??!
3 photos
Hyundai iMax TQ-W

Hyundai iMax TQ-W

3.9 from 36 reviews

See the Best People Movers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
12
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
5

Good & cheap service &

published

We are very satisfied. It’s cheaper than other companies. We drove from GC to Brisbane & back. All went smoothly. The staffs are all helpful & friendly. We will use them again.

Purchased in July 2019.


Another Customer

Another CustomerPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Value for money

published

Great specious vehicle, probably you can live in it.
You must be a good driver as the van is big it is bit tough to park and get around.
Take fair bit of fuel though.
Good warranty period

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Stacy

StacySouth East Queensland, QLD

2010 Market Value

published

Hi there, wanting feedback on the market value of a 2010 Hyundai iMax 8 seater fuel auto 170,000kms approx. The vehicle is service regularly. Clean and tidy inside. Had a touch up repaint.

Purchased in August 2017 for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Weapady

Weapady

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The petrol engine is perfectly adequate, who are you, Craig Lowndes??!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Telelynx

Telelynx

  • 19 reviews
  • 24 likes

Useful vehicle

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

stop the goats

stop the goatsperth

  • 29 reviews
  • 15 likes

I love my imax

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
stop the goats
stop the goats

Ruth

Ruth

  • 9 reviews
  • 19 likes

Great spacious car

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Anon

AnonKellyville

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good engine poor plastic

published

We bought this car in 2014 and recently we started having issues where the dashboard fascia crashed and started to fall apart, cup holder also broke in the second year or so, power outlet socket came off in the third year.

I've also been extremely disappointed with the service centre where I take the car to get maintenance done but that's a different story.

The pros of this car is the space and and engine reliability.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014

KarKarL

KarKarLMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Big family car

published

We bought our family 8 seater car in Feb 2017. We love this car cos it's a very spacious car. We just back from camping and we put even tower fan, 2 bicycles, 5 camp strechers , tents, blankets and all camp equipment into the car. Perfect size except the petrol is so so.
We understand the big car probably petrol is one of the concern. Other than that, the bluetooth is good too.
I love the air conditioning in the 2nd and 3rd rolls so my kids can adjust during the hot or cold day by themself.

One of dislike is the slide door is too heavy. I need to close harder.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
lines

linesAU

  • 5 reviews

Can't beat it for a big family

published

We've had this car for five years and we're in love. Not only does it cart us around (five kids two adults and a dog) to everywhere, we could pretty much live in it because it has so much room! The seats are normal size so even with 8 adults it is comfortable - the only negative is I wish it had cruise control and that the windows could open more at the back. Air conditionings pretty good!

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Philip_pc

Philip_pcSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent People Mover if you dont fancy all the Bells and Whistles

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

JimmyJ

JimmyJNewcastle, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 16 likes

The diesel iMax is a great thing. Highly recommended

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Cathee

Cathee

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great car for tranpoorting people in confort

published

I drove an iMax for several years and found it to be very reliable and easy to drive in all weather. I would often drive the iMax with 7 adult passengers and found there was plenty of space and that it drove well. The only thing I would like to see improved is the very back seats do not fold down to make more room for large items needed to be transported.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Mongrel

MongrelPerth

blown injectors therefore blown engine

published

anyone have a similar problem? imax less than 70,000km blown injectors and had to have the engine rebuilt. Always serviced with Hyundai around 15,000-17,000km traveled per year. It was less than a year out of warranty and their "Customers, we dont Care" department said bad luck out of warranty, When issue was escalated (which took around 2 months to talk to a so called manager) they then said bad luck because I authorised the repair!! Never have I had such an ordinary experience with a manufacturer and vow that there will be no Hyundais in my shed ever again. So to let everyone know about this issue and caveat emptor

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2012

owen

owenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Good van for transporting a lot of people and still have boot space

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Unexplained engine problem

published

Bought a 2014 IMAX which went fine for around 18 months. Inexplicably the fuel consumption has completely fallen off a cliff. We're now getting around 450kms per 70 litre tank. That's 15.5 litres per 100km. Nothing like the manufacturers specs. That's also using 98 octane fuel. The service centre is telling us all the diagnostics are all clear. They are helpful but this feels like a time bomb ticking on a dud vehicle.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Another blown turbo and ceased engine victim!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011

Richard

RichardButler

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic people mover

published

Feels like a car to drive. I've fitted aftermarket cruise control, sunroofs, leather seats and is like nothing available in the market today. Excellent space for 8 people and all imaginable luggage. Fantastic car. Hyundai should offer it in Australia with the Starex Royale finishing also... With the second row captain chairs swivel seats also...

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

foxvally81

foxvally81Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Van

published

Drives well - long van but turning circle is excellent in tight spaces - very comfortable and powerful turbo diesel motor perfectly matched to the auto gearbox. Apart from regular service haven't had any problems or cost. Very cheap to run this van. Basic bells and I fitted cruise control after market ($800).
Its my mobile office and it's great to sit up high in Sydney traffic.
Highly recommended.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Rachel

Rachel

  • 2 reviews

Best option

published

Can't fault the space! Just amazing space. Six kids aged from two to sixteen. Great and wonderful size.

Pick up is okay, towed a trailer from Perth to Melbourne, no problem.
Battery had a fault but the Hyundai dealer in Adelaide sorted it and we were on our way again.

The only thing I would fault is the drivers seat is awfully uncomfortable, like even on small trips to the shops, I am constantly annoyed at how jolly uncomfortable the seat is!!!
I wouldn't say it is a fault but if I had the money I would put an automatic boot closer button on the key. It is a very heavy boot to close.

No bells and whilstles on this model but we had a cruise control added , tints and a tow bar added.

TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shaun

Shaunasked

We are on holiday and our boot is locked
Will not open
Just happened all of a sudden and it’s so annoying
Is there anything we can do to get it open ????
Please help us

No answers

stop the goats

stop the goatsasked

Has anyone upgraded their high beam lights to LED? If so, was it plug n play or a pain? I have a 2013 and tried to do it but they are strange bulb holders that do not seem.to match any LED on the market. Interested if anyone has had similar experiences

2 answers
Frank
Frank

I use led light purchase from eBay, the H7 globe only got 2 prong and will have to rotate 180 degree as the wiring of the plus is reversed on mine. I may sound odd and it take some time to find the right spot to lock it into the back of the light fitting, but it does work and once lock in is stable and not loose.

stop the goats
stop the goats

Thanks Frank, it sounds like a bit of hassle. So was it worth it? Is the beam much better?


Ally

Allyasked

We have a 2019 Imax. Love the van. Technology in it is great, however, when it's raining the passenger.. me.. is looking through the unwiped part of the windscreen. I have never owned a vehicle with this problem. It really is a terrible design floor. So my question is, can something be done to lower the seats so this doesn't happen

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

Details

CategoryPeople Movers
Release dateJan 2008

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.