??!
18 photos
Mazda BT-50

Mazda BT-50

Mk.2, J97M
3.1 from 276 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.1

276 reviews
5
(73)
4
(57)
3
(43)
2
(42)
1
(61)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (34)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (33)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (28)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (28)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (32)
  • Handling
    3.8 (33)
  • Braking
    4.2 (33)
  • Suspension
    3.6 (33)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.7 (34)
  • Interior Design
    3.5 (34)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (22)
  • Features
    3.6 (28)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

dont ever get one cause you going to pay big time. epic motor failure

published

epic motor failure with only 165000 k , no warning always serviced , just limp mode pull over dead. a used motor was $13000 . Mazda is selling Australia a terrible motor.dont buy this ute you will be sorry.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JustUs

JustUs

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and strong off-road

published

BT-50 2017 model XT: Added a lot of off-road modifications and found this 4x4 to be strong and reliable and goes everywhere with is rear locker as factory standard. Tows our two 16.3 hand stock horses easily. Very good low range, it's a real low range giving excellent control through the manual gearbox. Excellent downhill engine breaking. The BT50 crossed the Madigan Line through the middle of the Simpson desert and didn't get stuck once with Toyo R/T 285/75R16 at 18 psi and they fit beautifully on this car.

Purchased in December 2017 at Mazda Dealers for A$39,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dave

DavePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointment in Mazda Australia, but totally satisfied in Wanneroo Mazda(big 5 stars

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nigel V.

Nigel V.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

BT50 Wheel Nuts Problem

published

The standard wheel nuts used with BT50 alloy wheels will wear over time (see photo below).
This wear is caused by the rattle gun used by tyre shops.
The rattle gun wears the chrome cover on the nuts.
Once worn it can be difficult or impossible to get the 19mm wheel brace onto the nut when trying to change a tyre.
My solution was to purchase new nuts from wheelmods.com.au at a cost of $42.00 delivered.

BoughtNew
Year2011
Cab Type Dual
Colt 45

Colt 45Cairns

  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes

As good as any, great support from Mazda so far 5yr warranty is a plus

published

The Bt 50 has been great, after talking to Amarok owners and Hilux guys they are all much the same. Mazda has come to the party with the 2 issues I had with the car. vinyl Floor replaced due to a tear, and DAB radio reception issue fixed.

Returns 10.5l/100km urban and 11.7l/100km on road at 110 kmph with 4 swags on canopy roof .

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bad quality, cheaply made, highly fuel use and turbo lag.

published

Purchased in June 2017 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Noble comms

Noble commsQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

DPF issues, 2017 BT50

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Cab Type Dual
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gloria B.

Gloria B.Victoria

We purchased a Lemon!

published

Purchased our Bt 50 and have had nothing but trouble since we purchased it..Including a Timing chain tensioner. new motor. Numerous other small problems.and now requires a new gearbox(automatic transmission)
Sick of being let down since purchased..Has always been serviced regularly. And well looked after never been off road..We were hoping this was going to be our last big purchase in our twilight years..Please could you give us a reason to buy another Mazda?Cheers.

Purchased in March 2014 at Bairnsdale for A$54,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pauliboy

Pauliboy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel consumption

published

Up to 21.6L/100km around town. Most I've had for 70L of fuel is 480km which was Sydney Goulburn return trip driving sensibly yo try and maximise economy Very disappointed. Been battling with Mazda since for 14 months. Sometimes as low as 330km for tank of fuel. Not good when I'm trying to run my business. Also big problem with radio reception both FM and DAB. Wish I hadn't bought it now.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$56,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stef

Stef

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fuel consumption not good

published

Sold my old F250 which had the 6T/Diesel in her. Used 11/100 around town and 12.5 towing "real " loads.
This thing uses 14-15 around town with me driving like an old woman with just me in it.
Recently got down to 11.7/100 freeway.

Purchased in March 2019 at East Coast Trucks for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Frank S.

Frank S.The Mallee, VIC

I am making oil

published

My 2018 BT50 oil level on the dipstick is increasing in height. This means diesel fuel is entering the lubricating oil in the sump. This creates premature engine wear as the lubricating oil is diluted. The solution the dealer in Mildura gave me was to change the engine oil. Not happy as it does not fix the problem.

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

No responsibility by Mazda

published

I bought a new Mazda BT 50 two years ago when I retired. 12 months later this is the front drivers seat. About 4 months ago I decided to ask Mazda if this was covered under warranty but head office said they wouldnt replace it as it is normal wear and tear. Bit hard to believe after only twelve months as I have had Previous cars and never had this problem. Obviously Mazda doesn't use quality material. Really disappointed that Mazda wont recognise that there could be a fault.

1 comment
Les B.
Les B.

Can anyone tell me if you can run two batters in a 2017 BT50

Mark smith

Mark smithWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Excellent Vehicle

published

I purchased my BT50 Boss 4x4 in 2010 in Darwin. I have maintained a 10,000 km servicing schedule ever since and now have 267,000km on the clock with no major damage replacement needed. I would certainly buy another if I ever sell this one. I have towed a 23ft caravan and recently a camper trailer and have had no issues at all. The km include majority highway driving with some off road and towing.

Purchased in June 2010.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
alex c.

alex c.South East Queensland, QLD

Just a work horse

published

Picked up one for a steal it rough as previous owner used it for a plumbing buisness fleet car so imagine the working part where looked after engine seems strong at 295000ks I am towing a bobcat and heavy load in the tray most days going to throw everything at it to see how long it last with regular services ill re write a review in the next few months

Purchased for A$2,000.00.

TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
karl

karlSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Design fault

published

Sway bar rubbed through cv boot on left side . Mazda not interested.obvious design fault but Im out of warranty even though its only done 34k. New models have been changed?....

Utes

Find out how Mazda BT-50 compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sydney NSW

Sydney NSWSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

20,000km in and going well

published

Almost went with another ute however pleasantly surprised with the smooth ride. Fuel consumption not great however it's not a small hatchback. Has power when needed and taken off-road a few times and performed well.

KillaWhat

KillaWhatSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 37 reviews
  • 50 likes

The Good, The Bad and The Downright Ugly!

published

Purchased in February 2015 for A$51,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kathryn

KathrynMid North Coast, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Unreal towing smooth and comfortable

published

I use this 2018 bt50 for everyday driving and purchased mostly for towing horse float as towing capacity is 3500kg, tows like there is nothing behind me it is an Auto and just cruises up and down the highway and hills, love it

Purchased in March 2019 at Mazda Coffs Harbour for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Warren

WarrenSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Motor seized after 20000 klms

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Deuce

DeuceMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

Mazda Bt50... Bloody brilliant..

published

I bought a new 2018 xtr with all of the towing options to tow a 3 tonne caravan and the family around Australia for 12 months...

It was perfect... Amazing... And didn't miss a beat. All laden with 6 tonne it still pulled like a freight train. We even went off road and pulled the van through severe bulldust that was so deep I couldn't have walked through it... The bt just kept pushing through with half throttle. We were aMazed at how good it was.

We only bought the bt initially as it was 15 grand less than the Ford ranger but it was worth it...

Just sold the bt after 30 000km and only made a small loss..

I recommend the bt50 to everyone I meet who needs a tough ute and towing power.

Purchased in April 2018 for A$50,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Judy M.

Judy M.asked

BT-50

recently brought BT50 3lt BOSS second hand ,drove well started easy when warm but can't start when cold ,changed fuel filter and bled injectors but still refuse to start ,could it be glow plug problem? or any other problem we should look at

No answers
Les M.

Les M.asked

BT-50 Mk.2 (2011-2020)

Hi. We recently bought a Mazda BT-50 second hand and it had missed its 100,000 klm service. We cruising along and it simply shut down with the engine/battery light on. It restarted ok but the RACV mechanic thought the engine oil pressure was low and there was an engine knock? He said we need a new motor? It is in the Mazda shop but unable to be looked at for 5 days. Any advice or possible outcomes besides a new engine would be appreciated.
Thanks;
Les

No answers
Ryan

Ryanasked

BT-50

How do I lock the doors on a 2014 Mazda BT50 while I'm driving?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.