??!
5 photos
LG SH Series

LG SH Series

SH4, SH5, SH7, etc...
3.9 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

An egregious flaw

published

It's simple. I have an LG Oled TV and I got the SJ4 as I thought it would be easier to set up. It is.
But here's the annoying thing. The soundbar switches off after 15 minutes if there is no signal (like TV paused). Then you have to go through 4 menus to activate it. LG claim this is a feature. Not really. Very annoying and you can't change this.
I find the sub woofer OK but you really need a few surround speakers. No thanks.
All in all a bit ordinary, certainly not 100% improvement on TV speakers.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bing Lee for $430.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Steven. R

Steven. R

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

A great unit to amp your tv sound or getting some cinema sound at home!

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Chris F

Chris F

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good for price but don’t expect chest thumbing sound

published

This sound bar is nice when matched up to your LG tv. It’s price is good, it’s design is slick and compact and it’s easy (basic) to use.

But be warned, it’s not that ground shaking quality if that’s what your after. The soundbar itself is small as in the speakers and sub are on the lower end of bass depth and speaker quality. The controls are basic and the options are limited in controlling the equaliser and bass.

For plug and play all arounder it’s up there but if your after chest thumping sound when playing your favourite game or movie you might want to spend a bit more money for a higher end soundbar.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Soundbars

Find out how LG SH Series compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex

AlexBrisbane

  • 4 reviews

This thing is loud

published

Over the last three years, i've become used to a tv speaker that could barely output any sound without distorting, my girlfriend purchased this as a (expensive) gift for myself at christmas. I don't think i could have received a better present. Sound is crystal clear and the bluetooth works perfectly.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

What a joke lg sh5. It can't even Bluetooth to my iPhone 6.

published

What a joke lg sh5
It can't even Bluetooth to my iPhone 6.. How can a $500+ device not b able to since with iPhone. What else does it fail?
It is slow to find device. But never actually connects
I have 4 other "non apple ios" devices that easily connect.
LG lift your game

Date PurchasedSept 2016
La Rok

La RokMelbourne

Very happy, I'm so impressed with the sound

published
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Gilly

GillyBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Must have!

published

320W 2.1 inch sound bar wireless 4 speaker system, sound fantastic, easy plug in & play. smile on my dial as soon as i turned up the volume. Has all types of sound effects to suit all types of people. I have mine set up with a 60 inch LG/UHD TV, ( Always believed in compatibility.) Has great bass ( sub woofer) & has its own remote. Once combined with the LG/TV, you can use the magic remote control that comes with the TV to do everything. I paid $650 brand new 2016, but they are a lot cheaper now . The sound bar does not impede viewing the TV & looks good. Enjoy!

Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Gilly
Gilly
  • SH5
  • Verified purchase

Faulty subwoofer terrible customer service

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
joyccc

joycccForster, New South Wales

Awesome

published

Hi this LG sound bar was a Xmas present for my husband and I .the sound and quality are surperb you have the same experience as if you were sitting in a picture theatre gives you goosebumps husband loves it that much the house vibrates he has it that loud it's an awesome addition to our media set up would highly recommend it hubby wants a bigger tv now to match the big sound

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Soundbars

Find out how LG SH Series compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kate M

Kate M

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Sooooo easy to use, amazing!

published

Super easy to set up. Turns on and off automatically when we turn our LG tv on and off. Sound quality is great, volume goes up nice and loud. Sleek and blends in with the tv. The whoofer isn't too large. Easily plays music from our phones. A great purchase!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
shirl

shirlBli Bli

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

the best sound ever

published

LG sound bar has made a big difference to watching tv. The sound that come out is like being at the movies. we are both getting older and hard at hearing and it makes our life more pleasure. I did not think the sound would be great not good great.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
shirl
shirl
rit

ritSydney, NSW

  • 30 reviews
  • 7 likes

Thunderous sound

published

At 320 watts, this speaker and sub-woofer makes the whole house shake. It has an optical connection to the tv, plus a usb ports for listening to mp3's, bluetooth, and a connection to a dab radio if you wanted, to make it an integrated system. For watching movies, there is probably too much bass and I have trouble hearing what the actors say unless I have it really loud. And when listening to music on a usb, it shortens the name of the album it is playing to 5 letters and you don't know what you're going to be listening to.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
alstonville2477

alstonville2477

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very happy but instructions could be better

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
merccrap

merccrapGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • SH4
  • Verified purchase

Very happy.

published

This is a compact unit that, in my opinion, is a major upgrade to my TV speakers. It was simple to setup and works just as described. Audio quality is highly subjective, everyone is different, but for me this unit has improved my TV enjoyment a lot. I am happy to endorse this product.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Autarky

AutarkyKensington Gardens

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

OK but could be better

published

I had an earlier LG soundbar that connected to the LG TV via optical link and it had an issue with going to sleep at random times. So i thought i would buy a new unit as i was hoping this might be corrected. With this model it uses the HDMI ARC cable (which i also bought with the soundbar. It doesnt go to sleep but the sound level fluctuates somewhat and i havent found a way around it yet. The unit is good makes lots of noise but this irritates a lot

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Soundbars

Find out how LG SH Series compares to other Soundbars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fatisme

FatismeAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Its like being there

published

What a amazing sound this bar produces, I have found myself ducking jumping and even turning the TV down, this sound bar picks up every noise and makes it sound like its all happening in your lounge room, it is sleek looking and I was very surprised at just how much output it has

Date PurchasedNov 2016
ray__

ray__Qld, 4054

  • 19 reviews
  • 19 likes
  • SH4
  • Verified purchase

Disappointing - no better than the TV I bought it for

published

It was easy to set up the SH4 soundbar which is a very good thing as I am very disappointed with the performance and it would have added insult to injury if I had been forced to put much effort into installation.
I do have a small bedroom TV set that has 'just OK' sound and this soundbar might improve that situation BUT I will be adding a $300.00(ish) soundbar to an old $150.00(ish) TV and still stuck with what I consider to be slightly ordinary sound from my main TV set.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

Kim

Kimasked

SH4

Can I use this sound bar with any brand of tv eg. Samsung? Thanks.

3 answers
Nick W
Nick W

No. These manufacturers are stupidly possessive of proprietary brands/IP.
I had no luck so I got an LG soundbar. Sorry!

Steven. R
Steven. R

Yes you can with most TV’s now days. Either with a HDMI cable or one I like to use which is the optical cable, that is of course if your TV has an optical connection.
If your TV is not too old you will have it :)

Kim
Kim

That's great. I have all those connections. Thanks for your help.

Get an answer from our members and LG representatives

Details

Compare all 5 LG SH Series
LG SH4
  • Discontinued

LG SH4

4.1
(8)
LG SH5
  • Discontinued

LG SH5

3.6
(8)
LG SH8
  • Discontinued

LG SH8

No reviews yet
LG SH2
  • Discontinued

LG SH2

No reviews yet
CategorySoundbarsSoundbarsSoundbarsSoundbars
Price (RRP)$449$599$299
Channels2.12.12.1
Subwoofer TypeWirelessWirelessWireless
HDMI Inputs11
Height62mm
BluetoothYesYes
Width880mm
Depth90mm
Compare all 5 LG SH Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.