??!
2 photos
Janome My Excel 3018 (MW18)

Janome My Excel 3018 (MW18)

4.5 from 15 reviews

Reviews

4.5

15 reviews
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Safety
    4.0 (3)
  • Thick Fabric Performance
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
mynewhome35

mynewhome35Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good little machine, value for money

published

Bought this machine a few years back, it goes well, got it as a second machine to take to sewing classes as it's lightweight and love the needle threader and assorted stitches. Problem is the service cost half the cost of the machine, then I needed a new foot pedal as I dropped and broke mine, and an authorised Janome dealer is asking $99 for a new foot pedal, that's a lot compared to the cost of the machine. So all I can say is it's a good little machine, as long as it doesn't need parts or service.

Purchased in August 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
See all answers
Steve W.

Steve W.South East Queensland, QLD

Don't bother they're crap

published

After my wife owning one of these for 25+ years.
We took it to see about getting it serviced, the bloke said it could be expensive due to it's age. Based on this she purchase a new one.
What a pile of crap it is. Very clangy and gathers under the stitch and bobbin will only half fill. (The old one still runs so smooth)
The shop didn't want to know us after getting our money, he says it's a user issue.
She now goes to a sewing group, there are a number of very experienced sewers there and all say no it's the machine, Take it back.
She has now said she will never purchase another Janome.

Purchased in December 2018 at Allcraft sewing Tweed Heads.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Intermediate
See all answers

Bought a used one from an opshop. Love the thing!

published

I have no idea how old this Janome is, nor do I know if the previous owner loved or abused it, but I have had it for almost 7 years now. It was stored in a homemade outdoor shed for the past year and it was with trepidation that I took it out today to sew. There were mouldy spots on the machine, most of which I removed with a rag. Then....she sewed beautifully!! I might just have it serviced now.

Purchased in January 2013 at A second hand shop for A$45.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Janome My Excel 3018 (MW18) compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
maur

maur

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so excellent

published

I do alterations, on average 10 per week plus sew my own clothes and make dolls and bears. My last machine went for 43 years so it is a tad early for me to say if this machine is a stayer, it has another 42.5 years to go. So far it has done all that i have asked of it. Sews layers of denim just as easily as chiffon so that is good. Some drawbacks, do not like stitching for the buttonholes, the screw on plate is difficult to get to and i can foresee that the dial for changing stitches will not last. Plus side, not computerised.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Missy Moo

Missy MooPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

23 years old and hasn't missed a beat!!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 1997
Grams2

Grams2Central, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best sewing machine ever made.

published

I bought my sewing machine about 14yrs ago. I have never had a problem with it. it gets serviced every 2 years. It has been through house moves, changing rooms, and it still never goes wrong. My mothers machine as soon as you move it the tension is out, its done this from the day she bought it. This is a perfect sewing machine that can be for a beginner to an experienced sewer.

Date PurchasedApr 2002

15 years going strong!

published
Date PurchasedMay 2000
mirapj

mirapjHunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews

Great little machine

published

I use this machine for my smaller sewing jobs. Great for taking up jeans as it has a free arm.
Very reliable and serviced regularly I would recommend this machine to my students. It is a great machine With 18 built in stitches and does buttonholes beautifully. Another wonderful Janome product.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
Georgiana

GeorgianaVIC, 3461

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

So far, so good

published

I will admit to being nervous about using a Janome, but so far it's very good. I'd like to update in 12 months as I have only had this machine for a week. The organisation of it is very well thought out, with the storage of tools etc on board the machine. It's nice to close it up and have no dust getting in. As it has a metal frame, it is solid and doesn't jump around like some other machines I've heard about. I've sewn denim and it was ok. My Bernina 1005 is still stronger machine for that kind of thing, and faster. I'm not used to sewing at the slower rate (I might need an industrial machine!) however, this was all I could afford.

I purchased it as a package deal with the overlocker 8002DX. Check out my review on that!

Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Janome My Excel 3018 (MW18) compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen

KarenDarling Downs, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Lovely sturdy machine

published

I bought this for myself in April 2015 and used it for making dog coats. I broke 4 Singer machines before buying this and it hasn't missed a beat, even though im rough on it and break needles regularly. It hasn't lost it's tension settings, even though I be seen multiple layers of canvas and wadding. I'm now doing quilting on it and making handbags.

Perfect! Never misses a beat

published

I have my machine for 18 years ... And it is amazing and I have never ever had a problem. Highly recommended

fathima

fathimaSydney, NSW

i luv it!

published

I had this machine for 3 months now, bought this machine after reading all the reviews here ( thank you guys) I luv this machine it runs very smooth and perfect. easy to learn, very understandable manual. great machine.i even cover stitch using twin needle, but the problem with twin needle is as there is only one spool holder the threads get tangled, I think I have to buy twin spool holder for that problem.
liked everything about it
nothing wrong

I love it!!

published

I've had my machine for 21 years and it's never been one bit of trouble. Its going for its first service tomorrow as i noticed it was full of dust when i removed the foot plate to remove a piece of snagged thread I'm not worried, she'll be fine! I'd recommend a New Home Janome to anyone!
It is so easy to use and very reliable

Brendan7

Brendan7North West, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good to know that quality still exists

published

I have had my machine for about a month now and i'm impressed with it's features and it's build quality, it's easy to use and understand. it's also very strong and not all plastic construction like some brands. i would recommend the brand to anyone wanting a quality machine at the right price
inexpensive,excellent quality and well designed

1 comment
Geno
Geno

I've had my Janome My Excel 18W for 20 years and it has been perfect up until today when the motor has gone and it needs replacing. Am considering replacing with the same model as it was such a good work horse.

Solid, reliable sewing beast!!

published

Lovely all metal body which sews like a dream. Very user friendly for advanced and beginnner sewers. I would buy this machine over and over.
Very reliable, Metal body, easy to do button holes. Love this machine.
Sometimes thread snaps (oh well)

Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how Janome My Excel 3018 (MW18) compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

serr

serrasked

marche arriere ne fonctionne plus?que faire?

No answers
Terri R

Terri Rasked

I purchased my machine second hand and it didn't come with a manual. I can't seem to set the machine for stretch stitch. Can anyone help me please?

2 answers
mynewhome35
mynewhome35

Hi, I think this is the correct one for you, check online and if so, then print it out. Hope it helps. https://www.manualslib.com/manual/384632/Janome-Myexcel-18w-Mw3018.html

Terri R
Terri R

Thanks very much.

Juanita

Juanitaasked

I have an older version Janome Excel 18W and I cannot get the slider to move so I can sew in zigzag. Any ideas?

2 answers
Wendy
Wendy

Hi Juanita, you do not use the slider, you use smaller knob on the right side of machine to changes the stitches, it will show you on the front of your machine on the blue display that has stitches shown on it, the stitch you have chosen shows red below the stitch. Hope it helps.

Juanita
Juanita

Thank you. Now, I can’t remember how to back stitch. Sorry can’t find my manual

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.