??!
1 photo
Makita DUR181Z

Makita DUR181Z

MPN: DUR181Z
4.5 from 10 reviews

Reviews

4.5

10 reviews
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Previous
Next
Steve

SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Good whipper snipper

published

I've had this now over a year and it's a great tool. Great for smaller to medium yards, I wouldn't be taking on a jungle with it. The batteries last ages 5.0ah.

Purchased in January 2019 at Total Tools for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Manu

Manu

  • 2 reviews

Mean as!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Shane T

Shane TCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Does quite well

published

For a small, single cord machine, it does a pretty decent job. It's light and a 3AH battery will last about an hour, but you will notice the power declining after 15-20 mins. I purchased mine as skin only as I have other Makita tools and plenty of batteries. If you've got lots of thick, tall grass, I recommend a petrol powered whipper snipper.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass and Tall grass
See all answers
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Makita DUR181Z compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amanda

Amanda

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great lightweight snipper

published

This is the perfect whipper snipper if you need a lightweight quiet machine. I bought it for my mother who uses it weekly for her large property. It doesn’t require any maintenance, no mixing of fuel, is very light but sturdy and is so quiet you could whipper snip at night in residential areas. The battery lasts over an hour and charges quickly. It is fantastic for people that can’t handle and maintain larger equipment.

Purchased in April 2019 at Cairns hardware for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
John S

John SLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Line trimmer for edging lawn

published

Line needs to be heavier duty .
I have the single string head but feel the twin head is better for a large block.
l only use mine for lawn edging which it does very well. I thought Makita would have sold it with better quality nylon line.
You will load less line on a double head machine though. All good because my impact drills etc use same batteries. It is worth the money in this case. Line is easy to replace.

Purchased in March 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$125.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Dereck

DereckPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Work very well, robust.

published
NatG

NatGMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Quite surprised

published

After doing my research - bought the promotional kit. (with battery). Came with strap and extra line. Line ok for now. Prefer colour type. Easy to see.
Easy to use, powerful and tackles some tough areas. Battery lasting around 45min with constant use and quick to charge.
Bumper feed was easy - once I got the hang of it.
There are no gimmicks with this model. No wasted time and little fuss to set up from the box.
Read all instructions for safety purposes prior to use. Promotion kit may not be around long. I would pay the extra for skin and battery separate. An extra 30 dollars at Bunnings Warehouse.
Check it out on YouTube.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jimmeh

JimmehMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for the price

published

Awesome product. Great for small to medium sized lawns. Has adjustable head for comfort also swivels 180° for path edges. Enough power for general use and a 4aha battery will last for a supprising amount of time. As usal with line trimmers the strap is useless and uncomfortable. Its light enough to not need this though.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
noponies

noponiesNew Zealand

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent battery powered trimmer

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Makita DUR181Z compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sootee

Sooteesydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great value for money

published

Looked for a decent line trimmer at a reasonable price and after some research I decided on the Makita DUR181Z. Its light, easy to use and does a good job for some tough jobs around the house. The battery (not supplied) it requires is also interchangeable with other Makita tools. My only complaint would be how fast it goes through 'line' but then again it comes with probably the thinnest line available and I worked it hard but it can be easily changed for a more durable one. Other than that I highly recommend buying one

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

aldo p.

aldo p.asked

will like information on the price of the battery and charger for Makita DUR181Z

No answers
Christine H.

Christine H.asked

What do these units weigh with the battery in and how long does the battery last for? Is the battery included in the price?

3 answers
Amanda
Amanda

It weighs about 4kg with an 18v battery fitted. It lasts for about an hour from my experience snipping along the edge of concrete paths and driveways with grass 20cm or less high. You can buy the skin or with a battery and charger.

John S
John S

Very good unit compared with other cheap edgers having a spare battery is better and slightly larger dia cord. I always feed out more cord manually and cut it off with cutters to avoid damage to cutting head
A very practical unit for average size gardens I recommend.

Christine H.
Christine H.

Please Amanda, supply price of the unit and also the cost of the battery and the charger on the top of the price. Also do you sell the correct cord for this unit. Thanks. Do you have a phone number I could ring and discuss this machine please. Also the model DUR 189, can you tell me the weight of this when battery is on please.

Query

Queryasked

Do you think this would be powerful enough for a 1acre block with some large weeds (approx 1metre)?

2 answers
Scarab
Scarab

I don't think its ideal for doing a huge area and its only as powerful as the battery you use. You would be better off with a petrol one. In saying that, it could handle it I reckon as I've been clearing dense weeds in my yard with little problem but again i believe battery life is your bigger issue if doing a 1 acre block.

Robert
Robert

You might be better with a DUR189. at 279 dollars. You can get the charger and bty for 20 dollars more that is really a great deal as these items alone would cost you around $200 if you bought them separate. Uses thicker nylon and I have found it lasts a long time. I also purchased another spool so I would have a spool ready to go straight on when the nylon runs out rather than stuff around putting new nylon on during the job. This model has 2 nylon cutters as well so does the job a lot quicker and better over big area. I got mine from Toolmart but a quick google should give you a retailer. Also has speed adjustments for different conditions. Here is a link to have a look. This is the $299 version with charger and BTY. It is $279 without the charger and battery but for $20 you would be mad not to get the charger and bty even if you already have a Charger and Battery.
[weblink removed]

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.