??!
1 photo
Janome Horizon MC6600P

Janome Horizon MC6600P

3.4 from 14 reviews

See the Best Sewing Machines & Overlockers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
4

unhappy

unhappy

  • 2 reviews

No sew Janome MO6600P

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Terese

TereseSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Runs very smoothly

published

Great machine, runs really well, no problems with tension. Only issue is the feet are too loose and can be annoying not being able to get exactl 1/4" seam when piecing is critical. Is a heavy machine which I found makes it much more stable than the plastic machines. If you are thinking on buying one take it for test run and have a feel of how loose the foot is compared to other brand machines

Date PurchasedFeb 2012

Sacrificing quality for share of marketplace?

published

Nothing's perfect in this world, right? I own two Janome memory craft machines. Added the 6500P for use in class. Purchased online through Massdrop. Used thrice over six months. Froze. I received a full refund. So frustrated with my 15,000 model's needle threader, it has never worked correctly. That's all folk's!

Date PurchasedJul 2015
Gwen

GwenKnebworth

Fantastic machine for all levels

published

I have had this machine for 9 years, it is such work horse,very easy to use,no problems at all. Quilting or dress making I don't think you can go wrong with this machine, also it really is easy to use so even if it's your first machine you will find it essay. This machine is metal so is heavy-duty.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

mirapj

mirapjHunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

Best machine ever

published

I purchased this machine almost 5 years ago. I have been sewing since 1960 and without a doubt as a workhorse this is the best machine ever. I had always owned an elna then purchased a Husquavarna Sapphire that was a dog of a machine. Changed to the Janome 6600P and loved it. I would use it at least 6 days a week and have made over 100 quilts on it. I must admit I clean my machines after every quilt, change my needle after approx 20hrs of sewing, keep it covered when not In use. All in all 10/10.

Date PurchasedSep 2011

Problem with the whole line

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

3rd world, mass produced

published

I paid cash for 6600P off display shelf.dealer said it's in perfect never used condition, last one in stock. It had pitting & a patch-up blob on flat dye cast surface behind feed dogs, not large but something you'd accept if u got a plastic cheap machine.. I never noticed till I got home. the dealer packed it while i bought some fabric. I told her i lived an hour away and asked that she make sure nothing's left out . I get home and accessory box , bonus bobbins not there. Took photos, repacked it, did the email,phone dance with dealer & Janome sales manager QLD. 7days later I sent it back, got a refund


Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 36 reviews
  • 37 likes

I love this machine

published

I adore this machine. I love it's speed, and it's capacity to handle different thicknesses. I love the accufeed system, and the various built in stitches are easy to use. Feed dogs drop easily and I have learnt to do free motion quilting on this machine with no problems. I love the throat space for manipulating the fabric. Sure it is heavy, but that is a plus as it doesn't move while sewing my quilts. If you need to lift your machine or move it, at 12 kgs you won't want this machine.
It sews the grandchildren's clothing, even the elastic shirring on dresses with no problem.
I love the needle threader, the built in cutter, and it's so easy to thread.
It is a workhorse and I can't imagine living without it, I use it almost daily.

An absolute lemon.

published

This machine has been in my opinion an absolute lemon.
Had nothing but problems with it . Had to replace mother board and many other components.
No real help from local dealers nor Janome.
I would not recommend this machine.
For an expensive machine I do not believe it lives up to its value.
Now the foot pedal has packed it in. As a 'professional' machine I would have expected to get better service from a machine as I have not given it a lot of heavy work I do not make quilts or such.

Marla Penner

Marla PennerWinnipeg

This was a huge waste of money

published

Been sewing for 50 years. Attracted to all the Bells and Whistles, I bought my first expense machine(MCJanome 6600 Professional) 5 years ago as a retirement gift to myself. I have spent more time rethreading and saving my fabric from being eaten alive, than I have spent actually enjoying sewing with this machine. Thread tears, material is swallowed, thread snaps back up into the machine when I use the automatic cutter. Maybe this is an Arabian where a Clydesdale is needed, but this is NOT the machine that I was told to expect. Hate this machine. Have worked with it, gone to classes and given it ample chances for 5 years now. I give up. HATE this machine. Thank God I kept my Old $30 Brother which still bails me out regularly. Total Fail.


Needlechick

NeedlechickWeymouth

Prefer the 5600

published

I wanted to upgrade from my 5600 memory craft and needed a back-up machine. I do a lot of switching backwards and forwards between straight stitching and free-motion, so need to change the foot a lot. The main reason why I hate this machine is because it is so difficult to switch feet, the reason being that there is a "post" in the way of the screwdriver which holds the walking foot at the rear. I now only use the machine for straight stitch, which is a real shame!


Janome Memory Craft 6600

published

I absolutely love this machine. I love the features it has and I have not any one bit of problems with the machine. I quilt a fair amount and I love that I can set the stitch width to the nth to get the exact seam I need. I love the thread cutter, the lock stitch, the up/down needle, the independent bobbin winder and more and more. Can't say enough about this machine.

Nothing wrong with the machine; if I were to comment on a con, it would be that it is a bit heavy - but this is only an issue if you are packing it up to take it to sewing functions.


User friendly!!

published

I unpacked my machine from the box and straight away was able to use the embroidery feature. I have made quite a few quilts on this machine and I have had no problems. I agree with the weight issue, but that is minor. I also sew my grandchildren's clothes without a hassle. I love my Janome!


crafty

crafty

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent

published
4 comments
karen2
karen2
Marilyn12
Marilyn12
Chriss97
Chriss97

Questions & Answers

karen2

karen2asked

Hi
I have the Memory Craft 6600, I haven't actually used it for embroidery yet (haven't had a chance) but I do Shirring with it. My question is, is there a way to tighten the bobbin tension? The manual shows you how to tighten/loosen the needle tension but not the bobbin tension.

Thanks
Karen

1 answer
Pammy161
Pammy161

I have not had the need to alter the bobbin tension, I patchwork and quilt and find the Tension Regulator Dial meets all my requirements so far. I hope you are able to find a solution.


Get an answer from our members and Janome representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.