?
? !
11 photos
Hisense Series 8 S8

Hisense Series 8 S8

55S8 (55"), 75S8 (75"), 65S8 (65"), etc...
3.7 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • Ultra HD with precision colour

  • Bluetooth headphone compatibility

  • Compatible with Alexa and Google Home

Reviews

3.7

17 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (17)
  • Sound Quality
    4.3 (15)
  • Software
    4.3 (15)
  • Picture Quality
    4.3 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Very poor customer service

published

Unfortunately when removing the protective packaging/ film from the TV, the below layer also came up, which turned out to be part of the TV screen.
My 2nd Hisense TV and while the picture quality is fantastic otherwise (like my previous series 7), the section that lifted is ruined and the generic dismissal from their customer service department was frustrating to the point where I will pay more next time to avoid risking a combination of poorly build product and horrible customer service.

Purchased in April 2021 at The Good Guys for $815.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ceres

CeresSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can it really be so difficult

published

Works well until it goes totally black. Replacement under guarantee, Has taken 4 weeks so far. I get the feeling they say anything to get you off the phone.CRAP . These tvs are not cheap when this size. I expected much better service

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Debbie G.

Debbie G.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Screen has gone black on 3month old TV

published

Screen has gone black and won't turn on at all. TV only 3 months old and need to wait 2 business days just for a return phone call after logging fault.

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,470.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie G.
Debbie G.

Screen is gone up to 2 weeks for replacement Not happy!!!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Hisense Series 8 S8 compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nitin S.

Nitin S.Sydney, NSW

Great Picture, Amazing Sound, Fast and Responsive Apps

published

The picture quality in both the terms of colours and sharpness are simply great. The sound quality is clear and loud with good sound modes with do the job pretty well. The Surround Sound on a 5.1 audio is very immersive and completely feels like watching in theater. This is without an additional sound system.

It has a proprietary Operating System which is not expandable. But with NetFlix, Amazon Prime, Stan and several other apps preinstalled with freeview+ inbuilt you hardly need anything more.

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Russell

Russell

  • 2 reviews

Terrible image/video quality.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 at JB Hifi Home for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sho

ShoPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Screen start flickering within 3 months

published

Bought this tv around 3 months ago and screen just start flickering. Tried hard reboot so many times but with no luck. Called JB Hifi and realised, there's no replacement warranty on this product.
Really disappointed and such a waste of money. I don't recommend products from Hisense.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $795.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Anthony

AnthonyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Impressed

published

Very impressed with this TV. Excellent picture and good responsive apps.Has everything needed on a smart tv. So glad I chose this over the more expensive brands. Highly recommended. Excellent service from appliances online.

Purchased in November 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jaffa M.

Jaffa M.South East Queensland, QLD

Good, but had better

published

This is my 3rd Hisense, clearly the best in it's class, however, I have a keen eye and don't believe picture is notably better than my last one. Some 4k content looks the same as 2k content. Lip-sync timing is always out when watching content on Prime Video especially if you stop the program then restart. It can take a bit of time to correct it in the settings. I'm just being critical, it's still the best 4k TV in its class by miles.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman Online for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ash56

Ash56Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent quality however there is a flaw.

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Hisense Series 8 S8 compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rob

RobCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Great Picture and Value

published

Very happy with the picture which is most important to me. Colours and sharpness with great blacks is excellent. Still experimenting with settings. Wireless connectivity is fine, have not tried Bluetooth yet. Sound is adequate but will be hooking up my sound system very soon. Very responsive to remote control and the apps supplied are quite fast to load.

Purchased in October 2020 at Buy Smarte for $1,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philip E.

Philip E.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Brilliant TV, good value and just great value

published

I had a larger 65 inch Samsung, bought this to replace it as it was too big for a bedroom TV, best decision I've made in some time, this TV leaves the Samsung TV for dead, also alot cheaper and the options are easier to follow. Well worth the money.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys for $789.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dale B.

Dale B.

  • 2 reviews

Great TV

published

Great picture, easy to set up, outstanding volume compared to a Samsung, I was worried about quality being a “cheaper” tv but very happy with my purchase. I’d definitely buy again

Purchased at The Good Guys for $655.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Flora d.

Flora d.

  • 2 reviews

Hisense series 8

published

Great tv, great sound and amazing graphics! Would buy one again if I have the money. Oh and we've mounted it too and it's amazing !!!! Great overall! No fault to say

Purchased in August 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,200.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andy B

Andy BAlice Springs, NT

  • 3 reviews

Great Quality

published

Needed a Smart TV for in the bedroom, this has great picture and sound, would have liked to be able to use a Freeview App rather than have to use antenna as the room didn't have an antenna, but otherwise is all good. Bluetooth works great with wireless headphones, connects straight away

Purchased in August 2020 for $629.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cheran

Cheran

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

What a difference!

published

As our old TV was dying by stages we searched for a god replacement. Many options, but the one that stuck out was the Hisense 55". Not the top of the range but a great TV if you're looking to watch TV. Has all the bells and whistles if you want but works perfectly fine without. The colours are great, the definition the same and the sound is terrific. Love it already and only had it 6 days. The 3 year warranty is an added bonus.

Purchased in October 2020 at Harvey Norman for $995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Hisense Series 8 S8 compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hayden Palk

Hayden PalkMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Quality/Audio, smooth interface, 5/5

published

5/5, Superb 4K quality, Fantastic loud audio with good bass, Smooth interface, Seems to be the best quality > price tv out currently, 3 year warranty is great! Perfect for 4K movies/PS5 gaming

Zero issues so far, You will not be disappointed for under $1000! (AVG PRICE:$980) managed to get the '55S8' for $880 delivered via goodguys Ebay with 15% off code

Purchased in October 2020 at Goodguys for $880.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kapitoshka

KapitoshkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 49 reviews
  • 79 likes

Best medium sized TV I ever had

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Geoff P.

Geoff P.asked

Series 8 S8

Bought the 43S8 TV yesterday, when viewing the TV in operation at Harvey Norman the Foxtel app was installed in the apps, but its not on my TV have spent 2 hrs looking and trying to find it with no luck can anyone help! am I missing something anyone got any suggestions. Would be much appreciated, tks Di.

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Basic suggestions- check with HN or contact Hisense

Judy

Judyasked

Series 8 S8

Bought the model 43S8 and can't find out how to install Foxtel Go as it's not on the TV anywhere? Any ideas?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

What advise did you get from Hisense?

LizT

LizTasked

Series 8 S8

any tips on how to easily get to google on the remote? This whole online TV thing is very new to me! Any suggestions on making this simple would be great! Thx. Also, can you install Kayo?
Liz

1 answer
Jaffa M.
Jaffa M.

Liz, you can access the internet through your apps. Just click on the house icon on your remote, scroll to apps icon then click on the light blue globe icon and it will open in a new screen with google option there.
Don't know about Kayo though. Hisense OS Vidaa 4 doesn't allow for much 3rd party apps.

See all Hisense Series 8 S8 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hisense representatives

Hisense Series 8 S8

Details

Features:

The Hisense Series 8 is an ultra high definition smart TV which offers 4k resolution that lets you view your shows and movies in perfect detail. It comes in a range of sizes including 43, 50, 55, 65, 75, 85 and 100-inch options. In addition, it has:

  • Precision colour: The screen delivers richer and more nuanced colours for a deeper and vibrant viewing experience.
  • High Dynamic Range (HDR): HDR TVs cast a realistic image with sharper contrast, brightness and colour.
  • Bluetooth audio: It’s possible to connect your Bluetooth headphones to your smart TV for a solo-watching experience when you need to avoid disturbing others around you.
  • Smart home assistant compatible: This TV is compatible with Alexa and Google Home, allowing you to turn on and off your TV, change channels and manage your viewing experience all without touching your remote.
  • Freeview Plus: You can search for your favourite TV shows on this television service which offers a 7-day guide and access to catch-up TV.

Here's what reviewers thought:

Many happy reviewers are impressed with the superior picture quality of this TV compared to other brands. Further points of praise include the sharp sound quality, that the TV is very responsive to the remote and the quick loading times. Many people believe this product to be a good value for money and a great investment.

Compare all 7 Hisense Series 8 S8
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $2,499.00$1,699.00$1,199.00$999.00
Screen Size 75"65"55"50"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz
Number of HDMI Ports4444
Number of USB Ports2222
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight40 kg27.5 kg14.7 kg16 kg
Operating SystemVidaaVidaaVidaaVidaa
Dimensions (without stand) 961 x 1676 x 85 mm835 x 1447 x 79 mm711 x 1227 x 78 mm645 x 1112 x 79 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 1052 x 1676 x 368 mm902 x 1447 x 271 mm778 x 1227 x 257 mm711 x 1112 x 263 mm
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateApr 2020Apr 2020Apr 2020Apr 2020
Compare all 7 Hisense Series 8 S8

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.