38 photos
Garmin Dash Cam

Garmin Dash Cam

55, 66W, 45, etc...
2.4 from 35 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Dash Cams in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garmin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (16)
  • Readable Number PlatesYes (8) · No (5)
  • Video Quality
    3.6 (12)
  • Battery Life
    2.0 (9)
  • Audio Quality
    4.0 (7)
  • Night-Time Video Quality
    3.2 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Martarchitex
MartarchitexGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Discrete, easy to install and simple to operate

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2021 at Ryda.com Online store for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
GP
GPMelbourne
  • 7 reviews
  • 15 likes

Faulty out of the box, a known issue, no fix available.

published

This device won't store the locale - asks for it every time the unit is started. Rang Garmin support - known issue, no fix available, other than return for exchange or refund. If exchanged, and new unit has the same issue, refund. Seriously?????

Purchased in June 2021.

Incentivised Review No

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Davidhu
DavidhuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

What a disaster

published

Worked OK for about 12 months, then the problems started, had to reset each time I started the car even after updating the program ?
Eventually Garmin admitted that it was faulty and offered to replace it with a reconditioned model, I sent it back as requested with Aust Post tracking, it was delivered to their facility on the 28th May. I have requested an update re replacement (3 e'mails) but no answers, just silence, very POOR PR.
I just wish that I had read the reviews before I bought this piece of junk

Purchased in June 2019 for $244.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Grant
GrantGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

I would look for something better

published

For the price I paid for this camera I would've expected something that was more user friendly. Before you even use the dashcam it needs an update and the update doesn't work. The camera constantly needs to be reset to Australian locale everytime you switch it on. I downloaded the software update on my windows PC and the device won't accept it. This dashcam should definitely not be on the "best rated" cameras for 2021 as I read. I would be looking at other brands.

Purchased in May 2021 for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gaela and Russell
Gaela and RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 44 reviews
  • 17 likes

A reliable dash cam

published

This was a Christmas present in 2017 and it was part of my daily 150 km commute until I stopped doing it.
It's been out in all conditions from -5 to +40 of degrees and has never failed to work.
The footage is decent quality (1080p) and with a 32 Gb card in it I get 350 minutes captured before it starts to overwrite.

Overall, I'd say it has done the job admirably.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $239.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Anthony T.
Anthony T.Canberra 2600, ACT

Software updates always cause problems, and some feature are useless.

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Gadget City for $239.00.

Ease of Use
Incentivised Review No
BAYBAYUR
BAYBAYURSydney, NSW

Disappointing

published

I purchased today, and I returned it back today. Every time when you turn it off and on, It is asking you to re-setup. it is annoying, even if I updated its latest firmware nothing was changed.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Night quality

published

If you are looking for reliable dash-cam, Garmin is not your product. The worst camera ever. The camera costs 266 $ by the time i bought it however, I would not give a single cent if I knew how bad actually it is. Take a look over the video. Thanks Garmin I can't report the crap, because of your crap product.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2019 at Sofia, Bulgaria, bul. "Prof. Asen Yordanov" 4-B for $266.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
A Tired Customer
A Tired CustomerPerth, WA
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Nice Brick

published

Had it one day, did Firmware upgrade via the App. It is now a brick.
No ability to recover from brick mode, wish I had read all the negative reviews first!

Purchased in August 2020 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
tasyl00
tasyl00Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Another piece of junk from Garmin.

published

I am not reviewing the technical aspects of the camera. The camera itself looks OK. I am not sure about the video quality because I never got to use it.
The initial setup questions every time it is powered on make it unusable. Even after the software upgrade, which is meant to fix the issue. Who wants to spend a minute or two before every drive to set up the dash cam over and over?
Garmin Drive App which is used for the camera to connects to your phone to view the images is more often not working than working. You have to keep trying a number of times to connect. If you are lucky it connects. Most of the times it doesn't.
It is just not good enough. You expect the product to work when you pay for it.

Purchased in July 2020 at Amazon for $295.00.

Incentivised Review No
Readable Number PlatesNo
Pierce Rekk
Pierce RekkSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst dash cam i have ever owned

published

The Good- High quality footage, good mounting point easy to mount in the car.
The Bad- the camera constantly detects a crash/event and fills the event folder (this is on each of sensitivity settings, so lets say that function is useless). My camera is wired into my electrical system to record car park events- the camera stays in car park mode and does not film continuous footage. I have never successfully captured an event. Garmin offered to replace the item. Its been 2 years with constant emails, nothing received yet. DONT BUY A GARMIN DASHCAM.

Purchased in March 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Online store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
William C
William CSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not buy Garmin dash cam

published

Dash camera video quality is good. All Garmin dash cameras are advertised as having Bluetooth / wireless access via an app. This app is unusable. It will not locate an Android phone by Bluetooth. When it is located on an Apple device it refuses to download footage. These problems have been long term problems for Garmin an so far they have refused to rectify these problems. Subsequently if you choose to purchase a Garmin dash camera the claim of wireless access is false.

Purchased in March 2020 for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
stji001
stji001Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average dashcam and service.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2018 at Ryda.com for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wayne S
Wayne SSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Very poor performance and not worth the money.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Dash Cams

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
AverageJoe
AverageJoeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Feature packed great value dashcam

published

Purchased in June 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dash Cams

Find out how Garmin Dash Cam compares to other Dash Cams

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Marty h
Marty hasked
Dash Cam

Every time I start the car I have to agree to terms and conditions, can I make it start without having to do that? Otherwise it's useless !

1 answer
Anthony T.
Anthony T.

Mine needs all the basic setting each time I start the car after the last software update. For example kilometres or miles, which language, whether audio is wanted, etc. etc. The Garmin call centre claim they're not aware of the problem, but their website says they had a "fix" for it about two years ago and since then I've seen reviews from buyers who've had the problem when first purchased. I've bought a Blackvue and I'm going to throw the Garmin in the rubbish bin!

Phil R.
Phil R.asked
Dash Cam 55

No problems with the picture quality, the red light and speed camera work as they should but the lane departure is completely useless. Have had the camera exchanged for a new and both have been the same. Own a Mazda BT50 and it matters not a jot if I program the Garmin for high or low. Very disappointing.

No answers
David
Davidasked
Dash Cam 55

Why, why will it only work with the supplied cable? Had it for two months now and still can not get it to do anything? It keeps turning itself off? What a waste of money, for a supposedly good unit. Do you need to go to night school for six months to use it? Is there an online course?

2 answers
Garry J
Garry J

Sounds like mine....propriety cables I believe. Both mine used to work until they stopped completely and wouldn’t turn back on - poor batteries/charging management in my opinion.

David
David

Why do this? In the pursuit of extra profit they make a unit very ordinary to own and operate.

Get an answer from our members

Garmin Dash Cam

Details

The Garmin Dash Cam’s most signature feature is its bitty size. With its 2-inch wide screen, it’s certainly inconspicuous when mounted on your dashboard. However, the small screen size might also make it difficult to clearly view footage in the present moment, without the unit being synced to your smart device first.

The general consensus among reviewers was that the Garmin Dash Cam’s footage quality was average to good. However, reviewers often discovered points of frustration with their new car cam’s features. For example, some found the lane departure feature useless, while others disliked the ineffectual voice command functionality. Other drivers found that the Bluetooth/wireless connectivity via the app wasn’t reliable.

While the Garmin Dash Cams are affordable ($199 for the 45 model and $349 for the 55), these issues perhaps contributed to some of the product’s lowest scores being divvied out for its poor value for money (2.1 stars).

Compare all 7 Garmin Dash Cam
Garmin Dash Cam 65W

Garmin Dash Cam 65W

No reviews yet
CategoryDash CamsDash CamsDash CamsDash Cams
Price (RRP) $199.00$249.00$349.00$349.00
Screen Size 2"2"2"2"
Viewing Angle 122°122°180°180°
Camera Resolution1080p (Full HD)1440p (Wide QHD)1080p (Full HD)1440p (Wide QHD)
Megapixels 2.1 MP3.7 MP2.1 MP
Channels 1111
FeaturesForward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App and Wi-FiForward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-FiAutomatic Incident Detection (G-sensor), Forward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-FiBluetooth, Forward Collision Warning, GPS, Lane Departure Warning, Microphone/Audio Recording, Motion Detection, Smartphone App, Voice Control and Wi-Fi
Memory TypeMicroSD cardMicroSD cardMicroSD cardMicroSD card
Battery life30 minutes30 minutes30 minutes30 minutes
Weight59.5 g59.5 g59.5 g61.3 g
Dimensions 41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm41 x 56 x 21 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Replaced byGarmin Dash Cam 46Garmin Dash Cam 56Garmin Dash Cam 66W
Compare all 7 Garmin Dash Cam

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.