??!
10 photos
Kogan Portable Air Conditioner
3.3 from 157 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(33)
(55)
(26)
(15)
(28)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (17)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Room Type
    • Large Bedroom (7)
    • Small Bedroom (7)
    • Living/Dining Area (5)
    • Small Office (2)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (15)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.3 (16)
  • Portability
    3.8 (15)
yasmin.border

yasmin.borderHunter Region, NSW

So much better than I expected

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic Kogan portable air conditioner

published

living in qld now was the best buy to be able to move it from room to room when needed have recommended to family and friends already just love this product

Purchased in February 2020 at Kogan.com for $349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Large Bedroom and Whole House
See all answers
Inez

InezNorthern Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic kogan product

published

Ive had my kogan air conditioner two years and still going, its saved me a lot of trouble and money. Also have brought another as its good in the bigger room

Purchased in May 2018 at Kogan.com for $380.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mandy B.

Mandy B.

  • 3 reviews

Perfect to meet my needs

published

Had trouble connecting to wireless but I wasn’t too concerned just needed to get closer. Did have to tape up the hosing to the aircon outlet and of course you have to empty water, but I use a watering can and put it on my plants.

Purchased in April 2019 at Kogan.com for $479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nataraj C.

Nataraj C.Sydney, NSW

Not an Aircondition.. waste

published

just purchased after seeing all the positive reviews(paid review?).worst experience ever and no more purchase from Kogan.com. using is as a cooler fan. noisey, cant cool a small room(12 sqm)

Purchased in January 2019 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Dutchie00

Dutchie00Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 22 reviews

Perfect for our needs

published

Love it bought one 14 months ago, and we have just purchased another one. The app is really handy when the remote is not nearby. Our unit can get up to 42C on hot days and this unit will cool it down to 25C in no time. The 2nd unit was bought for our bedroom to replace an old one. The DE-Humidify setting works well on hot steamy days. I tried the heat function in our winter time and that works well too. I did have problems with some other Kogan products and was hesitant in getting these but had no problems. I just wish that the Tube was a bit longer, but that's all I can say about the negative part.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com for $379.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers
Jamie

JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Just an expensive fan!!

published

Product arrived in a timely fashion. Looks great but turned it on and it has ZERO cooling capacity! To make it worse there is almost no way to contact kogan

Purchased in December 2019 at Kogan.com for $440.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Jamie
Jamie
WazzaGJ

WazzaGJAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for a quick cool down during heatwaves.

published

I've been using this unit to supplement my evaporative ducted system due to water restrictions. It's been great for cooling down rooms quickly. It's both quite & compact in comparison to many others offering 16,000 btu's.
It does as advertised & great value for money.

Purchased in October 2019 at Kogan for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Eric

EricCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Don't buy

published

Purchased it 20.11.2019. This unit is a waste of time and money. Cooled a tiny 2.4 x 2.4 meter area by only three degrees - from 35 degrees C to 32 degrees C. Buy anything but this

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Office
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
info4ugs

info4ugsWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

garbage

published

stays in dry mode only, actual air con doesnt work, is extremely noisey, would not recommmend this air con to anyone unless i hated them, find a better brand of air con

Purchased in February 2018 at eBay for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
agilis

agilisPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Does the job very well

published

Purchased this portable unit last summer and we have used it in our large master bedroom and out in our closed in patio. It does the job very well & helps us to sleep better at nights. Pretty good considering we are in Perth and it gets pretty hot! Didn't want to review it until we had used it enough to give an honest appraisal. Happy so far.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
rap attack

rap attackSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not as good as i thought

published

The cooling and dehumidifying on this works rather well but the heating not so much. I run at a very low body temperature and never owned an aircon before. I can see why the person sold it as their place is bigger than mine. My place is small but no way to close off the long hallway to the bedroom so i can get better heat. A metre from the aircon its cold as outside so i have to sit right next to it or put a blanket on myself on the couch

Purchased in April 2018 at eBay for $150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
rap attack
rap attack
Oaj S.

Oaj S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Works Well

published

During summer, its pretty much ON all the time. So it copes well with high demand and extended usage. I am decently satisfied with the performance. I keeps my room relatively good during extreme summer as long as it is ON all the time. It can be loud at times so It can be annoying at night. During winter I use it as a fan which works well too.

Purchased in February 2018 at Kogan.com for $299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
C. Red

C. RedSouth East Queensland, QLD

The WORST Portable Air Conditioner I have ever owned

published

Purchased in December 2018 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
brad

bradSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

great unit but broke

published

bought it 2 yrs ago and sold as we got ducted .
the swing broke within a week of buying it but did not affect the unit working it cooled real well and was not too loud besides when it turned on and off .

Purchased in January 2016 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Kogan Portable Air Conditioner compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
leanne mcmullen

leanne mcmullenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

Water cooling component keeps breaking down and continually gets blocked even though it was cleaned regularly. It now only works as a very expensive fan as it cost a few hundred dollars and works no better than a twenty dollar pedestal fan

Purchased in September 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
leanne mcmullen
leanne mcmullen

we returned the product after 1 to 2 days of use and a new one was sent . the same problem happened after a few days. Obviously this product has a faulty component which should be investigated.

charchie

charchieSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

It’s just OK

published

It does the job for a 6m x 6m room.
It’s quite noisey compared to other units I have owned.
The WIFI smart remote is not very intuitive at all and the manual supplied is for another unit.
It does work but it’s not the best out there, yet again for $399 you get what you pay for.

Purchased in February 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Kogan
Ross x.Kogan
Matty C

Matty CSydney, NSW

Pretty Good

published

I bought my unit the Sunday before a public holiday and it still arrived on the Thursday at lunchtime which was fantastic. That day it was 38 degrees where I live with about 90%humidity. Cooled the house significantly in 30 minutes, left it on and went out for 2 hours and came back the room was lovely and cool. A little noisy but well worth the money for the 10/15 odd days that it got to the high 30s and low 40s in my town. Should have bought it at the start of summer.

Purchased in January 2019.

Carlos

CarlosSydney

Cheap brand...

published

Anyone who wants to buy this....please read this first. I put on this small room that could only fit a single bed and it takes till morning to cool it...its just a blower with a bit of cold air. And the noise that it makes...cant believe there is still an aircon like this one nowadays. Its like running a generator inside your room. I woke up 4 times...it should have come with an earplug. Its a cheap china made component...never going to buy from dick smith kogan again.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
meagain

meagainJervis bay, Nsw

  • 11 reviews

Oh bless The

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

I want to run my 4.1kw kogan portable AC from a generator--how do I find out which generator can do this?

1 answer
Inez
Inez

Hi there! From what i know, kogan has a range of generators online, But their customer service is superb. If you contact them through their website they will be able to assist you further.

Tracy

Tracyasked

KAPORAIR14GA (4.1kW)

I have had my units for 4 years and can’t fault it but recently it has started to blow warm air when on cooling mode, any idea what could be wrong , regulator or do these units require regasing?
Thanks

No answers
Hassan A.

Hassan A.asked

KAPORAIR10GA (2.9kW)

Can someone please explain why this piece of crap is shutting down and displaying FL on the panel. I have tried to drain the water from the back but there is literally NOTHING in there. Really not happy as the the unit is less than two month old.

1 answer
Dutchie00
Dutchie00

Crap its not,If you read the instructions FL Means your tank is full.

Get an answer from our members and Kogan representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.