??!
1 photo
Malindo Air

Malindo Air

1.7 from 83 reviews

Reviews

1.7

83 reviews
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(10)
1
(58)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (41)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (37)
  • Seat Room
    2.5 (27)
  • Food
    2.0 (25)
  • In-Flight Service
    2.1 (28)
  • In-Flight Entertainment
    2.1 (23)
  • Wi-Fi
    1.0 (5)
Previous
Next

Dishonourable Malindo

published

Having booked 2 return flights from Adelaide to Bali to fly in September 2020 we were informed by Malindo that they were cancelling the flights. I applied on line for a refund as advised and rceived a receipt for my application. To cut a long story short, many emails later, Malindo deny they got my refund application and are refusing to pay. Malaysian Aviation Commission complaints department who licence Malindo don't want to know

Transparency
Value for Money
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers

Covid-19 No refund policy

published

Bought return flights from Melbourne to Denpasar for the month of June 2020.
They cancelled their flights and I've been informed of only receiving my TAX refund which is next to nothing! Have some integrity and do the right thing by the customers. We're not at fault and deserve a full refund! Taking this up with the ACCC now!

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureMelbourne VIC, Australia
DestinationDenpasar, Denpasar City, Bali, Indonesia
ClassEconomy
Booking Third Party
See all answers
Monica

MonicaSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Refund delays

published

I was notified on Mar 11 that our September flights to Bali had been cancelled by the airline. They note that we have to go online to request a refund, which would be processed within 30 days. I contacted them numerous times by email and twice by phone with the latest call on the 34th day and was told that it would take another 2 weeks. They can't explain the delay or why they're holding onto funds for flights that THEY cancelled. Absolutely horrible service. Scam artists who should be investigated for fraudulent behaviour.

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureSydney NSW, Australia
DestinationBali, Indonesia
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers
1 comment
Monica
Monica
International Airlines

Find out how Malindo Air compares to other International Airlines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

No refunds for cancelled flights

published

They first told me would get cash refund but then say they are giving in form of travel voucher. Poor service. They only give option of six months from October which is useless.

Anyway if you want cash bank tell bank they refuse to refund they will do a chargeback.

Transparency
Value for Money
  • Verified customer

Malindo cancelled the flight and were going to refund in 30 days

published

As Malindo cancelled the flight from KL to Colombo the customer service wanted me to go on line and put a refund request. They have changed their mind and now have sent a voucher to be redeemed in 6 months. This was not what was said before. I don't think I will fly with them again.

Transparency
Seat Room
Food
In-Flight Service
In-Flight Entertainment
Wi-Fi
DeparturePerth WA, Australia
DestinationColombo, Sri Lanka
See all answers
1 comment
Rohan De Fonseka
Rohan De Fonseka
Lucy Haiquel

Lucy Haiquel

  • 2 reviews

Refund

published

I bought a flight tick on Jetabroad website.
Was a flight with Malindo Air on the 23/04 from Brisbane to Bali and a return ticket on the 04/04. I got a message on the 20/03 saying my flight was cancelled, so I contact Jetaboard and they said the only option I had was a voucher and not a refund, because that was what Malindo airline ofer, if I wanted a refound I had to contact Malindo. I have being trying to contact they for days! And os being impossible! If they canceled my flight is mu right to get a refound!

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureBrisbane Queensland, Austrália
DestinationBali, Indonésia
ClassEconomy
Booking Third Party
See all answers

Worst customer service

published

It's like talking to a brick wall. Trying to get a refund of cancelled flights booked through an agent. Was just asking them if they've received payments and no one responded to 4 emails I've sent them.

Transparency
Value for Money
ClassEconomy
Booking Third Party
See all answers

Malindo Air - refund policy

published

Does anyone on this forum know if we can get a refund from Malindo Air now the government has banned travel or do we wait until the airline cancels. We had booked to go to Bali next month. Thank you

Transparency
Value for Money

Worst service

published

I had booked flights for my parents.
After a week they had mailed that the flight is cancelled and the time is changed.
After 1 more week they changed the time and extended the transit time from 2 hrs to 14 hrs in Malaysia.
When I spoke to the call centre I had requested at least to organise a wheelchair for them, they insisted to pay for it. Even after paying for the meals and wheelchair nothing was organised.
They didn’t provide food for both flights and also wheelchair.
This Airline is given worst experience in time of need.
Never recommend this airlines which cannot be trusted. Cannot even imagine these people running Airlines saving money by not providing food for the customers who has already paid.
Shame on you

Value for Money
Seat Room
Food
In-Flight Service
DeparturePerth WA, Australia
DestinationKochi, Kerala, India
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers
International Airlines

Find out how Malindo Air compares to other International Airlines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracey

TraceyNorth Western Region, NSW

Cancelled flight

published

I was notified today that our flight to Bali in June has been cancelled, I contacted malindo air and they went step by step with me through the refund process and told me I'm entitled to a full refund as they cancelled but I don't understand why this takes 30 days. Will see how long it does take as I wish to book with another carrier.

Flights cancelled and poor customer service

published

Flights cancelled, phone disconnects after you’re out on hold, no response to emails and no mention of when refund will come through, or if it will. Makes me sober if they are still solvent..

TAX

TAXPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

REFUND FOR CANCELLED FLIGHT

published

Malindo cancelled two flights KUL CMB AND CMB KUL in April 2020. They sent two emails to notify and wanted us to go to the website and apply for refund. Refund request was acknowledged and no further communication received. When I call them they said that it take 30 days for a refund to be processed.
They cancelled the flight and they should credit the funds back to the credit card that was used for the transactions. Not only did they cancel the flight for me they are still selling this flight online. I would like to put this review for other travellers to know that they use our funds for over 30 days from the time of booking to cancellation plus another 30 days

Transparency
Value for Money
DeparturePerth WA, Australia
DestinationColombo, Sri Lanka
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers
Emm

EmmSydney, NSW

Worst Airline Ever!!!

published

Do not book with Malindo Air!!!Worst customer service ever!!!! They rescheduled our flights twice so now we're not able to go anymore!! When we asked for a refund they said that it would take minimum 30 days to even process the refund request!?!???! Getting the money back (if refund is approved although they messed up) can take up to 3 months!!! Never booking with Malindo Air again!!!!

Ronzinho

RonzinhoCaloundra

  • 21 reviews

Thieves and liars

published
Transparency
Value for Money
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers

Malindo seriously SUCKS

published

Booked a flight to Bali Denpasar. It was changed 12 hours that resulted in an extreme change in plans, they said they offered a refund but it had to be for the return trip also. HOWEVER, i had to collect from a third party website which made it unknown when or if i would get my money back. I asked for compensation for added free baggage and they outright declined and the person laughed. Extremely disappointed in this airline. Also waited on the phone for ages.

Value for Money
DepartureSydney NSW, Australia
DestinationDenpasar, Denpasar City, Bali, Indonesia
ClassEconomy
Booking Third Party
See all answers
International Airlines

Find out how Malindo Air compares to other International Airlines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Be kind and you will receive kindness

published

We booked 2 flights recently and for some kind of reason the system changed the dates we selected without us noticing it. After payment we realised it was the wrong month. We had to call several times with Malindo, but in the end they helped us well and changed the date at no extra cost. Thank you Malindo, we are looking forward to fly with you.

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureAdelaide SA, Australia
DestinationDenpasar, Denpasar City, Bali, Indonesia
ClassEconomy
Booking Through Airline
See all answers
olivia

oliviaSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Avoid this airline

published

We booked a ticket to Bali long before the breakout of coronavirus. Indonesia placed hold on visa free travel on China passport holder. Due to the fact we can't even get into the country, we contacted Malindo airline for refund or credit (so we could travel later). They refused to do so and give me bad attitude over the phone.

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureSydney NSW, Australia
DestinationBali, Indonesia
ClassEconomy
Booking Third Party
See all answers
V12RR

V12RRGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 27 reviews
  • Verified customer

Corona Virus is preventing me from travelling yet Malindo refuses to refund my ticket

published

I had trade shows to attend in India which have all been suspended due to Corona Virus. At the time of booking the Corona Virus was not an issue for these events.

I have contacted Malindo and asked for a refund given:

1. There is no point going because everything has been postponed and
2. The Australian government cannot guarantee I will be allowed back into Australia without first going into quarantine for 14 days.

Other airlines I was booked to travel with gave me a full refund without hesitation.

Malindo Air is a disgrace because they wish to profit from the situation created by the Corona Virus.

Transparency
Value for Money
DepartureMelbourne VIC, Australia
DestinationMumbai, Maharashtra, India
ClassBusiness Class
Booking Third Party
See all answers
Abby

Abby

  • 2 reviews

horrible airline

published

Very irresponsible airline, they Delayed my bags for more than 48 hours and didn’t respond to emails till date. I didn’t have a clue where my bags were or what was being done. No apologies from them. No courtesy of explaining nor did they compensate for the expenses. Will never travel with them again. Flight wasn’t great either on one way didn’t have entertainment where as they said they would have! The food was terrible on flight! I wish they do something about it.

Jack A.

Jack A.Sydney, NSW

Worst airline ever

published

Worst airline ever. Please anyone thinking of booking malindo airline, don't buy the tickets. Poor service, they don't even care about you. The food is disgusting, I got food posion. It's not like other airlines, most of the food and drinks you have to purchase them. They will only give you a small container food and water. Also no blanket or pillow and headphone. The plane is very small for a long journey. Overall this airline shouldn't be there, so I am telling everyone avoid this airline. I wish knew this airline was bad before purchasing the ticket.

Seat Room
Food
In-Flight Service
In-Flight Entertainment
Wi-Fi
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

SallyD

SallyDasked

Malindo Air is permanently cancelling flight from Sydney to Bali from 31 May 2020 and Adelaide to Bali later in the year. Has anyone been notified or received a refund - not Covid-19 related as this is a permanent change to their flight routes. I booked 6 return flights for Christmas 2020 on 27 Feb 2020 which I think is probably illegal of Malindo Air to sell flights after a date of a permanent cancellation is known. Will be taking this up with ACCC.

3 answers
Rohan De Fonseka
Rohan De Fonseka

I booked a return flight in April 2020 and Malindo cancelled the flight from KL to Colombo before the travel ban and they are refusing to refund. They are only offering a travel voucher. I will speak to my travei insurance to see if I could get them to pay me out on this.

Monica
Monica

I booked a flight from Sydney to Bali for Sep 2020 and was notified in Mar 2020 that the flights would be cancelled and refund issued within 30 days. Still have yet to see the refund after 49 days. Just been told two more weeks every time I call. Now they just hang up on me.

SallyD
SallyD

Hi Monica
Thanks for letting me know. Did they say the route was cancelled Syd to Dps In the email that they sent you?
So far they haven’t admitted it publicly.
I only just booked my 6 return flights on 27 February - can believed they took my booking when they planned to cancel route. I might try calling as well.
Many Thanks Sally

Annette R

Annette Rasked

Why won’t you give our money back

1 answer
Tracey
Tracey

I want my money refunded malindo air owe me

Annette R

Annette Rasked

Our flight Brisbane to Bali has been cancelled 30March -10 April why can’t we get our money refunded. told we will get a credit to fly within next twelve months,with the current world crisis who knows if we can travel within next 12 months. Money back now rebook when crisis is over.

4 answers
Tracey
Tracey

Annette I'm fighting with them to get a cash refund I don't want a travel voucher, they cancelled on us we never cancelled so I feel full refund is the only option.

Annette R
Annette R

Totally agree have sent several emails received no response. We paid cash want it back.Travel voucher not acceptable who knows when people can travel again. Refund cash now people need money now as many have lost jobs

Nik
Nik

Yupp... im in the same boat.. we do not need the credit to fly again in 12months.
Plus to pay a cancellation fee. Through a third party in my case i booked through travel2be
And they charging 30euros to cancel n forget bout everything..or. keep the ticket for 12months..
Malindo did agree to refund but its the third party
That dont wanna co operate....
Selfish. Very selfish

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.