??!
6 photos
GIC Black Series Dominator

GIC Black Series Dominator

3.7 from 44 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (12)
  • Off-roading Performance
    3.6 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (9)
  • Ease of Towing
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next
John

JohnSouth West, QLD

Not happy

published

Plumbing bad no thread tape. every join to the sink leaking bad. Wiring inside exposed. 12v fridge socket wont work fridge. Cant get batteries to charge to 100%. Not happy.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$180,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
GIC
Black S.GIC

Hi John,

What is your order number? So we can look into these issues for you.

John
John

All good it is sorted. Good prompt customer service was encountered

Bont M.

Bont M.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified purchase

So Far - So Good

published

Early review - Just delivered.
Have set up in the property (Due to COVID) and had no problems.
The brake and tail lights are not currently working (on 2x different cars correctly wired with power available) - will chase that up with GIC this week.
Structure appears solid and constructed well.
Concealing the electrical could be better as there is plenty of areas where wiring could be disconnected or broken during off road travel.
Also missing the rear winch handle.
This review will be updated later.

Purchased in June 2020 at campbellfield for A$17,890.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III 4x2 3.2L Turbo Diesel XLT
See all answers
Trent H.

Trent H.Palmerston, NT

how to wire up the gas stove

published

Hi i took the Dominator out on the weekend and when come to pulling out the kitchen i noticed that the gas stove wasnt connected up.
Is there a manual or something to assist me in doing so?

Purchased in January 2020 for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelToyota HiLux
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Camper Trailers

Find out how GIC Black Series Dominator compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

best camper in this price range $16000 in 2016.

published

I have towed my dominator from Melbourne to Robinvale to Echuca back to Melbourne to Mallacoota .then to Eildon back to Melbourne to Warrnambool, Bairnsdale. Shepparton.never had a issue .still on the same set off wheel bearings .all zippers still working poles ok ,had to add a extra mattress .storage is plenty ,good air flow through windows at night .It takes a few goes to get pat at setting up and packing up .I had one problem ,we stopped at cann river and some kids pulled my hand break on,2kms before I realised what was happening .put a locking pin in now .

Purchased in January 2016 at GIC Camper Trailers VIC, Melbourne for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelFord Ranger PJ
See all answers
Steve

SteveNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Great camper

published

We have a 2016 Dominator bought new and has been great no major problems apart from slight leaking around the windows and also where the poles go inside from the annex roof. Quite comfortable and great storage and easy to set up after few times. Steve and Lynette

Purchased at GIC Camper Trailers VIC, Melbourne for A$16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelVolkswagen Amarok
See all answers

Crap product, no warranty follow through, absolute crap

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC

Excellent after sales service

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Awesome Camper Dominator

published

Great Camper the Dominator , goes anywhere , easy setup after the first couple of times . Tough as , even in storm force winds . Great support from Alex at Campbellfield so much help . Cannot thank Alex enough for the help he gave us when we lost our annex poles on a recent trip . Barry & Rosslyne

Purchased in November 2017 at GIC Camper Trailers VIC, Melbourne.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelToyota Prado J120
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC

Great unit and well priced

published

Easy to tow
Snack to set up
A jack should be included as essential equipment or at least part of the options pack.
I would recommend the dominator to anyone who wanted a well made quality camper

Purchased in February 2019 for A$18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelJeep Grand Cherokee WK Limited Diesel
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Camper Trailers

Find out how GIC Black Series Dominator compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kaz

KazSouth East Queensland, QLD

Piece of crap

published

Purchased in February 2016 at GIC Camper Trailers NSW, Sydney for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelDMAX
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
No name

No nameMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Parts and after sales service

published

I purchased the camper second hand from a friend and needed some replacement parts due to normal wear and tare. Mary and the team at 36 Orange Grove Road Warwick Farm NSW 2170 were great and parts were delivered super fast and they couldn't do enough to help.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Frank T

Frank TGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Keeping it real with a Black Series Dominator

published

Purchased in January 2017 for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Off-roading Performance
Suspension
Ease of Towing
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC

Looks good but thats about it

published
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Ben H

Ben HDarling Downs, QLD

Great Camper but there are issues - my experience from using two Dominators

published
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Ben

BenBrisbane

Bad after sales and Warranty

published
Camper Trailers

Find out how GIC Black Series Dominator compares to other Camper Trailers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CJR

CJR

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Off Road Camper

published

We have taken our camper trailer away for many weekend trips up the soft sand beach. Tows well behind our 80 series, easy set up and pack away, ours was purchased second hand and had done quite a lot of off road adventuring and is still in great condition

1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Twolegstwodogs

TwolegstwodogsGerringong

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Not too bad for a single traveller

published
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC

Dominator

published

We have had ours for 6 weeks and been on 4 weekend away trips already. This is the greatest thing I have had, so much freedom the Dominator suits the two of us beautifully we can’t wait until the weekend arrives.

1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
  • Verified purchase

problems early in black series dominator

published

After second use the sink tap started to leak, then on the 3rd trip couldn’t use it anymore, still trying to find a replacement. Rear stabiliser stand malfunctioned, could not raise the stand, as the cogs inside were not attached to each other, had to pull apart and place washer under turning cog, so both cogs join and operate the stand, lounge room light blew after 2nd trip, fridge keeps cutting out due to faulty 12v socket or battery system. Not bad for the money but frustrating as there were many small faults in a short time, some parts are cheaply made.On the plus side it is easy to set up and pack away, very capable offroad camper.

5 comments
GIC
Black S.GIC
Mot
Mot
GIC
Black S.GIC
Max_Kiama

Max_KiamaIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

The 2018 Black Series Dominator is an exceptional camper trailer and at such a great price.

published
1 comment
GIC
Black S.GIC
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

C Greenfield

C Greenfieldasked

Hi there, we were told the fridge slide dimensions on the dominator (2019) were 990mm long. We bought a fridge that is 880mm long and cannot open the lid when the slide is fully extended?!

It’s an OzTrail 80L one.

Are we doing something wrong? Is there a way to slide it out further?

Thank you :)

1 answer
GIC
Black S.GIC

Has the fridge slide been pulled out all the way?
Is the fridge all the way to the front of the drawer?

If both options above don't work, you might need to move the runners forward.

Aaron

Aaron asked

Hi. I have had my dog get to camper and got to the water pipes. Is there something I can get to work out where all the pipes go?

1 answer
GIC
Black S.GIC

Hi Aaron,

Can you please send me through a photo, to 'phillip.s@blackseries.com.au'.

Bont M.

Bont M.asked

Hi,
Just had a Dominator delivered.
The battery was at 37% first up - plugged in the kickass charger mounted in the back and it is not charging.
Is there a further connection inside (top has not been opened as yet).

2 answers
GIC
Black S.GIC

Hi Mr Bont,

The kickass charger should be all wired up, make sure its set on the correct setting and no circuit breakers are tripped. Once all set just plug it in and it should charge the batteries inside your camper.

Bont M.
Bont M.

Thanks - Is now operational.

Get an answer from our members and GIC representatives

Details

CategoryCamper Trailers
Price (RRP) A$15,900
Sleeping Capacity4 people
Dimensions 1600 x 1880 x 5300 mm
Weight1,460 kg
Off-Road CapableYes
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.