??!
10 photos
LG GS-D665 (665L, Side by Side)

LG GS-D665 (665L, Side by Side)

GS-D665BSL (Black) and GS-D665PL (Stainless)
4.2 from 13 reviews

See the Best Side by Side Fridges / Refrigerators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


One detail that can easily be fixed

This is the second LG French door fridge that we've had. After ten years the old one developed a fault - water was dispensed inside the door rather than through the proper spout - but everything else contined to work fine. Decided that any thought of repair was probably not worthwhile on such an old unit so bought this one. Very happy so far but one small grumble. The water filter is external to the fridge. This makes sense in terms of increasing available useful cooling space. However, there's no bracket on which to mount the cylindrical filter. Why can't LG provide a couple of suitable clips that could be fixed either to the back of the unit if there's sufficient space, or to the wall if not. Come on LG, think laterally.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $2,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)

Upgraded to this beautiful fridge

We had our previous fridge for over 10 yrs and it was still running perfectly but just a tad too small for our family so we decided to keep our old fridge as a drinks fridge/extra freezer and upgrade to this beauty.
Very very happy with our decision, it fits our space perfectly and we love the ice/water feature. Side by side really suits our family well, as most things can be stored at a good height and then the things less frequently used can be put down the bottom.
We love the sleek design, although I have found that I need to daily wipe down the front of the fridge from grimy boy fingers that access the fridge after school.
Overall I can't fault this fridge, it was delivered by JB Hi Fi the day after purchasing and it was a quick and painless experience being able to track the delivery and be home on time for them to deliver. Great communication from the JB HI FI team from the instore to delivery.
We are still marvelling at the door in door feature and enjoying keeping the cool air in the fridge/freezer.
Well designed and easy to use. Highly recommend.

January 22nd 2019 Update: We love this fridge

Amazing value and it is a beautiful machine.
Plumbed in ice and water is brilliant especially over summer.
Can't imagine life without it now.
JB HI FI delivered brilliantly and helped set it up for us.
Great price, value and performance so far.
We are all very happy with this purchase and would buy again in a heartbeat.
I have noticed that the water filter needs changing (6 months)so I am wondering where to purchase that item from but other than that we are happy with the consistent temperature in the main fridge/freezer as well as the door in door section (my hubby wasn't sure that it would stay cold enough prior to purchase)

Purchased in January 2019 for $2,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)

It's Bigger Than You Think

We put off buying a French Door fridge for 10 years as they don't have enough shelf space. When our old fridge finally died we "settled" on the LG GS-D665PL side-by-side fridge instead. It has everything we need with ice dispenser, door-within-door, looks great, runs quiet and amazing shelf space.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Love it

Love this fridge! Only thing I would say is you need to be careful with the door in door as it sometimes we find if we haven’t really shut it properly it will stay open.

Other than that we really like it and are super happy with it!

My husband loves the ice maker the most :)

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Good Fridge!!!

Good fridge, does a good job of keeping food cold and fresh.
Having the plumbed in ICE machine, having the fridge automatically fill the Ice bucket automatically is really good feature. Having cold filtered water makes an another cool feature.

Third door is an excellent feature, we have all eggs, cheese, chocolate, milk, all the essentials in easy reach, PLUS only pulling the weight of the door in door is super easy instead of the entire door.

Pull handle doors is a great feature. The horizontal handles is very trendy.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Amazing fridge, could not be happier

Great fridge, does the general job of keeping food cold.
But love the plumbed in ICE machine, having the fridge automatically fill the Ice bucket automatically is awesome. You then use the "shute" for ice to fall down into your cup, and you can get filtered water also which is chilled (dependant on if it's been in the reservoir in the fridge or not).

The door in door is an excellent feature, we have all eggs, cheese, chocolate, milk, all the essentials in easy reach, PLUS only pulling the weight of the door in door is super easy instead of the entire door.

Other reviews seem to pick apart features which they didn't research, the fridge does everything it says IT WILL, and I couldn't be happier with the purchase. The horizontal handles are also nice and trendy and help break the seal with ease (no yanking the door to get an old fridge open).

Date PurchasedNov 2016

LG ! Avoid

Our fridge only worked for a few hours before it stopped causing the loss of food !
Not going into the full story it's to long.
2 weeks to repair our new fridge !
Would not pay total for lost food!
Promised transcript of my discussion on phone with them. ( they lied)
The fridge has been fine since repair but we will not purchase another LG product due to their dishonesty, lies and lack of reimbursement for lost goods.
Please Note: the retailer were very helpful trying to solve the issue.
Buyer beware! LG dishonest liars!

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Not as advertised.

Purchased today and not happy as it's Advertised that you can lock the water and ice to prevent spills, but only the computer can be locked! Not suitable for my family with three children under 5 years.
Apart from that the fridge is a great fridge. but very disappointed and will be asking for a refund/exchange.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not able to vertically align it with my cabinets!

Just bought this to replace another side-by-side LG that lasted 17 years (before the evaporator line corroded and perforated).

Be aware that this fridge (and others from other manufacturers) cannot be adjusted to be truly vertical to align with cabinets! They come with a minimum 20mm backward slope "so that the doors close" according to LG. They no longer fit self closing hinges so that the fridge doesn't need to lean. It just looks bad and I'm going to use a spacer under the rear rollers to align it.

Likes-
Deli draw
Door in door
Plumbed in water and ice
Quiet

Dislikes-
Big labels on everything!
Big temp display on freezer door which does not display actual temp inside- only "Set" temp.
No adjustment on most of the shelves and draws
Backward leaning!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

665L Side by Side fridge

This fridge is a side by side fridge and is very big and has plenty of storage for my needs. One of the selling point of this fridge/freezer for me was the ice maker option. It also does crushed ice, or cold filtered drinking water. The fridge is very quiet in general, unless it is making more ice cubes, then it can be noisy for a few seconds. Another selling point that made me get this fridge was that on the fridge side, instead of opening the whole fridge door and letting all the cold air go out, there's a small door in the front that opens so that you can reach inside just to grab your drinks etc. none of the other fridges on the market had this feature.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Functional and so much room and stylish

Amazing product and so much room great price also from the good guys and they have great customer service also it had amazing room inside the fridge and freezer and is so stylish in your home.


Beautiful Fridge

I purchased from Billy Guyatts online. Beautiful looking fridge, under $3k. Very specious for family with kids. Door in door is the feature, I really admire. so convenient to put drinks and easy access without opening whole fridge, I highly recommend. It is very quiet machine. Very Happy with it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Great and the door in door is a god send.

Fridge is great, heaps of room in both the fridge and freezer, have not plumbed to it yet so not using the ice yet but the door in door is perfect for drinks sauce etc you want to grab, saves time and cold. the only down side is sometimes the smaller door stays open as you have to click it in place

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Details

GS-D665BSL (Black)GS-D665PL (Stainless)
Price (RRP) $3,199$2,799
Dimensions 1790 x 912 x 610 mm1790 x 912 x 610 mm
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDisplay Panel, Door Alarm , Ice Dispenser, Water Dispenser and Wine RackDisplay Panel, Door Alarm , Ice Dispenser, Water Dispenser and Wine Rack
Colour / Finish Black Stainless SteelStainless Finish
Handle Type RecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge YesYes
Shelf MaterialGlassGlass
Number of Shelves48
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 21
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 665 L665 L
Fridge Capacity 419 L419 L
Freezer Capacity 246 L246 L

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.