??!

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
7
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
3

Savvy Shopper

Savvy ShopperGEELONG

  • 2 reviews

HOLDEN UTE V8 SS THUNDER

published

Best Ute I have ever owned. Looks fantastic and drives like a supercar, but I can fill the back up and drive down the dirt roads and the back roads to the beach and it handles it all. Surf board in the back, lawn mower, tip run... handles it all, then I can wash it, park it in the garage and it’s gorgeous to look at too. 5⭐️

BadgeSS Thunder
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012
DriveRWD

CLAUDIO

CLAUDIOPERTH

  • 3 reviews

Seat interior

published

I really love holden utes but needs more room at the front I think the bench seats should come back in the utes since theres not much room with the two bucket seat ute you can sit at least third passenger in the front of the ute or more and put more things in the front.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size5 liter
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Nothing but trouble

published

my 2012 sv6 ute stalled turd it over it started sat there and let it idle for about 5 mins and it stalled again this time it wouldn’t start got it jumped started drove 30 k and it stalled again and wouldn’t start not even jumping it got new battery it started drove 5 k and did same thing

BadgeSV6
Engine Size3.6L V6 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Lilly Arnold

Lilly ArnoldAustralia, Darwin

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

A real mates ute! Love my Holden

published

As a chic you might be very surprised one owning a ute but I needed it for all my horse gear. As I love holdens I had to buy this Holden ute. Cost about the same as any other so nothing different there. It drives very smoothly and loads of room

BadgeSS V Z Series
Engine Size3.0L V6 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD

dazaspc

dazaspcSA, 5031

  • 27 reviews
  • 13 likes

Big, Comfortable, Plenty of power

published
BadgeSS V
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveRWD

Garry Fidler

Garry FidlerQLD, 4702

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Last of the Line

published
BadgeBlack Edition
Engine Size3.6L V6 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

notlost

notlostSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

VF 2 SS ute

published

Very happy so far , had the car for a month, great deal , 2016 demo with 9 ks on it , guess everybody test drove the SSV Redlines, much cheaper than the 2017 models , same car.
Great service from Holden so far.
Great to drive , not as bad on fuel as they say, once you're over the mountains.
Great loss once these type of utes disappear .
You have to look at them as a coupe with a big boot, great for touring.

BadgeSS BLACK
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
DriveRWD

T.Mac

T.Macmorisset

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

SSV Heap!

published
BadgeSS V
Engine Size6.2l
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Makes me proud of Australian engineering and manufacturing

published
BadgeSSV Redline
Engine Size6.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
DriveRWD
MtVicNSW

MtVicNSWMt Victoria, NSW, 2786

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love it

published

Great car, a pleasure to drive, excellent performance, comfortable well equipped with great handling. Beats the european stuff and costs far less. Good after sales service. I especially like the quality of the interior, and the smooth comfortable ride. I take it to Melbourne from Sydney regularly and it's a real pleasure to drive.

BadgeSS V
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Chad

ChadMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car for the price!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size0

Commodor 2010 SSV Holden Ute

published

I've always owned Holden's. I brought this Ute when I retired. It's very comfortable and good on fuel when cruising Performance and handling is superb and I love the sound it make when changing gears!
The interior is very roomy, the leather seat are comfortable too. The instrument on the dash are very well lite up easy to find and read. It also has a great sound system. I love, love, love, my Holden Ute.

BadgeSS V
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionManual
DriveFWD

JimL

JimLAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

VF 6.2L SS

published

The VF is the best handling ute I've owned. I thought my last V8 SS, a VE was good but this one is great. So far it's a little heavy on fuel but with 304KW, it's a jet. The seat back-rest adjustment is my only complaint, it's the old ratchet type, bring back the knurled-nut infinitely adjustable.

BadgeSSV Redline
Engine Size6.2 L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD

ss ute

published

Ihave the 2008 ss ute..love driving her everywhere,is an auto with triptronic which i have not worked out how to us.
But have had the rear lights fixed as they leaked water the back window refitted as this leaked buckets of water , the stereo does not turn off when the door is opened, the speedo keeps failing to work, and when going up the Gillies range which is 19km of winding road all i can see are the door pillars. But a beautiful car/ ute which is wicked fast. Lopes along at 1000revs,wld like to drive it fast but the speed limits around here are 80, handles beautifully very stable on the road..I could drive it to melbourne just to enjoy the experience of it, has the chev badge and engine

BadgeSS
Engine Size5.7L V8 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
mechelle

mechelleTownsville

awesome ute

published

I have a 2009 SV6 ute it would have to be the best car I've owned handles well has pick up when needed and awesome on fuel i've never had a problem with it the only thing I don't like about it is the front side pillars there to wide and makes it hard to see on a roundabout. Other than that I love it.

BadgeSV6
Engine Size3.6L V6 Petrol
TransmissionManual
Noel

NoelSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good ute but too many recalls

published

I bought my VF SS ute new in 2013 i loved it and still do but they should have put a few more extras in it considering your forking out for a V8 with the SS your basically buying the SV6 car with a V8 engine. You dont get any extras unless you upgrade to the SSV/redline. Also the gen1 VF is riddled with recalls mine has been in 9 times and thats not bad i was told. Worst was my steering locked up while driving.

BadgeSS
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionManual

Garry Fidler

Garry FidlerQLD, 4702

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nice drive factor! VF SSV Storm

published

VF SSV Storm, I had a ford xr6 sedan from new, very under rated car. I have had the ute for a week, still getting used to the manual as its been a while since I had a manual. This car is bloody awesome, and I just want to go for a drive all the time. The WOW factor is definitely with this car, something I didn't have with the ford. Didn't realise how much I missed it. The accessories with the storm are easy and the standard satnav saves me sticking one on the inside of the windscreen.
+ WOW factor appeal, plenty of usable accessories
- TOO bloody quiet, people buy the v8 to hear it.

TransmissionManual
BadgeSS V
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
DriveRWD

alexg81

alexg81Adelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Loveable Rogue

published
BadgeSS
Engine Size6.0L V8 Petrol
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD

Clay

ClayMolendinar

  • 7 reviews

Very Happy

published

VE Series 2 SV-6 Thunder Auto. Very happy with my purchase, drives and handles like a sedan with power to burn. Compared to earlier models, the late models are truly world class now. Recently drove the vehicle on a holiday with extensive highway driving. It returned 8.7 litres/100K (32.6 mpg) for the journey.

BadgeSV6 Thunder
Engine Size3.0L V6 Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD

VE Commodore Ute

published
TransmissionManual
Badge(No Badge)

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

mark w.

mark w.asked

Are the ve 2012 lpg ute a good reliable car

No answers

Wayne M.

Wayne M.asked

Is a 2010 6 speed auto ve ss compatible with 2008 6 speed auto ve ss

No answers

Wayne M.

Wayne M.asked

I have 2008 ss Ute will 2010 6 speed auto ss Ute be suitable

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.