10 photos
Kogan Portable Air Conditioner
3.3 from 165 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (22)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (24)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.7 (23)
  • Portability
    3.9 (23)
Previous
Next
Ilie V
Ilie VSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great support team

published

I buy Kogan 2.9kW Portable Air Conditioner on 6 Sept 2020. I have probleme to insttation of item in my home, and after I have same misinterpret in communicate of my matter, in the end I received a great service and support from help team, and my problem was solved fair, and I thank to all members of help team who HELP me! CONGRATULATIONS!

Purchased in September 2020 at Internet for $453.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Michael
MichaelAU
  • 49 reviews
  • 28 likes

The product has been great - reliable and a quick way to cool a large area.

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Oppo A.
Oppo A.South East Queensland, QLD

Aircon problem

published

Aircon is only 2 weeks old now it only runs for an hour before displaying before displaying FL. Empty the water and again FL after an hour. Gets very hot around the connection of the hot air vent release

Purchased in February 2021 for $360.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lloyd
Lloyd New South Wales

Never buy any portable aircon especially from Kogan they are a complete scam

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Doug
DougSydney, NSW

Air Conditioning failed after two days

published

Worked well for two days, 18,000 BTU for small bedroom, not too noisy, now fails to start compressor thus is only good for fan use.
No response from Kogan at this point.

Purchased in November 2020 at Kogan.com for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
JillG
JillGVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome Relief from 45 degree days in regional Victoria

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Kogan.com for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chris A.
Chris A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Great unit, good value for money

published

Very happy with it. It works well in summer to cool a large room and also keeps the room comfortably warm in winter. Those complaining that it doesn't work might want to read and follow the instructions. :)

Purchased at Kogan.

Build Quality
Value for Money
julie  claire
julie claireNortheast, VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Only brag is portability

published

Due to price i was comparing these to built in wall aircon / heating.
I purchased these for the bedrooms. Extremely loud and now winter is here heating doesnt last a night without the water tank needing emptying so wake up to the cold. Contacted kogan about it, not really any help. Wish i had seen comments on here before purchase stating that this is a "thing" for these.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Louise
LouiseHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

So much better than I expected

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debbie B.
Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Fantastic Kogan portable air conditioner

published

living in qld now was the best buy to be able to move it from room to room when needed have recommended to family and friends already just love this product

Purchased in February 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Inez
InezNorthern Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Fantastic kogan product

published

Ive had my kogan air conditioner two years and still going, its saved me a lot of trouble and money. Also have brought another as its good in the bigger room

Purchased in May 2018 at Kogan.com for $380.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mandy B.
Mandy B.
  • 4 reviews

Perfect to meet my needs

published

Had trouble connecting to wireless but I wasn’t too concerned just needed to get closer. Did have to tape up the hosing to the aircon outlet and of course you have to empty water, but I use a watering can and put it on my plants.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kogan.com for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nataraj C.
Nataraj C.Sydney, NSW

Not an Aircondition.. waste

published

just purchased after seeing all the positive reviews(paid review?).worst experience ever and no more purchase from Kogan.com. using is as a cooler fan. noisey, cant cool a small room(12 sqm)

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Kogan
RossKogan
Dutchie00
Dutchie00Mid North Coast, NSW
  • 22 reviews
  • 20 likes

Perfect for our needs

published

Love it bought one 14 months ago, and we have just purchased another one. The app is really handy when the remote is not nearby. Our unit can get up to 42C on hot days and this unit will cool it down to 25C in no time. The 2nd unit was bought for our bedroom to replace an old one. The DE-Humidify setting works well on hot steamy days. I tried the heat function in our winter time and that works well too. I did have problems with some other Kogan products and was hesitant in getting these but had no problems. I just wish that the Tube was a bit longer, but that's all I can say about the negative part.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just an expensive fan!!

published

Product arrived in a timely fashion. Looks great but turned it on and it has ZERO cooling capacity! To make it worse there is almost no way to contact kogan

Purchased in December 2019 at Kogan.com for $440.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
Kogan
RossKogan
Jamie
Jamie
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Lucas
Lucasasked
KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

I need to replace the exhaust hose as it has become brittle, what size pipe do I need? Is it 13cm?

No answers
CPF
CPFasked
Portable Air Conditioner

Do you need to attach the exhaust hose while operating on dry mode?

No answers
Wilfred P.
Wilfred P.asked
Portable Air Conditioner

Do you have to have a direct exhaust system with the cair conditioner?

No answers
See all Kogan Portable Air Conditioner questions

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Kogan Portable Air Conditioner

Details

Features:

  • 2.9kW cooling capacity cools rooms up to 15sqm while 4.7kW portable AC model is suited to rooms up to 50sqm
  • Range of 16-30 degrees Celsius can both cool and heat a room
  • Designed with three modes: air conditioner, dehumidifier and fan in one unit
  • Self-evaporative technology means you won’t have to empty a container full of collected water outside as often as you would with most portable air conditioners (which is sometimes daily)
  • Includes a 24-hour timer, allowing you to set cooling periods in advance
  • Sleep mode allows you to set the AC while you sleep, without it being disruptively loud or a drain on your energy bill
  • Can be operated via remote control

What reviewers appreciated about the Kogan Portable AC:

  • The ability to make a room ice-cold (for example, lowering the temperature inside a room from 42 degrees to 25 degrees quickly) – which was particularly valued for letting people sleep more peacefully during sweltering summer nights
  • In-built humidifier was effective at taking the moisture out of the air, which is especially useful for more humid climates
  • While the unit is heavy at 21.5kg, the fact that it has wheels attached makes it easy to move from room to room.

What reviewers didn’t like about the Kogan Portable AC:

  • It made a fair amount of noise, however reviewers who were satisfied with the AC’s overall performance didn’t mind this, as its superior cooling ability made up for the noise level.
  • Only worked for small-medium rooms, and wasn't suited to shared spaces like living rooms, as it’s not compatible with the open-plan design.
  • While the cooling and dehumidifying functions were appreciated, the warming function was not as effective, according to a number of reviewers.
Compare all 4 Kogan Portable Air Conditioner
Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)
  • Discontinued

Kogan KAPORAIR12GA (3.5kW)

3.3
(43)
Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)
  • Discontinued

Kogan KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

3.3
(75)
Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)
  • Discontinued

Kogan KAPORAIR16MA (4.7kW)

3.4
(17)
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $599.00$749.00$799.00$999.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power2.9 kW3.5 kW4.1 kW4.7 kW
Reverse Cycle NoYesNo
Cooling Capacity10,000 BTU14,000 BTU16,000 BTU
Weight21.5 kg29 kg38 kg
Dimensions 756 x 352 x 300 mm775 x 463 x 382 mm830 x 340 x 443 mm765 x 397 x 466 mm
Maximum Noise Level56 db56 db55 db
Max Room Size 202530
Max Room Air Flow 350 m³/h350 m³/h406 m³/h
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 4 Kogan Portable Air Conditioner

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.