??!
2 photos
Kawasaki KLR650

Kawasaki KLR650

4.2 from 37 reviews

See the Best Trail Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
17
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
1

A very nice all purpose motorcycle

published

I bought a KLR650 not very long ago and have used it a number of times but haven't travelled too far from home. I find the bike very easy to ride, easy on fuel and attractive. It turns heads. I love the electric start that my xl500 didn't have. The price was right and Kawasaki even gave me a tank bag and cover bonus! Im so glad I bought this motorcycle before the bike shops ran out of them since the klr will not be made after 2018. Way to go Kawasaki!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Mileage 60 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

Best all round fun reliable motorcycle out there

published

Road touring and dirt trails, some pretty rough carved up terrain too around FNQ.
2015 model restricted for Australia, (now de restricted ) SW Moto engine bars and bash plate added.
Take the top off the carb and block the two restriction holes in the top of slide ( JB weld steel stick from Jaycar ) and no more spluttering and a bucket load more grunt, 1 hour job including JB hardening time, very easy to do.
Does not burn any oil (7500kms)

Date PurchasedNov 2014

Oil burning

published

I have owned a klr for 4 years now and it is a fantastic bike its versatility is second to none. Many klrs have been known to be oil burners. It is my experience that this is largely caused by over gearing, which so many owners love to do. I have found the stock gearing to be far the best both on and off road and would never run a 16 tooth front sprocket, which overloads the engine. The klr has a weak piston design and over gearing causes fracturing between the rings and oil burning.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
Merv

MervGympie

The one bike for all tasks

published

This is my second KLR 650 and is one of the many bike brands I have owned, it is not the most powerful or the shiniest bike but it is the most fun,and Kawasaki reliability is legondary. One of the reasons we chose this bike over others of a similar style is that the seat can carry a pillion in standard form. My only gripe is that the standard gearing was a bit low for my intended use so l went up 1 tooth on the front sprocket and that made it more user friendly on the highway, 4000 revs = 100 K. If you can only have one bike in your life this is it a truly great all rounder.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Four Month, Four Thousand Kilometre Review

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Pure and Simple

published

The Klr 650 is a fantastic bike due to it's incredible versatility. They are very simple, reliable, efficient. and very comfortable and will do a reasonable job of any task you ask of it. You can,t go wrong there a terrific bike., l personally would not ever ride anything else.

Date PurchasedNov 2013

Proven reliability and design..

published
Date PurchasedSep 2014

AndyK

AndyKTaree

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

The best possible bang for your buck

published

The more I ride it the more I love it:

published

A few mods to make a good reliable all rounder

published

Buzz

Buzz

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

value for money backroads cruiser

published

You get what you pay for

published

I've got a 2010 klr 650. 39000 km . Around 350 km to work each week plus a few longer trips. Just put new front and back springs on her which has made a big difference ( race tech ).
Sits on 110 km/h all day. Very easy to customise to individual taste. Friend has a bmw 1200 gs . Yep it's good but"..
Keep it simple !


FP sux

FP suxAU

  • 4 reviews

Just buy one

published

Midnite

Midnite

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

2010 KLR great bike

published

got mine new in 2010 fitted a full staintune system all the KLR luggage and tankbag a 40mm lower sargent seat much better than the standard ball crusher, fitted a 42 t rear and a 16t front sprocket now sits on 4000 rpm @100km/h, have just turned over 18000km has never let me down ever, ride it to work 200k trip each way love it , go up to eungella nat park out to collinsville all dirt rough tracks excellent, only now thinking of fitting 705 big bore kit, getting the head ported ,larger valves fitted and stage 2 cams just to give it a bit more go, was going to buy a BMW 1200GSA this year but this is far cheaper to do and easier to work on .
just a good simple bike no fuss
lacks a little bit of power

john

johnMildura

Great bike...but top speed?

published

I bought my KLR 650 in 2012 and have loved it...except for the top end...so a question I have actually is when I want to give her a flex is sitting on 6000 rpm at 130 km/h going to hurt the engine?...and what is the rpm level you don't want to go near?...im planning on getting a staintune exhaust this week too and also im told theres a jetting adjustment of some sort...do you think these would give her more top end speed or just lower to middle?...thanks guys.
Very powerful and handles great on the road an fun off the road too.
Top end speed and power is an issue.

Great value for money

published

Happy with KLR

published

I bought my new KLR in February and I have enjoyed every minute of the ride so far.Its got loads of power in the lower gears and is very easy to handle. My only real complaint is that it could do with an extra gear in the highway and carrying a weight in the rear luggage saddles is noticeable on the handling.
Otherwise a great ride.

1 comment
A Trowel
A Trowel

Fun fun fun, but.....

published
1 comment
Stu1110
Stu1110

Buy some lowering links, easy to fit yourself. I had the same issues and they sorted it out perfectly


stredhead

stredhead

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Midlife review

published

The best fun

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jim

Jimasked

Is this a bike you can ride on the highway for a trip?

2 answers
AndyK
AndyK

Yes, absolutely. It is a dual purpose bike ... good both on and off road. You can use it as a daily commuter on the highway then go adventuring on the weekends! :)

Jim
Jim

Thank you, I just bought a 2011 KLR 650 a month ago and I’m still getting used to it.


nicatranquilo

nicatranquiloasked

hi..i`m from Nicaragua and my english i`ts not so good. I have a kawasaki kl650, 1992 when i`ts running it has oil drop by the muffler rigth on the cylinder head.
the smoke is white and the oil engine level drop quikly. i changed the valves oil seals and the gasket but it doesn't work.
Any idea about what to do?

2 answers
AndyK
AndyK

I'm sorry but I'm not a mechanic and can't really offer a solution.
Is there oil in your coolant or coolant in your oil? ... if so and you've changed the head gasket then perhaps it's a cracked head.
I would suggest you try joining one or more of the many KLR owners Facebook groups around the World as members will probably be able to offer better advice than I can.
I hope you get it fixed. Good luck.

Stable
Stable

With any oil leak you need to degrease the entire area and run the engine until you find where the oil is coming from. Might take 10-15 minutes or sooner.


Johnnyboy58

Johnnyboy58asked

Hello !! Does any one know how I can find out what motor will bolt right up on my klr 650 1995? Do to the fact my other motor threw a rod and cracked the center case . I found several motors on ebay but want to make sure before I buy !! Thank you .and yes I called local dealer. And received no help !!! Thank you John c

1 answer
Oddie.
Oddie.

Slack dealer not giving you advice. Try contacting Kawasaki Australia. Surely the can provide an answer. As the KLR motor has been virtually untouched since it was introduced in the late 80's there shouldn't be any problems with any KLR 650 motor. But better to check with K A.


Get an answer from our members and Kawasaki representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.