??!
1 photo
Joraform Big Pig 270L Rotational Composter

Joraform Big Pig 270L Rotational Composter

4.4 from 8 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

Rusted out

published

We've just put the rusted out Pig on the verge for verge collection. It lasted less than 6 years (after we replaced the rusted doors with homemade wooden doors). For the price, I would have liked it to last longer than that.

Purchased in November 2013 at Vitality 4 Life.

2 comments
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Hi Rusty, can you please contact us urgently. We want to replace your composter. Look forward to hearing from you. Kindest Regards Vitality4life.


Jane

JaneMinyama

Little Pig

published

I received the Little Pig quickly, and while it took a while to assemble (watch the video, don't use the paper instructions alone) it is up, seems really solid and looks the part. It is very easy to turn. I like that the magnet on the handles hold the doors open.
I've been using it for about 3 weeks and it is leaking and every time I open the door, I am met with a swarm of fruit flies. I have been putting newspaper in to try to fix, but to no avail.
Not sure what I should I do to correct this. Some composting tips in with the packaging would have been useful.
Thanks
Jane

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform
Nici

NiciCanberra

  • Verified purchase

Best purchase I’ve ever made!

published

I have never written feedback about any product before but feel compelled to tell you how impressed I am with this product! I live in Canberra and have been struggling with composting in our cool weather, never being successful and having almost given up. My determination to reduce our landfill waste finally led me to the Joraform. It has been steaming since day 1 and continues to do so everyday and is breaking our organic matter down so fast I can hardly believe it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform
  • Verified purchase

BIG PIG.

published

I have always wanted one of these babies, but instead I have been buying second hand Gumtree Osborne industries compost tumbler. So far with the Swedish variety I have noticed it heats up really well, is very easy to turn and has a functional design. easy to assemble but useful to do it with someone else. All my old tumblers would break and I wish I had bought this guy ages ago.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Review collected in partnership with Joraform


Aaron Burke

Aaron BurkeMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

The benchmark compost tumbler on the market

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
2 comments
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform
Aaron Burke
Aaron Burke

Review collected in partnership with Joraform


  • Verified purchase

Joraform 270L -

published

Very happy with my decision to buy this composter. Assembly was straightforward - I
started putting it together on my own then needed some help when attaching outer panels. The online video was helpful too. Am almost ready start on our 2nd batch of compost in the other chamber. It's very easy to tumble the drum and the first batch has reached a hot temperature. Composting has resulted in a noticeable drop in our weekly rubbish, as we're also recycling (crosscut) shredded paper.
Tip - if buying from Vitality4life.com.au, it's worth checking their ebay price as it was $25 cheaper than their website price. I ordered over the phone and they matched their ebay price :)

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Review collected in partnership with Joraform


  • Verified purchase

Its nice when things are as good as they say.....

published

Easy to put together. Works better than I expected. It takes about 6 weeks per barrel. As the grass, clippings and kitchen waste breaks down you need to top it up for a couple of weeks before moving to the next barrel. 2 to 3 months since I started and it still looks like new on the outside.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Review collected in partnership with Joraform


IVAN

IVANPRESTONS

  • Verified purchase

Excellent compost tumbler. Well worth the money

published

Before I bought the Jeraform 270L. Bought a cheap Aldi plastic tumbler to try out my task of turning those green waste into compost for my garden. It was a disaster, put waste and brown material into it, and kept turning and monitoring the temperature hoping it will turn into those black gold one day. And so it went for 4 months, and nothing. Thinking I may be doing something incorrectly. Then it came the Jeraform, to my surprise, only takes it 2 mere weeks, and it came the black gold that I have been waiting for. The difference really lies in the later one can heat the material up and held it high for as long as it is capable of. Highly recommend this product even though the cost is quite high.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Review collected in partnership with Joraform

Questions & Answers

Denise G.

Denise G.asked

Im a bit concerned in spending this money when a few people of spoken of leaks and rust, are you doing something to rectify this.

1 answer
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Hi Denise, yes absolutely the manufacturers are currently working on this problem which seems to effect a few but not all. We are committed in delivering the best product we can and respond to feed back good or bad. This is the only way we can create quality products. If you would like some more info please do not hesitate to call us on 1800 802 924 or email us at support@vitality4life.com Warm Regards Bec.


Ann T

Ann Tasked

How can I get more heat in my pig. It ils currently cold to touch..
Thank you Rosemary

1 answer
Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Hi Rosemary, thank you for your inquiry. How long have you had your composter? Heat should be present inside from the first one to two weeks of use. You may not necessarily feel it on the outside. The compost works optimally at about 55 degrees. You dont have to strive for higher temperatures. Are you able to send an inquiry through to our support@vitality4life.com so we can find out what you are adding and how much you are filling it? I am looking forward to hearing from you. Warm Regards Bec @Vitality4life.


Janey

Janeyasked

I live in the Far North Queensland region so our temperatures can be extremely hot and humid in the summer months. Will this composting system cope with this? Is there such a thing as being too hot? Also have 5 acres so have a lot of garden green waste. Would you recommend putting through a garden mulching machine before putting into the composter? Sorry for all the questions just wanting to get it right first time around. Cheers

2 answers
Adele Donnison
Adele Donnison

Hi Janey. I'm still quite new to using the Jora composter and am living in Melbourne but I think it would be ok in the Nth Qld heat/humidity. We cut up our garden waste (large leaves/stalks) first so if you already have a mulching machine I'm sure that mulching would help speed up the composting process. Am very happy with the quality of the Jora :)
Adele

Joraform
Vitality L.Joraform

Hi Janey and thank you for your question. Heat is an optimal aspect of the composting process, so I would say it is more a benefit to the process. I would just recommend making sure your system is placed in a sheltered area away from wind chill to keep temperatures moderated more easily. Living in FNQ you would also want to make sure that it is sheltered from rain, as you do not want to allow too much moisture inside. All in all the Joraform Composter is built to withstand tough environments like Australia, so there should be no problems composting in your climate. Breaking the organic matter down before composting is always a good idea to speed up the composting process as Adele mentioned above, so it definitely would help. Please don't hesitate to contact us at Vitality 4 Life on 1800 802 924 Mon-Fri AEST or by emailing support@vitality4life.com should you have any further queries.
Regards, Sarah | Vitality 4 Life


Get an answer from our members and Joraform representatives

Details

CategoryCompost Bins

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.