??!
2 photos
Kogan Cordless Smart Glass

Kogan Cordless Smart Glass

MPN: KASMTGLSKTA
3.7 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (15)
Previous
Next

Kettle is good, company is terrible

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Brett Moore

Brett MooreWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 23 reviews
  • 26 likes
  • Verified purchase

Simple and it works

published

We have owned this kettle now for 5 months or more and it has performed perfectly in this time. It is easy to boil at a certain temp, or to KEEP warm, up to 90 degrees C. Once I boiled it over and it stopped working. But as soon as it was dry again, presto.. worked again. I really love this kettle.. it is one of the hidden gems on Kogan.

Purchased in February 2020 at Kogan.com for A$38.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
snazzysnag

snazzysnagGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Terrible overpriced junk

published

This kettle is not worth half of the 160 price tag. Within a week of purchase, the dodgy plastic button to open the lid and internal plastic mechanism stopped working. The touch buttons to turn on the kettle are a stupid gimmick that requires you put the kettle on the stand and wait for it to "boot up" before the buttons will work. The smart home integration with Google allows you to turn it off and on but that's all -- no keep warm function, and no temperature. There's no way to return the faulty kettle either and no way to leave a review on Kogan -- even though the product page has a 4+ star rating with "100+ reviews" (which can't be found anywhere).

Purchased at Kogan.com for A$160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
snazzysnag
snazzysnag

Oh this review is actually for the "Kogan SmarterHome 1.7L Smart Glass Kettle", not the "Kogan Cordless Smart Glass" kettle.

Kogan
RossKogan
Electric Kettles

Find out how Kogan Cordless Smart Glass compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
greenwaynegreen

greenwaynegreenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible Kettle

published

Kogan 2L Cordless Smart Glass Kettle 2200W
So far 2 kettles have only lasted 1 month each. Both have blown up and stopped working.
Terrible taste upon arrival. The chrome base is covered in scale in a very short time. Side of glass has weird staining.
I have offered to pay the difference to swap to the next model up but they replied that they do not sell the jug by itself. Really strange response. But I can have a full refund.
Trying a 3rd time as some people here seem to have had a good run.
During the lockdown, we are using the kettle about 7 times a day. Compared to a Breville kettle that lasted 7 years we are very disappointed.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kogan.com for A$39.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
greenwaynegreen
greenwaynegreen

This cookie-cutter template response is typical of every correspondence that I have had with Kogan. I feel that there are only Robots working there and no humans.

AussieAussieAussie

AussieAussieAussieSouthwest, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Kettle After 2 Years All Good

published

Everybody needs a kettle right, but not at some of the rediculous prices on offer, afterall its just an element to warm water. Great to see the water level and color coded temperature settings allow control from warm to boiling setting, a feature of real value since it accurately lets you control the temperature beyond just boiling. Discoloration of the internals after many uses is normal and varies dependnat on your water quality but is easily cleaned with boling a desert spoon of citirc acid followed by a clean water rinsing.
Given the low price I purchased two but thus far the first is still going strong after 2 years, great reliability and looks.

Purchased in August 2018 at Kogan.com for A$25.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Geoffandkath

GeoffandkathQld

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Works great for me. Quick delivery, easy to set up

published

Its a great product. Was delivered within 5 days of ordering it. Easy to set up. I linked the smarterhome app with my google nest. Waking up to have my kettle boiled the same time as my morning alarm goes off is awesome. I found it quick to boil and quiter (compared to my old kettle) . Have only had it for a few days so will leave another review in a few weeks. So far, I love it.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Aileen

AileenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great at first

published

I bought mine and it was great now the lights work but it won’t boil water. Very disappointed. It was a great kettle at a great price and very quiet when boiling.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kogan.com for A$25.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Anjali

AnjaliVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

great product.

published

comes with different temperature setting. works same as how they mentioned. each temperature got different lighting option. but for me yellow light(90 degrees) is not working. instead of yellow i'm having green for 90 and 50 degrees. that's the only minus. but i'm not really unhappy. because functionally it is working good and perfect. 30mins keep warm function also available.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kogan.com for A$29.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Daryl Thompson

Daryl ThompsonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

So far so good

published

Only just started using it but I’ve been really impressed with the kettle so far. Boils really quickly, love the colours and really good to have the option of different heating temperatures.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Electric Kettles

Find out how Kogan Cordless Smart Glass compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wurlorg

WurlorgGippsland, VIC

Disappointing Service Life

published

Great design and a great performer when it works as it should but just outside of warranty it started to go haywire. The keep warm function no longer operates it beeps continuously when it shouldn't and you have to switch it on and off to stop it after replacing it on the base. Would not recommend this product if you are expecting are reasonable service life.

Purchased in September 2018 at Kogan for A$39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
Wurlorg
Wurlorg
AC

ACLaunceston, TAS

  • 17 reviews
  • 8 likes

Probably 4.5 stars. Great kettle

published

Great looking, fast to boil and easy to clean. No issues and I like that I can set the temp. I drink black tea and used to use a dash of cold water- only heat to 90deg now and I think the tea tastes better. Easy to clean- put in vinegar and boil, and thats it. LED lights look good.

Be interested to see how long it lasts, but brought on sale so if I get a couple of years I'll be happy.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Shutterbug

ShutterbugSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Issues just after 1 year warranty expired

published

This kettle did the job until, just after the 1 year warranty expired, it developed issues with constant beeping on and off whenever the kettle is put back onto the base. I have tried to leave a review on the Kogan site but there is no function to do so, which makes me very dubious of the sites reviews!!
Definitely would not buy this kettle again.

Purchased in October 2018 at Kogan.com for A$39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Sandyrob

SandyrobNorth West, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Kogan 2L Cordless Smart Glass Kettle 2200W

published

This electric kettle is so fast, I have just bought my 2nd one, purely because of a breakage when dropped. It is clearly marked so that one can fill only the amount needed minimising waste of power and reboiling. There are options for heating to other temperatures, making the heat time even less. Being clear has an added bonus of being able to see that the internals are all clean and free of forgeign matter. The lights show if it is on or not. Excellent all round thanks Kogan. Also warantees etc. are digital so no excess packaging.

Purchased at online for A$39.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
IronMaiden

IronMaidenBowral

  • 24 reviews
  • 5 likes

A good Glass Kettle at a good price

published

After using a Breville Glass Kettle I purchased the Kogan equivalent for my holiday cottage, it was a third of the price and works just as good as the Breville.

Purchased in October 2017 for A$59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Pete P.

Pete P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Heats up water quickly. Love the look/aesthetics.

published

Got this Kogan kettle via a Qantas point redemption. Very good for the price, especially if you can snag it during the $29-39 promotion. The variable temperature functionality is definitely helpful but not very intuitive at first. No complaints. Heats up water very fast.

Purchased in February 2019 at Kogan.com for A$49.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Electric Kettles

Find out how Kogan Cordless Smart Glass compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tammy

Tammy

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Good cheap kettle with temperature functions

published

This kettle is so good for the price. You can hold it at 50, 70, 80 or 90 degrees for up to 30 minutes and the light up colours are just an addition extra that make it fun for the watching kids. I wouldn't pay full price but it's great for $30.

Sumit

SumitSydney, NSW

Smart, really smart

published

Amazing! This has been such great help in having sterilized water ready and reheat at 50 degrees whenever needed.
I would definitely recommend this item to some one with newborns.

Purchased in September 2018 at Kogan.com.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
MinLea28

MinLea28Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

Awesome 2.0 Litre Cordless Smart Glass Kettle (KASMTGLSKTA) - Best Purchase of any Kettle to date

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Doug

DougINVERLOCH

  • 2 reviews

Space age light show!

published

This glass kettle lights up RED when you press boil and displays blue to reheat and green for Go. It is like a space craft about to take off with it's circle of coloured lights each time you use it. Very conversational kitchen piece and great VALUE at $59. It was delivered in 2 days from online ordering.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
MAM

MAMBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

sleek look, works well

published

We bought this so we could see the water level and save energy by only heating the amount of water needed. It heats water quickly and does not get over hot (obviously not for children ). The other feature that is good is that you can choose three temperature to heat to, so for pre-boil temperatures this is great.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kate

Kateasked

I just purchased the Kogan Smart 2L kettle and it does have a very plasticky taste to the water. Boiled quite a few times and the chemical taste has continued. Has anyone asked for their money back on this kettle and did they receive it?

No answers
Liz

Lizasked

Why is there a very nasty taste taste to the water after boiling. I bought a 2L Cordless Smart Glass Kettle. I have cleaned the kettle with vinegar several times but the water still has a strange taste and smell.

2 answers
Brett Moore
Brett Moore

No idea. Ours was fine. We also use filtered water in ours. If it has a taste.. return it via warranty replacement. Something is clearly wrong.

Brett Moore
Brett Moore

Im wondering if they had a different batch of kettles than the one I purchased. Ours was fine but if there was a chemical taste in it.. well it may of killed me due to my MCS. No surprise.. Im not a fan of Kogan anymore.

Jack

Jackasked

I have owned my Kogan glass kettle for over 1 month, I have boiled water over 30 times, cleaned it with the usual products, but am unable to get the plastic smell and taste out of the boiled water. Does anyone have a solution or do we just through it out and never buy Kogan products again ?

3 answers
Brett Moore
Brett Moore

Our kettle never had a funny smell

Liz
Liz

I purchased the Kogan 2L Cordless Smart Glass Kettle a week ago. I boiled the water with vinegar the first time to clean it. The strange smell was terrible. I have since boiled it many times with vinegar and the smell persists. Is there a solution to this problem?

Jack
Jack

Hi Liz,
Did likewise over and over again, but the smell and taste of plastic still persists.
Kogan did replace the Kettle with an identical one, but the smell and taste is just the same with the replacement. The plastic could be toxic maybe anyway.

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) A$29.00
Capacity2 L
Features360° Swivel Base, BPA Free, Keep Warm Option and Water Gauge
Variable Temperatures Yes
Construction MaterialGlass and Stainless Steel
Colour / FinishClear
Weight1.14 kg
Power2,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website
  • MPN: KASMTGLSKTA

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.