?
? !
18 photos
Mazda BT-50

Mazda BT-50

Mk.2, J97M
3.1 from 279 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (35)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (34)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (29)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (31)
  • Braking
    4.2 (34)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (34)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.9 (36)
  • Handling
    3.8 (35)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (36)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (24)
  • Comfort
    3.9 (33)
  • Features
    3.7 (30)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Esso

Esso

  • 2 reviews

Poor leather seats

published

3 years old and leather seats are tearing and the only way to have them repaired is to go to court. Have tried to get Mazda to look at this but they refuse and say its wear n tear.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2017 for $50,000.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John Fish

John Fish

  • 3 reviews

Help plz

published

Goes into limp mode 08 bt50 tryed everything nothing turns up on code machien after 20 to 50 km going into limp mode i cant find problem at all chages intermitaly no speedo no over 80 km front let wheel locks im lost help changed speep sencer and other sencers in real trouble help plz

Purchased for $17,000.00.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dragon

DragonNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love it.

published

2015 model up to just over 100000km. Automatic transmission. Love the fuel economy and the towing capacity. Mostly highway driving with occasional off road trips pulling a horse float. Have been very happy with it from day one.

Purchased in August 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

dont ever get one cause you going to pay big time. epic motor failure

published

epic motor failure with only 165000 k , no warning always serviced , just limp mode pull over dead. a used motor was $13000 . Mazda is selling Australia a terrible motor.dont buy this ute you will be sorry.

Purchased in November 2018 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JustUs

JustUs

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and strong off-road

published

BT-50 2017 model XT: Added a lot of off-road modifications and found this 4x4 to be strong and reliable and goes everywhere with is rear locker as factory standard. Tows our two 16.3 hand stock horses easily. Very good low range, it's a real low range giving excellent control through the manual gearbox. Excellent downhill engine breaking. The BT50 crossed the Madigan Line through the middle of the Simpson desert and didn't get stuck once with Toyo R/T 285/75R16 at 18 psi and they fit beautifully on this car.

Purchased in December 2017 at Mazda Dealers for $39,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave

DavePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointment in Mazda Australia, but totally satisfied in Wanneroo Mazda(big 5 stars

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nigel V.

Nigel V.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

BT50 Wheel Nuts Problem

published

The standard wheel nuts used with BT50 alloy wheels will wear over time (see photo below).
This wear is caused by the rattle gun used by tyre shops.
The rattle gun wears the chrome cover on the nuts.
Once worn it can be difficult or impossible to get the 19mm wheel brace onto the nut when trying to change a tyre.
My solution was to purchase new nuts from wheelmods.com.au at a cost of $42.00 delivered.

  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colt 45

Colt 45Cairns

  • 14 reviews
  • 21 likes

As good as any, great support from Mazda so far 5yr warranty is a plus

published

The Bt 50 has been great, after talking to Amarok owners and Hilux guys they are all much the same. Mazda has come to the party with the 2 issues I had with the car. vinyl Floor replaced due to a tear, and DAB radio reception issue fixed.

Returns 10.5l/100km urban and 11.7l/100km on road at 110 kmph with 4 swags on canopy roof .

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Bad quality, cheaply made, highly fuel use and turbo lag.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Noble comms

Noble commsQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

DPF issues, 2017 BT50

published

Purchased in July 2017 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gloria B.

Gloria B.Victoria

We purchased a Lemon!

published

Purchased our Bt 50 and have had nothing but trouble since we purchased it..Including a Timing chain tensioner. new motor. Numerous other small problems.and now requires a new gearbox(automatic transmission)
Sick of being let down since purchased..Has always been serviced regularly. And well looked after never been off road..We were hoping this was going to be our last big purchase in our twilight years..Please could you give us a reason to buy another Mazda?Cheers.

Purchased in March 2014 at Bairnsdale for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pauliboy

Pauliboy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel consumption

published

Up to 21.6L/100km around town. Most I've had for 70L of fuel is 480km which was Sydney Goulburn return trip driving sensibly yo try and maximise economy Very disappointed. Been battling with Mazda since for 14 months. Sometimes as low as 330km for tank of fuel. Not good when I'm trying to run my business. Also big problem with radio reception both FM and DAB. Wish I hadn't bought it now.

Purchased in December 2018 for $56,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stef

Stef

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel consumption not good

published

Sold my old F250 which had the 6T/Diesel in her. Used 11/100 around town and 12.5 towing "real " loads.
This thing uses 14-15 around town with me driving like an old woman with just me in it.
Recently got down to 11.7/100 freeway.

Purchased in March 2019 at East Coast Trucks for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank S.

Frank S.The Mallee, VIC

I am making oil

published

My 2018 BT50 oil level on the dipstick is increasing in height. This means diesel fuel is entering the lubricating oil in the sump. This creates premature engine wear as the lubricating oil is diluted. The solution the dealer in Mildura gave me was to change the engine oil. Not happy as it does not fix the problem.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

No responsibility by Mazda

published

I bought a new Mazda BT 50 two years ago when I retired. 12 months later this is the front drivers seat. About 4 months ago I decided to ask Mazda if this was covered under warranty but head office said they wouldnt replace it as it is normal wear and tear. Bit hard to believe after only twelve months as I have had Previous cars and never had this problem. Obviously Mazda doesn't use quality material. Really disappointed that Mazda wont recognise that there could be a fault.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Les B.
Les B.

Can anyone tell me if you can run two batters in a 2017 BT50

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark smith

Mark smithWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Excellent Vehicle

published

I purchased my BT50 Boss 4x4 in 2010 in Darwin. I have maintained a 10,000 km servicing schedule ever since and now have 267,000km on the clock with no major damage replacement needed. I would certainly buy another if I ever sell this one. I have towed a 23ft caravan and recently a camper trailer and have had no issues at all. The km include majority highway driving with some off road and towing.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
alex c.

alex c.South East Queensland, QLD

Just a work horse

published

Picked up one for a steal it rough as previous owner used it for a plumbing buisness fleet car so imagine the working part where looked after engine seems strong at 295000ks I am towing a bobcat and heavy load in the tray most days going to throw everything at it to see how long it last with regular services ill re write a review in the next few months

Purchased for $2,000.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
karl

karlSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Design fault

published

Sway bar rubbed through cv boot on left side . Mazda not interested.obvious design fault but Im out of warranty even though its only done 34k. New models have been changed?....

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sydney NSW

Sydney NSWSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

20,000km in and going well

published

Almost went with another ute however pleasantly surprised with the smooth ride. Fuel consumption not great however it's not a small hatchback. Has power when needed and taken off-road a few times and performed well.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
KillaWhat

KillaWhatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 50 reviews
  • 54 likes

The Good, The Bad and The Downright Ugly!

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $51,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

MOSES N.

MOSES N.asked

BT-50 J97M (2006-2011)

Hi guys I have Mazda bt50 2.6i cranks but can't start

No answers
Barry R

Barry Rasked

BT-50 J97M (2006-2011)

my 2017 bt50 (auto), I was driving it and if sounded and felt like it had slipped a gear. Then it had no real acceleration and wouldn't drop back a gear despite having the foot to the floor. It was similar to safe mode however no lights came on. I have a feeling the transmission belts may be slipping. Any thoughts?

No answers
Chris Clarke

Chris Clarke asked

BT-50 Mk.2 (2011-2021)

I have just put a second hand dash cluster in my 2012 mazda bt50 and it's not showing the kilometres but everything else is working fine

No answers
See all Mazda BT-50 questions

Get an answer from our members

Mazda BT-50

Details

Compare all 8 Mazda BT-50
CategoryUtesUtesUtesUtes
Starting Price $34,040$37,590$41,590$40,990
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselDiesel
Wheels16" Steel16" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors 22 to 442 to 4
Seats 22 to 552 to 5
Fuel Consumption8.6 L/100km8.9 L/100km8.9 L/100km10 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L80 L80 L80 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.2L Turbo Diesel5 Cylinder 3.2L Turbo Diesel5 Cylinder 3.2L Turbo Diesel5 Cylinder 3.2L Turbo Diesel
Max Power110kW @ 3700rpm147kW @ 3000rpm147kW @ 3000rpm147kW @ 3000rpm
Max Torque375Nm @ 1500-2500rpm470Nm @ 1750-2500rpm470Nm @ 1750-2500rpm470Nm @ 1750-2500rpm
Country of ManufactureThailandThailandThailandThailand
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Tray TypeCab ChassisCab Chassis and Pick UpPick UpCab Chassis and Pick Up
Cab Options SingleDual, Extra and SingleDualDual, Extra and Single
Maximum Payload1,389 kg1,278 kg1,212 kg1,164 kg
Ground Clearance232 mm232 mm232 mm232 mm
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance232 mm232 mm232 mm232 mm
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011
Compare all 8 Mazda BT-50

Visit official website

Other Utes

Previous
Next

See all Utes

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.