Garuda Indonesia

Garuda Indonesia

Garuda Indonesia
1.9

118 reviews

PositivevsNegative
19% · 2390 · 76%
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • See all
    Thumbnail
Value for Money
1.4
Transparency
1.4
Seat Room
2.1
Food
1.6
In-Flight Service
2.2
In-Flight Entertainment
1.7
Wi-Fi
1.5
Brand Manager for Garuda Indonesia? Claim your listing.

Reviews

118 reviews
Haidy K
Haidy K2 posts
 

Horrible airline

We had a flight booked to Bali, they emailed us a few hours before our flight saying that our flight was delayed by 10hours! I can appreciate that flights may need to delay for a couple of hours or so, but 10 hours is ridiculous! Never flying with garuda again Show details
Shobha P.
Shobha P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC2 posts
  Fair Incentive Verified

Sky-High Surprises: A Garuda Airlines Adventure ✈️!

A Pleasant Journey with a Few Hiccups.
On 7/12/23, (yesterday) my husband and I took a Garuda Airlines flight from Melbourne to Jakarta, an approximately 8-hour journey. Our overall experience was delightful, with a smooth takeoff and landing.
I highly recommend this airline for its cost-effectiveness. The customer service was superb; the crew was consistently cheerful and friendly.
However, the only drawback was the pre-ordered vegetarian meal – it was inedible, consisting of a small, soggy salad and unpleasant bread.
I hope this will be improved on our return trip in January 2024.
Thank you
#GarudaReview #FlightExperience #TravelFeedback #SmoothTakeoffLanding #FriendlyCrew #VegetarianMealWoes Show details
Value for Money
Transparency
Seat Room
Food
In-Flight Service
In-Flight Entertainment
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Richard
RichardSydney, NSW2 posts
 

Very disappointed, expected far better

We have flown with Garuda many times including three to England 1993, 1996 & 2001. We were always happy with their service and excellent food. How they have changed. We just flew with them to Bali and cannot believe how they have deteriorated. Apart from being really jammed in (economy class) the plane was so noisy that the in flight entertainment could not be heard. The food was just disgusting being a kiddies portion of four small tasteless pieces of chicken, rice and a few green beans followed by a small piece of cake for desert. I was given a small paper cup half full of white wine which tasted like vinegar. Later in the flight we were served with a kind of doughnut which was barely edible. Garuda, never again Show details
Transparency
Jesslyn S.
Jesslyn S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC2 posts
 
Value for Money
Transparency
Nick
NickSydney, NSW8 posts
 

Good value and ample leg room

Reading reviews was a little worried but was overall impressed by the flight and service from the cabin crew. Aircraft is showing its age in some spots but the leg room was amazing as a 6’2 person in economy. Only complaints the outdated entertainment system slow and unresponsive and limited selection.
Full flight, multiple times the cabin through came offering drinks alcoholic and otherwise. Meal was edible but not the best. Flight on time. Show details
Value for Money
Seat Room
Food
In-Flight Service
In-Flight Entertainment
Wi-Fi
JTS
JTSSydney, NSW
 

Not a Nice Experience with Garuda

Changed of confirmed return flight GA714 from 28 Dec. '22 to 29 Dec '22 creating additional cost to my planned holidays. Starting from my accommodation cost to my dog care cost. There is no ability for early arrived passengers in the Denpasar International Airport to drop-off the luggage. There is no clear sign and no clear direction from neither Garuda nor Airport staff where is the business and economy passengers have to queue, this caused the passengers (include me) who have been queue for more that two hours back to the end tails of the long line, and no Help At All for passengers with children!! A very not nice experience to end my Holidays in Bali !! Show details
Alex H.
Alex H.Sydney, NSW
 
David Taylor
David TaylorPerth, WA36 posts
 

Fake Airline

Made a booking in Feb 2020 for a trip to Bali. Credit Shell offered.
Ive been trying to redeem the credit shell. After numerous phone calls where the waiting time is over 20 mins ...no joy... couldn't get thru. They even offer to leave a message on the phone ... you have to talk really quickly because the message lasts 5 seconds before it hangs up. Really! Aunt Betty ( Flight Centre owned booking agent ) were no help. Wouldn't deal with them as well. Show details
David Taylor
David Taylor  
More
Paul A.
Paul A.2 posts
 

Very poor service

Waiting to be contacted by Airline to arrange new flights after credit shell was issued due to Covid. Have spent 10 hours over 3 weeks on the phone to the Melbourne ticketing office, haven’t got through the so called queue once! Sent repeat emails and even driven into Melbourne to the ticketing office, but it’s CLOSED!!! I am at a loss!!
Stefanus Kurniawan
Stefanus Kurniawan
 

Super unprofessional service! Stay away from this airline

Had to cancel my flight because of covid 2 years ago and offered a travel voucher instead of a refund. Called the customer service 2 times asking for refund but they always said it is not available yet.
Today I finally called them to use my travels voucher and only to find out that the travel voucher doesn't exist. Even my booking history doesn't exist! So I had to send an email after a very long call just get the new travel voucher.
They don't even offer flight to from MEL - SUB everyday any more.
Better spend your money for a bigger airline and it will save you a lot of time than dealing with them. Show details
Jennifer
JenniferGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC2 posts
 

Still waiting for a refund from February 2020 that I verbally arranged by phone in March 2022. Not good enough!

The flight I booked in February 2020 is no longer offered Melbourne to Denpasar, so I am entitled to a refund. Garuda has agreed but have still not paid! If a company advertises a flight and the customer books it directly through their website, then changes the destinations the customer is entitled to a refund. I have agreed to accept a refund (and pay a cancellation fee!) but I have waited well over 3 months for this refund. There have been countless emails and phone conversations but the same thing is told to me over and over "it has been referred to our online booking department". Pay up!!! Show details
Jennifer
Jennifer  
More

An update for this situation. I finally got my refund from Garuda in September 2022 (over 2.5 years of waiting) so at least I got reimbursed. But I would still avoid the airline based on my experience

Sharon W.
Sharon W.
 
Tracey
TraceyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
 

Shocking…..!

Booked tickets well before the very first lockdown in 2020. 6 tickets to the value of $ 4900.00. I have had no refund, no voucher…. Got nothing in response to my claims. Will never ever use or recommend this air line to anyone.  Show details
Nerissa H.
Nerissa H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC4 posts
 

May as well close their Airline out of Australia

Garuda cancelled our flight we were due to fly out of Melbourne in May 2020, we booked well prior to Covid however, they feel its fair to change their terms and not provide a full refund. Refund will absorb 80% of what I paid and was told Id still have to wait more than 12 months. Or I can wait and book a flight sometime in 2022 if I'm lucky. DISCUSTING and will NEVER book again.
 Show details
Eme
Eme3 posts
 

Please don't book with them

They cancelled my flight due to COVID-19 and refuse to give me a refund. They won't help me at all. There's not much I can do so I'm going to lose all my money. Please don't make the mistake of booking with them. Show details

Questions & Answers

Claire
Claire

Havent read a lot of good reviews about Garuda flying Perth to Denpasar recently one even stating a prop jets are sometimes used has anyone actually flown on one of these between Perth and Bali

Winnie
Winnie  
Claire
Claire  

I did email Garuda and they advised me it is only used for domestic flights when I look at flight radar there was one used on the 31st of jan I think it said but maybe it’s flight radar that’s wrong and it doesn’t actually happen

felicity behrens
felicity behrens

Is it true that Garuda is no longer serving alcohol? I wont be be booking my flight for next year if this is true

Tony w
Tony w  

Hi Felicity Garuda now only serve wine and beer(warm) and no spirits ar all.
Tony

felicity behrens
felicity behrens  

Ok then, will be changing my carrier for flights next year.

Felanny
Felanny  

They don’t serve alcohol anymore, i was in a flight from singapore to indonesia, they used to serve alcohol, now they don’t , not sure what happened tho

Gladys L.
Gladys L.

Can knitting needles be brought on to the Garuda Aircraft? My daughter is a knitter. Gladys Lyons [details removed]

See all Garuda Indonesia questions

Details

CategoryInternational Airlines
Home CountryIndonesia
RouteInternational
Airline Type Budget
International
Economy Included Carry On Luggage Limit 7kg
Economy Included Checked In Luggage Limit 30kg
Visit official website

Contact info for Garuda Indonesia

Extra Information

Brand Manager for Garuda Indonesia? Claim your listing.

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.