??!
38 photos
Garmin Dash Cam

Garmin Dash Cam

55, 66W, 45, etc...
2.4 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (11)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (5) · No (4)
  • Video Quality
    3.4 (7)
  • Battery Life
    1.8 (5)
  • Audio Quality
    4.5 (4)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    3.0 (7)
Previous
Next
BAYBAYUR

BAYBAYURSydney, NSW

Disappointing

published

I purchased today, and I returned it back today. Every time when you turn it off and on, It is asking you to re-setup. it is annoying, even if I updated its latest firmware nothing was changed.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Night quality

published

If you are looking for reliable dash-cam, Garmin is not your product. The worst camera ever. The camera costs 266 $ by the time i bought it however, I would not give a single cent if I knew how bad actually it is. Take a look over the video. Thanks Garmin I can't report the crap, because of your crap product.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2019 at Sofia, Bulgaria, bul. "Prof. Asen Yordanov" 4-B for $266.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
A Tired Customer

A Tired CustomerPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Nice Brick

published

Had it one day, did Firmware upgrade via the App. It is now a brick.
No ability to recover from brick mode, wish I had read all the negative reviews first!

Purchased in August 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tasyl00

tasyl00Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Another piece of junk from Garmin.

published

I am not reviewing the technical aspects of the camera. The camera itself looks OK. I am not sure about the video quality because I never got to use it.
The initial setup questions every time it is powered on make it unusable. Even after the software upgrade, which is meant to fix the issue. Who wants to spend a minute or two before every drive to set up the dash cam over and over?
Garmin Drive App which is used for the camera to connects to your phone to view the images is more often not working than working. You have to keep trying a number of times to connect. If you are lucky it connects. Most of the times it doesn't.
It is just not good enough. You expect the product to work when you pay for it.

Purchased in July 2020 at Amazon for $295.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Readable Number PlatesNo
Pierce Rekk

Pierce RekkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst dash cam i have ever owned

published

The Good- High quality footage, good mounting point easy to mount in the car.
The Bad- the camera constantly detects a crash/event and fills the event folder (this is on each of sensitivity settings, so lets say that function is useless). My camera is wired into my electrical system to record car park events- the camera stays in car park mode and does not film continuous footage. I have never successfully captured an event. Garmin offered to replace the item. Its been 2 years with constant emails, nothing received yet. DONT BUY A GARMIN DASHCAM.

Purchased in March 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
William C

William CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not buy Garmin dash cam

published

Dash camera video quality is good. All Garmin dash cameras are advertised as having Bluetooth / wireless access via an app. This app is unusable. It will not locate an Android phone by Bluetooth. When it is located on an Apple device it refuses to download footage. These problems have been long term problems for Garmin an so far they have refused to rectify these problems. Subsequently if you choose to purchase a Garmin dash camera the claim of wireless access is false.

Purchased in March 2020 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
stji001

stji001Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average dashcam and service.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2018 at Ryda.com for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Wayne S

Wayne SSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Very poor performance and not worth the money.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
AverageJoe

AverageJoeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Feature packed great value dashcam

published

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Disappointed, Garmin could do better

published

No problems with the picture quality, the red light and speed camera work as they should but the lane departure is completely useless. Have had the camera exchanged for a new and both have been the same. Own a Mazda BT50 and it matters not a jot if I program the Garmin for high or low. Very disappointing.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Shadow

ShadowSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Refunded same day

published

I bought from jb hi fi
Went home to set up saved settings and soon as you power off and on loses the settings and will ask to set again and wont record .i did this few times and didnt work and got refund.
I thought garmin was good brand but at least cheaper brand i had lasted 6months
I will not buy garmin dash cam again.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ripped Off

Ripped OffSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute rubbish. Ive had this camera for 12months.. Ready to trash it and get something decent.

published

If you want to power this camera up using a standard USB cable..forget it. Garmin have used the fourth pin in their 12volt power supply to check the cable out. The Camera will not charge if you want to run multiple devices from your cig lighter/ 12 volt power supply. You are forced to use the proprietary Garmin car charging cable which allows for only one device to be plugged into the cig socket... One word..Lemon

Norman

NormanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I got a lemon

published

Out of the box voice control didn't even feature on the menu. Also it failed to pick up the satellite signal. Garmin took an average of about 2 full days to respond to the support requests, but every time they responded they wanted more information. It took two weeks and still no solution, still no offer of replacement, so I just sent it back and got a full refund. I don't know where the 5 star ratings came from - it certainly wasn't my experience with the product, or with Garmin support.

Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews
  • 21 likes

Rubbish, at best.

published
John

JohnSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beware software downloads using Mac

published

I bought this as I have 2 Garmin GPS units, both of which are great. However, this unit failed the first day. I set up as per instructions ( which by the way are very vague ), added it to Garmin Express and did a software update, thats when it all turned bad. The download froze the unit. After 2 days of searching Garmin troubleshooting and reading blogs, I came to the conclusion Mac software does not work very well. Even Garmin advise using windows on updates. Thats something not in the instructions. I did eventually get it working, but adding it again to Garmin Express really killed it. Its now winging its way back to Johnny Appleseed where I bought it, am getting a refund !

Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony

AnthonyCanberra

  • 3 reviews

Problems within weeks of purchase. Very disappointing

published

The quality of the footage is good, however, started having problems immediately after the first software update within weeks of purchase, with certain dash cam functions not working any longer. After much wasted time trying to get a software update to fix the problem and emails to Garmin I was asked to return it to them for replacement. I suggest Garmin should thoroughly test their software and updates BEFORE release - and not expect clients to do the testing for them

So disappointed

published

I did lots of research before buying a Garmin 55 dash cam. Initially everything worked fine, then within 2 weeks the voice command stopped working. And things got worse from there. Now whenever I turn it on I have to go through all the steps to set it up. I've tried to restore it many times but it refuses to restore. I even tried running the battery flat in the hope of causing it to re-set. All to no avail.

And now the latest version of Garmin Express v6.9.1.0 will not open on my Mac nor on my PC laptop. I'm in the process of looking for a different dash cam. This one is for the garbage bin.

One of the worst products I have ever owned.

billy

billySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

very satisfied

published

easy to use and set up,have had a few cam's put them in front and rear of car,very indiscriminate,although I do make sure the rear cam' can be seen by tailgaters,which I don't get now,also have aged but still working perfectly a garmin gps never lets me down and if and when needed updates are quick and easy,hope I don't hex myself ,,,garmin is good

David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointment with a star

published

Found this product difficult to operate and it only works with the supplied cable? So do not loose it. Operation is not that easy and Garmin support failing. Windscreen mount was good but expensive for a magnet if you want to install in two vehicles. Would suggest looking elsewhere. Selling my unit as a major disappointment

Regg

ReggSydney

  • 2 reviews

This is the right dash cam...

published

So after days of research, going through all the other reviews, checking the price and actually testing the item, I think that the Garmin 55 is just the right dash cam for me! First of all, it works just as advertised, second, it actually exceeded my expectations as how easy it was to set up and running. Lastly, for the price, it has the features that actually should have been some premium added to it but they didn't so I got more value for my money.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Phil R.

Phil R.asked

Dash Cam 55

No problems with the picture quality, the red light and speed camera work as they should but the lane departure is completely useless. Have had the camera exchanged for a new and both have been the same. Own a Mazda BT50 and it matters not a jot if I program the Garmin for high or low. Very disappointing.

No answers
David

Davidasked

Dash Cam 55

Why, why will it only work with the supplied cable? Had it for two months now and still can not get it to do anything? It keeps turning itself off? What a waste of money, for a supposedly good unit. Do you need to go to night school for six months to use it? Is there an online course?

2 answers
Garry J
Garry J

Sounds like mine....propriety cables I believe. Both mine used to work until they stopped completely and wouldn’t turn back on - poor batteries/charging management in my opinion.

David
David

Why do this? In the pursuit of extra profit they make a unit very ordinary to own and operate.

Get an answer from our members

Details

The Garmin Dash Cam’s most signature feature is its bitty size. With its 2-inch wide screen, it’s certainly inconspicuous when mounted on your dashboard. However, the small screen size might also make it difficult to clearly view footage in the present moment, without the unit being synced to your smart device first.

The general consensus among reviewers was that the Garmin Dash Cam’s footage quality was average to good. However, reviewers often discovered points of frustration with their new car cam’s features. For example, some found the lane departure feature useless, while others disliked the ineffectual voice command functionality. Other drivers found that the Bluetooth/wireless connectivity via the app wasn’t reliable.

While the Garmin Dash Cams are affordable ($199 for the 45 model and $349 for the 55), these issues perhaps contributed to some of the product’s lowest scores being divvied out for its poor value for money (2.1 stars).

Compare all 7 Garmin Dash Cam
Garmin Dash Cam 65W

Garmin Dash Cam 65W

No reviews yet
CategoryDash CamsDash CamsDash CamsDash Cams
Price (RRP) $199.00$249.00$349.00$349.00
Screen Size 2"2"2"2"
Viewing Angle 122°122°180°180°
Camera Resolution1080p (Full HD)1440p (Wide QHD)1080p (Full HD)1440p (Wide QHD)
Megapixels 2.1 MP3.7 MP2.1 MP
Channels 1111
FeaturesForward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App and Wi-FiForward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-FiAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), Forward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-FiBluetooth, Forward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-Fi
Memory TypeMicroSD cardMicroSD cardMicroSD cardMicroSD card
Battery life30 minutes30 minutes30 minutes30 minutes
Weight59.5 g59.5 g59.5 g61.3 g
Dimensions 41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced byGarmin Dash Cam 46Garmin Dash Cam 56Garmin Dash Cam 66W
Compare all 7 Garmin Dash Cam

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.