?
? !
2 photos
Foxtel iQ3

Foxtel iQ3

1.5 from 435 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (23)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (23)
  • Recording Quality
    3.1 (18)
  • Software
    1.6 (19)
  • Reliability
    1.5 (24)
Previous
Next

Rubbish.

published

I'm pretty sure that i should not have to continuously unplug my device from the wall and wait until it can be reconnected . Contacting help is a waste of time . I did not want IQ 3 but had to have it as IQ 2 was phased out. Pathetic!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
elleblitz

elleblitzAU

  • 5 reviews

Terrible user experience

published

Had to change over boxes as the first one froze constantly. The 2nd box is better but still has issues. Content is also lacking. Nor sure why I stay with Foxtel. I must have too much money!

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
TLM

TLMSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Foxtel poor quality & poor customer service

published

Foxtel iq3. Freezes constantly. Remote only works half the time. Now the box has deleted my entire recorded library including all unwatched and "kept" shows. Unfortunately we are in a bad internet area on the outskirts of Brisbane so streaming is frustrating which is why I have kept Foxtel and our dish. Just as many adverts as free to air TV so not good value.

Purchased in December 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Foxtel iQ3 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Is there a 0 star option?

published

Is there a 0 star option, took forever to finally get connected,Getting the screen freeze and flickering ,Can't seem to pause or record ,I want the iq2 back! So many bad stories on this product grrr

Purchased in February 2021 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chris b

chris bSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad.....just bad........

published

Not satisfied, not reliable, a beyond frustrating experience just to find something on this confusing and annoying interface. Constant drop puts, i want my IQ2 back ASAP or i will probably cancel my subscription rather than pay for this dud.

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marshall

MarshallCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Maybe I got a good one.

published

Recently ditched the dish, so I don't have one of these anymore.

I've heard a hundred horror stories about these, but I had mine for a couple of years and it was reliable in its viewing and recording. That said, On-Demand functionality was weak, and we went through a couple of remotes before I programmed it into my Harmony 650 and never looked back.

I don't know, maybe I got a good one. Sounds like Foxtel should unpack my unit and put it in a museum when the carton arrives at their returns dept.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John

JohnSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 11 likes

IQ3 is absolute rubbish - takes over an hour to get sense from Foxtel

published

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rob

RobSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

Absolute rubbish

published

Foxtel have gone downhill so fast, have been with them for 18 years when it was Austar, good then but decline to rubbish content repeat after repeat year in year out, and the adds takes hours to watch a 1 hour show, sub titles are useless when they work and not on all channels, no new listings or very few, they keep taking channels from you, without notice, BBC FIRST is an example, then if you want it you have to pay more money for upgraded package, service is non existent, a joke, we are cancelling ours and going to streaming Netflix, saving $85 a month.

Purchased in October 2003 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard

RichardSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Big step backwards

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Foxtel for $169.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Foxtel iQ3 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nothappyjan

NothappyjanSydney Surrounds, NSW

Colours all wrong!

published

I was “given” an IQ3, after my IQ2 stopped working. The IQ2 not working was better than this thing. I have to reboot the IQ3 everyday, as the picture colours go super bold. People on the screen look like they should be on Geordie Shore. Waiting 5-10 mins every time you went to watch a show is obviously a special feature from FOXTEL.. surprised I don’t get charged extra.

Build Quality
Reliability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adam G.

Adam G.

  • 2 reviews

On The Whole Pretty Happy

published

The wait time’s for service could definitely improve, constantly 15-30min which is not good enough but far from the worst. Some of the changes in the recent upgrade make things more difficult like series linking. Voice recognition on call centres drives me nuts!!!
Other than that the iQ3 is the best, most resilient, great features and memory, Foxtel box in my 25 years of Austar and Foxtel patronage, it has been a rocky road though LOL.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob

BobMid North Coast, NSW

IQ3 is Not Fit for Service

published

Again today I have had to speak to Foxtel “Support” (ha ha ha !) about, no sound on start up, image freeze, poor recording through my IQ3 box. As usual I am advised to reboot and check. Not good enough Foxtel.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kaponline

KaponlineSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Never works properly and Foxtel don’t care.

published

This IQ3 is a joke. Remote control stops working. After over a year of arguments Foxtel replaced remote and box. No improvement. I hate Foxtel but stay with them because my wife wants the sports channels. Otherwise I would cancel very happily.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ben

Ben

  • 2 reviews

Iq3 Joke

published

Honestly- I have been with Foxtel for Years and like a sucker I keep paying - only because I like a Very small group of programs - iq 3 dont get me started what a joke - for a company that charges so much you should be ashamed of your service FOXTEL you are a Joke.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andy

AndySouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish

published

IQ3 is the worst. Doesnt record properly, the box freezes, the box doesnt keep up with the remote, what a rip off. My old box was 100 times more reliable

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Foxtel iQ3 compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Disappointed subscriber

Disappointed subscriberNorthern Region, NSW

What a lemon! No good.

published

Have to reboot all the time. Does not record reliably. My 55 inch tv That is only 2 1/2 years old is not working now. I wonder if this is related to the shoddy iQ3 box which I had to connect two weeks ago. ?? Much happier with old box which is now obsolete. At least I could purchase movies and record whole shows. Why???????

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Grubby 20046

Grubby 20046Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Foxtel iq 3

published

I have had this service for almost a year now and it would have to be the worse service ever. Paying 99 dollars per month just to keep losing signal

Value for Money
Reliability
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Beth

BethNortheast, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

No good for me

published

Had to upgrade to this box when our old box all of a sudden stopped working, we got this box for free - as we should’ve. But has only been a headache since. Living in the country we don’t get much internet and everything on the new iq3 needs internet. E.g box office - use to just buy a movie and could then watch it. Now you have to still buy that movie - download it and then need internet to run it. I wish we could of just stuck to the old format!

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andi0260

Andi0260AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Foxtel iQ3

published

Always something going wrong. Never records correctly. Always some issue.
I constantly have to reboot this machine. The recorded section of the machine always malfunctions. It causes nothing but issues and problems

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DAN S

DAN SCentral West, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Constant errors and has to be reset all the time

published

Good for downloading, but hopeless at recording. Always having to reset the unit. Very disappointing to find all your favorite shows have failed to record after being away for a week. Have contacted Foxtel, not interested. Just advise you to reset it, but problem returns straight away. Great deals for new customers, but don't care about long term loyal customers.

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

G Hoppper

G Hoppperasked

Can I use a wifi modem to connect to Foxtel iq3

1 answer
Marshall
Marshall

Yes, it's WiFi enabled.

Andy Brown

Andy Brownasked

Having read the reviews on IQ3 I wonder if I made the right decision to move from IQ2 to IQ3!
Any chance of sending me an IQ4 instead? And will that avoid the problems that others have had?

2 answers
Richard
Richard

Andy, as long as you are prepared for satellite then iQ4 is an option (offered as satellite only to force people off cable). I’ll be interested to know if you have issues with it as I’m at the point of dumping Foxtel altogether given the cost and general crapness of the service, both the support and the overall platform.

Andy Brown
Andy Brown

Thanks. I'll let you know how it works out.

Sugar Ray

Sugar Rayasked

How do I connect an IQ3 box with hdmi outs to a dvd/cd player with a/v in?

No answers
See all Foxtel iQ3 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$125
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi and Ethernet
USB Ports2
Internal Storage1TB
Height75mm
Width325mm
Depth240mm
Replaced byFoxtel iQ4

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.