can definitely see the "orange peel" which I feel is poor for a close to $60,000 car. Also the paint appears to be ultra thin. It scratches and chips far too easily. Secondly the panels are almost as thin as the paint. Even when washing you need to be very careful to not exert too much force as even a relatively light touch is enough to push a panel in and as I unfortunately found out, it doesn't always pop back out. All in all, a fantastic vehicle with some very disappointing flaws.

BodyUte
CabSuper
Drive4WD
BadgeXLT
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Ranger wind noise

Its very comfortable, good visibility, fits four comfortably, safety features are top rate as is the dash technology. Plenty of power and a good ride over rough terrain.
But It’s thirsty, hard to park in small spaces and the wind noise in the cab is a design fault I assume. I have taken it back twice to rectify but with no success. At present I am taping up the drivers door frame to try and find the fault.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeWildtrak
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great Ute

Had my fx4 2017 for over a year now can’t fault it
I’ve pushed it to its limits bush 4wd sand snow towing and has performed out standing very comfortable inside (fx4 leather) best Ute I’ve ever owned I also had the previous mk1 2012 and enjoy it so much I had only one Ute in mind when I upgraded

BodyUte
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeFX4 Special Edition
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Very Poor Auto Transmission

Biggest issue with the vehicle is the automatic transmission, it is the worst I have ever driven by far and I have owned Automatics from a 1967 Fairlane to many others through the years, I am also a trade qualified motor mechanic and worked in the industry for 10 years. The first 3 gears tend to change to early (at low revs) especially the shift between 2 and 3, then you have to put your foot down to keep moving because the engine is lugging, then the engine revs flare like it is slipping a clutch or the converter. This problem didn't exist when I picked it up but was very evident at 3,000 km. Have taken it back to the dealer and they tell me they are all like that, it is "normal" which I find hard to believe.

BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble
Drive4WD
BadgeXL
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Page 1 of 7

See all Ford Ranger reviews

Questions & Answers

hi new to the ranger family how do i tell if my ranger is px or px.11 or whatever it a ausie damaged nz repaired 2018 w track ps i dont have a manual
No answers

Hi I have 2015 ranger hi rider 2.2 just wondering if anyone has experienced car stalling while stationary at lights etc ???
No answers

PX2 D/cab 3.2 auto. At the 45k serice told service reception that brake pedal recently goes to the floor during braking, local dealer states nothing wrong, I paid for another bleed of the brake system and new disks as mine were too worn to machine but then told that all will do this, has anyone else this issue?
No answers

Similar listings