??!
1 photo
InSinkErator HC1100

InSinkErator HC1100

MPN: 20060
1.8 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Stefan van Rooij

Stefan van Rooij

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Insink erator persistant leaking

published

I agree to me it is designed to fail. I have had one for a about five years and replaced it once but having to repair leaks about every 1.5 years or so. In the end I designed a leakage tray that drains into the sewerage piping. Just really annoying, expensive system that does not last.

Stefan van Rooij

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
happy consumer

happy consumerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

INSINKERATOR HC1100C Designed to fail after 2 year warranty period

published

This is a crap house product. Its designed to fail after about a couple of years use. The tank consists of two stainless steel sections bolted together with steel bolts all the way around. The mild steel bolts appear to have a rivet shape top and nut below and these bolts rust all the way to failure. See picture of a unit i deconstructed as evidence.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2007 at Benton’s Plumbing Keilor East for $899.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

I can not believe it has happened again!

published

We bought an Insinkerator boiling water unit in 2006 and it lasted 2 years. In 2009 we installed one in our new house, it also lasted a few years before the plastic tank split again. We were assured by Insinkerator that they now have stainless steel tanks so they will not split, so we installed a replacement unit. On the weekend our safety switch was triggered which left us with no power at 9:30 at night. The cause? you guessed it. I am not buying a fourth one. Something should be done about companies that keep manufacturing a product that does not last long enough to justify its cost.

Purchased in June 2015 at Manufacturer for $450.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faucets / Tap Mixers

Find out how InSinkErator HC1100 compares to other Faucets / Tap Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
link

linkGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

I’m about to call for my third tank..

published

First tank lasted 3 years, second is 3 years 3 months old and is leaking now too.
Both damaged my cabinets.
I paid for the first replacement but no way will I pay for this one.
I’ll keep you all informed of my progress.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
1 comment
link
link

Insinkerator have arranged to install a replacement tank, third generation and one piece so no leaks.
No cost to me.
I'm keen to see it.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not value for money.

published

We bought one a many years ago.
It started to leak just out of warranty.
Made of cheap nasty plastic.
Will not be purchasing another one in the near future. (Unless the price was right).

Date PurchasedMay 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Boiler Unit Leak

published

One thing you can say is that they are consistent, I have had 2 units, each lasting 16months, the second one a replacement, failure mode identical on both. Leaking from the boiler unit gasket. The one thing about a consistent failure its easy to diagnose, yet what surprises me is that the warranty bill must be huge and why any company would not want to fix this issue is beyond me. Basically the flanges on both halves of the vessel start to creep under pressure and the gasket looses compression. So either use thicker steel (which is pennies) or add more screws along the gasket perimeter. Phil CEng

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin

JustinMelbourne

Great at first

published

I liked its elegant design and was fairly easy to install. However, after a couple of months, it started to leak from the base. I was able to fix it with the help of a couple of tools but it wasn't a permanent solutions. After sometime, it would start leaking again.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mary

MarySydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Designed to fail

published

The spout always spurted badly which I replaced myself, and even after the new spout it still spurted badly, sometimes burning myself. then it started leaking and after investigation discovered that this unit was designed to only last 2 years, the temperate button on the front of the unit the spindle sheared off, it leaked from the bottom of the unit which is impossible to repair. Sadly this unit is designed to to fail!

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nimmie

NimmieCudal NSW 2864

Great while it has lasted-second time around

published

This is our second unit, same issue as the first, yes tank leaking after 21/2 years. I think the concept is great but I will be looking for another option as replacement.

Date PurchasedNov 2014
1 comment
Nimmie
Nimmie
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faucets / Tap Mixers

Find out how InSinkErator HC1100 compares to other Faucets / Tap Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great while it lasted

published

Loved it for 4 years then it started leaking. We thought (ie the plumber thought) it was from the cold water connector at the top. Actually I think it might have been from the tank itself. Same issue as others. It leaked cold water into the cupboard when the hot water tap was on. I love hot water taps but will be looking for another product

Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great Idea but a Bad Product

published

Just rang Insinkerator as my 5th tank is leaking after only just 2yrs. All the others lasted about 18mth to 2 years. This is obviously a bad product for it to happen so often and to so many people. Insinkerator in 2002 had to withdraw the tanks for leaking and here in 2017 the problem still exists.
My advice to anyone thinking of an Insinkerator hot water system is go elsewhere as you will have nothing but problems.

Date PurchasedJuly 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gerald Genta

Gerald GentaBroad City

  • 2 reviews

Didn't last long

published

I had mine fixed within the warranty period as it was leaking from the handle and hot water was constantly dripping from the spout. Then just after the warranty expired the water tank was bulging and finally gave up. Now I got the ZIp which seems to be working fine even after the warranty period.

Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Mine is leaking too!

published

This tap was great until a few months ago - so about 5 years in - now everytime I turn on the cold side water leaks out of the hot side.

Date PurchasedApr 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Noel F

Noel FPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Mine works very well

published

I have had a GN1100C (steaming hot water only) for over 3 years and it is a boon, never caused a problem. There is a bias to negative reviews being reported and the problems reported by others may yet happen but so far I am happy. One factor may be that I have connected it to a timer, so it switches off while we are at work each day and we switch it off when we are away. Also keep the temp a bit below 'Max' and change the filter yearly.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
1 comment
Noel F
Noel F
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

love it

published

Fitted approx 3 years ago. It does what it says on the tin. Great product that I've recommended to friends.
New taps available now. I'd probably go for the 3in1 given the choice again. Good price too

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faucets / Tap Mixers

Find out how InSinkErator HC1100 compares to other Faucets / Tap Mixers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Second unit & that lasted 18 months.

published

First unit lasted 20 months, it was replaced with a new unit (GOOD SERVICE) 2nd unit lasted 17 months. That now leaks, getting in touch again. Only last 18 months terrible.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

heap of rubbish

published

Had one installed Sept 2011 started leaking 2 years later warranty was just out but was given a replacement no cost, it lasted 3 years and is now leaking so up for $ 450 for a new one, I will get in touch with consumer affairs to ask how does this garbage be allowed on the market. How can a company justify a product that only last till just pass its warranty cost a initially $850 plus installing and only last 2 and a half years. Its a pity as I like the convenience of not boiling a jug but simply having instant hot water

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Al1

Al1Wales

Leaky

published

Had my first of these about 4 years ago. It leaked within 8 months. Company sent an engineer to replace the unit. He said I had a dud leaky batch and they were replacing them. Had a second replacement after about 18 months (again courtesy of insinkerator). Customer service very good. My 3rd unit is now leaking again!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Don't bother with the insinks

published

We have had two of these Insinks both of them leaked the first one 18 months. The second one 13 months having ton look for something better hope we can find something or we will just have a tap that is useless.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lizzy

LizzyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product that dissapoints

published

We had the same problem first tank leaked just outside warranty & expensive replacement has now started leaking and don't want to go through all the cost again
Look for better replacement before outlaying more $$$$$ and look for more reviews and better warranty
Filters also very expensive and difficult to replace

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

L and D

L and Dasked

Hi InSinkErator reps....
Our HC1100 has given up the ghost and it is only JUST 12 months old?? What could be the possible problem and how do we get it fixed. It is still under warranty and by reading the reviews it appears we made a bad choice in the first place to purchase it?! It is the model that has hot water as well as ambient water. We await your response. Thank you.

2 answers
Stefan van Rooij
Stefan van Rooij

Hello, i am a customer like you. Mine keeps leaking at times so I installed a drip tray. If still under warrantee get In-Sink to repair it for you.
Cheers Stefan

L and D
L and D

Thank you Stefan. Hoping it is just the filter.

CJL

CJLasked

We just had out HC1100C filter blow up in the early morning. Sounded like a gin shot going off.

Result, flooded kitchen! Has this happened before?

We have only used the unit for filtered water use. Never had any issues with leaking before...

Thoughts?

No answers
Keith

Keithasked

Have had an HC-1100 for about 4 years with no problems. Switched off before going on holiday but on return and switching back on it now immediately trips the electrics.
Any suggestions?

No answers
See all InSinkErator HC1100 questions

Get an answer from our members and InSinkErator representatives

Details

CategoryFaucets / Tap Mixers
Price (RRP)1079

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 00050375007234
  • MPN: 20060

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.