??!
2 photos
Hot Devil Weed Killer

Hot Devil Weed Killer

2.4 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.4

14 reviews
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Previous
Next
Craig

CraigSouth East Queensland, QLD

Works like a wonder

published

So I purchased one about 7-8 years ago and use it regularly through the QLD summer months. I'm just about to replace it as the heat has finally made some of the finer metal in the nozzle end brittle. I use this a lot around the home and love the fact that I don’t have to worry about glyphosate overspray when the breeze is up. Results are almost instaneous such that you can see which ones you may have missed later that same day - can't say the same for chemical sprays. It does take longer than sprays though if you let the weeds build up. Solution ... don't be lazy and let it get that bad.

Purchased in November 2013 at Mitre 10.

Use it AFTER you spray weeds

published

I find the burner works brilliant if used after you spray. You might say what's the point if you're using glyphosate first?
I live in country NSW and weeds I get are huge. Even if I use Round Up Ultra glyphosate the weed dies and I'm left with dead stalks or 'stars' on ground.
This torch then lights up the weed burning it down to nothing. If you expect it to kill & burn a healthy green weed well you're going to use a lot of propane. This process of killing first with glypho - then burning the now dead weed isn't for everyone but you'll find a much longer time in having to kill weed again.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$30.00.

Mason W.

Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good initially but eventually leaks

published

Worked well initially, reasonably easy to use & had fun burning garden weeds & lighting wood fire pizza oven. Downsides though it can quickly chew through butane cylinders weeding & the plastic collar leaked after a single season & caught fire which is bit alarming given proximity to hand grip & potentially explosive cylinder. Cheap enough ~$38ish but not so much after only one seasons use. Also uncomfortable with how many disposable cylinders being sent to landfill.

Purchased in February 2018 at eBay for A$38.00.

Garden Tools

Find out how Hot Devil Weed Killer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

It works. Use with caution.

published

OK. I read the negative reviews carefully. I examined the product. And it made sense. So I tried it out. It works as described. I use it to burn out the weeds in my brick pavers. It burns them to dust and does not leave a mark on the brick. It works effectively esp with the dry weeds. Think carefully while operating this to avoid causing an accident. I accidentally burned myself when I let the barrel touch my skin.

Purchased in June 2017 at Autobarn for A$59.00.

What a shocker of an organisation

published

Whilst the device was essentially inadequate, I persevered. However, when the igniter failed and I tried to buy a replacement the company replied, that for safety reasons they did not supply spare components - throw it away and buy another. What an environmentally responsible group they are! I am surprised they didn’t suggest returning to glyphosate.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Hot Devil
HOT DEVIL O.Hot Devil

We are sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with your Hot Devil product.
Our products are manufactured to the highest standard. Please contact us on (03) 9775 0713 to discuss this further.

Iwasduped

Iwasduped

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty feeble

published

The principle makes sense but the heat it delivers is inadequate. For anything more than dry grass you have to keep the flame on a long time to see any result. I've tried just a few seconds and waiting a few days for the weeds to die as instructions suggest but it did not work. Judging how long to burn is beyond me. Also, the strength of flame goes down rapidly as the butane can is really too small a reservoir. Hence costly to use. I've seen an alternative propane-fueled neighbour's Red Devil in action and it looks much better

Date PurchasedOct 2016

It works well for its price

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
cameroon

cameroon

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Useless

published

Great BBQ lighter and that's where it stops . Couldn't kill weeds if you tried . Good old round up does it .
At sixty dollars and probably a cost of 5 dollars out of China somebody is making a lot of money for a bbq lighter . Box of matches would do better

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Sleepless

Sleepless

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Waste of money

published

Heard about this product. Wished I hadn't. Used this product once. Useless.... Don't waste your time and money. Try a Grampa weeder instead or use a weed killer. So many places you can't use it. Wished I had checked out the reviews here first. The product doesn't work. Shonky... waste of money

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Garden Tools

Find out how Hot Devil Weed Killer compares to other Garden Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Allan

AllanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

The right tool to kill weeds without killing your valuable plants, pets and poisoning you!

published

Recently retired and found weeding a real effort due to the effects of a stroke.
Had been using liquid weed killer requiring careful mixing with gloves and pumping the spray unit by hand.
Hot Devil has put an end to that! With an effective operating temperature of 1000C it kills weeds instantly even in wet weather. If you want an effective convenient and evironmetally friendly weed killer, look no further!

Ken Stevenson

Ken StevensonIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Not What You Would Expect It To Be

published

Had this item 3 years and used it around 10 times during that period. While it does not do too bad a job it has started leaking where the gas bottle connects and you cannot get spare parts. Low usage and now defective, I have to throw it away. Will not be buying another one.

shanexu3

shanexu3Perth, WA

  • 122 reviews
  • 116 likes

Does not kill weeds

published

I purchased my Hot Devil to kill the weeds in my paving. I thought it would be a great alternative to using chemical weed killers. This product simply does not work as advertised.
It takes ages to heat up the weeds and they just grow back a few days later. I found the stork of this product was too small and had to bend over to use it. The gas leaves black burn marks on light coloured surfaces. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Stalk too small for average sized people, does not kill weeds, leaves burn marks on light coloured surfaces

There seems to be no quallity control.

published

I got my Hot Devil weed killer home from the shop only to find part of the burner floating around inside the head. I took it back to the shop and found the replacement had the same fault. Needless to say I got a refund. I should have looked up the review before wasting my time.

Not worth the money

2 comments
tassietony
tassietony

Don't see what others are complaining about - mine works just fine. Some weeds need a little bit more heat but but

Neville
Neville

We Australians are taller than Chines wouldn't you think the designer could have got this right , we like long stalks to put our hand on, its not so hard on your back

Murlee

MurleeSouth Australia, 5174

  • 18 reviews
  • 25 likes

Doesn't work

published
3 comments
themeek
themeek

I agree, doesn't seem to work on some weeds unless they are pretty young. Great for express toasted cheese sandwiches though.

Slazmo
Slazmo

pour a teaspoon of kitchen salt on the broad leaf weeds in your grass, it'll kill them for sure - my neighbour has been doing it for the last 50 years!!!

Kaibeau
Kaibeau

I too own one of these. You gotta burn it. Not sure why it says not to burn it. Don't start a bush fire!

Questions & Answers

Sharon

Sharonasked

I think the jet has worn out cause the whole end turns in to a orange flame instead of sending a blue flame onto the weeds , and has burnt the starter . Dangerous won’t be using it again , waste of money !

No answers
Twincannon

Twincannonasked

After using the hot devil for a long period of time the main jet wears out. Where can i purchase a new jet??

1 answer
Hot Devil
HOT DEVIL O.Hot Devil

Thank you for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with your Hot Devil Product. Please contact our customer support team on 03 9775 0713 to discuss further.

T. Lee

T. Leeasked

The black plastic bracket holding the gas cannister is easily broken. Can I get a spare one to screw it onto the stalk?

2 answers
Ken Stevenson
Ken Stevenson

I asked the same question when mine failed. The answer was no unfortunately. Hope you have better luck.

T. Lee
T. Lee

It's a pity that except for the plasticky cannister holder, the burner is still sturdy and reliable.
Ken, thank you so much for giving me your input. I am puzzled that the manufacturer has yet to respond.

Get an answer from our members and Hot Devil representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.