??!
11 photos
LG OLED B8 Series
4.2 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now

Reviews

4.2

13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (10)
  • Sound Quality
    4.1 (9)
  • Software
    4.4 (10)
  • Picture Quality
    4.8 (10)
Previous
Next
Peter M

Peter MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Weak image processing unit, great screen

published

This is LG's low end OLED TV produced by using a weak image processor. Its weakness becomes apparent when a movie has a lot of shadowy dark screens, patches of the area goes fuzzy, and in 4k videos the movement of the sea waves is not perfectly continuous. Otherwise, the TV has a beautiful picture

Purchased in February 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Billy Warren

Billy Warren

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent TV!

published

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Kennoath

KennoathSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 16 reviews
  • 11 likes

Just looks amazing

published

This TV is a massive upgrade from an older HD LCD. The OLED screen looks incredible, with completely black blacks and rich, crisp images. It even looks like an upgrade when viewing non-hidef video - I don't know how, but it does. It is much thinner and lighter than my old 40" tv as well.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Picture Quality
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how LG OLED B8 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DragonDen

DragonDenNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

LG OLED 65B8S - Seriously - WOW !!

published

With good EOFY deals I jumped onto this new OLED technology and picture quality is seriously WOW!!. Sound quality is also very good if your setup is standalone but I have used the optical output to a midi sound system for the added subwoofer bass. The initial install and remote control features are the easiest of any TV I have owned. There are a range of advanced picture options available in the menu to suit your viewing style. The responsiveness in changing channels or input sources is best in class. 4K content on this TV shows every minute detail with superb vibrant colour. Overall totally satisfied with this purchase and well worth the $2750 price for the 65” size. Highly recommended.

Purchased in July 2019 at Domayne NSW for A$2,750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Luthor

LuthorGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing TV but LG wall mount not available in Australia ...

published

The is by far the best TV I have had. The WebOS is soooo much better and less intrusive than other leading models. The picture quality is sensational and the unit is easy to configure and operate. My only frustration is that the LG wall mount unit is not sold in Australia. The LG unit allows a very flush mount. This was not mentioned at the time of purchase.

Purchased in May 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
ScottRock

ScottRockSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 51 reviews
  • 25 likes

Love My New TV

published

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for A$2,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Carly

CarlySouthwest, VIC

  • 31 reviews
  • 8 likes

Lifes Good

published

Update: nearly 2 years later and still loving my tv. I eventually figured out how to organise and delete apps on my home screen too! Original: Can't stress enough how good this tv is. The picture quality is incredible, the remote is fantastic, the apps are easy to use. It doesn't get overly hot. It was also fairly easy to set up - though you will need two people. I've been using this tv for 6 months now and it makes life so much easier with netflix, youtube, stan etc. I have also watched a few of my blu-rays and they look crystal clear. The build quality is great too. Very happy with my purchase.

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for A$2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Yves

YvesHunter Region, NSW

Hard Wired Smart Tv Freezes While Watching Sbs On-demand Film/program Series.

published

1 – Download of SBS on Demand suites of TV series & Movies is slow.
2 – Streaming freezes every minute for 1-2 seconds before it resumes.
3 – Movies or Series quite often rewinds back at least 30% immediately after an Add then play on from that point forward or stops altogether.
4 -I can stream faster on my Samsung tablet or even my Samsung J1 phone without any of the above. It seems to me this is DEFINITELY a TV Issue!

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$2,295.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jay

JayMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

Lasted only 6 weeks

published

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how LG OLED B8 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris Weston

Chris WestonSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best TV I have ever had

published

Installation was simplistic. The ability to jump straight into netflix from one button on the remote is great. Image quality is superb. Reach of remote is fantastic. Ease of use of software. Software is very intuitive. What I like the best about this tv is the image clarify and quality. It's 4K brings the screen to life. I highly recommend this tv.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Luna

LunaPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 10 likes

OK,,,,, but not too impressed

published

My husband wanted this TV so we bought it early Jan. It's not bad but we don't quite understand the harshness of Red colour. We have adjusted few times but somehow only Red and White appear to be so harsh that we feel like we need to wear sunnies. Other functions such as connecting to Wifi, watching YouTube on TV etc are great as a smart TV. If you are happy with the plasma perhaps wait for a while before you spend $4000 to buy a smart TV... that's my view.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$3,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

SteveEH

SteveEHAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

bloody brilliant

published

cant complain about this TV, it is crystal clear and the colour is bloody amazing, very easy to use and i love the magic remote. sound is very good but we ended up buying a sound bar which makes it truly fantastic, very low power consumption. love my tv, the best

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Nico M

Nico MSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great looking TV

published

Had this TV for about a month. Great picture and viewing angles. You really can't beat a decent brand of OLED for picture quality. The smart features are really snappy. On DTV, the channel change speed is almost instantaneous, so quick! Never skips a beat on WiFi. Received an update soon after so hopefully support remains good in that respect. An added bonus is that it integrates in cute ways with my LG mobile.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Questions & Answers

Alf L.

Alf L.asked

OLED55B8STB (55")

Is it compatible with SN7y soundbar

No answers
Bruce

Bruceasked

OLED B8 Series

My LG OLED B8 55 freezes when I'm streaming for a second every few seconds. I'm streaming live local soccer.
I changed to ethernet cable even though my WiFi was strong, to no benefit.
Netflix & YouTube seem to be OK.
Apart from the freezing I'm very happy with my first smart TV.
Thanks

2 answers
Peter M
Peter M

You need to provide more information. What streaming are you talking about? You said Netflix and YouTube are OK.

Bruce
Bruce

I stream, NPL.TV it's a local soccer web site. I can watch it on my laptop or my Ipad without freezing, but not on my LG OLED TV B8 55". Same network.
Thanks

Bob B

Bob Basked

OLED65B8STB (65")

when will this TV support Airplay2?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

Compare all 2 LG OLED B8 Series
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) A$2,999.00A$4,799.00
Screen Size 55"65"
Screen TypeOLEDOLED
Type of TVSmart TVSmart TV
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Number of HDMI Ports44
Number of USB Ports33
Wall MountableYesYes
Weight16.3 kg21.7 kg
Operating SystemWebOSWebOS
Dimensions (without stand) 707 x 1228 x 46.9 mm831 x 1449 x 46.9 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 759 x 1228 x 225 mm884 x 1449 x 225 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Compare all 2 LG OLED B8 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.