??!
2 photos
Lenovo Ideapad 100S

Lenovo Ideapad 100S

MPN: 80R900K6AU
2.1 from 34 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.1

34 reviews
Previous
Next
Anton

AntonSydney, NSW

Lenovo ideapad

published

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE
I bought my year 7 son this laptop for school and had problems with it within 6 months. The charger, track pad, headphone jack and speakers weren’t working properly. I tried to send it back to lenovo to fix and was told that none of these issues were fixable under warranty and it would cost over $650 to fix - more than I spent on it. Terrible service and terrible product. Don’t waste your money!

Purchased in December 2019 for A$460.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Steven

StevenPerth, WA

Don't buy this, total lemon

published

Avoid this at all costs, the memory is too all for updates of Windows 10 even with everything deleted other than the operating system. Constant battle with lack of memory

Incentivised ReviewNo
goldcoast lady

goldcoast ladyGold Coast

  • 69 reviews
  • 48 likes

should have being given lemon on the year award

published

I brought this around 15 months ago. The only thing that is good (that It is lightweight). The worse is, the mouse pad is terrible and is very slow. My Acer beats its in every field

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Big Buys.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Laptops

Find out how Lenovo Ideapad 100S compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
loulou

loulouGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Makes a good doorstop

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Officeworks for A$1,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kaye

KayePerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Serious charging problem

published

We bought 2 lenovo ideapad 100s-141br at the same time. My daughter had one and within a few weeks it stopped charging. Lenova said to return it and it came back working once again.

Two and a half years on, the other ideapad has stopped charging and my daughters ideapad is also temperamental when it comes to charging up.

I would not recommend this product.

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$285.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
JohnM

JohnMSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great travelling laptop.

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Wouldn't recommend one

published

I bought one of these laptops for my daughter for school due to cost and weight and reported battery life. By about 18 months time the battery wouldn't last for a school day (over a 6 hour period, on and off) so it wasn't fit for purpose as she officially wasn't meant to charge it through the day (though a kindly teacher came to her rescue). Not long after that the charger wasn't making contact without pressure, so she had to use a rubber band to hold it tight enough to charge. This became worse with time. Also the letter A didn't type sporadically for very early on. After two years we have replaced it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mandi

MandiKendal

Horrific! Battery issues right off the bat.

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Waste of Money

published

Not worth the price of admission. This slow, unreliable, under powered, computer has been a complete waste of my money. The computer suffered from terrible battery life (about 1 hr at full screen brightness), multiple unexplained crashes, cheap and flimsy construction (which deteriorated and fell apart a few months after purchase), inability to boot from a usb or access the boot menu, terrible CPU that makes even simple tasks such as web browsing and playing games a pain the head, will at random refuse to connect to any WiFi router or hotpot for days at a time rendering the computer little more than a paperweight. Do not purchase this computer.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Laptops

Find out how Lenovo Ideapad 100S compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Luke Evans

Luke EvansGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish

published

Absolutely rubbish machine. CPU performance is so bad that even basic web page browsing is a challenge. The included eMMC drive of 32GB means that you'll have to delete material in order to update Windows, and then load it back on later. It's not really in any way a practical computer.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Disposable laptop

published

I’ve had this laptop not even 2 years - which for how cheap it was isn’t bad. However it’s small on space, so slow all I can use it for is Facebook. I can’t open more than 4 browsers at a time or it shuts itself down. Most annoying is the front edge is incredibly sharp across your wrists when at lap height and was terribly uncomfortable. I wouldn’t recommend this laptop, I wish I spent the $50 more and got the HP that was available at the time.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
sunny

sunnySidaknee

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

Mediocre performance and no data storage space

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Tim Hawker

Tim HawkerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

Didn’t know I was buying a throw away computer

published

What a piece of rubbish, worst quality and most unreliable computer I have ever purchased. Firstly the battery failed to charge (a common complaint according to a quick google search) and I lost use of my computer during a very critical time I needed it to complete my major university assignments and study for exams. Not many months later, exactly the same problem but now it’s out of warranty! I didn’t realise I was buying a short use, throw away computer! DON’T BUY LENOVA PRODUCT

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Mdonge

Mdonge

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Nothing Good About This Laptop

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
alex Z

alex Z

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

So far so good!

published

This nifty laptop for it's price does what it needs to do. Homework for the kids, very limited games(which is good), play music and videos and that's about it. Has ssd so the startup time is very fast. Like I said, so far so good! Definitely recommend it if you are looking for a basic home laptop that looks good and performs as well!

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Laptops

Find out how Lenovo Ideapad 100S compares to other Laptops

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bob D.

Bob D.Brisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 17 likes

Lenovo 110S Notebook

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Geoff

Geoff

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

So Dissappointing Lenovo Ideadpad

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Tim Hawker

Tim HawkerSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

Unreliable laptop computer

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Cattledog

CattledogSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Lenovo Ideapad 100 15.6" Laptop - Cheap Flimsy Construction

published

My Lenovo Ideapad 100 15.6" Laptop was purchased 2 years ago, but is only used infrequently when I go on vacation, Despite no ill treatment, the RHS hinge supporting the screen has broken due to the flimsy construction of this product. The Lenovo warranty was for 12 months so I have had to pay $185 for the repair out of my own pocket.
My advice is don't even think about buying a Lenovo laptop.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jess

JessSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do yourself a favour, and DON'T buy this

published

IMO, the number 1 issue with these models is the charger port. The port is soldered internally and VERY fragile. Not IF, but WHEN the port breaks internally, forget about repairing. Port weakens over time when plugging, unplugging charger. These laptops are commonly purchased for childen, who are NOT gentle.. I've seen it far too many times with this model.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

beetle234

beetle234asked

It will be nice to hear update from Jonnys after last few months on this product, is it still working well ??

2 answers
johnnys
johnnys

Yes, no problems. BUT - I only use it occasionally so I cannot really say how it would stand up to constant use.

Peter G 46
Peter G 46

Pretty much as Johnnys says -- no problems. It seems ruggedly built, and I've dropped it a couple of times with no ill effects, but it gets only occasional use.

With so little primary storage, it's a good idea to clear the C: drive regularly, and if you can calibrate screen colours a bit better, it won't go astray -- from the factory, the screen is a bit blue.

Still a useful, lightweight travel companion if you don't have heavy use needs.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryLaptops
Product TypeLaptop
Screen Size11.6Inches
Weight1kg

Visit official website
  • GTIN12: 190151145184, 190576197386, 190793453210 and 191376106394
  • GTIN8: 36268142, 36278647 and 36431593
  • MPN: 80R900K6AU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.