1 photo
Makita DUR181Z

Makita DUR181Z

MPN: DUR181Z
4.0 from 13 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Battery Whipper Snippers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Makita? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Enduring battery

  • Simple to operate

  • Great value for money

Reviews

4.0
13 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (8)
  • Safety
    4.6 (8)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail

Underpowered

published

Seems you have to have the cord no longer than 5cm for it to run when on the highest speed. Trying to slash thin, short grass and it stops the second it’s put under a little bit of load. I’m disappointed in its lack of power. I’m used to medium sized petrol machines and looks like I will go back to a petrol machine.

Purchased in January 2021 at Sydney Tools NSW, Castle Hill for $449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Haps Basset
Haps BassetMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poorly design

published

I have just bought Makita DUR181Z from Bunnings driven by the good reputation of Makita products but in this particular case, it was a big and expensive mistake.
According to Bunning's specification:
The telescopic shaft is adjustable in length from 1,150mm to 1,330mm. (but the locking mechanism does not work!)
The nylon cord can be fed from the spool by bumping the bump feed button against the ground. This should be done when the revs are high. (It does not work)
The spool assembly is easy to attach & remove and easy to rewind and is equipped with a metal bump feed button for wear resistance. (Definition easy, it is impossible to remove the spool cup/holder without a screwdriver).
Overall poorly design and expensive product.

Purchased in December 2020 for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Rotate Lock

published

The device cuts weeds in line with other reviews. My device does not lock when it is rotated. Took in for a service and was told it will not lock at full extensions (up and down) Unfortunately these are the only positions it will rotate in so after a short time it is no longer in the right position.

Purchased in February 2020 at Total Tools for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Makita DUR181Z compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve
SteveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good whipper snipper

published

I've had this now over a year and it's a great tool. Great for smaller to medium yards, I wouldn't be taking on a jungle with it. The batteries last ages 5.0ah.

Purchased in January 2019 at Total Tools for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Manu
Manu
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mean as!

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shane T
Shane TCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Does quite well

published

For a small, single cord machine, it does a pretty decent job. It's light and a 3AH battery will last about an hour, but you will notice the power declining after 15-20 mins. I purchased mine as skin only as I have other Makita tools and plenty of batteries. If you've got lots of thick, tall grass, I recommend a petrol powered whipper snipper.

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Amanda
Amanda
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great lightweight snipper

published

This is the perfect whipper snipper if you need a lightweight quiet machine. I bought it for my mother who uses it weekly for her large property. It doesn’t require any maintenance, no mixing of fuel, is very light but sturdy and is so quiet you could whipper snip at night in residential areas. The battery lasts over an hour and charges quickly. It is fantastic for people that can’t handle and maintain larger equipment.

Purchased in April 2019 at Cairns hardware for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John S
John SLaunceston, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Line trimmer for edging lawn

published

Line needs to be heavier duty .
I have the single string head but feel the twin head is better for a large block.
l only use mine for lawn edging which it does very well. I thought Makita would have sold it with better quality nylon line.
You will load less line on a double head machine though. All good because my impact drills etc use same batteries. It is worth the money in this case. Line is easy to replace.

Purchased in March 2019 at Mitre 10 for $125.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dereck
DereckPerth, WA
  • 17 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified

Work very well, robust.

published
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Makita DUR181Z compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NatG
NatGMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quite surprised

published

After doing my research - bought the promotional kit. (with battery). Came with strap and extra line. Line ok for now. Prefer colour type. Easy to see.
Easy to use, powerful and tackles some tough areas. Battery lasting around 45min with constant use and quick to charge.
Bumper feed was easy - once I got the hang of it.
There are no gimmicks with this model. No wasted time and little fuss to set up from the box.
Read all instructions for safety purposes prior to use. Promotion kit may not be around long. I would pay the extra for skin and battery separate. An extra 30 dollars at Bunnings Warehouse.
Check it out on YouTube.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Jimmeh
JimmehMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for the price

published

Awesome product. Great for small to medium sized lawns. Has adjustable head for comfort also swivels 180° for path edges. Enough power for general use and a 4aha battery will last for a supprising amount of time. As usal with line trimmers the strap is useless and uncomfortable. Its light enough to not need this though.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
noponies
noponiesNew Zealand
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent battery powered trimmer

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sootee
Sooteesydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great value for money

published

Looked for a decent line trimmer at a reasonable price and after some research I decided on the Makita DUR181Z. Its light, easy to use and does a good job for some tough jobs around the house. The battery (not supplied) it requires is also interchangeable with other Makita tools. My only complaint would be how fast it goes through 'line' but then again it comes with probably the thinnest line available and I worked it hard but it can be easily changed for a more durable one. Other than that I highly recommend buying one

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

aldo p.
aldo p.asked

will like information on the price of the battery and charger for Makita DUR181Z

No answers
Christine H.
Christine H.asked

What do these units weigh with the battery in and how long does the battery last for? Is the battery included in the price?

3 answers
Amanda
Amanda

It weighs about 4kg with an 18v battery fitted. It lasts for about an hour from my experience snipping along the edge of concrete paths and driveways with grass 20cm or less high. You can buy the skin or with a battery and charger.

John S
John S

Very good unit compared with other cheap edgers having a spare battery is better and slightly larger dia cord. I always feed out more cord manually and cut it off with cutters to avoid damage to cutting head
A very practical unit for average size gardens I recommend.

Christine H.
Christine H.

Please Amanda, supply price of the unit and also the cost of the battery and the charger on the top of the price. Also do you sell the correct cord for this unit. Thanks. Do you have a phone number I could ring and discuss this machine please. Also the model DUR 189, can you tell me the weight of this when battery is on please.

Query
Queryasked

Do you think this would be powerful enough for a 1acre block with some large weeds (approx 1metre)?

2 answers
Scarab
Scarab

I don't think its ideal for doing a huge area and its only as powerful as the battery you use. You would be better off with a petrol one. In saying that, it could handle it I reckon as I've been clearing dense weeds in my yard with little problem but again i believe battery life is your bigger issue if doing a 1 acre block.

Robert
Robert

You might be better with a DUR189. at 279 dollars. You can get the charger and bty for 20 dollars more that is really a great deal as these items alone would cost you around $200 if you bought them separate. Uses thicker nylon and I have found it lasts a long time. I also purchased another spool so I would have a spool ready to go straight on when the nylon runs out rather than stuff around putting new nylon on during the job. This model has 2 nylon cutters as well so does the job a lot quicker and better over big area. I got mine from Toolmart but a quick google should give you a retailer. Also has speed adjustments for different conditions. Here is a link to have a look. This is the $299 version with charger and BTY. It is $279 without the charger and battery but for $20 you would be mad not to get the charger and bty even if you already have a Charger and Battery.
[weblink removed]

See all Makita DUR181Z questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • The Makita DUR181Z has a straight shaft, letting you complete all kinds of gardening tasks with ease.
  • The machine produces 63 decibels of sound when running, making the noise level comparable to a dishwasher or traffic.
  • It weights only 3.1 kg, so you can power through a large yard without working up a sweat.
  • This whipper snipper has a cutting width of up to 260mm, making for a versatile garden tool that performs well in a variety of situations.
  • With a built-in battery that gives you over 45 minutes of continuous runtime, this machine has the power to let you do domestic gardening without having to wait to recharge.
  • An adjustable cutting head lets you do your yard work your way.
  • This whipper snipper will cost you $129, making it cheaper than a lot of similar models on the market.

Points of praise:

  • Reviewers appreciated the long life battery, saying that it let them do their gardening tasks quickly.
  • The machine was easy to use according to reviewers, who said it was great for small to medium sized gardening jobs.
  • They also liked how lightweight the whipper snipper was, saying that the shoulder strap helped improve the overall comfort and functionality of the machine.
CategoryBattery Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) $129.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeStraight
Power SourceBattery (Built-In)
Voltage 18 V
Cutting Head TypeLine
Cutting Width260 mm
Line Diameter1.6 mm
Weight3.1 kg
Noise Level 63 dB
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Visit official website
  • MPN: DUR181Z

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.