??!
1 photo
Honda CRF230F

Honda CRF230F

MPN: CRF230F
4.5 from 32 reviews

Reviews

4.5

32 reviews
5
(21)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
  • Verified purchase

2019 crf230f

published

Great bike to get around on the trails and hills. Prefect for beginners and intermediate Riders. I have been a Die Hard 2 stroke fan. But I have to admit the CRF 230 is way less maintenance more affordable and does with the bike is meant to do. This is by no means a race bike. My only complaint would be the drum rear brake other than that it's a great bike.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Just great fun and worth owning one!!!

published

I'm 50 and just last summer bought my first dirt bike . I'm and experienced street rider but never had dirt .... I'm inlove with my CRF 230 F !! I ride extremely aggresive and it performs excellent, thank you Honda !!!!!! I think everybody should go get one , anyone can ride and have a blast !!!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
KK230f

KK230fGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

08 CRF230F

published

gday my name is Kyle I'm a 16 year old kid with sight issues however I still love riding trail bikes I've had crf230s for a couple of years now and I love em there a good side prefect bike for someone how isn't the most confident rider I personally love riding around paddocks and tracks although iv riding em in the bush and cant complain but bush riding is not my thing. the 230 platform is awesome lots of linier power and moves me (I'm about 90 odd KGs nd about 6,2) with no problem I started on a 07 but recently upgraded too an 08 230f. cant complain bikes are dam near Bullitt proof as long as they stay lubed up and regular oil changes and air filter cleans ill just about run 4 ever.
Cheers Kyle.

Purchased for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
Trail Bikes

Find out how Honda CRF230F compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Travis

TravisGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews

2006 secondhand great entry level dirt bike

published
Date PurchasedJun 2015
Phil104

Phil104Minnetonka

The perfect woods bike

published
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Dan Crockett

Dan CrockettAU

  • 4 reviews

You Get What You Pay For

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers
3 comments
Dan Crockett
Dan Crockett

what happened to the "more than the sum of its parts"? why would that be removed? Am I doing this for nothing?
Dan

Dan Crockett
Dan Crockett
Dan Crockett
Dan Crockett

Hey, the t-4 pro-circuit is the best for a 230f, they will fit all late models. Someone asked me that and my answer wouldn't publish.

This is a good bike fast parful but hard starting.

published

I got me crf 230 3 months ago and I love it I really like the 6 speed transmission but that are a couple down sides first off. If you live in the North like me and have nothing but cold like below 0 for like 5 months out of the year it doesn't start. Well when cold but once it is worm it is OK only other problem is teans don't shift well. Someday it might be from the cold though it works well have driving it through a river up to the seat and still ran so good. Bike also doesn't have power that 2 strokes have.

Incredible

published

No need to say it but this bike is awesome: great, great and great. Perfect for a kid a who wants to upgrade. Cannot think of a better bike. HONDA has done an excellent job with this bike and it has lots of power, it is reliable and easy to handle and control.

Crf230f

published

I'm 14 years old I bought a 2010 crf230f it has lots of power I hardly maintain it but never lets me down I do proper trail. I go through mud, water and a lot more I hope this review helps you to one of a hell bike.

Trail Bikes

Find out how Honda CRF230F compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great all around bike!

published

I have a 05, i have owned few bikes but this 230f is perfect for all riders beginners or advance, perfect for trail riding, has decent power & the top speed is also pretty good. I would denfinitely recommend this bike..

Extremely reliable!

published

I bought an '08 crf230f about a month ago. I didn't want any liquid cooled racing machines because all I do is ride trails all over, not race. I've owned and loved crf's and xr's ever since I got my first bike as a youngin. I'm extremely impressed with the handling and over all performance of the bike. Low maintanance, perfect handeling, pretty much bullet proof bike. My only quirk is it has no kick start for back up if the battery dies

mat1980

mat1980Burnie

2014 Honda CRF203F

published

Awesome bike

published

I've owned mine since 2010 and it has been an awesome bike. I usually ride on tight single tracks and it performs quite well. Very good trail bike handles rocks/logs well. Extremely easy to ride, starts fairly easily when cold, takes a little to warm up. Never had any problems with the bike apart from light globe's and fork seals, been very reliable. Engine very low maintainence, great for beginners. Very capable straight out of the showroom.
Very reliable, Fairly light, handles well, very good when the going gets tough, good on fuel, easy to learn on, nice torquey motor
Not over powerful, shocks could use some work, not overly fast, sixth gear seems a bit short (always going for another gear)

Honda CRF230F

published

I bought a 2003 CRF230F for Two grand, The only thing wrong with it was the valve stem seals. Meaning that oil leaked into the motor and was burnt upon starting it.(blows smoke for about thirty seconds after firing up) but the bike itself is an absolute ripper! it's a real torquey, strong motor and it has plenty of grunt. me and my mate race around all day, and he constantly asks to ride the 230 over his KTM 85sx.
I just tell him no!!! The bike is too much fun to ride!!
Power, reliability, 6 gears.
Valve stem seals, heavy, only electric start.

1 comment
Honda Lover
Honda Lover

Great reliable Trail bike

published

I bought a 2004 model crf230f about 6 months ago and have done plenty of riding on it and am very impressed with the reliability of this bike, Its is a fantastic bike to get if your not doing anything to extreme on it, Only bad thing about this bike is the weight and the fact that it is only electric start.
Strong reliable unstoppable engine, fuel effeincy is amazing, quiet stock exhaust
Weight, only e-start

Trail Bikes

Find out how Honda CRF230F compares to other Trail Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great bike

published

This is an awesome bike for someone who isn't doing huge jumps and just wants to ride the trails. The bike can be tame but when you want it to she sure dose move. Definitely recommend for an everyday driver. One down side is the bike is harder to start when it is cold but most Hondas I've owned have like choke.
Easy to start when hot, easy on gas, corners great, suspension is plush, many aftermarket parts for it, e-start
Starting when it is cold, slower to get to top speed,

Excellent

published
BigRedSnuffy

BigRedSnuffyAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very impressed, heaps of torque and brilliant suspension

published

And I say this standing 6"3" and tipping the scales at 124 kilos. The 230 is a terrific bike with plenty of power to haul my ample carriage around a track and the suspension is fine. Easy to maintain, frugal and fun.
Easy to ride, excellent torque, great stoppers, not too loud.

1 comment
dazdog
dazdog

how is it on sand?

Akerzy1234

Akerzy1234

  • 10 reviews

Good

published

In the time I have owned this bike it has been an awesome ride. Maintenance ie changing the oil or air filter has been incredibly easy and in general it still provides a thrilling ride even after 1.5 years use. The drum brake on the rear and the suspension are the areas in which honda has cut back on but it still is an excellent recreational trail bike.
Bulletproof engine with a simple but effective design. Good steady power that suits agricultural use, learners or people who prefer a more controllable motorbike
Suspension is not designed for mega jumps but it still does an excellent job for everyday trail riding or small jumps

1 comment
RNelsopn
RNelsopn

Great little bike. I added the power up kit, Works Pro Series rear shock and upgraded the front forks. Now I have a great riding and performing bike. 2007 CRF 230

Excellent

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Rick

Rickasked

I’m fixing up a crf230 of my mates that I’m getting and I was wondering what fuel to use cause heaps of people have told me different types?

No answers
xExist

xExistasked

my 230f seized up and im rebuilding it at the moment but im wondering do i have to buy a whole new top end or is it just a barrel i can replace?

1 answer
Phil104
Phil104

I'd say save the barrel by boring (and rechroming if necessary) and get next size up piston. Local shops will help you with that. Never toss out good parts
Phil
Phil Little Racing.com

Angus.T

Angus.Tasked

is there any difference between a 2016 and 2017 crf 230f? I'm looking at buying a procircuit t-4 exhaust system and it says it suits up to a 2016 but I wanted to check if there is much difference and whether it would still suit a 2017 or not

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.