7 photos
Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle

Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle

Silver, Red, Almond, etc...
3.1 from 27 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Kettles in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kmart? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.1
27 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Nancy
NancyPerth, WA

Poor quality

published

Household of 2. Daily use. Boils water quickly. Medium-high noise level. Outside of kettle dangerously hot. After approximately 10 months of use the button to lift the lid just disintegrated one day. Under the button we can see metal parts rusted out. Some plastic parts just disintegrated. Unlike other reviews we did not see any black particles in water. We only use filtered water in kettle. Better to spend more money and buy a kettle that lasts and not create landfill.
Would not recommend this kettle.

Purchased in November 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Janice
JaniceSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

I purchased this product 4 months ago. Used daily by 3 adults The product has performed perfectly.

published

In the past I have purchased very expensive electric kettles for the house and purchased this kettle for camping. So pleased with the product I brought the another kettle for the house. Whilst this jug is not noise free it is an improvement on previously used products. Water taste is excellent the water level is clear. The exterior of the kettle gets warm but not dangerously hot.

Purchased in March 2020 at Kmart for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Leaking

published

I got two of this kettle. Both of them are leaking water after a few boiled. So dangerous! Other than this problem, there is a lot of small black specs in the water. DO NOT BUY IT!!!

Purchased in January 2020 for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Electric Kettles

Find out how Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike s.
Mike s.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Water Taste funky cheap

published

Had a black one horror peeled inside over time probably slowly poising me , then i thought ok stainless steel cant go wrong, Nope that funky taste is back!!! Nasty kettles from China no doubt!!! going back to my sunbeam returning it.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kmart Retail Stores for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Harvey Wilson
Harvey WilsonSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 100 reviews
  • 83 likes

A bit loud but does the job well

published

A reasonable kettle, although i returned mine after 6 months as it started rusting inside. The spout is nice and pointy and pours well with no spillage unlike some other Kmart kettles.

Purchased in June 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $17.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Graham K.
Graham K.Richmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Cleaned after first use I found small black specs in water. tried bottled water same result

published

To be honest I couldn't taste any difference in the water but after I found black specks in it I decided not use tap water only bottled water but it was the same black specks so I will buy something else .

Purchased in May 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

The kettle looks great and is pretty well built, but after a month and cleaning it really well five time's, and boiling a heap more time's then should be needed, it still leaves a horrible taste in the water. I have now bought a new more expensive one and after just the initial clean it is perfect. This kmart one was just a waste of money and could be toxic to your health if thing's are leaching into the water.

Purchased in August 2019 for $25.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dennis R
Dennis RSydney, NSW

BELLINI Electrical Kettle - DANGEROUS

published

This kettle leaves a great deal of unreliabilty in its wake. Looks good, but leaks all over the base where the electricity is sourced. At best it is dangerous, at worst it could lead to an electrical fire under some conditions. Look at the attached photos.

The manufacturer is TOTALLY unreliable and all the products it makes must be viewed with caution and should not be purchased. Dennis Roy

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2018 at It was a gift.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised Review No
Deb
DebAdelaide
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Dangerous!!

published

This is kettle number two,after approximately four months the water started pouring out into the base which is live!! Took it back ,Kmart said they hadn’t had any other complaints about this model,replaced it with the same model,after just a few months same thing again ,water poring out of the bottom of the kettle.Kmart need to recall these before someone gets electrocuted !! Will be returning this one today.

Purchased in December 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $20.00.

Incentivised Review No
Electric Kettles

Find out how Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Olivia C
Olivia CGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Love it!

published

Super happy with this kettle. Definitely recommend it, especially for the price. Better than the more expensive brand kettles I’ve owned. The stainless steel cleans up nicely.
Nice and quiet, quickly boils water, no weird tastes, stays reasonably cool on the outside.

Purchased in December 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores for $20.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Zoe
ZoeMelbourne

Good purchase

published

I purchased this kettle a few years ago now. Am only just looking at replacing it now as I had it boiling the other day and it didn’t stop it kept going, I switched it off at the PowerPoint and flicked it on again and this time it boiled and turned off when it was done. Think it was just having a moment. But since it is a few years old and some of the red has come off I’m going to upgrade but I would recommend it to anyone looking for a stylish none expensive kettle.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Rubbish & potentially lethal

published

First kettle leaked onto the electrically live base after around a month of use. Back to Kmart for number 2. Lasted 4 months of light domestic use then the same thing happened again.

This is a potentially lethal problem, I will return the kettle to Kmart, they need to pull these off the shelves if they are still selling them and do a recall. Sure it's a cheap kettle but should still be safe to use.

Date PurchasedJune 2018

Issues with this kettle leaking

published

I bought this kettle in March and water started to leak out the kettle onto the base below in September. I thought it might have been used too many times so I bought the same kettle again 2 days ago. Tonight water had leaked out of the new kettle into the base below. I would not recommend this kettle as I have now had the same fault twice.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
JSE
JSEKambah
  • 30 reviews
  • 16 likes

No good points

published

The kettle is extremely noisy, similar to a glass kettle. The water gauge is under the handle and difficult to see when filling the kettle. The lid is awkward to open, somewhat stiff.i returned it and purchased another brand elsewhere. Don't think the water gauge is BPA free. I don't like paying a lot of money for a kettle but this one had no good points.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
account_terminated_404
account_terminated_404South West, WA
  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bubbles water away with ease

published

Okay so It holds about 1.7 litres of water exactly. It boils water with the flick of a switch, which is coincidentally the only switch available on the base-plate. When turned on the switch lights up blue which is pretty futuristic i guess. Once the water's boiled it turns off. Does pretty much what you'd expect a kettle to do. Gets used half a dozen times a day and we haven't had an issue for the six months we've had it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Electric Kettles

Find out how Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Bec M.
Bec M.asked
1.7L Stainless Steel Silver

I am going to buy a retail kettle Descaler, but most say not suitable for Aluminium or Magnesium Alloy Kettles. Does this / my kettle have any aluminium etc?

1 answer
Harvey Wilson
Harvey Wilson

Not sure, but I just use vinegar and water or stainless steel scourer.

Fritznsauce
Fritznsauceasked
1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle

Are these kettles very quiet?

1 answer
Meldrew
Meldrew

In the short time in worked, it was noisy.

Get an answer from our members

Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle

Details

Compare all 7 Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle
CategoryElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric KettlesElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $20.00$39.00$20.00
Features360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge360° Swivel Base and Water Gauge
Capacity1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L1.7 L
Variable Temperatures NoNoNoNo
Power2,200 W2,200 W2,200 W2,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishAlmond (Beige)BlackStainless SteelCharcoal
Construction MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 7 Kmart 1.7L Stainless Steel Kettle

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.