??!
3 photos
Fiskars X27 Super Splitting Axe

Fiskars X27 Super Splitting Axe

4.7 from 17 reviews

See the Best Garden Tools in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

wolffram

wolfframGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A serous splitter

published

Up until now I though that successfully splitting logs depended on two things - how big the splitting axe head was, and how hard you could strike with it. The X27 busts both those myths. It is relatively lightweight, and also pretty sharp. This means that you can swing it easily and it penetrates with each strike, forcing the log open. The handle is also super comfortable, and seriously strong - overstrikes have no effect at all. My entire collection of cheap oversized splitting axes have now become junk! This splitting axe is an absolute must if you have a job to do, and don’t want to waste time and energy attempting to do it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $129.00.


Tracey D

Tracey DPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant. Made my life so much easier.

published

The Fiskars splitter is a block splitter and axe all in one. The perfect length and light weight . Superior quality and an unbeatable price . Has made my job so much easier

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $89.00.

Maccas

MaccasGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic, goodbye wooden handle block splitters

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $129.00.

Great tools

published

I have a outdoor boiler, cut firewood 3' and 40" this year, oak beech hickory and maple, used the x27 and the fiskars splitting maul, great tools one to two strikes with the maul and around three to four with the x27, awesome tools, Ecspecially if your firewood won't fit a wood splitter.

Purchased in July 2018 for $45.00.


Bill

BillLaunceston

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great piece of kit.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2010

Michael R

Michael RCentral West, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not up to the job!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Stacey Va’L

Stacey Va’LWandin Nth VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love it

published

I kept breaking my other cheap axes but this one has not yet broken. It’s great it also has a twenty five year warranty. I purchased mine from our local hardware store at $173.90 in August twenty seventeen. I would recommend this product to anyone who has issues with other axes breaking also.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

bmorey

bmoreyVic, 3140

  • 56 reviews
  • 46 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lovely piece of kit

published

I had the trunks of three firs to cut up, the arborist having sawn them into fireplace-sized lengths. I thought about a powered log splitter then saw a review of the Fiskars vs and Aldi electric log splitter. The Fiskars was much faster. Off to Bunnings. The Fiskars X27 was fairly pricey - three times the cheapest log splitter. It's much lighter than a maul and lighter than my axe. I read axes are for cutting, not splitting. An axe tends to jam in the log.

This X27 has proved to be a great buy. It splits a log in one strike. In a couple of hours I had disposed of the trunks...and I'm 65.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Mick

MickWest Bathurst

  • 4 reviews

We have a winner!

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Amazing

published

I now own the Fiskars X21, X25 and X27 all beautiful aces that cut through the wood like butter, the axe is lightweight mostly and the weight is all in the head, the handle absorbs shock wonderfully, these aren’t products I couldn’t be without when it comes to splitting wood!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Gazzasbees

GazzasbeesAnna Bay

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

This is actually for the X25 Fiskars but it is identical apart from the length.

published

I was a little dubious also about the cost but it has been working really nicely so far.Quite well designed and a pleasure to use, certainly a lot easier on the body than the old blocksplitter I own (and have now put in storage). Used on some really twisted dense ironbark and did a good job, used on spotted gum the Fiskars basically carved it up.Sure there a few small dings in the sharp edge but the unit seems extremely solid, really happy I got this and every time I use it reinforces that, Love it !

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Cant fault it so far. Just split 3 ton of wandoo and the same of jarrah

published

Had my last axe for a number of years and was a bit dubious about paying that much but well worth the money. Well done to all in the design team at Fiskars. I must admit to not having heard of the brand but when i get home i found all my wifes secataurs are the same brand. So that was hard case. Cheers

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Lee Wright

Lee WrightSydney

  • 9 reviews

Wow!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Allan W

Allan WSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

A Good Splitter But The Steel is Of Dubious Quality

published
Markzz

MarkzzSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Expensive but you'll value the ease of use

published
Svenbj

SvenbjNSW, 2154

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Awesome, a real pleasure to use.

published

I have this and the X25 (720mm). Love them both. I find the X27, with its 200mm extra length, a lot safer. With the X25 because of its "shortness" if you do happen to miss or bounce of your target, you could wind up in hospital with a "split" shin :-( The extra 200mm in length allows the head to strike lower down therefore hopefully just hitting the dirt.
Have to highly recommend Fiskars on their quality of materials, the shaft, the head and the sheath are 1st grade. The do pass a mild vibration through when splitting, giving a different sensation to a regular maul, un-nerving at first but soon you will never go back to a regular log splitter.


Menumate.blogspot.com

Menumate.blogspot.comHobart

  • 6 reviews

Expensive but worth it!

published

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Fiskars representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.